5DETAILED ACTION
This communication responds to the application filed May 16, 2023, and the amended claim set and Response to Restriction Requirement filed December 29, 2025. Claims 1-21 are currently pending.
Non-elected claims 16-21 are WITHDRAWN.
Elected claims 15-21 are REJECTED for the reasons set forth below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-15, in the reply filed on December 29 is acknowledged. Claims 1-15 are under active examination.
Priority
This application is the national stage entry of PCT/EP2021/082511, filed November 22, 2021, which claims priority to EP 20209235.9, filed November 23, 2020. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, to avoid confusion regarding the Markush group, the word “or” in the limitation defining the co-catalyst should be changed to “and” (“… MAO, DMAO, MMAO, SMAO, and ammonium salts or trityl salts …”). In addition, the word “and” should be inserted between trihexyl aluminum and trioctyl aluminum (“…trihexyl aluminum, and trioctyl aluminum, and …”)
Regarding claim 15, the second period should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouyahyi et al. (EP 3 034 545) in view of Konze et al. (US 2012/0088894).
Regarding claims 1, 3-5, and 15, Bouyahyi teaches a co-polymerization process in which two types of monomers – an olefin monomer and a protected functionalized monomer – are polymerized in solution by contacting the monomers with a catalyst system. (paras. [0148]-[0168], [0171], [0263].) Exemplar monomers are propylene and 10-undecen-1-ol that is protected by TIBAL. (Ex. @ para. [0340].) The catalyst system comprises a metal catalyst and co-catalyst. (para. [0171].) Suitable catalysts include the following catalyst:
(para. [0243].) The co-catalyst is preferably some type of MAO. (paras. [0245]-[0248].) After polymerization, the protected functionalized groups are deprotected by contact with water or other hydrolyzing agents, such as alcohols. (paras. [0267]-[0268].)
Regarding claim 15 specifically, Bouyahyi also teaches that the olefin monomer may preferably be ethylene and propylene (see paras. [0151]-[0152]), resulting in a terpolymer
The difference between Bouyahyi and the present claims is that, although Bouyahyi teaches that a polyvalent aryloxyether catalyst may be used in the copolymerization process, Bouyahyi does not teach the specific catalysts recited in claim 1. However, these catalysts are known in the art. For example, Konze teaches a process for the solution polymerization of olefins in the presence of a polyvalent aryloxyether catalyst such as the following:
(Abstract; para. [0255].) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the catalyst of Konze into the process of Bouyahyi with the reasonable expectation of producing a functionalized copolymer because Bouyahyi teaches that such catalysts are useful in doing so. (See MPEP 2143(I)(A).)
Regarding claim 2, Bouyahyi teaches that, after polymerization, the polymer is precipitated from solution and/or filtered. (Exs. @ paras. [0339], [0340].) The residues of the protecting species should remain in solution. Thus, the polymer and protecting species residues should be separated.
Regarding claim 6, Bouyahyi teaches an exemplar process in which 45.5 mmol olefin monomer and 1.36 mmol functionalized olefin are copolymerized. (Ex. @ para. [0339]). Thus, the amount of functionalized olefin is 2.9 mol%.
Regarding claims 7 and 10, Bouyahyi teaches that the olefin monomer may be a combination of ethylene and propylene. (paras. [0151]-[0152].) Bouyahyi is silent as to the relative amounts of ethylene and propylene. However, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. (MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).) "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.).)
In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized through routine experimentation the relative amounts of ethylene and propylene to produce a copolymer with the desired properties, especially crystallinity.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, as discussed above, Bouyahyi teaches an exemplar process in which 45.5 mmol olefin and 1.36 mmol functionalized olefin, or 97.1 mol% olefin and 2.9 mol% functionalized olefin, are copolymerized. (Ex. @ [0339].) Bouyahyi further teaches that a propylene/10-undecen-1-ol copolymer is preferred. (Ex. @ para. [0340].) Applying the preferred amounts to the preferred propylene/10-undecen-1-ol copolymer, the propylene is present in the amount of 89 wt.%.
Regarding claim 9 specifically, Bouyahyi teaches that ethylene is also a preferred monomer. (para. [0151].) If ethylene is substituted in place of the propylene in the propylene/10-undecen-1-ol copolymer, the ethylene is present in the amount of 85 wt.%.
Regarding claims 11-13, as discussed above, Bouyahyi teaches that the deprotection step is accomplished via contact of the copolymer with water or other hydrolyzing agents, including alcohols. Water may act as a Bronsted acid or base, and alcohols are generally weakly acidic.
Regarding claim 14, as discussed above, Bouyahyi teaches that after polymerization, the polymer is precipitated from solution and/or filtered.
Conclusion
CATHERINE S. BRANCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763