DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KOCH (US 20110158278).
Regarding claim 1, KOCH discloses in figure 2, 4. and specification:
A system, comprising:
a Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser (VCSEL) element (see, paragraph
[0005]), the VCSEL element including:
a first reflector region (see, 400, fig. 4, see also, paragraph [0019]);
a second reflector region (see, 406, fig. 4) opposite to the first reflector region; and
an active region (see, 404, fig. 4) between the first reflector region and second reflector region;
a dielectric waveguide (see, 204, fig. 2, see also, paragraph [0014], silicon waveguide) integrated with the first reflector region; and
a dielectric grating coupler (see, 206, fig. 2, see also, paragraph [0014], here, SIO grating coupler 206) formed on the dielectric waveguide for coupling an electromagnetic wave (see, 216, fig. 2) of the VCSEL element into the dielectric waveguide.
Regarding claim 2, KOCH discloses in figure 2, 4. and specification the system of claim 1, wherein the first reflector region and the second reflector region each comprise a distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) structure (see, paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 3, KOCH discloses in figure 2, 4. and specification the system of claim 1, wherein the active region includes a quantum- well configuration (see, paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 4, KOCH discloses in figure 2, 4. and specification the system of claim 1 further comprising a reflector (see, 212, fig. 2), the dielectric grating coupler disposed between the reflector and the first reflector region.
Regarding claim 5, KOCH discloses in figure 2, 4. and specification the system of claim 4, wherein the reflector includes a dielectric distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) structure (see, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 6, KOCH discloses in figure 2, 4. and specification the system of claim 1, wherein the waveguide includes a dielectric core material and a dielectric cladding material (see, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 7, KOCH discloses in figure 2, 4. and specification the system of claim 1, wherein the VCSEL element further includes a substrate (see, 200, fig. 2) the dielectric waveguide formed over a surface of the substrate (see, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claims 8-14, device claims 8-14 are rejected for the reasons applied to device claim 1-7 since the limitations of device claims 8-14 are implemented by the limitations of device claims 1-7.
Regarding claims 15-20, method claims 15-20 are rejected for the reasons applied to device claim 8-14 since the limitations of method claims 15-20 are implemented by the limitations of device claims 8-14.
Conclusion
4. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Kinam Park whose telephone number is (571) 270-1738. The examiner can normally be reached on from 9:00 AM-5:00 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, MINSUN HARVEY, can be reached on (571) 272-1835. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/KINAM PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828