DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed 03/02/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over wo 2019/183142 to Cage Bio Inc. (hereinafter, "Cage Bio_142").
Applicants assert Examiner’s statement is conclusory and there is no motivation or expectation of success when modifying the composition. Applicants also assert the newly submitted amendment is not taught by the prior art and thus renders the claims nonobvious.
Examiner disagrees. The instant claims are directed to a composition. The prior art teaches the ionic liquid may be present from 0.1-99 wt% of the formulation. Overlapping ranges are prima facia obvious. MPEP 2144.05. While Applicants limit their concentration based on the intended use, the motivation to modify the prior art need not be the same.
With regard to expectation of success, again, the prior art specifically teaches the broad range of ionic liquid which may be present in the composition. As such, there is an expectation that the prior art teaches this range based on an expectation that the range will provide a desired impact when administered. As noted above, the impact need not be the same as Applicants, given the instant claims are directed to a composition and not a method.
Finally, with regards to the new limitation, while a showing of unexpected results may overcome an obviousness rejection, the claims must be commiserated in scope with the showing. Here, it is unclear if the range of ionic liquid meets that showing, and if all ionic liquids provide the desired impact. Examiner notes while the specification discusses the disinfectant properties of the composition, there is no evidence which suggests what causes the actual disinfectant ability and whether the newly claimed range occurs. As such, the rejection is maintained as the overlapping range of components still provides motivation to vary the amount based on the broader range, where the various subranges could potentially meet the newly claimed limitation.
Claims 14-21 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/183142 to Cage Bio Inc. (hereinafter, "Cage Bio_142") in view of US 2011/0008266 to Tamarkin et al. (hereinafter, "Tamarkin").
Applicants assert Tamarkin is directed to poloxamer-based formable carrier and does not teach a disinfectant with 1-10% by wt ionic liquid. Applicants also assert the prior art does not teach the newly amended disinfection properties.
Examiner disagrees. The instant claims do not exclude a poloxamer-based formable compositions. In fact, claims 13-15 require the presence of poloxamers, thus permitted various forms of delivery systems.
The amount of disinfectant and the newly amended disinfection properties are discussed above and rejected for the same reason.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 stand provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of copending Application No. 18/011,836 (reference application).
Applicants have not present arguments with regards to this rejection, therefore it is maintained for reasons of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612