Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 20-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/22/24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6426127 to Ross in view of JP 2012004349 to Nagahara in view of US 2019/0136088 to Nojima.
Claims 12, 14-15, 17-18:
Ross teaches a method for forming a SiN film (3:60-61) by depositing perhydropolysilazane (7:49) and solvent (5:5-18) and subjecting the deposited coating to post-treatment e-beam in a non-oxidizing atmosphere (5-6:54-35) and heat treatment at 50-500 °C (6:36-39) in a non-oxidizing atmosphere (8:19-21). The e-beam energy will fall into the range of 0.5-100keV (6:9). This is equivalent to an accelerating voltage of 0.5-100kV. In terms of e-beam dosage, Ross teaches 1-500000 µC/cm2 (6:7-20). The examiner was not able to determine how this relates to the claimed MGy unit. However, Ross goes on to state the dose and energy selected will be proportional to the thickness where the value is easily determined by those skilled in the art (Id.). In this respect, the e-beam dosage is a result effective variable and obvious through routine optimization.
Ross does not teach an additional post-treatment of UV light exposure.
However, Nagahara teaches a method for forming a SiN film by depositing perhydropolysilazane (pg. 1) and further subjecting the deposited coating to post-treatment UV irradiation having a wavelength from 400-50 nm, more preferably 250-150 nm, in a non-oxidizing atmosphere (pg. 5). The vacuum UV range is 1-200 nm.
Further, Nojima teaches a method for forming a siliceous film by depositing perhydropolysilazane [0064] and further subjecting the deposited coating to a combination of post-treatment processes including e-beam treatment and light irradiation treatment [0089].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Ross and further include the UV irradiation step of Nagahara. Nojima establishes that a combination of post-treatment techniques is suitable for the curing/densification/conversion of a perhydropolysilazane coating.
Claim 16:
Ross teaches the synthesis of perhydropolysilazane with a MW of 1120 (8:1-2).
Claim 19:
Nagahara teaches UV irradiation energy of 0.5 kJ/m2 or more (pg. 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/30/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Ross teaches the claimed accelerating voltage as discussed in the above rejection. Regarding the claim of unexpected results, the claims are not currently commensurate in scope with the evidence provided in the form of examples 1-4. It is noted that the improvement demonstrated in the examples compared to the comparative example is the addition of claimed step (iii) and not the particulars of the e-beam.
Regarding the combination of Nagahara and Ross and the drying method, this is considered to be a recitation of a non-preferred embodiment. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). Something does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior. MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759