DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakamura (US 2021/0141090).
With regard to claim 11, Nakamura discloses a method for detecting dirt on a viewing window of a LIDAR, comprising (see Fig. 4A, distance data reliability determination for dirt detection, and paragraphs [0067-0068] ):
transmitting, by a transmitter of the lidar, a laser beam into a detection region (emission control signal in first or second exposure period, Fig. 3);
detecting, using a receiver of the lidar, light present in the detection region without transmitting the laser beam (third exposure period (b3);
generating an intensity image as a greyscale image of intensities of laser reflections from light reflected and detected as a result of the transmission of the laser beam (light intensity for each pixel is combined to form an intensity image, para. [0060] & [0085]);
generating a background light image as a greyscale image of background light from the light detected without transmitting the laser beam (Fig. 3, third exposure period without emission control signal for transmitting laser beam) ;
analyzing the intensity image and the background light image for common features; and determining that there is dirt on the viewing window when a number of common features between the intensity image and the background light image is below a predetermined number (signal level difference arising under the presence of dirt (comparison of Fig. 6B(b) shows common features “first distance” and “second distance” based on pixel threshold, and determination that common features are absent (below threshold) when dirt is present, paras. [0086-0087]. Note: Examiner has interpreted Fig. 6B according to the text in the Specification, rather than the legend text for the Figure).
With regard to claim 12, the laser beam is transmitted in pulses (Fig. 3, [0012]).
With regard to claim 13, light in the detection region is detected prior to transmission of laser pulses of the next set of exposure period (e. g. Fig. 3 third exposure period of first set is before first exposure period of next set, [0057]).
With regard to claim 17, Nakamura discloses a device for detecting dirt on a viewing window of a LIDAR, comprising
The LIDAR (Fig. 1, including emitter (transmitter) and light receiver with solid state image sensor)
a processor (Fig. 2, data processor 103) coupled to the lidar, wherein the processor is configured to instruct a transmitter of the lidar to transmit a laser beam into a detection region (emission control signal in first or second exposure period, Fig. 3);
instruct a receiver of the lidar to detect light present in the detection region without transmitting the laser beam (third exposure period (b3));
generate an intensity image as a greyscale image of intensities of laser reflections from light reflected and detected as a result of the transmission of the laser beam (light intensity for each pixel is combined to form an intensity image, para. [0060] & [0085]);
generate a background light image as a greyscale image of background light from the light detected without transmitting the laser beam (Fig. 3, third exposure period without emission control signal for transmitting laser beam); analyze the intensity image and the background light image for common features; and determine that there is dirt on the viewing window when a number of common features between the intensity image and the background light image is below a predetermined number (comparison of Fig. 6B(b) shows common features “first distance” and “second distance” based on pixel threshold, and determination that common features are absent (below threshold) when dirt is present, paras. [0086-0087]. Note: Examiner has interpreted Fig. 6B according to the text in the Specification, rather than the legend text for the Figure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Tisdale et al. (US2019/0033459).
Nakamura does not disclose, but Tisdale teaches in the same field of endeavor, edge detection (para. [0070]) in order to compare a grayscale image from the LIDAR data to a reference image, which may be of a building or vehicle (para. [0050]). The edge positions and distances are identified as features based on the recognized edges of the reference image (LIDAR used to identify features, [0064]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, e. g. an optical engineer, before the effective filing date of the application, to include the edge detection algorithm to identify edge distances or positions as taught by Tisdale et al. in the method of operating the LIDAR of Nakamura for the advantage of faster determination of obstacles and/or position and orientation of a vehicle on which the LIDAR is mounted (Tisdale paras. [0032], [0072] & [0075]).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 2021/0141090) and Tisdale et al. (US2019/0033459).
With regard to claim 18, Nakamura discloses Nakamura discloses a device for detecting dirt on a viewing window of a LIDAR, comprising
The LIDAR (Fig. 1, including emitter (transmitter) and light receiver with solid state image sensor)
a processor (Fig. 2, data processor 103) coupled to the lidar, wherein the processor is configured to instruct a transmitter of the lidar to transmit a laser beam into a detection region (emission control signal in first or second exposure period, Fig. 3);
instruct a receiver of the lidar to detect light present in the detection region without transmitting the laser beam (third exposure period (b3));
generate an intensity image as a greyscale image of intensities of laser reflections from light reflected and detected as a result of the transmission of the laser beam (light intensity for each pixel is combined to form an intensity image, para. [0060] & [0085]);
generate a background light image as a greyscale image of background light from the light detected without transmitting the laser beam (Fig. 3, third exposure period without emission control signal for transmitting laser beam); analyze the intensity image and the background light image for common features; and determine that there is dirt on the viewing window when a number of common features between the intensity image and the background light image is below a predetermined number (comparison of Fig. 6B(b) shows common features “first distance” and “second distance” based on pixel threshold, and determination that common features are absent (below threshold) when dirt is present, paras. [0086-0087]. Note: Examiner has interpreted Fig. 6B according to the text in the Specification, rather than the legend text for the Figure).
Nakamura does not disclose, but Tisdale et al. teach a motor vehicle comprising a LIDAR and associated processor coupled to the LIDAR (Fig. 1, para. [0041]). The integration of the LIDAR into the vehicle results in improved obstacle avoidance and navigation (para. [0038]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, e. g. an optical or automotive engineer, to configure the LIDAR system of Nakamura into the motor vehicle as taught by Tisdale, before the effective filing date of the application.
With regard to claim 19, Tisdale teaches that the vehicle may be autonomous (para. [0041]).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on May 17, 2023, March 18, 2024, March 11, 2025, and Sept. 17, 2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Astrom discloses LIDAR with contamination detection.
/ERIC L BOLDA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645