DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 05/17/2023, 09/20/2023, 09/29/2023, 12/11/2023, 09/04/2024, 04/15/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “input means” in claim 9 and “time measuring means” in claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in an application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Regarding claim 1, claim limitation “means for determining actual-soldering-information” in the application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
In this case, “means” being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents as disclosed para 0017 “wherein a temperature sensor for determining the soldering temperature is then provided as means for determining the actual-soldering-information”.
Furthermore, claim 1 also includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: soldering apparatus for soldering electronic components, control unit which is designed to: identify […], assign […], and process […].
In this case, the limitation “soldering apparatus” being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents as disclosed para 0005 “The soldering apparatus can in particular be designed as a manually operable soldering apparatus, for example as a soldering iron or as an automatic or semi-automatic soldering apparatus”.
Additionally, regarding the limitation “control unit”, the specification does not disclose corresponding structure as performing the claimed function, and equivalents (see para 0037, 0038, 0041, and 0042). Hence, the control unit is construed as a generic controller.
Regarding claim 9, claim limitation “an input means for determining or entering the relevant user” in the application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
In this case, regarding the limitation “input means”, the specification does not disclose corresponding structure as performing the claimed function, and equivalents (see para 0019 and 0049). Hence, the input means is construed as a generic input element.
Regarding claim 10, claim limitation “time measuring means for generating time information” in the application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
In this case, regarding the limitation “time measuring means”, the specification does not disclose corresponding structure as performing the claimed function, and equivalents (see para 0020 and 0049). Hence, the time measuring means is construed as a generic timer or clock.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the term "it" in line 2 is unclear because the limitation is silent with regard to what the term “it" is referred to. “It” can be referred to anything causing the claim to be indefinite. For examination purposes the term “it” has been construed to cover "the control unit".
Regarding claim 9, the limitations “an input means for determining or entering the relevant user is provided as the means for determining actual-soldering-information, and in that the data report comprises the user” in unclear. Firstly, the specification does not disclose corresponding structure of the input means as performing the claimed function, and equivalents “for determining or entering the relevant user”, therefore, it is unclear what the input means is. Secondly, it is unclear how the data report comprises the user. As disclosed in para 0019, “the data report comprises the user” is construed as “the data report comprises the soldering information”.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Matsuzaki (US 20190047066 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuzaki discloses, a network (see system 10 in Fig. 1) having a plurality of soldering systems (see control stations 20, 20-2, 20-3, 20-4, and 20-5 in Fig. 1) provided in the network (see Fig. 1), wherein each soldering system (see control station 20 in Fig. 1) comprises:
a. at least one soldering apparatus (see handle 24 and cartridge 26 in Fig. 1, wherein the cartridge 26 is removable and replaceable with a number of different types of cartridge thermal tools for soldering and de-soldering operations as disclosed in para 0019) for soldering electronic components (disclosed in para 0019),
b. a user interface (see display 50 in Fig. 1) for outputting target-soldering-information to a user (see Fig. 1 and disclosed in para 0039 “the control station 20 may … display the set temperature for the operator”), and
c. means for (see thermometer 80 in Fig. 1) determining actual-soldering-information (disclosed in para 0053 “The temperature sensed by the external thermometer 80 may be used to monitor the accuracy of the temperature sensor inside of the tip of the cartridge”),
d. at least one input device (see buttons 56A, 56B, 56C, and 56D in Fig. 1) for inputting and/or specifying work information (see Fig. 1 and disclosed in para 0021 “a number of control or data entry components, depicted as buttons 56A, 56B, 56C, and 56D”) and
e. a control unit (see CPU 38 of control station 20 with host 40 in Fig. 3) which is designed to:
i. identify soldering systems provided in the network (disclosed in para 0037 “each cartridge 26 may be assigned a unique serial number that may be read by the control station 20 when the cartridge 26 is inserted into the handle 24, and the control station 20 is powered on. A first portion of the serial number may identify the model number of a particular cartridge series and a second portion of the serial number may uniquely identify each individual cartridge in the model number. The control station 20 may read the first portion of the serial number and, by reference to a look-up table stored in a memory of the control station 20, identify characteristics common to the particular model number of the cartridge 26”);
ii. assign the work information to the suitable soldering system in each case (disclosed in para 0039 “the control station 20 may read the set temperature data for the cartridge 26 to establish and display the set temperature for the operator”) or create soldering tasks with target-soldering-information from the work information depending on the identified soldering systems and assign said soldering tasks to the relevant soldering system (disclosed in para 0039 “While a certain model series of cartridges may all have similar set temperatures, each individual cartridge may be unique, for example because of its use history the actual temperature of the tip when powered on may be different from the set temperature. Accordingly, by comparing the actual tip temperature based upon either a tip temperature sensor or an external thermometer, a control station 20 may determine an offset temperature for a specific cartridge 26. The offset temperature may be recorded to the memory element 92 and used by the control station 20 to adjust the standardized tip temperature power level to an offset tip temperature power level”); and
iii. process the actual-soldering-information of the relevant soldering system with the associated target-soldering-information of the relevant soldering system (disclosed in para 0053 “If the temperature of a cartridge tip that is powered on as measured by the thermometer 80 is different from the temperature determined from the temperature sensor in the cartridge, the control station 20 may update the set temperature for the cartridge 26”).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuzaki discloses, the network according to claim 1, and characterized in that the control unit (38) is further configured to carry out a data evaluation of the target-soldering-information of a soldering task and the actual-soldering-information of the soldering system to which the soldering task is assigned and which performs the soldering task (disclosed in para 0053 “If the temperature of a cartridge tip that is powered on as measured by the thermometer 80 is different from the temperature determined from the temperature sensor in the cartridge, the control station 20 may update the set temperature for the cartridge 26. In addition, the difference between the two temperature measurements provides and adjustment value that the control station 20 may record to the memory element 92 in the cartridge 26 as an offset temperature. The control station 20 may also record the calibration event data to the memory element 92 in the cartridge 26”).
Regarding claim 3, Matsuzaki discloses, the network according to claim 1, characterized in that the control unit (38) is further configured to create a data report assigned to the soldering task while or after performing the soldering task (disclosed in para 0053 “If the temperature of a cartridge tip that is powered on as measured by the thermometer 80 is different from the temperature determined from the temperature sensor in the cartridge, the control station 20 may update the set temperature for the cartridge 26. In addition, the difference between the two temperature measurements provides and adjustment value that the control station 20 may record to the memory element 92 in the cartridge 26 as an offset temperature. The control station 20 may also record the calibration event data to the memory element 92 in the cartridge 26 and report the calibration event data to the host machine 40”).
Regarding claim 4, Matsuzaki discloses, the network according to claim 2, characterized in that the control unit (38) is further configured such that the data evaluation comprises a comparison of the target-soldering-information with the actual-soldering-information of a soldering task, and in that the data report comprises a quality report and/or tool usage report assigned to a soldering task based thereon (disclosed in para 0053 “The control station 20 may also record the calibration event data to the memory element 92 in the cartridge 26 and report the calibration event data to the host machine 40. The control station 20 may include programed limitation parameters on the magnitude of the offset that can be accepted. Thus, the control station 20 may not allow an offset greater than a fixed number, for example 10 degrees, 50 degrees or even 100 degrees.”).
Regarding claim 5, Matsuzaki discloses, the network according to claim 1, characterized in that the control unit (38) is further configured such that it provides the target-soldering-information, the actual-soldering-information and/or the data report of the input device and/or the user interface (see Fig. 3 and para 0029 “The CPU 38 of the control station 20 includes a clock or timing circuit, allowing the CPU 38 to calculate the thermal load in joules J delivered to the heater of the cartridge 26, as the product of the input energy W over the length of time S for each soldering operation, as follows: W×S=J”).
Regarding claim 6, Matsuzaki discloses, the network according to claim 1, characterized in that the target-soldering-information comprises a target soldering temperature (see the temperature determined from the temperature sensor in para 0053), and in that a temperature sensor (80) for determining the soldering temperature is provided as means for determining the actual-soldering-information (disclosed in para 0053 “If the temperature of a cartridge tip that is powered on as measured by the thermometer 80 is different from the temperature determined from the temperature sensor in the cartridge, the control station 20 may update the set temperature for the cartridge 26. In addition, the difference between the two temperature measurements provides and adjustment value that the control station 20 may record to the memory element 92 in the cartridge 26 as an offset temperature. The control station 20 may also record the calibration event data to the memory element 92 in the cartridge 26 and report the calibration event data to the host machine 40”).
Regarding claim 7, Matsuzaki discloses, the network according to claim 1, characterized in that the target-soldering-information comprises a use of defined target soldering utensils (read bar codes or RFID tags on or inside of the soldering devices as well as those on the work pieces in in para 0074) and in that a reading device (see a barcode reader 82 and/or an RFID reader 84 in fig. 1) for reading a code which is provided on the soldering utensils (disclosed in para 0074 “The readers 82 and 84 may be used to scan or read bar codes or RFID tags on or inside of the soldering devices as well as those on the work pieces”) and identifies the actual soldering utensils is provided as the means for determining the actual-soldering-information (see para 0080 “when an operator begins working on a work or device that includes a barcode or RFID device, the operator can scan the work or device with the appropriate scanner 82 or 84, so that the control station 20 can identify the device and report to the host machine 40. If the host machine is programmed to anticipate that there will be eight soldering events for the work or device, the host machine 40 can output an alert to the operator, either directly or through the control station 20, to prompt the operator to scan the next work or device after each set of eight soldering tasks”).
Regarding claim 8, Matsuzaki discloses, the network according to claim 7, characterized in that the target soldering utensils comprise a soldering means to be used, a flux to be used (work piece in para 0074) and/or a soldering tip to be used (disclosed in para 0074 “The readers 82 and 84 may be used to scan or read bar codes or RFID tags on or inside of the soldering devices as well as those on the work pieces”), and in that the actual soldering utensils comprise the used soldering means, the used flux and/or the used soldering tip (disclosed in para 0074 “The work piece may have a unique serial number that may be read by one of the readers 82 and 84, with the serial number being reported by the reader to the control station 20 and to the host machine 40. The host machine 40, as well as the control station 20 if appropriate, can then maintain a record of the soldering events associated with the serial number of the work piece”).
Regarding claim 9, Matsuzaki discloses, the network according to claim 1, characterized in that an input means (see readers 82 and 84 in Fig. 1) for determining or entering the relevant user is provided as the means for determining actual-soldering-information, and in that the data report comprises the user (disclosed in para 0074 “The work piece may have a unique serial number that may be read by one of the readers 82 and 84, with the serial number being reported by the reader to the control station 20 and to the host machine 40. The host machine 40, as well as the control station 20 if appropriate, can then maintain a record of the soldering events associated with the serial number of the work piece”).
Regarding claim 10, Matsuzaki discloses, the network according to claim 1, characterized in that a time measuring means (see a clock or timing circuit in para 0029) for generating time information such as a start, an end and/or a time period for performing a soldering task by the user is provided as the means for determining actual-soldering-information, and in that the data report comprises the time information (disclosed in para 0029 “The CPU 38 of the control station 20 includes a clock or timing circuit, allowing the CPU 38 to calculate the thermal load in joules J delivered to the heater of the cartridge 26, as the product of the input energy W over the length of time S for each soldering operation, as follows: W×S=J”).
Regarding claim 11, Matsuzaki discloses, the network according to claim 1, characterized in that the input device is designed as a stationary terminal (see control station 20 in Fig. 1), as a mobile terminal (see interactive devices 528 in Fig. 8) and/or as a manufacturing execution system (MES).
Regarding claim 12, Matsuzaki discloses, the network according to claim 1, characterized in that the user interface is configured to output instructions to the user for performing the soldering task and/or actual-soldering-information (see Fig. 1 and disclosed in para 0039 “the control station 20 may … display the set temperature for the operator”).
Regarding claim 13, Matsuzaki discloses, the network according to claim 1, characterized in that the user interface (see display 50 of control station 20 in Fig. 1 and interface 522 of host in Fig. 8) provides bidirectional communication and in that the control unit is configured such that the user can direct instructions and/or questions to the soldering system, and in that the control unit provides feedback and/or generates responses that are output by the user interface (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 14, Matsuzaki discloses, the network according to claim 1, characterized in that the user interface (see display 50 of control station 20 in Fig. 1 and interface 522 of host in Fig. 8) is configured as a voice input and/or voice output device, and/or in that the user interface is designed as a gesture input device integrated into the soldering apparatus (see Fig. 8 and disclosed in para 0076 “he host machine 40 also includes a CPU 520 with an associated memory, interface boards 522, output boards 524, communication ports 526 and interactive devices 528, for example a monitor 530, keyboard 532, a mouse or track pad 534 and an audio system 536”).
Regarding claim 15, Matsuzaki discloses, the network according to claim 1, characterized in that the input device is formed by the user interface (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Matsuzaki discloses, the network according to claim 1, characterized in that the control unit is further configured to form the soldering task from a plurality of soldering recipes (disclosed in para 0039 “While a certain model series of cartridges may all have similar set temperatures, each individual cartridge may be unique, for example because of its use history the actual temperature of the tip when powered on may be different from the set temperature. Accordingly, by comparing the actual tip temperature based upon either a tip temperature sensor or an external thermometer, a control station 20 may determine an offset temperature for a specific cartridge 26. The offset temperature may be recorded to the memory element 92 and used by the control station 20 to adjust the standardized tip temperature power level to an offset tip temperature power level”).
Regarding claim 17, Matsuzaki discloses, the network according to claim 1, characterized in that the network comprises different work regions (see control stations 20, 20-2, 20-3, 20-4, and 20-5 in Fig. 1), and in that respective soldering systems are assigned to the different work regions (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Matsuzaki discloses, a method for operating a network (see system 10 in Fig. 1) having a plurality of soldering systems (see control stations 20, 20-2, 20-3, 20-4, and 20-5 in Fig. 1) provided in the network (see Fig. 1), the method comprising the steps of:
a. identifying the soldering systems provided in the network (disclosed in para 0037 “each cartridge 26 may be assigned a unique serial number that may be read by the control station 20 when the cartridge 26 is inserted into the handle 24, and the control station 20 is powered on. A first portion of the serial number may identify the model number of a particular cartridge series and a second portion of the serial number may uniquely identify each individual cartridge in the model number. The control station 20 may read the first portion of the serial number and, by reference to a look-up table stored in a memory of the control station 20, identify characteristics common to the particular model number of the cartridge 26”),
b. assigning work information to the suitable soldering system in each case (disclosed in para 0039 “the control station 20 may read the set temperature data for the cartridge 26 to establish and display the set temperature for the operator”) or creating soldering tasks with target-soldering-information from the work information for one or more identified soldering systems and these are assigned to the relevant soldering system (disclosed in para 0039 “While a certain model series of cartridges may all have similar set temperatures, each individual cartridge may be unique, for example because of its use history the actual temperature of the tip when powered on may be different from the set temperature. Accordingly, by comparing the actual tip temperature based upon either a tip temperature sensor or an external thermometer, a control station 20 may determine an offset temperature for a specific cartridge 26. The offset temperature may be recorded to the memory element 92 and used by the control station 20 to adjust the standardized tip temperature power level to an offset tip temperature power level”), and
c. carrying out a data evaluation of the target-soldering-information of a soldering task (determined temperature) and the actual-soldering-information (measured temperature by thermometer 80) of the soldering system (control unit 20), which system is assigned the soldering task and which performs the soldering task, and creating a data report assigned to the soldering task while or after performing the soldering task (disclosed in para 0053 “The temperature sensed by the external thermometer 80 may be used to monitor the accuracy of the temperature sensor inside of the tip of the cartridge. If the temperature of a cartridge tip that is powered on as measured by the thermometer 80 is different from the temperature determined from the temperature sensor in the cartridge, the control station 20 may update the set temperature for the cartridge 26. In addition, the difference between the two temperature measurements provides and adjustment value that the control station 20 may record to the memory element 92 in the cartridge 26 as an offset temperature. The control station 20 may also record the calibration event data to the memory element 92 in the cartridge 26 and report the calibration event data to the host machine 40. The control station 20 may include programed limitation parameters on the magnitude of the offset that can be accepted. Thus, the control station 20 may not allow an offset greater than a fixed number, for example 10 degrees, 50 degrees or even 100 degrees”).
Conclusion
/VY T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761