DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 4/1/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-10 are pending in the application. Claim 2 is cancelled. The amendments to the claims and specification overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 12/11/2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a drive assembly configured to move the container…and configured to move the stopper…” in claims 5-6 (interpreted to include a telescopic plunger arrangement as described in the specification amendment of 4/1/2026).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bar-El et al. (US 2020/0238012 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bar-El discloses a drug delivery device (injector 10, see Figs. 1-8, par. [0019]) comprising:
a housing (housing 12) (see Fig. 1, par. [0019]);
a needle (injection needle 20) having a retracted position (see Fig. 2) and an extended position (see Fig. 3) (see Figs. 2-3, par. [0020]);
a needle actuator body (needle hub 18) received within the housing (housing 12) (see Fig. 2, par. [0020]) and configured to move from a pre-use position (see Fig. 2) where the needle (injection needle 20) is in the retracted position (see Fig. 2) to a use position (see Fig. 3) where the needle (injection needle 20) is in the extended position (see Fig. 3) (see Figs. 2-3, par. [0020]);
a container (cartridge 28) received within the housing (housing 12) (see Figs. 5-8, par. [0024], [0027]), the container (cartridge 28) comprising a body (body/barrel of cartridge 28), a closure (septum 29), and a stopper (piston 27) moveable within the body (body/barrel of cartridge 28) (see Figs. 5-8, par. [0025]), the container (cartridge 28) having a first position (see Fig. 6) and a second position (see Fig. 8) spaced axially from the first position (Fig. 6) (see Figs. 5-8, par. [0032], [0034], [0037]-[0039]); and
an actuator button (activation button assembly 22) moveable relative to the housing (housing 12) from a first position (see Fig. 2) to a second position (see Fig. 3) to actuate the needle actuator body (needle hub 18) from the pre-use position (see Fig. 2) to the use position (see Fig. 3) (see Figs. 2-3, par. [0020]-[0023]), the actuator button (activation button assembly 22) comprising a container holder (post 42 and tab 44) configured to restrict movement of the container (cartridge 28) from the first position (see Fig. 6) to the second position (see Fig. 8) when the needle actuator body (needle hub 18) is in the pre-use position (see Fig. 2) (see Figs. 2-3 and 5-8, par. [0020]-[0023], [0029], [0032]-[0039]), the container holder (post 42 and tab 44) comprising a projection configured to engage the body (body/barrel of cartridge 28) of the container (cartridge 28) (see Figs. 5-8, par. [0035]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 3, Bar-El discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, wherein the body (body/barrel of cartridge 28) of the container (cartridge 28) comprises a flange (flange 28d), the container holder (post 42 and tab 44) configured to engage with the flange (flange 28d) of the container (cartridge 28) (see Figs. 5-8, par. [0026], [0032]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Bar-El discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, further comprising a valve assembly (piercing needle 26 and mount for piercing needle 26, see annotated Fig. 5 below, see par. [0029]) comprising a valve boot (mount for piercing needle 26c, see annotated Fig. 5 below, see par. [0029]) and a valve needle (piercing needle 26c) (see Figs. 5-8, par. [0029]), wherein the container (cartridge 28) is spaced from the valve assembly (piercing needle 26 and mount for piercing needle 26) when the container (cartridge 28) is in the first position (see Fig. 6), and wherein the container (cartridge 28) is engaged with the valve assembly (piercing needle 26 and mount for piercing needle 26) when the container (cartridge 28) is in the second position (see Fig. 8) (see Figs. 5-8, par. [0029], [0032], [0034], [0037]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 5, Bar-El discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, further comprising a drive assembly (driving assembly 32 comprising a telescopic plunger arrangement, see par. [0030]) configured to move the container (cartridge 28) from the first position (see Fig. 6) to the second position (see Fig. 8) and configured to move the stopper (piston 27) relative to the body (body/barrel of cartridge 28) of the container (cartridge 28) (see Figs. 5-8, par. [0030]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 6, Bar-El discloses the drug delivery device of claim 5, wherein the actuator button (activation button assembly 22) is configured to actuate the drive assembly (driving assembly 32) (see Figs. 5-8, par. [0030]-[0031], [0038]).
Regarding claim 9, Bar-El discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, wherein the actuator button (activation button assembly 22) is spaced from the container (cartridge 28) when the container (cartridge 28) is in the second position (see Fig. 8) (see Figs. 5-8).
Regarding claim 10, Bar-El discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, wherein the container holder (post 42 and tab 44) is formed integrally with the actuator button (activation button assembly 22) (see Figs. 5-8, par. [0035]-[0037]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bar-El et al. (US 2020/0238012 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Salter et al. (US 2019/0111207 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Bar-El discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1. However, Bar-El fails to expressly state wherein the needle actuator body comprises a projection configured to restrict movement of the container from the first position to the second position when the needle actuator body is in the pre-use position.
Salter teaches a drug delivery device (drug delivery system 10, see Figs. 1-12, par. [0046]) wherein the needle actuator body (needle actuator assembly 18) comprises a projection (see par. [0056]) configured to restrict movement of the container (container 14) from the first position (see Figs. 2-3) to the second position (see Figs. 5-6) when the needle actuator body (needle actuator assembly 18) is in the pre-use position (see Figs. 2-3) (see Figs. 2-6 and 9A-C, par. [0048], [0050]-[0052], [0056], the needle actuator assembly 18 includes a portion which engages drive surface 40 of the drive assembly 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drug delivery device of Bar-El to include wherein the needle actuator body comprises a projection configured to restrict movement of the container from the first position to the second position when the needle actuator body is in the pre-use position, as taught by Salter, in order to coordinate and synchronize the needle insertion with the movement of the container when the actuator button is pressed (see Salter par. [0056]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Bar-El teaches the drug delivery device of claim 7 substantially as claimed. Modified Bar-El further teaches wherein the projection (Salter, par. [0056]) of the needle actuator body (Bar-El, needle hub 18) is spaced from the container holder (Bar-El, post 42 and tab 44) of the actuator button (Bar-El, activation button assembly 22) in a direction extending perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the housing (Bar-El, housing 12) (see Bar-El Figs. 1-8, see Salter Figs. 2-6 and 9A-C, Salter par. [0050]-[0052] and [0056], see previous modifications in rejection of claim 7 above; Salter shows that the drive assembly 12 and the needle actuation assembly 18 are on separate axes such that the portion of needle actuation assembly 18 which engages drive surface 40 must extend perpendicularly across the device to allow such an engagement).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to independent claim 1, Applicant argues that Bar-El fails to teach the limitations “an actuator button… comprising a container holder configured to restrict movement of the container from the first position to the second position when the needle actuator body is in the pre-use position, the container holder comprising a projection configured to engage the body of the container”. These arguments are not found to be persuasive. As described in the rejection of claim 1 above, Bar-El teaches an actuator button (activation button assembly 22) comprising a container holder (post 42 and tab 44) configured to restrict movement of the container (cartridge 28) from the first position (see Fig. 6) to the second position (see Fig. 8) when the needle actuator body (needle hub 18) is in the pre-use position (see Fig. 2) (see Figs. 2-3 and 5-8, par. [0020]-[0023], [0029], [0032]-[0039]), the container holder (post 42 and tab 44) comprising a projection configured to engage the body (body/barrel of cartridge 28) of the container (cartridge 28) (see Figs. 5-8, par. [0035]-[0040]). Post 42 and tab 44 restrict movement of the container prior to the button assembly 22 being actuated (see par. [0036]). Post 42 and tab 44 directly engage with each other, and since post 42 is considered an integral structure of the button assembly 22 (see par. [0035]), tab 44 may also be considered part of the “actuator button”. Tab 44 is shown in Fig. 5 as a projection which engages with the barrel of cartridge 28. Therefore, Bar-El teaches these limitations in the manner recited in the claim.
In regards to dependent claim 7, Applicant appears to argue that the secondary reference Salter additionally fails to teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, the Examiner interprets that the primary reference Bar-El teaches the aforementioned limitations of claim 1 for the reasons described above. Therefore, the arguments regarding claim 7 and the Salter reference would be rendered moot.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AVERY SMALE/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KAMI A BOSWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783