Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
This Application is a 371 of PCT/EP2021/082294, filed Nov. 19, 2020 and claims provisional benefit of U.S. Provisional Application nos. 63/115,749 and 63/211,809, filed Nov. 19, 2020 and June 17, 2021, and foreign priority to EP20209467.8, filed Nov. 24, 2020 with the EPO.
Claim Status
Claims 158 and 174-180 are currently pending and subject to examination.
Claim Rejections – Withdrawn – Overcome by Amendment
The rejection of claim(s) 174 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn.
The rejection of claim(s) 175 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends is withdrawn.
The rejection of claim(s) 158-159 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urogdi et al. (US 7,126,002 B2, Published Oct. 24, 2006) is withdrawn.
The rejection of claim(s) 158-159 and 174 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urogdi et al. (US 7,126,002 B2, Published Oct. 24, 2006), as applied to claims 158-159 above, and further in view of Atkinson et al. (Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry, Vol. 15, 2017, p. 9794-9799) (of record) is withdrawn.
The above rejections were overcome by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(b)
“(b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.”
“The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.”
Claims 158, 176 and 179-180 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 158 recites the limitation "the mixture" in the second to last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Step 3 does not recite a mixture, but rather only recites precipitating arimoclomol with L-DBTA to provide the L-DBTA salt of arimoclomol. It is unclear if “the mixture” refers to the combination of arimoclomol and DBTA prior to crystallization, a solution from which the salt is precipitated or the suspension of precipitated salt in its mother liquor. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103 – New Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by Amendment
“A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.”
Claim(s) 158 and 174-180 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urogdi et al. (US 7,126,002 B2, Published Oct. 24, 2006) in view of Aufdenblatten et al. (US 7,816,545 B2) and Prashad & Har (US 6,100,401 A).
Claim 158 is directed towards a process for preparing
comprising:
Mixing a compound of formula (I)
with a compound of formula (II)
in a polar protic solvent or a mixture of polar protic solvents and at a temperature between about 70°C to 100°C;
Wherein the intermediate formed during step 1 is then reacted with sodium nitrite in a solvent that is a chlorinated hydrocarbon, a mixture containing at least one chlorinated hydrocarbon or a combination thereof and at a temperature of about 0°C to 15°C;
Precipitating
with dibenzoyl-L-tartaric acid to provide:
reacting
with at least one base to form the free base of
and precipitating the free base of
with citric acid to provide arimoclomol citrate,
wherein step 3 comprises cooling the mixture at a cooling rate between about 15 K/h and about 50 k/h.
Urogdi discloses a substantially identical process comprising similar steps 1 and 2:
Urogdi, Figs. 1-5;
“FIG. 1 shows the compound of formula (I): N-[2-hydroxy-3-(1-piperidinyl)-propoxy]-pyridine-1-oxide-3-carboxamidine.
FIG. 2 shows the compound of formula (II): 3-cyano-pyridine-1-oxide.
FIG. 3 shows the compound of formula (III): 3-pyridine-amidoxim-1-oxide.
FIG. 4 shows the compound of formula (IV): 2-hydroxy-4-azoniaspiro[3,5]nonane chloride.
FIG. 5 shows the compound of formula (V): N-[2-hydroxy-3-(1-piperidinyl)-propoxy]-pyridine-1-oxide-3-carboximidoyl chloride.”
Urogdi, Specification, col. 1-2;
Urogdi, Specification, col. 5;
Urogdi, Specification, col. 5-6.
The above example 3 is substantially identical to step 1. Urogdi teaches that
is reacted with
in a mixture of polar protic solvents, water and ethanol, at reflux temperature which must be between 78°C and 100°C, which are the boiling points of ethanol and water respectively.
The above example 4 is substantially identical to step 2. Urogdi teaches that the intermediate prepared during step 1 is reacted with sodium nitrite in an aqueous solution alkalified with sodium hydroxide at a temperature -5°C to 0°C and less than 7°C and then extracted three times with dichloromethane.
The temperatures of -5°C to 0°C and less than 7°C overlaps with the range of 0°C to 15°C and therefore the claimed temperature range is prima facie obvious. See MPEP § 2144.05.
While Urogdi does not teach that the reaction is carried out in a mixed solvent of water and dichloromethane as in the instant application, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to carry out the reaction in a mixed solvent of water and dichloromethane because Urogdi teaches extraction with dichloromethane. Dichloromethane and water are immiscible and therefore products and reactants can be separated in different liquid layers.
For step 3, Urogdi teaches a process which is substantially identical to the claimed process wherein the product from Urogdi example 4 is used as a substrate in example 5, reacted with dibenzoyl-L-tartaric acid to provide the dibenzoyl-L-tartrate salt of the compound, which is reacted with potassium carbonate to form the free base, which is reacted with citric acid to provide arimoclomol citrate :
Urodgi, Specification, col. 6-9.
Urodgi establishes the (R)-arimoclomol salt of (-)-dibenzoyl-L-tartaric acid (L-DBTA) forms and selectively crystallizes from ethanol, giving the (R)-enantiomer with high optical purity (96% or greater). Thus, the resolving agent, solvent and diastereomeric salt of the claimed process were already known for arimoclomol. Urodgi teaches dissolution in ethanol and crystallization at room temperature. The only modification in the claimed application is the cooling profile used to crystallize that salt.
While Urodgi does not teach the cooling profile, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to modify the crystallization process and heat the solution for dissolution and cool the solution at a rate of 15-50 K/h (15-50 °C/h) because this is a commonly known method for chiral resolution of basic amines with L-DBTA.
Aufdenblatten teaches this method for the chiral resolution of a racemic amine (compound (III)) with L-DBTA in aqueous ethanol. The mixture is heated to 70°C to dissolve the solids, then cooled to room temperature over 3 hours, a cooling rate of about 15-17 °C/h (70°C -20°C /3 h ~ 17°C/h; 70°C -25°C /3 h = 15°C/h). This gives the L-DBTA salt in 98.4% de:
Aufdenblatten, Specification, col. 5, ex. 3.
Likewise, Prashad teaches crystallizing optically enriched DBTA salts of an amine, methylphenidate, from an aqueous alcohol by cooling from about 40° to 45 °C to a temperature between 20° and 25° C over a period of 1 hour (15-25 °C/h), then cooling from 20° and 25° C to a temperature between 0° and 5° C over a period of 15 minutes (60 - 100 ° C/h) to obtain the desired enantiomer at high optical purity (99.36:0.64):
Prashad, Specification, col. 4-5;
Prashad, Specification, col. 6.
Urodgi shows that arimoclomol, like the compounds resolved in Aufdenblatten and Prashad, is a basic amine that forms acid addition salts, including with L-DBTA. Aufdenblatten and Prashad demonstrate that cooling rates within the claimed range reliably crystallize DBTA diastereomeric salts of such amines from alcoholic solvents with high diastereomeric purity. Accordingly, applying the cooling profiles of Aufdenblatten and Prashad to the resolution process of Urodgi is the use of a known technique to improve a method in the same way, with predictable results. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007); MPEP § 2143(I)(C)-(D).
Therefore, claim 158 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 174 is directed towards the process of claim 158, wherein the arimoclomol having formula I is present in a stereoisomeric quantity of greater than 98% (R)-arimoclomol.
Urogdi teaches that N-{[(2R)-2-hydroxy-3-piperidin-1- ylpropyl]oxy}pyridine-3-carboximidoyl chloride 1-oxide can be obtained with an optical purity of at least 96%:
Urogdi, Specification, col. 9;
Urogdi, Specification, col. 2.
A purity of at least 96% is very close to and overlaps with a purity of at least 98% and therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art would further have a reasonable expectation of success of obtaining (R)-arimoclomol with an optical purity of at least 98% because DBTA diastereomeric salts crystallized at cooling rates within the claimed range were known to have optical purities of 98% or greater: 98.4% de at about 15-17 °C/h (Aufdenblatten, Ex. 3), and an enantiomer ratio of 99.36:0.64 at about 15-25 °C/h (Prashad, Ex. 3).
Optical purity is therefore a result-effective variable that one of ordinary skill in the art would have optimized through routine adjustment of known parameters, including cooling rate, which a reasonable expectation of success of obtaining at least 98% optical purity. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Therefore, claim 159 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 176 is directed towards the process of claim 158, wherein the cooling rate is between about 15 °K/h and about 30 °K/h. The rejection of claim 158 is incorporated herein by reference, showing that cooling rates between about 15-30 °K/h are commonly known in the art. Therefore, claim 176 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 177 is directed towards the process of claim 158, wherein step 3 is carried out in a mixture of polar protic solvents selected from the group consisting of water, ethanol, methanol, and 2-propanol. Claim 178 is directed towards the process of claim 177, wherein the mixture is a mixture of ethanol and water. As shown in the rejection of claim 158, Urodgi teaches that the solvent is ethanol. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to use a mixture of polar protic solvents because such crystallization conditions are commonly known in the art. For example, Aufdenblatten teaches a mixture of water/ethanol (Aufdenblatten, Ex. 3) and Prashad teaches a mixture of methanol and water (Prashad, Ex. 1/3). Therefore, claims 177-178 were prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 179 is directed towards the process of claim 158, wherein step 3 further comprises heating the mixture to a temperature between about 65 °C to about 70 °C. While Urodgi does not teach to heat the mixture to a temperature between about 65 °C to about 70 °C, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to heat the mixture to a temperature between about 65 °C to about 70 °C because this is a common step used in DBTA mediated chiral resolution to dissolve substances in a mixture of polyprotic solvents prior to crystallization. For example, Aufdenblatten teaches to heat the mixture of water/ethanol, compound and DBTA to 70 °C to dissolve the solids (Aufdenblatten, Ex. 3). Therefore, claim 179 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 180 is directed towards the process of claim 158, wherein step 3 further comprises cooling the mixture to about 20 °C. As shown in the rejection of claim 158, Urodgi teaches crystallization at room temperature (20-25 °C). While Urodgi does not teach cooling the mixture, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to cool the mixture to about 20 °C because this is a common step used in DBTA mediated chiral resolution to crystallize the desired enantiomer. For example, Aufdenblatten teaches to cool the mixture of water/ethanol, compound and DBTA to room temperature (20-25 °C).
Therefore, claim 180 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Given the above teachings, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
/HEATHER DAHLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629