Amendment after Non-final office action filed on May 19, 2026 is acknowledged.
New claims 14-17 have been added.
Claims 1-12 and 14-17 are pending in this application.
Applicant elected Group 1 (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on January 26, 2026. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election had been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP 818.01(a)). Applicant elected with traverse of species palmitoyl-LSVD-OH for the species of a fully defined tetrapeptide and ALAMCAT tetrapeptide as the species of a fully defined peptide. Applicant’s arguments were found persuasive and the election of species was withdrawn in the previous office action. The restriction requirement between group inventions was deemed to be proper and was made FINAL in the previous office action. Claim 12 remains withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-11 and 14-17 are examined on the merits in this office action.
This application contains claim 12, drawn to an invention nonelected without traverse in the paper of 1/26/2026. A complete reply to the final rejection must include cancellation of nonelected claims or other appropriate action (37 CFR 1.144). See MPEP § 821.01.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 5/19/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Application No. 18/037447 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Withdrawn Objections and Rejections
Objection to the abstract is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the abstract.
Objection to the specification is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the specification.
Objection to claim 1 is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claim.
Objection to claims 4-6 is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Objection to claims 2-8 and 10-11 is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Objection to claims 2-3 is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Rejection of claims 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in part. Claims 1-11 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as set forth below
Rejection of claims 2-3 on the judicially created basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s persuasive arguments.
Rejection of claims 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims and in view of Applicant’s persuasive arguments.
Rejection of claims 1-11 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-17 of copending Application No. 18/037447 (reference application) in view of Harris et al (WO 2007/146269, filed with IDS) and Lintner (WO 2005/048968, cited in the previous office action) is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant filing terminal disclaimer on May 19, 2026.
Please note, the specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible error. Applicant's cooperation is required in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01.
Maintained and Revised Rejections
35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Claims 1-8 and 14-15 remain/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. This rejection is maintained and revised in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
19. Claim 1 recites, “…a tetrapeptide capable of inducing dermal extracellular matrix protein upregulation…” It is unclear what is encompassed with the word “capable of”. The phrase “capable of” is not an absolute phrase. Capable does not state what actually occurs. The specification does not fully define what is meant by “capable of”. Because claims 2-8 and 14-15 depend from indefinite claim 1 and do not clarify the point of confusion, they must also be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
20. Applicant argues that, “…the phrase “capable of inducing dermal extracellular matrix protein upregulation” as recited in the preamble of claim 1 is not improper. This language describes an inherent property of the tetrapeptides defined in claim 1, not an undefined functional limitation. The structural limitations in the body of claim 1 fully define the claimed tetrapeptide…a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that tetrapeptides meeting these structural limitations possess this capability, as the specification teaches and demonstrates that tetrapeptides as claimed act to upregulate the production of proteins of the dermal extracellular matrix (ECM)…”
21. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. The phrase “capable of” implies that the peptide being claimed may or may not be able to perform or have the function being recited. As indicated in the rejection above, the phrase “capable of” is not an absolute phrase. Capable does not state what actually occurs. The specification does not fully define what is meant by “capable of”. Therefore, the rejection is deemed to be proper and is maintained herein.
U.S.C. 103
26. Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 11 and 14-17 remain/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karin et al (US Patent No. 6514745, filed with IDS) in view of Smith et al (US Patent No. 4966848, cited in the previous office action) or Peers et al (US Patent No. 5837218, cited in the previous office action) or Smith et al (US Patent No. 5223421, cited in the previous office action), Robinson et al (Int. J. Cosmet. Sci., June 2005, 27(3): 155-160, abstract used and enclosed in the previous office action) and Lintner reference (WO 2005/048968, cited in the previous office action). The rejection is maintained and revised to include the new claims 14-17.
27. Karin et al teach the same tetrapeptide sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 8 (see SEQ ID NO: 16, LSPD), meeting the limitation of instant claims 1-3 and 6, in part. Since Karin et al teach the same tetrapeptide of instant SEQ ID NO: 8, this peptide would inherently have the same functionality and activity as instant SEQ ID NO: 8. The MPEP § 2112 states: “Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the Examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the Applicant to show an unobvious difference ‘[t]he PTO can require an Applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same...[footnote omitted].” The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (quoting In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977)).” Therefore, the tetrapeptide of Karin et al would inherently have the same activity of inducing dermal extracellular matrix protein upregulation.
With respect to the limitation in the preamble of claim 9, “A cosmetic composition comprising the tetrapeptide,” please note that MPEP 2111.02 II states “a preamble generally is not limiting when the claim body describes a structurally complete invention such that deletion of the preamble phrase does not affect the structure or steps of the claimed invention.” In the instant case, the preamble does not affect the structure of the tetrapeptide. The preamble in this case recites a statement of purpose of use, and therefore was not treated as a claim limitation.
The difference between the instant claims and the Karin reference is that the reference does not teach the “U” and “Z” of the N-terminus and C-terminus of the tetrapeptide, respectively, and additional peptide in the cosmetic composition (additional ALAMCAT tetrapeptide, the elected species).
28. However, Smith et al *US Patent ‘848) teach that “An acetyl moiety was discovered as the amino-terminal blocking group of viral coat protein in 1958 and of hormonal peptide in 1959. Since then, a large number of proteins in various organisms have been shown to possess acetylated amino-terminal residues. For example, mouse L-cells and Ehrich ascites cells have about 80% of their intracellular soluble proteins Na-acetylated [and in] lower eukaryotic organisms, about 50%. These data demonstrate that N-acetyl is a very important blocking group. It has been suggested that the biological function of this blocking group may be to protect against premature protein catabolism and protein proteolytic degradation.” (see column 1, lines 18-37). Additionally, Peers et al (US Patent ‘218) teach that, “N- and C-terminal modification of peptides is common practice in the art of preparation of peptides having greater stability, particularly for in vivo use. Such modifications include the action of protecting groups such as the protecting groups used conventionally in the art of organic synthesis. Suitable N-terminal protecting groups include, for example, lower alkanoyl groups of the formula R-C(O)- in which R is a linear or branched lower alkyl…A preferred group for protecting the N-terminal end of the present compounds is the acetyl group, CH3C(O)” (see column 3, lines 15-25). The reference further teaches that “suitable C-terminal protecting groups include groups which form ketones or amides at the carbon atom of the C-terminal carboxyl, or groups which form esters at the oxygen atom of the carboxyl. Ketone and ester-forming groups include alkyl groups, particularly branched or unbranched lower alkyl” (see column 3, lines 28-33). Smith et al (US Patent ‘421) teach that, “Na-acetylation is the most common chemical modification of the a-amino acid group at the amino termini of eukaryotic proteins” (see column 3, lines 62-64). Additionally, “the rate of protein turnover mediated by the ubiquitin-dependent degradation system depends on the presence of a free a-amino group at the amino terminus of model proteins and [indicates that] Na-acetylation may play a crucial role in impeding protein turnover. Thus, Na-acetylation plays important roles in regulating diverse protein functions” (see column 4, lines 21-40).
29. Additionally, Robinson et al teach that the palmitoyl at the N-terminal end of a peptide (e.g., Pal-KTTKS) had significant improvement vs placebo control (KTTKS, without the N-terminal Pal) in skin penetration (see abstract).
30. Furthermore, Lintner reference teaches that pharmaceutical, personal care and cosmetic compositions containing a tripeptide and a tetrapeptide are useful for treating visible signs of aging including wrinkles, stretch marks and dark circles (see abstract). Lintner reference teaches tetrapeptide comprising, for example, N-Palmitoyl-TKPR (SEQ ID NO: 1) and N-Palmitoyl-GQPR (SEQ ID NO: 3) (see p. 2, lines 12-14). Lintner reference teaches ALAMCAT-tetrapeptides (see, for example, pp. 3-6). Lintner reference teaches that “repeated topical application of some combinations of tetrapeptides (rigin-based tetrapeptides, ALAMCAT-tetrapeptides or mixtures thereof) with tripeptide (His-based tripeptides, GHK-tripeptides or mixtures thereof) can offer at least some of the advantages and qualities…the ability to improve the visible signs of aging in human skin…and other skin texture defects…some benefit in tissue regeneration” (see p. 4, lines 11-27).
31. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Karin et al, Smith et al or Peers et al or Smith et al, Robinson et al and Lintner reference to have Na-acetylated and C-termini ester modified peptides for the benefit of protecting the peptide from proteolytic degradation and premature protein catabolism, add the palmitoyl at the N-terminal ends to short peptides to benefit skin penetration and skin improvement (such as fine lines and wrinkle improvement), and add in additional tetrapeptides for skin improvement. One would have been motivated to acetylate the N-terminus and make an ester modification of the C-terminus, in order to mimic ‘the most common chemical modification’ of eukaryotic proteins, protect the peptide from proteolytic degradation and premature catabolism, as protecting the N- and C-terminus is 'common practice in the art' (see Peers, above) and acetyl group is 'a very important blocking group' (Smith, above), or to add in palmitoyl at the N0terminal ends to improve the skin penetration effect. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success in forming these N- and C-terminal modified peptides, because it is 'common practice in the art' (Peers, above) to modify the N-terminus with the most common chemical modification' of eukaryotic proteins (Smith, above), and is a technique practiced widely in the art (Peers and Smith, above).
32. Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9 and 11 and 14-17 remain/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merten et al (US 2006/0099689) in view of Smith et al (US Patent No. 4966848, cited in the previous office action) or Peers et al (US Patent No. 5837218, cited in the previous office action) or Smith et al (US Patent No. 5223421, cited in the previous office action), Robinson et al (Int. J. Cosmet. Sci., June 2005, 27(3): 155-160, abstract used and enclosed herein) and Lintner reference (WO 2005/048968). The rejection is maintained and revised to include the new claims 14-17.
33. Merten et al teach same tetrapeptide sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (see SEQ ID NO: 52, LSPD), meeting the limitation of instant claims 1-4, in part. Since Merten et al teach the same tetrapeptide of instant SEQ ID NO: 1, this peptide would inherently have the same functionality and activity as instant SEQ ID NO: 1. The MPEP § 2112 states: “Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the Examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the Applicant to show an unobvious difference ‘[t]he PTO can require an Applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same...[footnote omitted].” The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (quoting In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977)).” Therefore, the tetrapeptide of Merten et al would inherently have the same activity of inducing dermal extracellular matrix protein upregulation.
With respect to the limitation in the preamble of claim 9, “A cosmetic composition comprising the tetrapeptide of claim,”, please note that MPEP 2111.02 II states "a preamble generally is not limiting when the claim body describes a structurally complete invention such that deletion of the preamble phrase does not affect the structure or steps of the claimed invention." In the instant case, the preamble does not affect the structure of the tetrapeptide. The preamble in this case recites a statement of purpose or use, and therefore was not treated as a claim limitation.
The difference between the instant claims and the Merten reference is that the reference does not teach the “U” and “Z” of the N-terminus and C-terminus of the tetrapeptide, respectively, and additional peptide in the cosmetic composition (additional ALAMCAT tetrapeptide, the elected species).
34. However, Smith et al (US Patent ‘848) teach that “An acetyl moiety was discovered as the amino-terminal blocking group of viral coat protein in 1958 and of hormonal peptide in 1959. Since then, a large number of proteins in various organisms have been shown to possess acetylated amino-terminal residues. For example, mouse L-cells and Ehrich ascites cells have about 80% of their intracellular soluble proteins Na-acetylated [and in] lower eukaryotic organisms, about 50%. These data demonstrate that N-acetyl is a very important blocking group. It has been suggested that the biological function of this blocking group may be to protect against premature protein catabolism and protein proteolytic degradation.” (see column 1, lines 18-37). Additionally, Peers et al (US Patent ‘218) teach that, “N- and C-terminal modification of peptides is common practice in the art of preparation of peptides having greater stability, particularly for in vivo use. Such modifications include the action of protecting groups such as the protecting groups used conventionally in the art of organic synthesis. Suitable N-terminal protecting groups include, for example, lower alkanoyl groups of the formula R-C(O)- in which R is a linear or branched lower alkyl…A preferred group for protecting the N-terminal end of the present compounds is the acetyl group, CH3C(O)” (see column 3, lines 15-25). The reference further teaches that “suitable C-terminal protecting groups include groups which form ketones or amides at the carbon atom of the C-terminal carboxyl, or groups which form esters at the oxygen atom of the carboxyl. Ketone and ester-forming groups include alkyl groups, particularly branched or unbranched lower alkyl” (see column 3, lines 28-33). Smith et al (US Patent ‘421) teach that, “Na-acetylation is the most common chemical modification of the a-amino acid group at the amino termini of eukaryotic proteins” (see column 3, lines 62-64). Additionally, “the rate of protein turnover mediated by the ubiquitin-dependent degradation system depends on the presence of a free a-amino group at the amino terminus of model proteins and [indicates that] Na-acetylation may play a crucial role in impeding protein turnover. Thus, Na-acetylation plays important roles in regulating diverse protein functions” (see column 4, lines 21-40).
35. Additionally, Robinson et al teach that the palmitoyl at the N-terminal end of a peptide (e.g., Pal-KTTKS) had significant improvement vs placebo control (KTTKS, without the N-terminal Pal) in skin penetration (see abstract).
36. Furthermore, Lintner reference teaches that pharmaceutical, personal care and cosmetic compositions containing a tripeptide and a tetrapeptide are useful for treating visible signs of aging including wrinkles, stretch marks and dark circles (see abstract). Lintner reference teaches tetrapeptide comprising, for example, N-Palmitoyl-TKPR (SEQ ID NO: 1) and N-Palmitoyl-GQPR (SEQ ID NO: 3) (see p. 2, lines 12-14). Lintner reference teaches ALAMCAT-tetrapeptides (see, for example, pp. 3-6). Lintner reference teaches that “repeated topical application of some combinations of tetrapeptides (rigin-based tetrapeptides, ALAMCAT-tetrapeptides or mixtures thereof) with tripeptide (His-based tripeptides, GHK-tripeptides or mixtures thereof) can offer at least some of the advantages and qualities…the ability to improve the visible signs of aging in human skin…and other skin texture defects…some benefit in tissue regeneration” (see p. 4, lines 11-27).
37. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Merten et al, Smith et al or Peers et al or Smith et al, Robinson et al and Lintner reference to have Na-acetylated and C-termini ester modified peptides for the benefit of protecting the peptide from proteolytic degradation and premature protein catabolism, add the palmitoyl at the N-terminal ends to short peptides to benefit skin penetration and skin improvement (such as fine lines and wrinkle improvement), and add in additional tetrapeptides for skin improvement. One would have been motivated to acetylate the N-terminus and make an ester modification of the C-terminus, in order to mimic ‘the most common chemical modification’ of eukaryotic proteins, protect the peptide from proteolytic degradation and premature catabolism, as protecting the N- and C-terminus is 'common practice in the art' (see Peers, above) and acetyl group is 'a very important blocking group' (Smith, above), or to add in palmitoyl at the N0terminal ends to improve the skin penetration effect. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success in forming these N- and C-terminal modified peptides, because it is 'common practice in the art' (Peers, above) to modify the N-terminus with the most common chemical modification' of eukaryotic proteins (Smith, above), and is a technique practiced widely in the art (Peers and Smith, above).
38. Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11 and 14-17 remain/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng-Law et al (US Patent No. 5968753) in view of Smith et al (US Patent No. 4966848, cited in the previous office action) or Peers et al (US Patent No. 5837218, cited in the previous office action) or Smith et al (US Patent No. 5223421, cited in the previous office action), Robinson et al (Int. J. Cosmet. Sci., June 2005, 27(3): 155-160, abstract used and enclosed herein) and Lintner reference (WO 2005/048968). The rejection is maintained and revised to include the new claims 14-17.
39. Tseng-Law et al teach same tetrapeptide sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 9 (see SEQ ID NO: 197, LSPG), meeting the limitation of instant claims 1-3 and 5, in part. Since Tseng-Law et al teach the same tetrapeptide of instant SEQ ID NO: 9, this peptide would inherently have the same functionality and activity as instant SEQ ID NO: 9. The MPEP § 2112 states: “Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the Examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the Applicant to show an unobvious difference ‘[t]he PTO can require an Applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same...[footnote omitted].” The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (quoting In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977)).” Therefore, the tetrapeptide of Tseng-Law et al would inherently have the same activity of inducing dermal extracellular matrix protein upregulation.
With respect to the limitation in the preamble of claim 9, “A cosmetic composition comprising the tetrapeptide of claim,”, please note that MPEP 2111.02 II states "a preamble generally is not limiting when the claim body describes a structurally complete invention such that deletion of the preamble phrase does not affect the structure or steps of the claimed invention." In the instant case, the preamble does not affect the structure of the tetrapeptide. The preamble in this case recites a statement of purpose or use, and therefore was not treated as a claim limitation.
The difference between the instant claims and the Tseng-Law reference is that the reference does not teach the “U” and “Z” of the N-terminus and C-terminus of the tetrapeptide, respectively, and additional peptide in the cosmetic composition (additional ALAMCAT tetrapeptide, the elected species).
40. However, Smith et al (US Patent ‘848) teach that “An acetyl moiety was discovered as the amino-terminal blocking group of viral coat protein in 1958 and of hormonal peptide in 1959. Since then, a large number of proteins in various organisms have been shown to possess acetylated amino-terminal residues. For example, mouse L-cells and Ehrich ascites cells have about 80% of their intracellular soluble proteins Na-acetylated [and in] lower eukaryotic organisms, about 50%. These data demonstrate that N-acetyl is a very important blocking group. It has been suggested that the biological function of this blocking group may be to protect against premature protein catabolism and protein proteolytic degradation.” (see column 1, lines 18-37). Additionally, Peers et al (US Patent ‘218) teach that, “N- and C-terminal modification of peptides is common practice in the art of preparation of peptides having greater stability, particularly for in vivo use. Such modifications include the action of protecting groups such as the protecting groups used conventionally in the art of organic synthesis. Suitable N-terminal protecting groups include, for example, lower alkanoyl groups of the formula R-C(O)- in which R is a linear or branched lower alkyl…A preferred group for protecting the N-terminal end of the present compounds is the acetyl group, CH3C(O)” (see column 3, lines 15-25). The reference further teaches that “suitable C-terminal protecting groups include groups which form ketones or amides at the carbon atom of the C-terminal carboxyl, or groups which form esters at the oxygen atom of the carboxyl. Ketone and ester-forming groups include alkyl groups, particularly branched or unbranched lower alkyl” (see column 3, lines 28-33). Smith et al (US Patent ‘421) teach that, “Na-acetylation is the most common chemical modification of the a-amino acid group at the amino termini of eukaryotic proteins” (see column 3, lines 62-64). Additionally, “the rate of protein turnover mediated by the ubiquitin-dependent degradation system depends on the presence of a free a-amino group at the amino terminus of model proteins and [indicates that] Na-acetylation may play a crucial role in impeding protein turnover. Thus, Na-acetylation plays important roles in regulating diverse protein functions” (see column 4, lines 21-40).
41. Additionally, Robinson et al teach that the palmitoyl at the N-terminal end of a peptide (e.g., Pal-KTTKS) had significant improvement vs placebo control (KTTKS, without the N-terminal Pal) in skin penetration (see abstract).
42. Furthermore, Lintner reference teaches that pharmaceutical, personal care and cosmetic compositions containing a tripeptide and a tetrapeptide are useful for treating visible signs of aging including wrinkles, stretch marks and dark circles (see abstract). Lintner reference teaches tetrapeptide comprising, for example, N-Palmitoyl-TKPR (SEQ ID NO: 1) and N-Palmitoyl-GQPR (SEQ ID NO: 3) (see p. 2, lines 12-14). Lintner reference teaches ALAMCAT-tetrapeptides (see, for example, pp. 3-6). Lintner reference teaches that “repeated topical application of some combinations of tetrapeptides (rigin-based tetrapeptides, ALAMCAT-tetrapeptides or mixtures thereof) with tripeptide (His-based tripeptides, GHK-tripeptides or mixtures thereof) can offer at least some of the advantages and qualities…the ability to improve the visible signs of aging in human skin…and other skin texture defects…some benefit in tissue regeneration” (see p. 4, lines 11-27).
43. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Tseng-Law et al, Smith et al or Peers et al or Smith et al, Robinson et al and Lintner reference to have Na-acetylated and C-termini ester modified peptides for the benefit of protecting the peptide from proteolytic degradation and premature protein catabolism, add the palmitoyl at the N-terminal ends to short peptides to benefit skin penetration and skin improvement (such as fine lines and wrinkle improvement), and add in additional tetrapeptides for skin improvement. One would have been motivated to acetylate the N-terminus and make an ester modification of the C-terminus, in order to mimic ‘the most common chemical modification’ of eukaryotic proteins, protect the peptide from proteolytic degradation and premature catabolism, as protecting the N- and C-terminus is 'common practice in the art' (see Peers, above) and acetyl group is 'a very important blocking group' (Smith, above), or to add in palmitoyl at the N0terminal ends to improve the skin penetration effect. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success in forming these N- and C-terminal modified peptides, because it is 'common practice in the art' (Peers, above) to modify the N-terminus with the most common chemical modification' of eukaryotic proteins (Smith, above), and is a technique practiced widely in the art (Peers and Smith, above).
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
44. Applicant argues that None of Karin, Merten, or Tseng-Law discloses or suggests isolated tetrapeptide compounds as claimed, let alone cosmetic applications comprising the same.” Applicant argues that “Karin relates generally to the field of protein kinases, oncogenes and oncoproteins…Karin’s SEQ ID NO: 16 (LSPD) is a “consensus sequence motif” with alternative residues (Leu/Ala at position 1, Asp/Glu at position 4), not a discrete, isolated tetrapeptide compound as claimed.” Applicant further argues that “Merten relates generally to the field of molecular biology, biotechnology or process engineering for the production of proteins or peptides. Merten’s SEQ ID NO: 52 (LSVD) is disclosed only as a caspase cleavage recognition site within the DCC (Deleted in Colorectal Cancer) protein—a 1447 amino acid transmembrane protein.” Applicant argues that “Tseng-Law relates to peptides used to mediate cell release from antibody binding, methods of isolating such peptides, and methods for the specific release of target cells captured by antibody selection from a heterogenous cell suspension. Tseng-Law’s SEQ ID NO: 197 (LSPG) is disclosed only as amino acids 107-110 within the CD34 antigen protein, identified as a potential epitope region for antibody binding.”
45. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. Instant claims are drawn to product claims, i.e., a tetrapeptide having the amino acid sequence U-LSXX-Z. Karin, Merten, and Tseng-Law references teach the tetrapeptide LSPD, LSVD and LSPG, respectively. Therefore, the tetrapeptides would inherently have ALL of the functions and activities as instant tetrapeptides LSPD, LSVD and LSPG. The MPEP § 2112 states: “Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the Examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the Applicant to show an unobvious difference ‘[t]he PTO can require an Applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same...[footnote omitted].” The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (quoting In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977)).” Additionally, the MPEP 2112.01 II states that “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. (Applicant argued that the claimed composition was a pressure sensitive adhesive containing a tacky polymer while the product of the reference was hard and abrasion resistant. “The Board correctly found that the virtual identity of monomers and procedures sufficed to support a prima facie case of unpatentability of Spada’s polymer latexes for lack of novelty.”) Since the Karin, Merten, and Tseng-Law references teach the tetrapeptide LSPD, LSVD and LSPG, respectively, and a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable, the tetrapeptides of Karin, Merten and Tseng-Law references must have ALL of the functionalities and activities of instant tetrapeptides. Therefore, the combined arts is prima facie obvious over instant claims. Thus, the rejections are deemed to be proper and are maintained herein.
New Rejection
U.S.C. 112(b)
47. Claims 9-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
48. Claim 9 recites, “…a tetrapeptide capable of inducing dermal extracellular matrix protein upregulation…” It is unclear what is encompassed with the word “capable of”. The phrase “capable of” is not an absolute phrase. Capable does not state what actually occurs. The specification does not fully define what is meant by “capable of”. Because claims 10-11 and 16-17 depend from indefinite claim 9 and do not clarify the point of confusion, they must also be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
DOUBLE PATENTING
50. Claims 9 and 16-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11of copending Application No. 18/686955 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because if one of ordinary skill in the art practiced the claimed invention of instant claims, one would necessarily achieve the claimed invention of copending claims, and vice versa.
51. Instant claims are drawn to:
.
52. Copending claims are drawn to:.
.
53. Instant claims and copending claims share the tetrapeptide having the amino acid sequence U-LSXX-Z. Instant claims and copending claims also recite “A cosmetic composition comprising”. Therefore, the scope of the claims are similar. If one of ordinary skill in the art practiced the claimed invention of instant claims, one would necessarily achieve the claimed invention of copending claims, and vice versa.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
CONCLUSION
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIE HA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654
6/17/2026