DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 are examined in the office action of which claims 1-4 were amended and claim 5 was newly added in Applicant’s reply.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-5, claim 1 as amended recites “a precipitation temperature of a chromium nitride is equal to or less than a value represented by Formula (2) temperature which is usually expressed in Celsius, Fahrenheit, Kelvin, thereby making it unclear how a temperature can be expressed in units of wt%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
List 1
Element
Instant Claims
(mass%)
Prior Art
Steel R
(mass%)
C
0.01 – 0.035
0.020
Si
0.5 or less
0.50
Mn
0.5 – 1.5
1.20
Cr
17 – 22
17.50
Ni
6 – 11
7.18
Mo
1 or less
-
Cu
1 or less
0.20 or less
N
0.1 – 0.22
0.110
Al
Claim 4: P: 0.05 or less, S: 0.01 or less, Al: 0.1 or less, Ti: 0.1 or less and B: 0.005 or less
P: -
S: -
Al: -
Ti: -
B: -
Fe + impurities
Balance
Balance
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2017/0233845 A1 of MATSUBAYASHI (US'845).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, US 2017/0233845 A1 of MATSUBAYASHI (US'845) teaches (abstract, [0001], [0007]-[0013], [0024]- [0039], Table 1, Table 2) “a stainless steel sheet for a metal gasket that is excellent in strength, fatigue characteristics, and high temperature softening resistance characteristics, and a metal gasket using the same” “a hot rolled austenitic stainless steel sheet” “Examples of the steel sheet that is suitable as a material to be worked to a metal gasket include a cold rolled austenitic stainless steel sheet derived from the aforementioned hot rolled steel sheet.” having specific compositions wherein a specific example, Steel R in Table 1, that lies within the claimed compositional range of the instant claims as shown in the List 1 above thereby anticipating the alloy of the instant claims. A specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range. “[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art.” Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citing In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 682, 133 USPQ 275, 280 (CCPA 1962)) See MPEP § 2131.03 I. The specific sample of the prior art also meets formula (1) of the instant claims thereby anticipating the claimed range recited in the formula. In addition, it is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art, In re Cooper and Foley 1943 C.D. 357, 553 O.G. 177; 57 USPQ 117, Saklatwalla v. Marburg, 620 O.G. 685, 1949 C.D. 77, and In re Pilling, 403 O.G. 513, 44 F(2) 878, 1931 C.D. 75.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art in Table 2 No. 25 that Steel R has no cracks after hot rolling thereby meeting the instant recited limitation.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art teaches in Table 2 No. 25 that Steel R has a hardness after temper rolling of 440 HV thereby meeting the instant recited limitation.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art is silent regarding the precipitation temperature of the chromium nitride.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01 I. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01 II. Therefore, it is expected that the alloy of the prior art possesses the properties as claimed in the instant claims since a) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in composition and b) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure. Since the Office does not have a laboratory to test the reference alloy, it is applicant’s burden to show that the reference alloy does not possess the properties as claimed in the instant claims. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-293 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. as shown below.
#
U.S. Patent No.
Claims
1
US 11299799 B2
claims 1-5
2
US 11542569 B2
claims 1-6
3
US 11959159 B2
claim 1
4
US 12365972 B2
claims 1-2
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the US Patent No (listed above) teach an austenitic stainless steel material with substantially identical composition.
Regarding the properties that the claims of the US Patent No. above are silent of: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01 I. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01 II. Therefore, it is expected that the alloy of the prior art possesses the properties as claimed in the instant claims since a) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in composition and b) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure. Since the Office does not have a laboratory to test the reference alloy, it is applicant’s burden to show that the reference alloy does not possess the properties as claimed in the instant claims. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-293 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding the formulaic expression and its claimed ranges, it is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art, In re Cooper and Foley 1943 C.D. 357, 553 O.G. 177; 57 USPQ 117, Saklatwalla v. Marburg, 620 O.G. 685, 1949 C.D. 77, and In re Pilling, 403 O.G. 513, 44 F(2) 878, 1931 C.D. 75.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of copending Application No. (reference application) as follows in the list below.
#
Copending Application No.
Claims
1
17/786342
claims 1-7
2
17/918014
claims 1-8
3
17/924530
claims 1-8
4
18/019570
claims 1-8
5
18/019187
claims 1-8
6
18/038396
claims 1-9
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application teach an austenitic stainless steel material with substantially identical composition.
Regarding the properties that the claims of the reference application are silent of: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01 I. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01 II. Therefore, it is expected that the alloy of the prior art possesses the properties as claimed in the instant claims since a) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in composition and b) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure. Since the Office does not have a laboratory to test the reference alloy, it is applicant’s burden to show that the reference alloy does not possess the properties as claimed in the instant claims. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-293 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding the formulaic expression and its claimed ranges, it is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art, In re Cooper and Foley 1943 C.D. 357, 553 O.G. 177; 57 USPQ 117, Saklatwalla v. Marburg, 620 O.G. 685, 1949 C.D. 77, and In re Pilling, 403 O.G. 513, 44 F(2) 878, 1931 C.D. 75.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the arguments that the embodiments provided by the prior art do not teach the claimed matter, the arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Patents are relevant as prior art for all they contain. "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).See MPEP § 2123.
In response to applicant's argument that the prior art is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, as noted above, the prior art teaches an austenitic stainless steel sheet.
Regarding the arguments directed to the formulaic expression, the specific sample of the prior art also meets formula (1) of the instant claims thereby anticipating the claimed range recited in the formula. In addition, it is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art, In re Cooper and Foley 1943 C.D. 357, 553 O.G. 177; 57 USPQ 117, Saklatwalla v. Marburg, 620 O.G. 685, 1949 C.D. 77, and In re Pilling, 403 O.G. 513, 44 F(2) 878, 1931 C.D. 75.
Regarding the double patenting rejections, the claims of the reference application or the cited patents teach an austenitic stainless steel material with substantially identical composition. With respect to the properties, it is expected that the alloy of the prior art possesses the properties as claimed in the instant claims since a) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in composition and b) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure. With respect to the formulaic expressions, it is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art, In re Cooper and Foley 1943 C.D. 357, 553 O.G. 177; 57 USPQ 117, Saklatwalla v. Marburg, 620 O.G. 685, 1949 C.D. 77, and In re Pilling, 403 O.G. 513, 44 F(2) 878, 1931 C.D. 75.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOPHY S. KOSHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733