DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s submission filed 04 September 2026 has been entered. Claims 83-103 and 105 are pending. Claims 92, 99, and 103 have been amended, while claim 104 has been cancelled without prejudice or disclaimer and claim 105 has been newly added. Therefore, prosecution on the merits continues for claims 92-103 and 105 as being drawn to the elected invention, with claims 83-91 withdrawn for reading on the non-elected invention(s). All arguments have been fully considered with the status of each prior ground of rejection set forth below.
Status of Prior Rejections/Response to Arguments
RE: Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequence disclosure
Applicant has submitted a new CRF sequence listing on 04 September 2026. However, Applicant has submitted the CRF sequence listing under the guidelines of ST.26 when it should have been submitted under the guidelines of ST.25, as the sequence listing was submitted in a US national phase application with an international filing date before 01 July 2022.
It is of note that Applicant is also required to update the Incorporation by Reference statement within the Specification such that the date, file name, and size match the updated sequence listing.
Therefore, the objection to the Specification is maintained.
RE: Objection to the Specification
The substitute Specification filed 04 September 2026 is acknowledged and entered into the
application file. With that, Applicant’s amendments to the Specification removing the references to colors within drawings obviate the objection of record.
Therefore, the objection is withdrawn.
RE: Objection to claims 92 and 99
Applicant’s amendments to instant claim 99 obviate the objection of record. However, Applicant utilized a single bracket instead of a double bracket within instant claim 92, therefore the extraneous space between “EV” and “s” has not been properly removed from the acronym “CDC-EVs” in Line 3.
Therefore, the objection is withdrawn for claim 99 and maintained for claim 92.
RE: Rejection of claims 92-98 and 100-101 under 35 USC 102 over Marbán et al
Applicant’s amendments to independent claim 92 requiring the method to now be a method of treating coagulopathy subsequent to trauma and hemorrhage in a mammalian subject obviate the rejection of record. It is of note that Marbán et al teach a formulation suitable for combat use and a concentration of 105-109 CDC-EVs per kilogram. See, for example, Paragraphs [0018] and [0069]-[0071] of Marbán et al.
Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
RE: Rejection of claims 92-99, 100-101, and 103-104 under 35 USC 103 over Marbán et al in view of Liu
The cancellation of instant claim 104 renders the rejection moot for that claim. For the remaining claims, Applicant’s amendments to independent claim 92 requiring the method to now be a method of treating coagulopathy subsequent to trauma and hemorrhage in a mammalian subject obviate the rejection of record.
Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
RE: Rejection of claims 92-98 and 100-102 under 35 USC 103 over Marbán ‘604 in view of Marbán ‘549
Applicant’s amendments to independent claim 92 requiring the method to now be a method of treating coagulopathy subsequent to trauma and hemorrhage in a mammalian subject obviate the rejection of record.
Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
RE: Rejection of claims 92-104 on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1 and 8 of US Patent No. 10,695,293 B2 in view of Marbán ‘604, Liu, and Marbán ‘604
Applicant’s amendments to independent claim 92 requiring the method to now be a method of treating coagulopathy subsequent to trauma and hemorrhage in a mammalian subject, wherein a formulation suitable for combat use and having a concentration of 105-109 CDC-EVs per kilogram is administered to the mammalian subject obviate the rejection of record.
Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
New/Maintained Grounds of Rejection
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency - This application contains a “Sequence Listing as a PDF file (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or as physical sheets of paper (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), but fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 because a copy of the "Sequence Listing" in computer readable form (CRF) has not been submitted as required by 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(i) or 1.821(e)(2)(i) as indicated in item 2) above.
Required response - Applicant must provide:
A new CRF of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(i) or 1.821(e)(2)(i) and
A statement that the content of the CRF is identical of the “Sequence Listing” part of the disclosure, submitted as a PDF file (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), as required by 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii).
Claim Objections
Claim 92 remains objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 92: The instant claim is objected to for comprising an extraneous space
between “EV” and “s” in the acronym “CDC-EVs” in Line 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 92-98 and 100-101 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marbán et al (US 2020/0024604 A1, of record) in view of Lopez et al (SHOCK, 2018).
Marbán et al is considered prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 102(a)(2), having a publication date of 23 January 2020. It is of note that Marbán et al as cited (Eduardo Marbán) is not the same inventive entity/inventor of the current application (Linda S. Marban). Lopez et al is considered prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1).
Regarding claims 92-93: Marbán et al disclose methods of repairing and/or regenerating damaged or diseased tissue comprising administering to the damaged or diseased tissues compositions comprising exosomes (Abstract).
As such, Marbán et al disclose methods of treating acute traumatic injuries and shock, wherein a therapeutically effective amount of exosomes isolated from regenerative cells is administered to a mammalian subject in need thereof (Paragraphs [0010], [0060]-[0061], [0063]-[0064], [0071], [0079], [0086]-[0092]). Marbán et al further disclose that the exosomes are comprised within a formulation for subcutaneous injection at a concentration of about 105-109 exosomes per kilogram (Paragraphs [0018], [0069]-[0072]).
Marbán et al further disclose that the exosomes are isolated from cardiosphere-derived cells (CDC) (Paragraphs [0009], [0020], [0064], [0081]-[0083], [0086]-[0092]).
Marbán et al further disclose that the exosomes are involved in blood coagulation (Paragraph [0058]).
Marbán et al do not disclose that the CDC-exosomes are administered to treat a coagulopathy following an acute traumatic injury, as required by instant claim 92.
Lopez et al, however, disclose that extracellular vesicles – particularly microvesicles – serve as a therapeutic for trauma-induced coagulopathy (Pages 241, 245-247).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the method of Marbán et al such that the CDC-exosomes are administered to treat coagulopathy following an acute traumatic injury, as detailed in Lopez et al. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to broaden the treatment applications of the CDC-exosomes, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that exosomes are known to be involved in blood coagulation and other types of extracellular vesicles have already been found to serve as therapeutics for trauma-induced coagulopathies. See MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Consequently, Marbán et al as modified by Lopez et al render obvious a method of treating a coagulopathy following an acute traumatic injury, wherein CDC-exosomes (claim 93) comprised within a formulation for subcutaneous injection at a concentration of about 105-109 exosomes per kilogram are administered to a mammalian subject in need thereof. As the formulation for subcutaneous injection can be utilized in combat casualty care, this therefore renders obvious the method of instant claim 92. See MPEP § 2112 and 2112.02.
Regarding claim 94: Following the discussion of claim 92, Marbán et al further disclose that the exosomes are derived from an autologous source with respect to the eventual recipient of the exosomes, wherein the exosomes are derived from humans (Paragraphs [0007], [0026], [0065]). This therefore reads on the method of the instant claim.
Regarding claims 95-97: Following the discussion of claim 92, Marbán et al further disclose that the acute traumatic injury includes a crush or compression injury in the CNS, including a crush or compression injury of the brain (claims 96-97), spinal cord, nerves, and/or retina (claim 95) (Paragraphs [0010], [0074]-[0077]). This therefore reads on the method of the instant claims.
Regarding claim 98: Following the discussion of claim 96, Marbán et al further disclose that the CDC-exosomes can be administered to the subject to treat damaged skeletal muscle tissue or skeletal bone cells (Paragraphs [0010], [0077]). Although Marbán et al do not explicitly disclose that the damaged skeletal cells have undergone trauma, the ordinary artisan would have recognized that the CDC-exosomal treatment can readily administered to traumatically damaged skeletal cells with predictable results since the disclosure of Marbán et al teach the administration of CDC-exosomes for (i) the treatment of acute traumatic injuries, and (ii) the treatment of skeletal bone cells. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A). This therefore renders obvious the method of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 100: Following the discussion of claim 92, Marbán et al further disclose that the CDC-exosomes are administered within about 1 to about 2 hours following the traumatic injury (Paragraph [0072]). This therefore reads on the method of the instant claim. See MPEP § 2131.03.
Regarding claim 101: Following the discussion of claim 92, Marbán et al further disclose that the administration of CDC-exosomes to a subject reduces the mortality of the subject when compared to subjects that have not received CDC-exosomes (Paragraph [0086]; Figure 9). This therefore reads on the method of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 105: Following the discussion of claim 92, Marbán et al further disclose that the CDC-exosomes are administered within about 30 to about 40 minutes or within about 40 to about 50 minutes following the traumatic injury (Paragraph [0072]). This therefore reads on the method of the instant claim. See MPEP § 2131.03.
Claims 92-99, 100-101, 103, and 105 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marbán et al (US 2020/0024604 A1, of record) in view of Liu (WO 2019/165267 A1, of record).
The discussion of Marbán et al as modified by Lopez et al regarding instant claim 92 can be observed above and is relied upon herein, the content of which is incorporated in its entirety. Marbán et al as modified by Lopez render obvious claims 92-98, 100-101, and 105. Liu is considered prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 102(a)(2), with a publication date of 29 August 2019.
Regarding claims 99 and 103: Following the discussion of claim 92 above, Marbán et al further disclose that the acute traumatic injury includes a crush or compression injury in the CNS, including a crush or compression injury of the brain, spinal cord, nerves, and/or retina (Paragraphs [0010], [0074]-[0077]).
Marbán et al further disclose that microRNAs can be comprised within the CDC-exosomes, including miR-125b (Paragraphs [0015]-[0017], [0078]).
The combination of Marbán et al and Lopez et al fail to teach that the acute traumatic injury is from a gunshot or an explosion, as required by instant claim 99.
Liu, however, discloses the treatment of acute traumatic brain injuries, wherein subjects suffering from a traumatic brain injury are administered miR-125b comprised within an exosome (Abstract; Paragraphs [0008], [0014], [0082], [0087]-[0088]). Liu further discloses that the acute traumatic brain injury is result of a gunshot wound and/or combat injury (Paragraphs [0030], [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the treatment method of Marbán et al such that the CDC-exosomes are administered to a subject suffering from a traumatic gunshot wound or combat injury, as detailed in Liu. One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to treat a variety of acute traumatic brain injuries, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that the disclosures of both Marbán et al and Liu are concerned with the treatment of acute traumatic injuries of the brain via the administration of exosomal-packaged miR-125b. See MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Consequently, Marbán et al as modified by Lopez et al and Liu render obvious a method of treating coagulopathy following an acute traumatic injury comprising the administration of a therapeutically effective amount of CDC-exosomes to the subject, wherein the acute traumatic injury is a gunshot wound (claim 99) and/or combat injury. Given that the treatment method addresses combat injuries, the ordinary artisan also would have recognized that the subject can be a military personnel (claim 103). This therefore renders obvious the method of the instant claims.
Claims 92-98, 100-102, and 105 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marbán et al (US 2020/0024604 A1, hereinafter referred to as Marbán ‘604, of record) in view of Marbán et al (WO 2019/152549 A1, hereinafter referred to as Marbán ‘549, of record on the IDS filed 31 December 2025).
The discussion of Marbán ‘604 as modified by Lopez et al regarding instant claim 92 can be observed above and is relied upon herein, the content of which is incorporated in its entirety. Marbán ‘604 as modified by Lopez et al render obvious claims 92-98, 100-101, and 105. Marbán ‘549 is considered prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 102(a)(2), with a publication date of 08 August 2019. It is of note that Marbán ‘549 as cited (Eduardo Marbán) is not the same inventive entity/inventor of the current application (Linda S. Marban).
Regarding claim 102: Following the discussion of claim 92 above, Marbán ‘604 further disclose that the CDC-exosomes can be administered to treat kidney cells (Paragraph [0077]).
The combination of Marbán ‘604 and Lopez et al fail to teach that the administration of CDC-exosomes reduced the serum levels of lactate, glucose, or creatinine within the subject, as required by instant claim 102.
Marbán ‘549, however, disclose the administration of CDC-exosomes for the treatment of damaged kidneys (Paragraphs [0007], [0016], [0055], [0085], [0087]-[0088], [0094]-[0095], [0106]). Marbán ‘549 further discloses that kidney dysfunction is determined by increased or excessive creatinine levels in the subject’s blood, plasma, or serum, wherein treatment with the CDC-exosomes decreases the extent of the injury – or dysfunction – within the kidney (Paragraph [0094]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the treatment method of Marbán ‘604 in view of Lopez et al such that the administration of CDC-exosomes reduces the creatinine levels within the serum of a subject suffering from a traumatic kidney injury, as detailed in Marbán ‘549. One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to lower the serum creatinine levels within a subject, as that is an indicator that the kidney dysfunction is being reversed, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that the disclosures of both Marbán ‘604 and Marbán ‘549 are concerned with the treatment of acute traumatic injuries of the kidney via the administration of CDC-exosomes. See MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Consequently, Marbán ‘604 as modified by Lopez et al and Marbán ‘549 render obvious a method of treating coagulopathy following an acute traumatic kidney injury comprising the administration of a therapeutically effective amount of CDC-exosomes to the subject, wherein the administration results in a decrease of serum creatinine levels. This therefore renders obvious the method of the instant claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALYSSA G WESTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/CHRISTOPHER M BABIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1633