DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hackert (2020/0329933) in view of NA (2021/0000315) and Conrad (2021/0330156).
Regarding Claim 1, Hackert teaches A cleaner system (Ref. 1, Fig. 1), comprising:
a first station (Ref. 50, Fig. 1, [0049]) coupled with a first cleaner (Ref. 30, Fig. 1, [0040]), and including a housing (Ref. 50A, Fig. 1, [0063]) that defines a space therein (Fig. 2);
a second station (Ref. 40, Fig. 1, [0049]) disposed under the first station to be coupled with the first station ([0049]), a second cleaner (Ref. 20, Fig. 1, [0040]) being docked on the second station (Fig. 1); and
a path (Ref. 40F, Fig. 1) that communicates with an interior of the housing (Fig. 1) and a dust bin of the second cleaner (Ref. 20C, Fig. 1, [0124]),
wherein the first station further comprises:
an internal path (Ref 50F, Fig. 1) that is disposed in the housing (Fig. 1 shows the internal path within the housing (50A)) and communicates with a dust bin of the first cleaner (Ref. 30C, Fig. 1);
a dust collecting motor (Ref. 50J, Fig. 1, [0108]) that is disposed in the housing (50A, Fig. 1) and generates a suction force to suction dust from the dust bins of the first cleaner and the second cleaner ([0117]); and
wherein, when a suction force is generated by the dust collecting motor ([0117]), dust is suctioned through a first suction path (See annotated Fig. 1 below) connected to the dust bin of the first cleaner (30C) and to the internal path (50F) when the door (10E) is in an open state ([0108-0109] describes selectively connecting the first cleaning device (30)), and the dust is suctioned though a second suction path (See annotated Fig. 1 below) connected to the dust bin of the second cleaner (Fig. 1), the path (40F), and the internal path (50F) when the door is in a closed state (fig. 1, [0108] describes the valve to help direct airflow and when it is closed to suck debris from the second suction path).
Hackert teaches a path (Ref. 40F, Fig. 1) communicating with an interior of the housing and a dust bin of the second cleaner (Ref. 20C, Fig. 1, [0124]) fails to explicitly teach an external path that is disposed outside the first station and communicates with an interior of the housing and a dust bin of the second cleaner. Na teaches a cleaning system with a cleaner being docked on the station and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Na teaches an external path (Ref. 320, Fig. 15) that is disposed outside the first station (Fig. 15, [0117]), and communicates with an interior of the housing and a dust bin of the second cleaner (Fig. 4&15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the path, as taught by Hackert, with the external path, as taught by Na, to achieve the predictable result of communicating the dust bin of the cleaner to the interior of the housing and to allow for easy cleaning of the passageway.
Hackert as modified fails to explicitly teach a door disposed on a coupler at which the first cleaner is coupled to the housing. Conrad teaches a cleaning system with a cleaner being docked on the station and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Conrad further teaches a door unit (Fig. 7A-C) with a door (Ref. 272b, Fig. 7A-C) disposed on a coupler (Ref. 2822, Fig. 7A) at which the first cleaner is coupled to the housing (Fig. 7A), and opened towards an interior of an upper portion of the housing (Fig. 7B) to cause an outside of the housing to communicate with the internal path (Fig. 7B, [0243]), door motor (Ref. 2762, fig. 7A, [0247]), a first door arm (Ref. 2802, Fig. 7A&7C, [0247]), and a second door arm (Ref. 272a, Fig. 7A, [0247]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the housing, as taught by Hackert as modified, with the door unit, as taught by Conrad, to automatically allow for fluid connection between the vacuum and the station and to ensure debris is not dispersed into the air when no vacuum is attached ([0233-0234]).
Regarding claim 2, Hackert as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and given the teachings of the door unit into the housing, Conrad further teaches wherein the door (272b) is disposed to be parallel to a major axis of the housing when the door is closed (Fig. 7A shows the door is vertical in the closed position that is vertical to the major axis), and is disposed to face the dust collecting motor when the door is opened (Fig. 7B shows when the door is open it will open upward and will face downwards where the motor).
Regarding claim 3, Hackert as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and given the teachings of the door unit into the housing, Conrad further teaches wherein the first station further comprises:
a door motor (Ref. 2762, fig. 7A, [0247]) that provides power to open or close the door ([0273&0247]);
a first door arm (Ref. 2802, Fig. 7A&7C, [0247]) coupled at a first side of the first door arm (Ref. 280a1 , Fig. 7C, [0247] describes the door having a similar station to one shown in Fig. 7C) to the door motor (276, Fig. 7A, [0247]); and
a second door arm (Ref. 272a, Fig. 7A, [0247]) coupled at a first side of the second door arm (Fig. 7B-C, the side below where the first door arm is connected) to the first door arm (Fig. 7B), and coupled at a second sided of the second door arm (Fig. 7B-C, the opposite side from the first side)to the door (Fig. 7B).
Regarding claim 4, Hackert as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and given the teachings of replacing the path, in Hackert, with the external path, as taught by Na, in claim 1, Hackert as modified further teaches wherein the first station further comprises an internal extension tube (See annotated Fig. 1 below) disposed in the housing (Fig. 1, Hackert), and wherein the internal extension tube is formed such that a first end (See annotated Fig. 1 below, Hackert) thereof is connected to the external path (Fig. 1, shows the path that would be replaced by the external path of Na to be connected), and a second end (See annotated Fig. 1 below) thereof is opened in a direction facing the dust collecting motor in the housing (Fig. 1 shows the second end is opened in a downward direction that faces the dust collection motor).
Regarding claim 5, Hackert as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and given the teachings of the door unit into the side of the housings, as taught by Conrad, Conrad further teaches the door is located towards the top of housing where the opening is (fig. 7B). Given the teachings of Conrad, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the position of the door unit to be wherein the internal extension tube (See above) is disposed such that the second end (See annotated fig. above) thereof is disposed above the door when the door is opened, as a rearrangement of parts since the location of the door would not disrupt the operation of the device (MPEP 2144.04 VI. C).
Regarding claim 6, Hackert as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and Hackert further teaches a dust collecting part (Ref. 50G, Fig. 1) that is accommodated in the housing (50A, Fig. 1), disposed above the dust collecting motor (Fig. 1), and collects dust suctioned from the dust bin of the first cleaner and the dust bin of the second cleaner by the dust collecting motor ([0123]).
Regarding claim 7, Hackert as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6, as described above, and Hackert further teaches wherein the dust collecting part collects dust through the first suction path (See annotated Fig. 1 above) connected to the dust bin of the first cleaner (30C), the internal path (50F), and the dust collecting part when the door is opened ([0108], Fig. 1), and collects dust through the second suction path (See annotated Fig. 1 above) connected to the dust bin of the second cleaner (20C), the external path (40F), the internal path (50F), and the dust collecting part when the door is closed ([0108] describes the valve to help direct airflow and when it is closed to suck debris from the second suction path).
Regarding claim 8, Hackert as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and Hackert further teaches wherein the second station is docked with the second cleaner in a same direction as a direction in which the first cleaner is coupled to the first station (Fig. 1 shows the first and second cleaners docked in a lateral direction).
Regarding claim 13, Hackert teaches A cleaner system (Ref. 1, Fig. 1), comprising:
a first station (Ref. 50, Fig. 1, [0049]) coupled with a first cleaner (Ref. 30, Fig. 1, [0040]), and including a housing (Ref. 50A, Fig. 1, [0063]) that defines a space therein (Fig. 2), the first cleaner being a stick-type cleaner (Fig. 1 shows a stick-type vacuum [0008]);
a second station (Ref. 40, Fig. 1, [0049]) disposed under the first station and configured to be coupled with the first station ([0049]), a second cleaner (Ref. 20, Fig. 1, [0040]) being a robotic cleaner (fig. 1, shows a robotic vacuum) docked on the second station (Fig. 1); and
a path (Ref. 40F, Fig. 1) communicates with an interior of the housing of the first station (Fig. 1) and a dust bin of the second cleaner (Ref. 20C, Fig. 1), wherein the first station further comprises:
an internal path (Ref 50F, Fig. 1) that is disposed in the housing of the first station (Fig. 1 shows the internal path within the housing (50A)) and communicates with a dust bin of the first cleaner (Ref. 30C, Fig. 1);
a dust collecting motor (Ref. 50J, Fig. 1, [0108]) that is disposed in the housing of the first station (50A, Fig. 1) and generates a suction force to suction dust from the dust bins of the first cleaner and the second cleaner ([0117]); and
wherein, when a suction force is generated by the dust collecting motor ([0117]), dust is suctioned through a first suction path (See annotated Fig. 1 below) connected to the dust bin of the first cleaner (30C) and to the internal path (50F) when the door is in an open state ([0108-0109] describes selectively connecting the first cleaning device (30)), and the dust is suctioned through a second suction path (See annotated Fig. 1 below) connected to the dust bin of the second cleaner (fig. 1), the path (40F), and the internal path (50F) when the door is in a closed state (fig. 1, [0108] describes the valve to help direct airflow and when it is closed to suck debris from the second suction path).
Hackert teaches a path (Ref. 40F, Fig. 1) communicating with an interior of the housing and a dust bin of the second cleaner (Ref. 20C, Fig. 1, [0124]) fails to explicitly teach an external path disposed outside the first station and outside of the second station. Na teaches a cleaning system with a cleaner being docked on the station and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Na teaches an external path (Ref. 320, Fig. 15) disposed outside the first station (Fig. 15, [0117]), and communicating with an interior of the housing and a dust bin of the second cleaner (Fig. 4&15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the path, as taught by Hackert, with the external path, as taught by Na, to achieve the predictable result of communicating the dust bin of the cleaner to the interior of the housing and to allow for easy cleaning of the passageway.
Hackert as modified fails to explicitly teach a door disposed on a coupler at which the first cleaner is coupled to the housing. Conrad teaches a cleaning system with a cleaner being docked on the station and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Conrad further teaches a door unit (Fig. 7A-C) with a door (Ref. 272b, Fig. 7A-C) disposed on a coupler (Ref. 2822, Fig. 7A) at which the first cleaner is coupled to the housing (Fig. 7A), and opened towards an interior of an upper portion of the housing (Fig. 7B) to cause an outside of the housing to communicate with the internal path (Fig. 7B, [0243]), door motor (Ref. 2762, fig. 7A, [0247]), a first door arm (Ref. 2802, Fig. 7A&7C, [0247]), and a second door arm (Ref. 272a, Fig. 7A, [0247]) and wherein the door (272b) is disposed to be parallel to a major axis of the housing when the door is closed (Fig. 7A shows the door is vertical in the closed position that is vertical to the major axis), and is disposed to face the dust collecting motor when the door is opened (Fig. 7B shows when the door is open it will open upward and will face downwards where the motor). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the housing, as taught by Hackert as modified, with the door unit, as taught by Conrad, to automatically allow for fluid connection between the vacuum and the station and to ensure debris is not dispersed into the air when no vacuum is attached ([0233-0234]).
Regarding claim 14, Hackert as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and given the teachings of the door unit into the housing, Conrad further teaches wherein the first station further comprises:
a door motor (Ref. 2762, fig. 7A, [0247]) that provides power to open or close the door ([0273&0247]);
a first door arm (Ref. 2802, Fig. 7A&7C, [0247]) coupled at a first side of the first door arm (Ref. 280a1 , Fig. 7C, [0247] describes the door having a similar station to one shown in Fig. 7C) to the door motor (276, Fig. 7A, [0247]); and
a second door arm (Ref. 272a, Fig. 7A, [0247]) coupled at a first side of the second door arm (Fig. 7B-C, the side below where the first door arm is connected) to the first door arm (Fig. 7B), and coupled at a second side of the second door arm (Fig. 7B-C, the opposite side from the first side) to the door (Fig. 7B).
Regarding claim 15, Hackert as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and given the teachings of replacing the path, in Hackert, with the external path, as taught by Na, and given the teachings of the door unit into the side of the housings, as taught by Conrad, in claim 13, Hackert as modified further teaches wherein the first station further comprises an internal extension tube (See annotated Fig. 1 below, Hackert) disposed in the housing (Fig. 1, Hackert), and the internal extension tube is formed such that a first end (See annotated Fig. 1 below, Hackert) thereof is connected to the external path (Fig. 1, shows the path that would be replaced by the external path of Na to be connected), and a second end (See annotated Fig. 1 below) thereof is opened in a direction facing the dust collecting motor in the housing (Fig. 1 shows the second end is opened in a downward direction that faces the dust collection motor).
Conrad further teaches the door is located towards the top of housing where the opening is (fig. 7B). Given the teachings of Conrad, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the position of the door unit to be wherein the internal extension tube (See above) is disposed such that the second end (See annotated fig. above) thereof is disposed above the door when the door is opened, as a rearrangement of parts since the location of the door would not disrupt the operation of the device (MPEP 2144.04 VI. C).
Regarding claim 16, Hackert as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and Hackert further teaches a dust collecting part (Ref. 50G, Fig. 1) that is accommodated in the housing (Fig. 1), disposed above the dust collecting motor (Fig. 1), and collects dust suctioned from the dust bin of the first cleaner and the dust bin of the second cleaner by the dust collecting motor ([0123]).
Regarding claim 17, Hackert as modified teaches the limitations of claim 16, as described above, and Hackert further teaches wherein the dust collecting part collects dust through the first suction path (See annotated Fig. 1 above) connected to the dust bin of the first cleaner (Fig. 1), the internal path (50F), and the dust collecting part when the door is opened ([0108]), and collects dust through the second suction path (See annotated Fig. 1 above) connected to the dust bin of the second cleaner (fig. 1), the external path, the internal path, and the dust collecting part when the door is closed ([0108] describes the valve to help direct airflow and when it is closed to suck debris from the second suction path).
Regarding claim 18, Hackert as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and Hackert further teaches wherein the second station is docked with the second cleaner in a same direction as a direction in which the first cleaner is coupled to the first station (Fig. 1 shows the first and second cleaners docked in a lateral direction).
Claims 9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hackert in view of Na and Conrad as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Reed (6,076,226).
Regarding claim 9, Hackert as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and Hackert further teaches wherein the second station comprises:
a lower body (Ref. 40B, Fig. 1) on which the second cleaner climbs to be docked thereon ([0054]);
an upper body (Ref. 40D, Fig. 1) connected to the rear body (Fig. 1), coupled with the first station (Fig. 1), and disposed above an upper surface of the second cleaner to be spaced apart therefrom by a predetermined distance in a state where the second cleaner is docked (Fig. 1); and
a rear body (Ref. 40C, Fig. 1) connected with the lower body (Fig. 1), and the upper body, and disposed in a direction opposite to a side in which the second cleaner is docked (Fig. 1).
Hackert as modified fails to explicitly teach a side body connected to each of opposite side ends of the lower body and extending upwards from the lower body. Reed teaches a cleaning system with a cleaner being docked on the station and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Reed further teaches a cleaning station (Ref. C, Fig. 1) comprising a lower body (Ref. 36, Fig. 1), a side body (Ref. 34, Fig. 1) connected to each of opposite side ends of the lower body and extending upwards from the lower body (Fig. 1), an upper body (Ref. 35, Fig. 1), and a rear body (Ref. 32, Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second station, as taught by Hackert, with a side body, as taught by Reed, to protect the vacuum cleaner when not in use from accidental dislodgement.
Regarding claim 11, Hackert as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9, as described above, and given the teachings of the external path, Na further teaches wherein the second station further comprises a path support part (Ref. 370, Fig. 15) that is connected to the rear body (Fig. 15 shows it connected to the rear end), extends upwards to be spaced apart therefrom by a predetermined distance (Fig. 15 shows the path support extending upward from an upper surface to extend to the dust collection portion), and accommodates a portion of the external path therein (320, Fig. 15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second station, as taught by Hackert as modified, with a path support part connected to the rear body and extending up from the upper surface, as taught by Na, to better protect the external path from outside tampering and accidental disconnection ([0117]).
Regarding claim 12, Hackert as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9, as described above, and Hackert teaches a second cleaner charging terminal (Ref. 40E, Fig. 2) electrically connected to the second cleaner (Ref. 20B, Fig. 2, [0058]) and supplying power to charge the second cleaner ([0058]) and a suction hole (Ref. 40F, Fig. 1) formed to correspond to a position where the dust bin of the second cleaner is disposed (Fig. 1), in a state where the second cleaner is docked (Fig. 1). Hackert as modified fails to explicitly teach wherein the lower body comprises a suction hole and second cleaner charging terminal. Na teaches a lower body (Fig. 1) comprising a suction hole (Ref. 140, Fig. 1) formed to correspond to a position where the dust bin of the second cleaner is disposed (Fig. 4), in a state where the second cleaner is docked (Fig. 4) and a second cleaner charging terminal (Ref. 123, Fig. 1) electrically connected to the second cleaner (Fig. 4, [0086]) and supplying power to charge the second cleaner ([0086]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to rearrange the a second cleaner charging terminal and suction hole, as taught by Hackert as modified, to be on the lower body, as taught by Na, since such a modification would not affect the operation of the device and to produce the predictable result of charging the second vacuum and removing debris from the second vacuum dust bin. Further such a modification would allow gravity to assist with removal of debris from the dust bin.
Regarding claim 19, Hackert as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and Hackert further teaches wherein the second station comprises:
a lower body (Ref. 40B, Fig. 1) on which the second cleaner climbs to be docked thereon ([0054]);
an upper body (Ref. 40D, Fig. 1) connected to the rear body (Fig. 1), coupled with the first station (Fig. 1), and disposed above an upper surface of the second cleaner to be spaced apart therefrom by a predetermined distance in a state where the second cleaner is docked (Fig. 1); and
a rear body (Ref. 40C, Fig. 1) connected with the lower body (Fig. 1), and the upper body, and disposed in a direction opposite to a side in which the second cleaner is docked (Fig. 1).
Hackert as modified fails to explicitly teach a side body connected to each of opposite side ends of the lower body and extending upwards from the lower body. Reed teaches a cleaning system with a cleaner being docked on the station and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Reed further teaches a cleaning station (Ref. C, Fig. 1) comprising a lower body (Ref. 36, Fig. 1), a side body (Ref. 34, Fig. 1) connected to each of opposite side ends of the lower body and extending upwards from the lower body (Fig. 1), an upper body (Ref. 35, Fig. 1), and a rear body (Ref. 32, Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second station, as taught by Hackert, with a side body, as taught by Reed, to protect the vacuum cleaner when not in use from accidental dislodgement.
Regarding claim 20, Hackert as modified teaches the limitations of claim 19, as described above, and Hackert teaches a second cleaner charging terminal (Ref. 40E, Fig. 2) electrically connected to the second cleaner (Ref. 20B, Fig. 2, [0058]) and supplying power to charge the second cleaner ([0058]) and a suction hole (Ref. 40F, Fig. 1) formed to correspond to a position where the dust bin of the second cleaner is disposed (Fig. 1), in a state where the second cleaner is docked (Fig. 1). Hackert as modified fails to explicitly teach wherein the lower body comprises a suction hole and second cleaner charging terminal. Na teaches a lower body (Fig. 1) comprising a suction hole (Ref. 140, Fig. 1) formed to correspond to a position where the dust bin of the second cleaner is disposed (Fig. 4), in a state where the second cleaner is docked (Fig. 4) and a second cleaner charging terminal (Ref. 123, Fig. 1) electrically connected to the second cleaner (Fig. 4, [0086]) and supplying power to charge the second cleaner ([0086]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to rearrange the a second cleaner charging terminal and suction hole, as taught by Hackert as modified, to be on the lower body, as taught by Na, since such a modification would not affect the operation of the device and to produce the predictable result of charging the second vacuum and removing debris from the second vacuum dust bin. Further such a modification would allow gravity to assist with removal of debris from the dust bin.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hackert in view of Na and Conrad as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Arakawa (2017/0164800).
Regarding Claim 10, Hackert as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9, as described above, and Hackert teaches the housing and the second station are detachably coupled with each other ([0048] describes the stations are modular and can be removed or changed). Hackert as modified fails to explicitly teach wherein the housing is provided with a plurality of housing fastening holes formed in a lower end thereof, wherein the upper body comprises on an upper surface thereof a plurality of upper body fastening holes disposed at positions corresponding to the plurality of housing fastening holes, respectively, and wherein the housing and the second station are detachably coupled with each other through the plurality of housing fastening holes and the plurality of upper body fastening holes using a fastening bolt. Arakawa teaches a cleaning system with a cleaner being docked on the station and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Arakawa further teaches an upper station housing (Ref. 1, Fig. 2) with a plurality of fastening members with holes (Ref. 34, Fig. 4) formed in a lower end (Ref. 8A, Fig. 2) thereof, wherein a lower station upper surface (Ref. 4, Fig. 2) comprises on an upper surface (Fig. 2-4) thereof a pluralyt of upper body fastening holes disposed at positions corresponding to the plurality of housing fastening holes (Fig. 4, [0075]), respectively, and wherein the housing and the second station are detachably coupled with each other through the plurality of housing fastening holes and the plurality of upper body fastening holes ([0075]) using a fastening bolt (Fig. 2-4 shows a bolt and [0058] describes a fastening bolt used as a fastening means). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the lower end and upper end, as taught by Hackert, with corresponding fastening holes with bolts, as taught by Arakawa, to securely attach the first and second station together and to achieve the predictable result of attaching two stations together and to provide more stability and be safer to use ([0075]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the specification are acknowledged and examiner has withdrawn the drawing and specification objections.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are acknowledged and examiner has withdrawn the 35 USC 112(b) rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 12 December, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended claim 1 thereby necessitating a new grounds of rejection and reinterpretation of the prior art. Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the prior art fails to disclose the flow paths may be selectively connected through the opening and closing of the claimed door has been fully considered and is not persuasive. Examiner has applied Hackert to the 35 USC 103 rejection above. Hackert teaches wherein, when a suction force is generated by the dust collecting motor ([0117]), dust is suctioned through a first suction path (See annotated Fig. 1 above) connected to the dust bin of the first cleaner (30C) and to the internal path (50F) when the door (10E) is in an open state ([0108-0109] describes selectively connecting the first cleaning device (30)), and the dust is suctioned though a second suction path (See annotated Fig. 1 above) connected to the dust bin of the second cleaner (Fig. 1), the path (40F), and the internal path (50F) when the door is in a closed state (fig. 1, [0108] describes the valve to help direct airflow and when it is closed to suck debris from the second suction path). Hackert teaches that there are two different flow paths and that the valve helps direct/block airflow through the opening and closing of the valve ([0108]).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Na teaches paths linking stations can be external to the housing and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Conrad is merely used to modify the housing with the door unit to automatically allow for fluid connection between the vacuum and the station and to ensure debris is not dispersed into the air when no vacuum is attached ([0233-0234]) and since such a modification would yield the intended result of selectively choosing airflow.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, David Posigian can be reached on (313) 446-6546. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppairmy.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DANA LEE POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723