DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 3/3/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 28-30, 32, 39 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/3/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of SEQ ID NO:1 as the NFG moiety and SEQ ID NO:12 as the Fc moiety in the reply filed on 3/3/26 is acknowledged. The election allows for linkers between SEQ ID NO:1 and SEQ ID NO:2 in the NGF polypeptide.
Claims 12, 14, 15, 17, 18, 20, 21, and 25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/3/26. Regarding claims 14, 17, 20 and 25, the examiner has compared SEQ ID Numbers 61, 65, 66 and 67 with each of the elected SEQ ID Numbers 1 and 12, and for each of SEQ ID Numbers 61, 65, 66 and 67 there are mismatches when compared to the elected SEQ ID NO:12, so the long-acting NGF polypeptides of claims 14, 17, 20 and 25, respectively comprising SEQ ID Numbers 62, 65, 61 and 67, are directed to nonelected species. Regarding claim 12, this claim includes multiple modifications in part (i) of SEQ ID NO:8, whereas elected SEQ ID NO:12 only comprises 3 modifications of SEQ ID NO:8, and each of SEQ ID Numbers 15 and 16 of part (ii) have 3 modifications relative to elected SEQ ID NO:12. Regarding claim 15, part (i) includes modifications not in elected SEQ ID NO:12, and SEQ ID Numbers 13 and 14 of part (ii) also include at least one modification from elected SEQ ID NO:12. Regarding claim 18, part (i) is directed to the N297 modification that is not present in elected SEQ ID NO:12, and SEQ ID Numbers 9 and 10 of part (ii) each has four modifications from elected SEQ ID NO:12. Regarding claim 21, these modifications of IgG4 set forth sequences that differ from elected SEQ ID NO:12 in multiple ways.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, 18, 20, 21, 25, 26, 28-32, 39 are pending.
Claims 3, 4, 6-8, 10, 13, 16, 19, 22-24, 27, 33-38, 40, 41 are cancelled.
Claims 28-30, 32, 39 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 12, 14, 15, 17, 18, 20, 21, and 25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 11, 26, 31 are under instant examination.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 11, 26, 31 are rejected.
Priority
The instant application, filed 05/17/2023 is a National Stage entry of PCT/CN2021/131614 , International Filing Date: 11/19/2021
claims foreign priority to PCT/CN2020/129925, filed 11/19/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner has considered the reference(s) provided in the 5/17/23, 3/5/25 and 10/27/25 Information Disclosure Statements, and provides a signed and dated copy of each herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 11, 26, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “long-acting” in line 1 of claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “long-acting” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably understand the metes and bounds of what is claimed when the NGF polypeptide is “long-acting” – under what conditions and for how long is within, or outside of, the metes and bounds of what is claimed. Additionally, this lack of clarity and lack of clear metes and bounds is particularly the case given that the claim 1 Fc moiety is “derived from an IgG1 Fc or an IgG4 Fc,” because “derived from” allows for any number of modifications from an IgG1 Fc or an IgG4 Fc.
Claim 1 and claims depending from claim 1 under examination are rejected on the above basis.
Claim 5 is rejected additionally because the use of “and/or” results in impossibilities, so what is being claimed is unclear and indefinite. A particular Fc of an NGF polypeptide cannot logically comprise both the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:7 or 8 AND mutations thereof listed in (ii), (iii) and (iv). Additionally, it is unclear whether (iv) can stand on its own, given its “further” – whether (iv) only is when combined with (ii) or (iii) [it cannot logically exist with (i)], or the Fc need only lack the first 5 amino acids of SEQ ID NO: 7 or 8 to fall within claim 5. Claims 9 and 11 also are rejected based on depending from claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 11, 26, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 encompasses a genus of Fc moieties wherein each species thereof “is derived from an IgG1 Fc or an IgG4 Fc,” such Fc moieties a component of the claimed “long-acting” NGF polypeptide.
“Derived from” is not defined in the application, and is interpreted broadly such that any number of modifications – additions, substitutions, and/or deletions, of the respective amino acid sequences of an IgG1 Fc or an IgG4 Fc, of any species, can be made during any respective ‘derived from’ procedure that yields a ‘derived from’ Fc moiety. Yet the resultant NGF polypeptide comprising this and the NGF moiety are also stated to be “long-acting”, which, per above, is unclear as to its metes and bounds.
The claimed subject matter is not supported by an adequate written description. There are insufficient guidance, structure/function relationships such as correlations between a particular structure and a function, and/or other relevant disclosure, nor examples that are representative of the diversity of the genera encompassed by the Fc moieties of claims 1, 2, 5 (which at a minimum only require lacking the first 5 amino acids of SEQ ID NO:7 or 8), 9 (part (i) allowing for any number of additional additions, substitutions, and/or deletions), 26 (part (ii) only requiring an improvement that can be as low as “at least about 10%, see para 68, and part (i) adding a limitation, for each of (i) and (ii) setting forth results for such polypeptides without setting forth the structure(s) required to achieve these results from the broad genus of possible sequences of ‘derived from’ Fc moieties), and 31 (based on the bases applied to claim 1).
The skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure alternatives (i.e., amino acid sequences) of the encompassed polypeptides which have the respective required activity/function without further testing, and therefore conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of identification. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention. The compound itself is required; in this case at least a sufficient number of species that are representative of the diversity of each respective genus, and/or a disclosure of what is critical as far as sequence(s) and what does not work to achieve a particular claimed activity/function. Here, given the breadth of possible modifications that fall within ”derived from” – which nonetheless requires that any such ‘derived from’ Fc moiety retains sufficient biological activity of the original polypeptide sequence to provide for an extended half-life in plasma or other property to achieve the “long-acting” descriptor of the NGF polypeptide of which it is a component, the skilled artisan is left to determine what range of modifications – additions, substitutions, and/or deletions, of the respective amino acid sequences of an IgG1 Fc or an IgG4 Fc, of any species, can be made during any respective ‘derived from’ procedure that yields a ‘derived from’ Fc moiety that when combined with the NGF moiety can provide some level of relevant biological activity, here regarding “long-acting”. This is leaving completion of the invention to someone else. See also Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016 (Fed. Cir. 1991). One cannot describe what one has not conceived. See Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481 at 1483 (BPAI 1993). In Fiddes, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found to be unpatentable due to lack of written description for that broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
Therefore, the full breadth of claim 1, and claims 2, 5, 9, 11, 26, 31 which depend from claim 1, do not meet the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph.
Applicants are reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. § 112 is severable from its enablement provision (see page 1115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 9, 11, 26, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2017/157325, published 9/21/2017, provided in 5/17/23 IDS, in Chinese so applying US national stage US 20200331977 (“Zhang”) as corresponding English language version, in view of CN106008722A, published 10/12/2016, provided in 5/17/23 IDS, English language machine translation (“ ‘722”) provided attached to Chinese language publication, US 20140044711, Ledbetter et al., published 2/13/14 (“Ledbetter”) and US 20190169593, Tarsio et al., published 6/6/2019 (“Tarsio”).
Claim 1 is directed to a long-acting nerve growth factor (NGF) polypeptide comprising from N-terminus to C-terminus an NGF moiety and an Fc moiety, wherein the NGF moiety consists of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, and wherein the Fc moiety is derived from an IgG1 Fc or an IgG4 Fc.
Applicant has elected SEQ ID NO:1 as the NGF moiety and SEQ ID NO:12 as the Fc moiety. The SEQ ID NO:1 NGF moiety comprises an F12E modification relative to the native human NGF sequence over this portion.
Zhang teaches Nerve Growth Factor (NGF) fusion proteins, combining a NGF polypeptide at an N terminus end of the fusion polypeptide with an Fc polypeptide at its C terminus end, Abstract and elsewhere, which in some embodiments comprises an intervening linker, Id.
Zhang teaches as its first modification of NGF sequence the F12E modification, which is found in instant SEQ ID NO:1 relative to the native NGF, para 18. One of ordinary skill in the art when preparing an NGF fusion polypeptide would include this F12E modification based on the teachings of Zhang at least because it has extended half-life compared with rhNGF, Table 2, and one of the most favorable improvements in pain threshold, Table 3.
Zhang does not teach that its NGF polypeptide component of its NGF/Fc fusion polypeptide is 118 amino acids long.
The level of ordinary skill in the art is high.
The ‘722 teaches that during normal cellular processing the last two amino acids of the 120 amino acid form of NGF are cleaved, leaving 118 amino acids, see para 5. Therefore shortening the NGF portion of Zhang’s fusion polypeptide, which comprises an F12E modification relative to the native human NGF sequence over this portion, from 120 to 118 amino acids in length would have been an obvious alternative at least because the ‘772 teaches that this is the size after enzymatic processing of NGF. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given that this 118 amino acid size of NGF is taught for use in the ‘722 as the NGF component of an NGF/Fc fusion polypeptide, and additionally, based on the examiner’s understanding, is found in a human body after such enzymatic processing.
Although Zhang teaches in para 9 that “Due to the introduction of a sequence of the Fc moiety, it may affect the activity of NGF, and may also mediate antibody-dependent cytotoxicity and complement-dependent cytotoxicity. Therefore, in order to obtain a fusion protein having a high biological activity and a long half-life, it is necessary to screen or mutate the Fc sequences of various subclasses.” This provides a suggestion and direction for making improvements by one of ordinary skill in the art, however neither Zhang nor the ‘722 teach all modifications found in the elected SEQ ID NO:12.
First, as the instant specification states as to its SEQ ID NO:8, and as the following comparison evidences, applicant’s SEQ ID NO:8 is a natural product known alternatively as Chain A of Ig gamma-1, chain C region, and immunoglobulin heavy chain constant region, partial, of Homo sapiens (human), i.e., an Fc polypeptide:
As shown in instant Drawing FIG. 1C, the differences between instant SEQ ID NO:12 and the above-corresponding Fc polypeptide of instant SEQ ID NO:8 are: SEQ ID NO:12’s lack of the N-terminus EPKSC of the native Fc of Ig1, AA instead of LL at positions corresponding to 234 and 235, and S instead of P at a position corresponding to position 331.
Ledbetter teaches “The Fc domain is modified such that the molecule has reduced cytotoxicity relative to a hybrid nuclease molecule having an unmodified Fc domain,” para 4, and clearly teaches the P331S modification in multiple sequences of fusion polypeptides that include modified IgG1 sequences that include the P331S modification, this combined with, inter alia, L234A and L235A, para 6 and multiple other paragraphs and sequences throughout the application. Such modifications afford the improvement of reduced cytotoxicity, so one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have been motivated to improve the Zhang constructs with these modifications in the Fc portion, at least in order to reduce cytotoxicity, and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the teachings of Ledbetter.
With regard to modifications at or near the hinge region, none of Zhang, the ‘722 nor Ledbetter specifically teach the hinge region elimination of EPKSC, such that a linker such as GGGGS directly attaches to an Fc sequence starting at DKTHTC.
However, based on the examiner’s search, a construct comprising a fusion polypeptide comprising a GGGGS linker directly attaching to an IgG1 Fc sequence starting at DKTHTC was found in over 50 references.
One of these is Tarsio, which teaches a linker GGGGS directly attaching to an IgG1 Fc sequence starting at DKTHTC, see, among many others, SEQ ID NO:52, where the DKTHTC starts at position 959 of the fusion polypeptide. Tarsio teaches constructs that add the Fc moiety (identified as a “tag” in Tarsio) via linker can increase half-life as well as providing other advantages, paras 288-290, the latter para ending, “Surprisingly, Fc-fusion Klotho proteins appear to have improved binding, activity, and/or immunogenicity. The addition of Fc domains to S-Klotho will also allow the fusion protein to be less immunogenic upon administration in human subjects.” Such modification affords at least a reasonable expectation of improved half-life, so one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have been motivated to improve the Zhang constructs with a modified Fc portion that comprises a GGGGS type linker directly attaching to an IgG1 Fc sequence starting at DKTHTC.
Further regarding linkers, Zhang extensively teaches linkers that include, per para 37, the following teaching, “L is a glycine-rich peptide or a peptide having a sequence [Gly-Gly-Gly-Gly-Ser]n, in which n is 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6. Preferably, the function and stability in vivo of the nerve growth factor fusion protein of the present application is optimized by the addition of a linker peptide (L in the general formula) to prevent potential undesired domain interactions. Although these linker peptides may be of any length and consist of any combination of amino acids, and their lengths preferably do not exceed the length necessary to prevent undesired domain interactions and/or to optimize biological function and/or stability. The linker peptide is preferably enriched in serine-glycine, and preferably is not more than 30 amino acids in length. The linker peptide is more preferably not more than 20 amino acids in length, and more preferably not more than 15 amino acids in length. A preferred linker peptide includes a repetition of the sequence Gly-Gly-Gly-Gly-Ser. Preferably, there are 2 to 6 repetitions of this sequence. Even more preferably, there are 3 to 4 repetitions of this sequence. The most preferred sequence of the linker peptide is Gly-Gly-Gly-Gly-Ser-Gly-Gly-Gly-Gly-Ser-Gly-Gly-Gly-Gly-Ser. That is, the most preferred linker peptide L is [Gly-Gly-Gly-Gly-Ser]3.”
Accordingly, the use of such linkers would have been among obvious alternatives known in the art and taught specifically for use when joining an NGF polypeptide to an Fc polypeptide.
Based on the combined teachings and examples of the references, one of ordinary skill in the art would have combined these teachings to improve the NGF-linker-Fc fusion polypeptides with improvements to the NGF moiety as taught by the ‘722, and the Fc moiety as taught by Ledbetter and Tarsio. Zhang provides a base NGF-linker-Fc and NGF-Fc construct, including extensive teachings of linkers, and the ‘722, Ledbetter and Tarsio provide improvements that can be applied to the constructs of Zhang to advance performance of the fusion polypeptides with a reasonable expectation of success.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify the NGF moiety of Zhang to that of instant SEQ ID NO:1, and the Fc moiety of Zhang to that of instant SEQ ID NO:12, and to include one or more GGGGS linkers therebetween, based on multiple teachings of such linkers including in Zhang and Tarsio.
Therefore claim 1 when considering the elected species would have been obvious.
The rejection of claim 1 also renders the following claims obvious:
Claim 2 at least because Zhang teaches such linkers as set forth in (ii), and Tarsio also teaches a GGGGS linker.
Claim 5, and claim 9 (considering (i)), noting per above that Ledbetter teaches the P331S modification in multiple sequences of fusion polypeptides that include modified IgG1 sequences that include the P331S modification, this combined with, inter alia, L234A and L235A, para 6 and multiple other paragraphs and sequences throughout the application.
Claim 11 because SEQ ID NO:62 comprises SEQ ID Nos. 1 and 12 with a GGGGS linker therebetween, these taught as set forth above in the claim 1 rejection.
Claim 26 would have been obvious because Zhang teaches similar constructs comprising an NGF moiety combined with an Fc moiety, and all of those evaluated had half lives far greater than 10 hours, see Table 2. Please also note that beyond the elected species the large genus of claim 1 NGF polypeptides (large at least based on ‘derived from’) encompasses those of Zhang or NGF polypeptides very similar to those of Zhang (differing such as by the last two amino acids of the 120 amino acid NGF moiety), Zhang’s as noted having half-lives far exceeding 10 hours, and as to the combination of the elected NGF and Fc sequences, the same NGF polypeptide comprising these, as made obvious for claim 1, must have the same properties.
Claim 31 based on the rejection of claim 1 above and further considering that Zhang teaches its nerve growth factor fusion proteins in a pharmaceutical composition, comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, para 47.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 11, 12, 26, 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 7-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11883464 (reference patent) in view of in view of CN106008722A, published 10/12/2016, provided in 5/17/23 IDS, English language machine translation (“ ‘722”) provided attached to Chinese language publication, US 20140044711, Ledbetter et al., published 2/13/14 (“Ledbetter”) and US 20190169593, Tarsio et al., published 6/6/2019 (“Tarsio”).
Claim 1 is directed to a long-acting nerve growth factor (NGF) polypeptide comprising from N-terminus to C-terminus an NGF moiety and an Fc moiety, wherein the NGF moiety consists of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, and wherein the Fc moiety is derived from an IgG1 Fc or an IgG4 Fc.
Applicant has elected SEQ ID NO:1 as the NGF moiety and SEQ ID NO:12 as the Fc moiety, however this rejection extends beyond the elected species.
Reference patent claim 1 is directed to a nerve growth factor fusion protein, comprising a general formula A-B or A-L-B, wherein: A is a human nerve growth factor, L is a linker peptide, and B is an Fc moiety of IgG1, a mutant of the Fc moiety of IgG1, or a fragment of the Fc moiety of IgG1, wherein the mutant of the Fc moiety comprises a site mutation associated with antibody dependent cell-mediated cytotoxicity (ADCC)/complement dependent cytotoxicity (CDC) activity, or a deglycosylation mutation; wherein the human nerve growth factor comprises F12E with reference to the amino acid position set forth in mature wild-type human nerve growth factor.
Reference patent claim 1 nor other claims are directed to an NGF polypeptide component/moiety of its NGF/Fc fusion polypeptide that is 118 amino acids long, as is instant SEQ ID NO:1 of claim 1.
The level of ordinary skill in the art is high.
The ‘722 teaches that during normal cellular processing the last two amino acids of the 120 amino acid form of NGF are cleaved, leaving 118 amino acids, see para 5. Therefore shortening the NGF portion of reference patent claims’ fusion polypeptides to 118 which comprises an F12E modification relative to the native human NGF sequence over this portion, from 120 to 118 amino acids in length would have been an obvious alternative at least because the ‘772 teaches that this is the size after enzymatic processing of NGF. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given that this 118 amino acid size of NGF is taught for use in the ‘722 as the NGF component of an NGF/Fc fusion polypeptide, and additionally, based on the examiner’s understanding, is found in a human body after such enzymatic processing.
Therefore it would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art given the ‘722 teaching to have a 118 amino acid long sequence NGF moiety, matching the sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:1.
The instantly claimed Fc moiety of claim 1, being ‘derived from’, is met by reference claim 1.
Regarding modifications found in dependent claims, Ledbetter teaches “The Fc domain is modified such that the molecule has reduced cytotoxicity relative to a hybrid nuclease molecule having an unmodified Fc domain,” para 4, and clearly teaches the P331S modification in multiple sequences of fusion polypeptides that include modified IgG1 sequences that include the P331S modification, this combined with, inter alia, L234A and L235A, para 6 and multiple other paragraphs and sequences throughout the application. Such modifications afford the improvement of reduced cytotoxicity, so one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have been motivated to further improve reference patent claims nerve growth factor fusion proteins with these modifications in the Fc portion, at least in order to reduce cytotoxicity, and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the teachings of Ledbetter.
With regard to modifications at or near the hinge region, none of reference patent, the ‘722 nor Ledbetter specifically claim or teach the hinge region elimination of EPKSC, such that a linker such as GGGGS directly attaches to an Fc sequence starting at DKTHTC.
However, based on the examiner’s search, a construct comprising a fusion polypeptide comprising a GGGGS linker directly attaching to an IgG1 Fc sequence starting at DKTHTC was found in over 50 references.
One of these is Tarsio, which teaches a linker GGGGS directly attaching to an IgG1 Fc sequence starting at DKTHTC, see, among many others, SEQ ID NO:52, where the DKTHTC starts at position 959 of the fusion polypeptide. Tarsio teaches constructs that add the Fc moiety (identified as a “tag” in Tarsio) via linker can increase half-life as well as providing other advantages, paras 288-290, the latter para ending, “Surprisingly, Fc-fusion Klotho proteins appear to have improved binding, activity, and/or immunogenicity. The addition of Fc domains to S-Klotho will also allow the fusion protein to be less immunogenic upon administration in human subjects.” Such modification affords at least a reasonable expectation of improved half-life, so one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have been motivated to improve the reference patent constructs with a modified Fc portion that comprises a GGGGS type linker directly attaching to an IgG1 Fc sequence starting at DKTHTC.
Accordingly, the use of such linkers would have been among obvious alternatives known in the art and taught specifically for use when joining an NGF polypeptide to an Fc polypeptide, the latter without the first five of its amino acid sequence.
Based on the combined teachings and examples of the references, one of ordinary skill in the art would have combined these teachings to improve the NGF-linker-Fc fusion polypeptides with improvements to the NGF moiety as taught by the ‘722, and the Fc moiety as taught by Ledbetter and Tarsio, to further improve what is claimed in the reference patent claims, which provide a base NGF-linker-Fc and NGF-Fc construct, upon which the ‘722, Ledbetter and Tarsio provide improvements that can be applied to the reference patent claimed subject matter to advance performance of the fusion polypeptides with a reasonable expectation of success.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify the NGF fusion proteins of reference patent claims 1, 2, and 4, to arrive at what is claimed in instant claim 1, based particularly on reference patent claim 4 as to linkers.
Therefore claim 1 would have been obvious.
The rejection of claim 1 also renders the following claims obvious:
Claim 2 at least because reference patent claim 4 claims such linkers as set forth in claim 2 part (ii), and Tarsio also teaches a GGGGS linker.
Claim 5, and claim 9 (considering (i)), noting per above that Ledbetter teaches the P331S modification in multiple sequences of fusion polypeptides that include modified IgG1 sequences that include the P331S modification, this combined with, inter alia, L234A and L235A, para 6 and multiple other paragraphs and sequences throughout the application.
Claim 11 because SEQ ID NO:62 comprises SEQ ID Nos. 1 and 12 with a GGGGS linker therebetween, these obvious as set forth above in the claim 1 rejection.
Claim 26 would have been obvious because reference patent claims 1, 2, 7 and 9 teach constructs comprising an NGF moiety combined with an Fc moiety. Please also note that beyond the elected species the large genus of claim 1 NGF polypeptides (large at least based on ‘derived from’) encompasses those of reference patent claim 1 (differing such as by the last two amino acids of the 120 amino acid NGF moiety), and as to the combination of the elected NGF and Fc sequences, the same NGF polypeptide comprising these, as made obvious for claim 1, must have the same properties.
Claim 31 based on the rejection of claim 1 above and further considering that reference patent claims 7 and 8 claim a pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and one of its nerve growth factor fusion proteins.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 11, 12, 26, 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11213568 (reference patent) in view of in view of CN106008722A, published 10/12/2016, provided in 5/17/23 IDS, English language machine translation (“ ‘722”) provided attached to Chinese language publication, US 20140044711, Ledbetter et al., published 2/13/14 (“Ledbetter”) and US 20190169593, Tarsio et al., published 6/6/2019 (“Tarsio”).
Claim 1 is directed to a long-acting nerve growth factor (NGF) polypeptide comprising from N-terminus to C-terminus an NGF moiety and an Fc moiety, wherein the NGF moiety consists of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, and wherein the Fc moiety is derived from an IgG1 Fc or an IgG4 Fc.
Applicant has elected SEQ ID NO:1 as the NGF moiety and SEQ ID NO:12 as the Fc moiety, however this rejection extends beyond the elected species.
Reference patent claim 1 is directed to nerve growth factor mutant comprising Phe12Glu with reference to the amino acid positions set forth in a wild-type human nerve growth factor provided by SEQ. ID. NO: 2, reference patent claim 4 states “The nerve growth factor mutant according to claim 1, wherein the nerve growth factor mutant is fused to a protein,” reference patent claim 5 states, “The nerve growth factor mutant according to claim 4, wherein the protein is a human albumin, a fragment of a human albumin, an Fc moiety of an immunoglobulin, or a fragment of an Fc moiety of an immunoglobulin,” reference patent claim 6 states, “The nerve growth factor mutant according to claim 4, wherein the nerve growth factor mutant is fused to the protein by fusing a C-terminal of the nerve growth factor mutant with a N-terminal of an albumin or an Fc protein directly or via a peptide linker,” and reference patent claim 7 states “A pharmaceutical composition, comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, and the nerve growth factor mutant of claim 1.”
Reference patent claim 1 nor other claims are directed to an NGF polypeptide component/moiety of its NGF/Fc fusion polypeptide that is 118 amino acids long, as is instant SEQ ID NO:1 of claim 1.
The level of ordinary skill in the art is high.
The ‘722 teaches that during normal cellular processing the last two amino acids of the 120 amino acid form of NGF are cleaved, leaving 118 amino acids, see para 5. Therefore shortening the NGF portion of reference patent claims’ fusion polypeptides to 118 which comprises an F12E modification relative to the native human NGF sequence over this portion, from 120 to 118 amino acids in length would have been an obvious alternative at least because the ‘772 teaches that this is the size after enzymatic processing of NGF. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given that this 118 amino acid size of NGF is taught for use in the ‘722 as the NGF component of an NGF/Fc fusion polypeptide, and additionally, based on the examiner’s understanding, is found in a human body after such enzymatic processing.
Therefore it would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art given the ‘722 teaching to have a 118 amino acid long sequence NGF moiety, matching the sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:1.
The instantly claimed Fc moiety of claim 1, being ‘derived from’, is met by reference claim 1.
Regarding modifications found in dependent claims, Ledbetter teaches “The Fc domain is modified such that the molecule has reduced cytotoxicity relative to a hybrid nuclease molecule having an unmodified Fc domain,” para 4, and clearly teaches the P331S modification in multiple sequences of fusion polypeptides that include modified IgG1 sequences that include the P331S modification, this combined with, inter alia, L234A and L235A, para 6 and multiple other paragraphs and sequences throughout the application. Such modifications afford the improvement of reduced cytotoxicity, so one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have been motivated to further improve reference patent claims nerve growth factor fusion proteins with these modifications in the Fc portion, at least in order to reduce cytotoxicity, and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the teachings of Ledbetter.
With regard to modifications at or near the hinge region, none of reference patent, the ‘722 nor Ledbetter specifically claim or teach the hinge region elimination of EPKSC, such that a linker such as GGGGS directly attaches to an Fc sequence starting at DKTHTC.
However, based on the examiner’s search, a construct comprising a fusion polypeptide comprising a GGGGS linker directly attaching to an IgG1 Fc sequence starting at DKTHTC was found in over 50 references.
One of these is Tarsio, which teaches a linker GGGGS directly attaching to an IgG1 Fc sequence starting at DKTHTC, see, among many others, SEQ ID NO:52, where the DKTHTC starts at position 959 of the fusion polypeptide. Tarsio teaches constructs that add the Fc moiety (identified as a “tag” in Tarsio) via linker can increase half-life as well as providing other advantages, paras 288-290, the latter para ending, “Surprisingly, Fc-fusion Klotho proteins appear to have improved binding, activity, and/or immunogenicity. The addition of Fc domains to S-Klotho will also allow the fusion protein to be less immunogenic upon administration in human subjects.” Such modification affords at least a reasonable expectation of improved half-life, so one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have been motivated to improve the reference patent constructs with a modified Fc portion that comprises a GGGGS type linker directly attaching to an IgG1 Fc sequence starting at DKTHTC.
Accordingly, the use of linkers such as those instantly claimed would have been among obvious alternatives known in the art and taught specifically for use when joining an NGF polypeptide to an Fc polypeptide, the latter without the first five of its amino acid sequence.
Based on the combined teachings and examples of the references, one of ordinary skill in the art would have combined these teachings to improve the reference patent claim 1 nerve growth factor mutant comprising Phe12Glu with reference to the amino acid positions set forth in a wild-type human nerve growth factor provided by SEQ. ID. NO: 2, with improvements to the NGF moiety as taught by the ‘722, and the Fc moiety as taught by Ledbetter and Tarsio, to further improve what is claimed in the reference patent claims, which provide a base upon which the ‘722, Ledbetter and Tarsio provide improvements that can be applied to the reference patent claimed subject matter to advance performance of the fusion polypeptides with a reasonable expectation of success.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify the NGF fusion proteins of reference patent claims 1, 4-6, to arrive at what is claimed in instant claim 1.
Therefore claim 1 would have been obvious.
The rejection of claim 1 also renders the following claims obvious:
Claim 2 at least because Tarsio teaches a GGGGS linker.
Claim 5, and claim 9 (considering (i)), noting per above that Ledbetter teaches the P331S modification in multiple sequences of fusion polypeptides that include modified IgG1 sequences that include the P331S modification, this combined with, inter alia, L234A and L235A, para 6 and multiple other paragraphs and sequences throughout the application.
Claim 11 because SEQ ID NO:62 comprises SEQ ID Nos. 1 and 12 with a GGGGS linker therebetween, these obvious as set forth above in the claim 1 rejection, combined with Tarsio teaching a GGGGS linker.
Claim 26 would have been obvious because reference patent claims 1, 4-6 teach constructs comprising an NGF moiety combined with an Fc moiety. Please also note that beyond the elected species the large genus of claim 1 NGF polypeptides (large at least based on ‘derived from’) encompasses those of reference patent claim 1 (differing such as by the last two amino acids of the 120 amino acid NGF moiety), and as to the combination of the elected NGF and Fc sequences, the same NGF polypeptide comprising these, as made obvious for claim 1, must have the same properties.
Claim 31 based on the rejection of claim 1 above and further considering that reference patent claim 7 claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and one of its nerve growth factor mutants of claim 1, and it would have been obvious per reference patent claims 4-6 to combine this with an Fc moiety.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOSEPH FISCHER whose telephone number is (571)270-7925, and whose direct facsimile number is (571)270-8925. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday, 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM, however noting that the examiner will not normally be working on Monday/Tuesday and on Wednesday-Friday on alternating weeks, but will promptly answer messages upon his return to work.
/JOSEPH FISCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658