DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is in reply to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on 10/27/2025.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments presented on 10/27/2025 with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant presented argument that Park has not been shown to anticipate all the features of amended claims 1, 17, 28, and 30 such as "receiving a radio resource control (RRC) configuration configuring uplink (UL) transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for a bandwidth part (BWP) for one or more serving cells". (REMARKS, Page 10).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner presents that claim 1 is interpreted to require –
receiving a RRC configuration for UL TCI states for a BWP for a serving cell;
receiving DCI indicating an UL TC! state among the configured UL TCI states for a UL transmission on the BWP to the serving cell; and
transmitting, on the BWP, the UL transmission based on the indicated UL TCI state.
With respect to above, the Examiner presents that Park discloses-
[0003] The method includes receiving - by the wireless device from a base station - one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) indication type among a first TCI indication type and second TCI indication type, wherein: the first TCI indication type indicates one or more first TCI states are for downlink receptions via a cell and one or more second TCI states are for uplink transmissions via the cell, and the second TCI indication type indicates one or more third TCI states are for both downlink receptions and uplink transmissions via the cell.
Fig. 25 RRC message from Base Station to Wireless device configuring Joint TCIs,
[0382] FIG. 25 shows …… A base station may configure a wireless device (e.g., the first wireless device or a second wireless device), e.g., based on the second mode for TCI indication, with at least one joint (e.g., common, or unified, etc.) TCI (state)………. applied for a CORESET with a lowest ID (e.g., CORESET-specific index being the lowest) or as identical to a third TCl-state with a lowest ID (e.g. , among activated TCI-states in a BWP), e.g., TCl-state ID being the lowest among active TCl-states in a BWP …..
[0383] In an example, source RS(s) in N (joint) TCIs (e.g., UL-TCIs, or UL-TCI states, etc.) of the at least one joint TCI, where N is one or an integer greater than zero, may provide a reference for determining common uplink Tx spatial (domain) filter(s) at least for dynamic-grant-based (or configured-grant based) PUSCH and one or more (device-dedicated, e.g., UL-dedicated) PUCCH resources in a CC (e.g., a serving-cell, etc.).
Fig. 26, [0385] the joint TCI pool may be used, e.g., for a wireless device for both downlink TCI indication and uplink TCI indication, as shown in FIG. 26 based on examples of FIG. 23, FIG. 24, and FIG. 25, e.g., based on a fourth mode which may be based on both the second mode and the third mode for TCI indication…….In an example, the SRS may imply a pre-defined/configured set of SRS resources (in a given/configured BWP/CC). The PUCCH may imply a pre-defined/configured set of PUCCH resources (in a given/configured BWP/CC). The PUSCH may correspond to a PUSCH in a given/configured BWP/CC. …..).
Fig. 29 The third mode of TCI Indication to apply a third-TCI State for transmitting one or more uplink signal,
[0400] FIG. 29 shows an example of switching a mode for TCI indication, based on examples of …. FIG. 25, and FIG. 26, …. a wireless device may receive, e.g., from a base station, a first message comprising configuration parameters for a plurality of modes (e.g., …features (by RRC enabler(s)), … and/or the like) for TCI indication (e.g., the first mode, the second mode, the third mode, the fourth mode, etc.).
Park in (Fig. 25 , Fig. 26. Fig. 29, [0003, 0382, 0383, 0400]), disclosing Wireless device/UE receives from Base Station, RRC message configuring joint TCI pool, joint TCI may be used for both downlink TCI indication and uplink TCI indication for UL/PUSCH transmission in a given/configured BWP/CC for a serving cell.
Further Park discloses –
Fig. 26, [0385] the joint TCI pool may be used, e.g., for a wireless device for both downlink TCI indication and uplink TCI indication, as shown in FIG. 26 based on examples of FIG. 23, FIG. 24, and FIG. 25, e.g., based on a fourth mode which may be based on both the second mode and the third mode for TCI indication……. The PUSCH may correspond to a PUSCH in a given/configured BWP/CC …..
Fig. 29 The third mode of TCI Indication to apply a third-TCI State for transmitting one or more uplink signal,
[0400] FIG. 29 shows an example of switching a mode for TCI indication, based on examples of …. FIG. 25, and FIG. 26, …. The wireless device may receive a second message indicating a first mode for TCI indication of the plurality of modes for TCI indication. Based on the first mode for TCI indication, the wireless device may apply a first TCI-state, e.g., indicated by a first DCI, for receiving a scheduled downlink data (e.g., by the first DCI). …… In an example, the wireless device may receive a fourth message indicating a third mode for TCI indication of the plurality of modes for TCI indication. Based on the third mode for TCI indication, the wireless device may apply a third TCI-state (e.g., a UL-TCI, a UL-TCI-state, etc.) for transmitting one or more uplink signals.
[0402] In an example, the wireless device may apply, in response to the mode being the first mode, a third TCI state, indicated by a third DCI, for transmitting a scheduled uplink data by the third DCI…..
Park in (Fig. 26. Fig. 29, [0385, 0400, 0402]), disclosing Wireless device/UE receiving a DCI indicating an UL TCI state of the configured UL TCI states for at least one UL/PUSCH transmission on the given/configured BWP/CC to a serving cell, and transmitting the UL/PUSCH.
Accordingly, Park teaches all features required by claim 1.
Therefore, claim 1 and similarly claims 17, 28 and 30 are rejected.
Dependent claims 2-16, 18-27 and 29 being dependent on claims 1, 17 and 28 are also rejected for the same reason as above.
NOTICE for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 17, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as anticipated by Park et al. (EP 4576637 A2 with priority of us-provisional-application US 63086281, of record, hereinafter ‘PARK’).
Regarding claim 1, PARK teaches a method of wireless communication of a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 29 Wireless Device (UE) communicating with Base Station (Serving Cell),
[0400] FIG. 29 shows an example of switching a mode for TCI indication, based on examples of FIG. 23, FIG. 24, FIG. 25, and FIG. 26, in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. In an example, a wireless device may receive, e.g., from a base station…
See also Figs. 23-26 as disclosed above.), comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) configuration configuring uplink (UL) transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for a bandwidth part (BWP) for one or more serving cells (
[0003] The method includes receiving - by the wireless device from a base station - one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) indication type among a first TCI indication type and second TCI indication type, wherein: the first TCI indication type indicates one or more first TCI states are for downlink receptions via a cell and one or more second TCI states are for uplink transmissions via the cell, and the second TCI indication type indicates one or more third TCI states are for both downlink receptions and uplink transmissions via the cell.
Fig. 25 RRC message from Base Station to Wireless device configuring Joint TCIs,
[0382] FIG. 25 shows …… A base station may configure a wireless device (e.g., the first wireless device or a second wireless device), e.g., based on the second mode for TCI indication, with at least one joint (e.g., common, or unified, etc.) TCI (state)………. applied for a CORESET with a lowest ID (e.g., CORESET-specific index being the lowest) or as identical to a third TCl-state with a lowest ID (e.g. , among activated TCI-states in a BWP), e.g., TCl-state ID being the lowest among active TCl-states in a BWP …..
[0383] In an example, source RS(s) in N (joint) TCIs (e.g., UL-TCIs, or UL-TCI states, etc.) of the at least one joint TCI, where N is one or an integer greater than zero, may provide a reference for determining common uplink Tx spatial (domain) filter(s) at least for dynamic-grant-based (or configured-grant based) PUSCH and one or more (device-dedicated, e.g., UL-dedicated) PUCCH resources in a CC (e.g., a serving-cell, etc.).
Fig. 26, [0385] the joint TCI pool may be used, e.g., for a wireless device for both downlink TCI indication and uplink TCI indication, as shown in FIG. 26 based on examples of FIG. 23, FIG. 24, and FIG. 25, e.g., based on a fourth mode which may be based on both the second mode and the third mode for TCI indication…….In an example, the SRS may imply a pre-defined/configured set of SRS resources (in a given/configured BWP/CC). The PUCCH may imply a pre-defined/configured set of PUCCH resources (in a given/configured BWP/CC). The PUSCH may correspond to a PUSCH in a given/configured BWP/CC. …..).
Fig. 29 The third mode of TCI Indication to apply a third-TCI State for transmitting one or more uplink signal,
[0400] FIG. 29 shows an example of switching a mode for TCI indication, based on examples of …. FIG. 25, and FIG. 26, …. a wireless device may receive, e.g., from a base station, a first message comprising configuration parameters for a plurality of modes (e.g., …features (by RRC enabler(s)), … and/or the like) for TCI indication (e.g., the first mode, the second mode, the third mode, the fourth mode, etc.).
(Construed that Wireless device/UE receives from Base Station, RRC message configuring joint TCI pool, joint TCI may be used for both downlink TCI indication and uplink TCI indication for UL/PUSCH transmission in a given/configured BWP/CC for a serving cell));
receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating an UL TCI state of the configured UL TCI states for at least one UL transmission on the BWP to at least one serving cell of the one or more serving cells (
[0003] The method further includes receiving a first downlink control information (DCI) comprising a TCI field indicating a TCI state, of the one or more third TCI states, applicable to both uplink transmissions and downlink receptions; receiving - via the cell - downlink receptions based on the TCI state; and transmitting, via the cell, uplink transmissions based on the TCI state.
See Fig. 26, [0385] the joint TCI pool may be used, e.g., for a wireless device for both downlink TCI indication and uplink TCI indication, as shown in FIG. 26 based on examples of FIG. 23, FIG. 24, and FIG. 25, e.g., based on a fourth mode which may be based on both the second mode and the third mode for TCI indication……. The PUSCH may correspond to a PUSCH in a given/configured BWP/CC …..
Fig. 29 The third mode of TCI Indication to apply a third-TCI State for transmitting one or more uplink signal,
[0400] FIG. 29 shows an example of switching a mode for TCI indication, based on examples of …. FIG. 25, and FIG. 26, …. The wireless device may receive a second message indicating a first mode for TCI indication of the plurality of modes for TCI indication. Based on the first mode for TCI indication, the wireless device may apply a first TCI-state, e.g., indicated by a first DCI, for receiving a scheduled downlink data (e.g., by the first DCI). …… In an example, the wireless device may receive a fourth message indicating a third mode for TCI indication of the plurality of modes for TCI indication. Based on the third mode for TCI indication, the wireless device may apply a third TCI-state (e.g., a UL-TCI, a UL-TCI-state, etc.) for transmitting one or more uplink signals.
[0402] In an example, the wireless device may apply, in response to the mode being the first mode, a third TCI state, indicated by a third DCI, for transmitting a scheduled uplink data by the third DCI…..
(Construed that Wireless device/UE receiving a DCI indicating an UL TCI state of the configured UL TCI states for at least one UL/PUSCH transmission on the given/configured BWP/CC to a serving cell, and transmitting the UL/PUSCH)); and
transmitting, on the BWP, the at least one UL transmission based on the indicated UL TCI state (
[0003] …. transmitting, via the cell, uplink transmissions based on the TCI state.
See Fig, 26, [0385] …. The PUSCH may correspond to a PUSCH in a given/configured BWP/CC ….
[0400] …. the wireless device may apply a third TCI-state (e.g., a UL-TCI, a UL-TCI-state, etc.) for transmitting one or more uplink signals.
See also [0402] … transmitting a scheduled uplink data by the third DCI….
(Construed that wireless device/UE transmitting, on the BWP, the at least one PUSCH or UL transmission based on the indicated UL TCI state)).
Regarding claim 17, PARK teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, the apparatus being a first user equipment (UE) comprising: a memory, and at least one processor coupled to the memory (
Fig. 15 wireless device 1502 communicating with a base station 1504, wireless device 1502 comprising processing system 1508, and memory 1524,
[0156] FIG. 15 illustrates an example of a wireless device 1502 in communication with a base station 1504 in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure.
[0162] The processing system 1508 and the processing system 1518 may be associated with a memory 1514 and a memory 1524, respectively. Memory 1514 and memory 1524 (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) may store computer program instructions or code that may be executed by the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 to carry out one or more of the functionalities discussed in the present application.
Fig. 29 Wireless Device (UE) communicating with Base Station (Serving Cell),
[0400] FIG. 29 shows an example of switching a mode for TCI indication, based on examples of FIG. 23, FIG. 24, FIG. 25, and FIG. 26, in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. In an example, a wireless device may receive, e.g., from a base station…
See also Figs. 23-26 as disclosed above).
Further, claim 17 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 17, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-12, 18-25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (EP 4576637 A2 with priority of us-provisional-application US 63086281, of record, hereinafter ‘PARK’) in view of Go et al. (US 20230379843 A1 with priority of KR 10-2020-0130082, of record, hereinafter ‘GO’).
Regarding claim 2, PARK teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the transmission includes at least one of a PUSCH transmission, a configured grant PUSCH transmission, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission, or a sounding reference signals (SRS) transmission based on the indicated UL TCI state (
Fig. 25, UL Transmission vi multiple target signals/channels based on the 1st joint TCI, UL (e.g., PUCCH, PUSCH, and/or SRS)).
PARK does not explicitly disclose wherein the RRC configuration includes a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells.
In an analogous art, GO teaches wherein the RRC configuration includes a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells (
[0586] The UE may receive a UL TCI state related configuration from the BS (S1720). The UL TCI state related configuration may include information for a configuration and/or an indication of a panel/beam related to uplink transmission (e.g., PUCCH/PUSCH/PRACH/SRS, etc.) of the UE. .... The UL TCI state related configuration may be delivered through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling), etc.
[0628] The UE may receive, from the BS, a PUSCH related configuration (e.g., PUSCH-Config, etc.) (S1930). The PUSCH related configuration may include configuration information related to the PUSCH transmission of the UE, and may be delivered through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling), etc. For example, the PUSCH related configuration may include configuration and/or indication information for a panel/beam related to the PUSCH transmission. As an example, the PUSCH related configuration may include configuration information for a correlation between a UL TCI state according to the above-described method (e.g., Proposal 1 (Proposal 1-1/1-2)/Proposal 2 (Proposal 2-1/2-2/2-3/2-4), Proposal 3/Proposal 4, etc.), and the corresponding PUSCH transmission (e.g., PUSCH resource).
See also Figs. 17-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the TCI state parameters configuration of GO to the system of TCI state configuration with corresponding DL/UL transmission of PARK order to take the advantage of providing a method for reducing the overhead and the delay to meet the need for improved mobile broadband communication compared to the existing radio access technology (RAT) (GO: [0092, 0367]).
Regarding claim 3, PARK, in view of GO, teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the transmission includes one of a PUSCH transmission; a configured grant PUSCH- transmission; PUSCH and PUCCH- transmissions; PUSCH- and SRS transmissions; or PUSCH, PUCCH, and SRS transmissions based on the indicated UL TCI state (
Fig. 25, UL Transmission via the multiple target signals/channels based on the 1st joint TCI, UL (e.g., PUCCH, PUSCH, and/or SRS)).
May also see GO [0586] and Figs. 17-20 presented above for claim 2.
Regarding claim 4, PARK, in view of GO, teaches the apparatus of claim 2.
PARK does not explicitly disclose wherein the PUSCH configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells is received in a PUSCH-Config information element (CE).
GO teaches wherein the PUSCH configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells is received in a PUSCH-Config information element (CE) (
[0628] The UE may receive, from the BS, a PUSCH related configuration (e.g., PUSCH-Config, etc.) (S1930). The PUSCH related configuration may include configuration information related to the PUSCH transmission of the UE, and may be delivered through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling), etc. For example, the PUSCH related configuration may include configuration and/or indication information for a panel/beam related to the PUSCH transmission. As an example, the PUSCH related configuration may include configuration information for a correlation between a UL TCI state…..)
(It is obvious that in GO, PUSCH-Config with configuration parameters indicating PUSCH-Config IE)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the TCI state parameters configuration of GO to the system of TCI state configuration with corresponding DL/UL transmission of PARK order to take the advantage of providing a method for reducing the overhead and the delay to meet the need for improved mobile broadband communication compared to the existing radio access technology (RAT) (GO: [0092, 0367]).
Regarding claim 5, PARK, in view of GO, teaches the apparatus of claim 2.
PARK does not explicitly disclose wherein the RRC configuration including the PUSCH configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells excludes other PUSCH-related configuration information.
GO teaches wherein the RRC configuration including the PUSCH configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells excludes other PUSCH-related configuration information (
[0628] The UE may receive, from the BS, a PUSCH related configuration (e.g., PUSCH-Config, etc.) (S1930). The PUSCH related configuration may include configuration information related to the PUSCH transmission of the UE, and may be delivered through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling), etc. For example, the PUSCH related configuration may include configuration and/or indication information for a panel/beam related to the PUSCH transmission. As an example, the PUSCH related configuration may include configuration information for a correlation between a UL TCI state according to the above-described method …., and the corresponding PUSCH transmission (e.g., PUSCH resource)
(It is obvious that in GO, PUCCH-Config IE only includes PUSCH configuration parameters and related UL TCI, and does not include configuration parameters for transmissions of PUCCH or SRS for which see GO [608, 656] for SRS-Config and PUCCH-Config IEs)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the TCI state parameters configuration of GO to the system of TCI state configuration with corresponding DL/UL transmission of PARK order to take the advantage of providing a method for reducing the overhead and the delay to meet the need for improved mobile broadband communication compared to the existing radio access technology (RAT) (GO: [0092, 0367]).
Regarding claim 6, PARK, in view of GO, teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the transmission includes one of an SRS transmission, a PUCCH transmission; or PUCCH and SRS transmissions based on the indicated UL TCI state (
Fig. 25, UL Transmission vi multiple target signals/channels based on the 1st joint TCI, UL (e.g., PUCCH, PUSCH, and/or SRS)).
See also GO Figs 17-20.
Regarding claim 7, PARK teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the transmission includes at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, a configured grant PUSCH transmission, a PUCCH transmission, or a sounding reference signals (SRS) transmission based on the indicated UL TCI state (
Fig. 25, UL Transmission vi multiple target signals/channels based on the 1st joint TCI, UL (e.g., PUCCH, PUSCH, and/or SRS)).
PARK does not explicitly disclose wherein the RRC configuration includes a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells.
In an analogous art, GO teaches wherein the RRC configuration includes a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells (
See [0586] presented above for claim 2.
[0589] For example, the operation of the UE which receives the PUCCH related configuration in step S1730 described above may be implemented by the devices in FIGS. 25 to 29 to be described below. For example, referring to FIG. 26, one or more processors 102 may control one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more memories 104 so as to receive the PUCCH related configuration, and one or more transceivers 106 may receive, from the BS, the PUCCH related configuration.
[0590] The UE may transmit, to the BS, the PUCCH based on the PUCCH related configuration (S1740).
[0656] The UE may receive, from the BS, an RACH related configuration (e.g., PUCCH-Config, etc.) (S2030). As described above, the corresponding RACH related configuration may be related to a Contention-Free Random Access (CFRA) (e.g., PDCCH-ordered PRACH). The RACH related configuration may include configuration information related to the PRACH transmission of the UE, and may be delivered through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling), etc. For example, the PRACH related configuration may include configuration and/or indication information for a panel/beam related to the PRACH transmission. As an example, the PRACH related configuration may include configuration information for a correlation between a UL TCI state according to the above-described method (e.g., Proposal 1 (Proposal 1-1/1-2)/Proposal 2 (Proposal 2-1/2-2/2-3/2-4), Proposal 3/Proposal 4, etc.) (and/or SSB-RI, CRI, etc.), and the corresponding PRACH transmission (e.g., PRACH resource/PRACH preamble).
See also Figs. 17-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the TCI state parameters configuration of GO to the system of TCI state configuration with corresponding DL/UL transmission of PARK order to take the advantage of providing a method for reducing the overhead and the delay to meet the need for improved mobile broadband communication compared to the existing radio access technology (RAT) (GO: [0092, 0367]).
Regarding claim 8, PARK, in view of GO, teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the transmission includes one of a PUCCH transmission; PUCCH and configured grant PUSCH transmissions; PUSCH and PUCCH transmissions; PUCCH and SRS transmissions; or PUSCH, PUCCH, and SRS transmissions based on the configured UL TCI state (
Fig. 25, UL Transmission via the multiple target signals/channels based on the 1st joint TCI, UL (e.g., PUCCH, PUSCH, and/or SRS)).
May also see GO [0586, 0589, 0590] and Figs. 17-20 presented above for claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, PARK, in view of GO, teaches the apparatus of claim 7.
PARK does not explicitly disclose wherein the PUCCH configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells is received in a PUCCH-Config information element (IE).
GO teaches wherein the PUCCH configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells is received in a PUCCH-Config information element (IE) (
[0589] For example, the operation of the UE which receives the PUCCH related configuration in step S1730 described above may be implemented by the devices in FIGS. 25 to 29 to be described below. For example, referring to FIG. 26, one or more processors 102 may control one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more memories 104 so as to receive the PUCCH related configuration, and one or more transceivers 106 may receive, from the BS, the PUCCH related configuration.
[0590] The UE may transmit, to the BS, the PUCCH based on the PUCCH related configuration (S1740).
[0656] The UE may receive, from the BS, an RACH related configuration (e.g., PUCCH-Config, etc.) (S2030). As described above, the corresponding RACH related configuration may be related to a Contention-Free Random Access (CFRA) (e.g., PDCCH-ordered PRACH). The RACH related configuration may include configuration information related to the PRACH transmission of the UE, and may be delivered through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling), etc. For example, the PRACH related configuration may include configuration and/or indication information for a panel/beam related to the PRACH transmission. As an example, the PRACH related configuration may include configuration information for a correlation between a UL TCI state …..).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the TCI state parameters configuration of GO to the system of TCI state configuration with corresponding DL/UL transmission of PARK order to take the advantage of providing a method for reducing the overhead and the delay to meet the need for improved mobile broadband communication compared to the existing radio access technology (RAT) (GO: [0092, 0367]).
Regarding claim 10, PARK teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the transmission includes at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, a configured grant PUSCH transmission, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission, or an SRS transmission based on the indicated UL TCI state (
Fig. 25, UL Transmission vi multiple target signals/channels based on the 1st joint TCI, UL (e.g., PUCCH, PUSCH, and/or SRS)).
PARK does not explicitly disclose wherein the RRC configuration includes a sounding reference signals (SRS) configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells.
GO teaches wherein the RRC configuration includes a sounding reference signals (SRS) configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells (
See [0586] presented above for claim 2.
[0608] The UE may receive, from the BS, an SRS Related configuration (e.g., SRS-Config, etc.) (S1830). The SRS related configuration may include configuration information related to the SRS transmission of the UE, and may be delivered through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling), etc. For example, the SRS related configuration may include configuration and/or indication information for a panel/beam related to the SRS transmission. As an example, the SRS related configuration may include configuration information for a correlation between a UL TCI state according to the above-described method (e.g., Proposal 1 (Proposal 1-1/1-2)/Proposal 2 (Proposal 2-1/2-2/2-3/2-4), Proposal 3/Proposal 4, etc.), and the corresponding SRS transmission (e.g., SRS resource/SRS resource set).
See also Figs. 17-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the TCI state parameters configuration of GO to the system of TCI state configuration with corresponding DL/UL transmission of PARK order to take the advantage of providing a method for reducing the overhead and the delay to meet the need for improved mobile broadband communication compared to the existing radio access technology (RAT) (GO: [0092, 0367]).
Regarding claim 11, PARK, in view of GO, teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the transmission includes one of an SRS transmission; SRS and PUSCH transmissions; SRS and configured grant PUSCH transmissions; SRS and PUCCH transmissions; or PUSCH, PUCCH, and SRS transmissions based on the indicated UL TCI state (Fig. 25, UL Transmission via the multiple target signals/channels based on the 1st joint TCI, UL (e.g., PUCCH, PUSCH, and/or SRS)).
May also see GO [0586] and Figs. 17-20 presented above for claim 2.
.
Regarding claim 12, PARK, in view of GO, teaches the apparatus of claim 10.
PARK does not explicitly disclose wherein the SRS configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells is received in an SRS-Config information element (IE).
GO teaches wherein the SRS configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells is received in an SRS-Config information element (IE) (
[0608] The UE may receive, from the BS, an SRS Related configuration (e.g., SRS-Config, etc.) (S1830). The SRS related configuration may include configuration information related to the SRS transmission of the UE, and may be delivered through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling), etc. For example, the SRS related configuration may include configuration and/or indication information for a panel/beam related to the SRS transmission. As an example, the SRS related configuration may include configuration information for a correlation between a UL TCI state ….).
See also Figs. 17-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the TCI state parameters configuration of GO to the system of TCI state configuration with corresponding DL/UL transmission of PARK order to take the advantage of providing a method for reducing the overhead and the delay to meet the need for improved mobile broadband communication compared to the existing radio access technology (RAT) (GO: [0092, 0367]).
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 9
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 9
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 12.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 12
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Claims 13, 14 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (EP 4576637 A2 with priority of us-provisional-application US 63086281, of record, hereinafter ‘PARK’) in view of Guo; Li (US 20220345272 A1 with priority of us-provisional-application US 62961393, of record, hereinafter ‘GUO’).
Regarding claim 13, PARK teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the transmission includes at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, a configured grant PUSCH transmission, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission, or a sounding reference signals (SRS) transmission on the BWP based on the indicated UL TCI state (
Fig. 25, UL Transmission vi multiple target signals/channels based on the 1st joint TCI, UL (e.g., PUCCH, PUSCH, and/or SRS).
[0385] the joint TCI pool may be used, e.g., for a wireless device for both downlink TCI indication and uplink TCI indication, as shown in FIG. 26 based on examples of FIG. 23, FIG. 24, and FIG. 25, e.g., based on a fourth mode which may be based on both the second mode and the third mode for TCI indication…….In an example, the SRS may imply a pre-defined/configured set of SRS resources (in a given/configured BWP/CC). The PUCCH may imply a pre-defined/configured set of PUCCH resources (in a given/configured BWP/CC). The PUSCH may correspond to a PUSCH in a given/configured BWP/CC.).
PARK does not explicitly disclose wherein the RRC configuration includes a dedicated bandwidth part (BWP) configuration that configures the UL TCI states for a BWP for the one or more serving cells.
In an analogous art, GUO teaches wherein the RRC configuration includes a dedicated bandwidth part (BWP) configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the BWP for the one or more serving cells (
[0223] Specifically, when PUSCH resource allocation is semi-statically configured by a higher layer parameter (e.g. RRC) such as configuredGrantConfig in the BWP-UplinkDedicated information element, and the PUSCH transmission corresponds to a configured grant, the following higher layer parameters can be applied in the transmission.
[0224] For Type 1 PUSCH transmission with a configured grant, a UL TCI state can be configured in RRC to provide the transmission parameter for uplink transmission in the uplink grant configured by the Type 1 PUSCH transmission.
[0225] For Type 2 PUSCH transmission with a configured grant, the transmission parameters for uplink transmission in the uplink grant configured by the Type 2 PUSCH transmission can follow the UL TCI state indicated in the triggering DCI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of RRC configured BWP with UL-TCI states of GUO to the system of RRC configured TCI states corresponding DL/UL transmission of PARK and ZHU order to take the advantage of providing a method for finding the best pair of terminal device Tx beam and network device Rx beam or uplink transmission that overcome problems associated with conventional methods and apparatuses (GUO: [0003, 0011]).
Regarding claim 14, PARK, in view of GUO, specifically PARK teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the transmission includes UL transmissions on the BWP based on the indicated UL TCI state (
Fig. 25, UL Transmission vi multiple target signals/channels based on the 1st joint TCI, UL (e.g., PUCCH, PUSCH, and/or SRS).
[0385] …….In an example, the SRS may imply a pre-defined/configured set of SRS resources (in a given/configured BWP/CC). The PUCCH may imply a pre-defined/configured set of PUCCH resources (in a given/configured BWP/CC). The PUSCH may correspond to a PUSCH in a given/configured BWP/CC).
PARK and ZHU do not explicitly disclose wherein the dedicated BWP configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells is received in a BWP-UplinkDedicated information element (IE).
GUO teaches wherein the dedicated BWP configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells is received in a BWP-UplinkDedicated information element (IE) (
[0223] Specifically, when PUSCH resource allocation is semi-statically configured by a higher layer parameter (e.g. RRC) such as configuredGrantConfig in the BWP-UplinkDedicated information element, and the PUSCH transmission corresponds to a configured grant, the following higher layer parameters can be applied in the transmission.
[0224] For Type 1 PUSCH transmission with a configured grant, a UL TCI state can be configured in RRC to provide the transmission parameter for uplink transmission in the uplink grant configured by the Type 1 PUSCH transmission.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of RRC configured BWP with UL-TCI states of GUO to the system of RRC configured TCI states corresponding DL/UL transmission of PARK and ZHU order to take the advantage of providing a method for finding the best pair of terminal device Tx beam and network device Rx beam or uplink transmission that overcome problems associated with conventional methods and apparatuses (GUO: [0003, 0011]).
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 13.
Claims 15, 16 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (EP 4576637 A2 with priority of us-provisional-application US 63086281, of record, hereinafter ‘PARK’) in view of Nokia et al. (R1-2008903 “Enhancements on Multi-beam Operation”, of record, hereinafter ‘NOKIA’).
Regarding claim 15, PARK teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the transmission includes at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, a configured grant PUSCH transmission, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission, or a sounding reference signals (SRS) transmission based on the indicated UL TCI state (
Fig. 25, UL Transmission vi multiple target signals/channels based on the 1st joint TCI, UL (e.g., PUCCH, PUSCH, and/or SRS)).
PARK does not explicitly disclose wherein the RRC configuration includes a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells.
In an analogous art, NOKIA teaches wherein the RRC configuration includes a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells (
Page 2 Section 2.1 On the Unified TCI framework
• [Issue 1] For Rel.17 NR FeMIMO, on the unified TCI framework
a) Support joint TCI for DL and UL based on and analogous to Rel.15/16 DL TCI framework …..
b) In RAN1#103-e, investigate, for the purpose of down selection, the following alternatives for accommodating the case of separate beam indication for UL and DL
Alt1. Utilize the joint TCI to include references for both DL and UL beams
Alt2. Utilize two separate TCI states, one for DL and one for UL. The TCI state for the DL is the same as agreed in 1a. The TCI state for the UL can be newly introduced.
Alt 2-1: The UL TCI state is taken from the same pool of TCI states as the DL TCI state
Alt 2-2: The UL TCI state is taken from another pool of TCI states than the DL TCI state
Page 5:
For simplicity one could consider that the same TCI pool can be used for both joint beam indication for UL and DL as well as for separate UL and DL beam indication…… as currently the TCI pool in RRC is configured in PDSCH-Config IE, the current configuration would mean that there would be linkage between downlink and uplink configurations…... Consequence would be also that in beam indication gNB should provide separately TCI state for downlink from the downlink TCI pool and TCI state for uplink from the uplink TCI pool.
(It is obvious that RRC message with PDSCH-Config IE provides PDSCH configuration and TCI state pool including UL-TCI state)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of RRC configured PDSCH with UL-TCI states of NOKIA to the system of RRC configured TCI states corresponding DL/UL transmission of PARK order to take the advantage of providing a method for enhancement on multi-beam operation to facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) DL/UL beam management to support higher intra- and L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and/or a larger number of configured TCI states (NOKIA: Page 1 Section 1 Introduction).
Regarding claim 16, PARK, in view of NOKIA, teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the transmission includes UL transmissions based on the indicated UL TCI state (
Fig. 25, UL Transmission vi multiple target signals/channels based on the 1st joint TCI, UL (e.g., PUCCH, PUSCH, and/or SRS)).
PARK does not explicitly disclose wherein the PDSCH configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells is received in a PDSCH-Config information element (IE).
NOKIA teaches wherein the PDSCH configuration that configures the UL TCI states for the one or more serving cells is received in a PDSCH-Config information element (IE) (
See Page 2 Section 2.1 On the Unified TCI framework item b, and
Page 5: PDSCH-Config IE
Presented above for claim 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of RRC configured PDSCH with UL-TCI states of NOKIA to the system of RRC configured TCI states corresponding DL/UL transmission of PARK order to take the advantage of providing a method for enhancement on multi-beam operation to facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) DL/UL beam management to support higher intra- and L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and/or a larger number of configured TCI states (NOKIA: Page 1 Section 1 Introduction).
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Liu et al. (US 20230370238 A1), describing SIMULTANEOUS TCI STATE ACTIVATION FOR UL AND DL
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413