DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 10/2/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-17 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the non-final Office Action mailed 5/5/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Application Publication No. 2014/0220555, hereinafter Chen in view of United States Application Publication No. 2007/0212775, hereinafter Cohen.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a device made of elastomeric material (paragraph [0051]) for culturing in vitro muscle tissue (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), the device comprising: a base section (the bottom of item 240); two pillars (items 260a and 260b) each protruding from the base section (figure 2); and a wall section (the walls of item 240) with an inner wall surface surrounding the pillars (figure 2), and an outer wall surface (figure 2), wherein the device is configured to be received in a well of a microwell plate (functional limitation (MPEP § 2114) and the base and walls with the two pillars would be able to be received by a well of a microwell plate).
Chen fails to teach the wall section comprises at least two rib elements extending outwardly from the outer wall surface to an outer periphery of the device.
Cohen teaches a microtiter plate which has four ribs (Cohen, items 12 and 14) on each of the middle wells of the device (Cohen, figure 2) so that the plate can be reinforced while also a considerable portion of the well to contact a sample holder (Cohen, paragraph [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added four ribs which extend outwardly from the outer wall surface to an outer periphery of the device because it would allow for the device to be reinforced while also a considerable portion of the well to contact a sample holder (Cohen, paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Chen teaches the wall section comprises at least three rib elements extending in at least two non-parallel directions within a virtual plane comprising the base section (see supra).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the inner wall surface has a non- unity aspect ratio (paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches the height of the rib elements is less than or equal to the height of the wall section (paragraph [0056]) and wherein the height of the wall section is less than or equal to 2000µm (paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches the height of the pillar is less than 2 mm tall (paragraph [0057]).
Chen fails to specifically teach the height of the pillars is greater than or equal to 500µm and less than or equal to 2000µm.
The claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range; in cases where the claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range, a prima facie case of obviousness of the range exists. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of the height of the pillars in the range that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the Young's Modulus of the material used to manufacture the pillars is 1-10 MPa.
Chen fails to specifically teach the Young's Modulus of the material used to manufacture the pillars is greater than or equal to 0.5 MPa and less than or equal to 5 MPa.
The claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range; in cases where the claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range, a prima facie case of obviousness of the range exists. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of the Young’s Modulus of the material in the range that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 7, the method of injection molding, injection compression, transfer molding or embossing is a product-by-process limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process and is therefore taught by Chen and Cohen (MPEP § 2113). The burden is on applicants to show product differences in product by process claims. Here, the limitations as to the method of forming the device by one of the specific methods is given minimal patentable weight. Further these methods are taught in paragraphs [0059]-[0060].
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches the device or pillars, and the base wall section and ribs comprise a silicone rubber (paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Chen teaches the at least two rib elements prevent the inner wall surface from deforming when the device is received by the well of the microwell plate (the rib elements as added by Cohen would prevent the inner wall surface from deforming, Cohen, paragraph [0017], the examiner notes that the well of the microwell plate is not positively recited and therefore the limitations regarding the well of the microwell plate has minimal patentable weight).
Regarding claim 17, the at least two rib elements increase the shear stress of the device (the rib elements as added by Cohen would increase the shear stress of the device, Cohen, paragraph [0017]) such that when the device is received by the well of the microwell plate the device is retained in the well of the microwell plate without an adhesive (the device would be able to be retained in the well without an adhesive, the examiner notes that the well of the microwell plate is not positively recited and therefore the limitations regarding the well of the microwell plate has minimal patentable weight).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Cohen as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of United States Application Publication No. 2019/0316068, hereinafter Chen2019.
Regarding claim 9, Chen and Cohen teach all limitations of claim 7; however, they fail to teach the pillars are tapered towards the distal end with respect to the base section, and the distal end of the pillars are rounded or partly rounded at the interface between one or more sides walls of the pillar and the distal end of the pillar.
Chen2019 teaches a device which have pillars that have a spherically shaped head that which permit even distribution of stress on the tissue, thus decreasing concentrations of stress at specific points of the tissue which could compromise the tissue's structural integrity (Chen2019, paragraph [0139]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the distal end of the pillars rounded (and therefore tapered) because it would permit even distribution of stress on the tissue, thus decreasing concentrations of stress at specific points of the tissue which could compromise the tissue's structural integrity (Chen2019, paragraph [0139]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Chen nor Cohen teach the device is configured to be received in a well of a microwell plate, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Firstly, the examiner notes that the well of the microwell plate is not positively recited. Secondly, the structure described above for the device would be able to be received in a well of a microwell plate. The overall structure of Chen is in the shape of a microwell plate, however, only one of wells are considered to be the device as claimed and this device would be capable of being inserted into another well of another microwell plate.
Regarding applicant’s argument that paragraph [0056] of Chen discloses that the height of the rib elements are less than or equal to the height of the wall section is found persuasive. In combination of paragraph [0056] of Chen and the rib elements as added by Cohen, the rib elements are equal to the height of the wall section, see figure 2 of Cohen. As such, the claim is rendered as obvious.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Chen teaches a stiffness range and lists a series of stiffness ranges and the stiffness is not the same as the Youngs Modulus is not found persuasive. Chen teaches the values of the stiffness ranges and then states that the stiffness ranges is based upon the geometric dimensions of the cantilevers along with known values for the Young’s Modulus of the materials. Based upon this teaching in Chen, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that there would still be an overlap of the Young’s Modulus of the pillars and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of the Young’s Modulus of the material in the range that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Further, Chen teaches that the material of the micro-cantilevers (pillars) are made from a silicone rubber which is the same material as the pillars in the instant application and as such it has been determined that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. Absent persuasive evidence that the materials of the pillars are different are different, the prior art is considered to have the same properties with respect to Young’s Modulus as that is claimed. MPEP § 2112.01 (I-IV).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the pillars are tapered toward the distal end from the base section) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claim only states that the pillar are tapered toward the distal end with respect to the base section. Therefore, any portion of the pillar which tapers would read on the instant claims. As applicant as stated that the pillars taper toward the distal end from the base section implies that the taper is from the bottom up and not just any portion. As the pillars as added by Chen2019 have a spherical head the spherical head is considered to taper toward the distal end with respect to the base as the spherical head gets a smaller cross-section as one gets to the end of the sphere, thereby being considered to taper and read on the instant claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796