DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 3/27/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claim 9 is rejected by virtue of their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Application Publication No. 2014/0220555, hereinafter Chen in view of United States Application Publication No. 2007/0212775, hereinafter Cohen.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a device made of elastomeric material (paragraph [0051]) for culturing in vitro muscle tissue (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), the device comprising: a base section (the bottom of item 240); two pillars (items 260a and 260b) each protruding from the base section (figure 2); and a wall section (the walls of item 240) with an inner wall surface surrounding the pillars (figure 2), and an outer wall surface (figure 2).
Chen fails to teach the wall section comprises at least two rib elements extending outwardly from the outer wall surface to an outer periphery of the device.
Cohen teaches a microtiter plate which has four ribs (Cohen, items 12 and 14) on each of the middle wells of the device (Cohen, figure 2) so that the plate can be reinforced while also a considerable portion of the well to contact a sample holder (Cohen, paragraph [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added four ribs which extend outwardly from the outer wall surface to an outer periphery of the device because it would allow for the device to be reinforced while also a considerable portion of the well to contact a sample holder (Cohen, paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Chen teaches the wall section comprises at least three rib elements extending in at least two non-parallel directions within a virtual plane comprising the base section (see supra).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the inner wall surface has a non- unity aspect ratio (paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches the height of the rib elements is less than or equal to the height of the wall section (paragraph [0056]) and wherein the height of the wall section is less than or equal to 2000µm (paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches the height of the pillar is less than 2 mm tall (paragraph [0057]).
Chen fails to specifically teach the height of the pillars is greater than or equal to 500µm and less than or equal to 2000µm.
The claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range; in cases where the claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range, a prima facie case of obviousness of the range exists. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of the height of the pillars in the range that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the Young's Modulus of the material used to manufacture the pillars is 1-10 MPa.
Chen fails to specifically teach the Young's Modulus of the material used to manufacture the pillars is greater than or equal to 0.5 MPa and less than or equal to 5 MPa.
The claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range; in cases where the claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range, a prima facie case of obviousness of the range exists. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of the Young’s Modulus of the material in the range that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 7, the method of injection molding, injection compression, transfer molding or embossing is a product-by-process limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process and is therefore taught by Chen and Cohen (MPEP § 2113). The burden is on applicants to show product differences in product by process claims. Here, the limitations as to the method of forming the device by one of the specific methods is given minimal patentable weight. Further these methods are taught in paragraphs [0059]-[0060].
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches the device or pillars, and the base wall section and ribs comprise a silicone rubber (paragraph [0051]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Cohen as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of United States Application Publication No. 2019/0316068, hereinafter Chen2019.
Regarding claim 9, Chen and Cohen teach all limitations of claim 7; however, they fail to teach the pillars are tapered towards the distal end with respect to the base section, and the distal end of the pillars are rounded or partly rounded at the interface between one or more sides walls of the pillar and the distal end of the pillar.
Chen2019 teaches a device which have pillars that have a spherically shaped head that which permit even distribution of stress on the tissue, thus decreasing concentrations of stress at specific points of the tissue which could compromise the tissue's structural integrity (Chen2019, paragraph [0139]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the distal end of the pillars rounded (and therefore tapered) because it would permit even distribution of stress on the tissue, thus decreasing concentrations of stress at specific points of the tissue which could compromise the tissue's structural integrity (Chen2019, paragraph [0139]).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796