DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the first amendment to non-final filed on July 13, 2026.
Claims 1, 3, 12, and 17 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 13–16 have been withdrawn from consideration because they have not been elected.
Claim 2 has been canceled.
Claims 1 and 3–18 are currently pending, and claims 1, 3–12, 17, and 18 have been examined.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed July 13, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3–18 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed January 13, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3–12, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
First of all, claims must be directed to one or more of the following statutory categories: a process, a machine, a manufacture, or a composition of matter. Claims 1, 3–12, 17, and 18 are directed to a process (“A method”). Thus, claims 1, 3–12, 17, and 18 satisfy Step One because they are all within one of the four statutory categories of eligible subject matter.
Claims 1, 3–12, 17, and 18, however, are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. For claim 1, the specific limitations that recite an abstract idea are:
receiving . . . a settlement agreement;
determining . . . payment details based on the settlement agreement by calculating a rebalancing beneficiaries support insurance (RBSI) payment schedule; and
issuing an insurance policy based on the payment details.
The claims, therefore, recite issuing an insurance policy, which is the abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activity because they recite a commercial interaction and the fundamental economic practice of insurance. The claims also recite determining payment details from an agreement, which is the abstract idea of mental processes because they involve observations and evaluations that can be performed by the human mind.
The judicial exception recited above is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements of the claims are various generic technologies and computer components to implement this abstract idea (“processor”, “displaying . . . within system” and “family management system”). These additional elements are not integrated into a practical application because the invention merely applies the abstract idea to generic computer technology, using the computer to send and receive information and determine insurance and payments. Because the invention is using the computer simply as a tool to perform the abstract idea on, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Finally, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as discussed above, the additional elements in combination are at a high level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using generic components. Because merely “applying” the exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept, the additional elements do not recite significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 1, 3–12, 17, and 18 have been given the full two part analysis, analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claims, when analyzed individually and in combination, are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
For claims 3–5, 17, and 18, the additional recited limitations of these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea. These dependent claims only recite determining and rebalancing a payment schedule based on various factors, which is the abstract idea of certain methods of human activity because they recite a commercial interaction and the fundamental economic practice of mitigating risk. The limitations of these claims fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because these claims do not introduce additional elements other than the generic components discussed above. These claims do recite a family management system, but again, this is also merely being used as a tool to communicate information. These dependent claims, therefore, also amount to merely using a computer, in its ordinary capacity, as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Finally, the additional recited limitations of these dependent claims fail to establish that the claims provide an inventive concept because claims that merely use a computer, in its ordinary capacity, as a tool to perform the abstract idea cannot provide an inventive concept.
For claim 6, the additional recited limitations of this claim are merely directed to an abstract idea. This dependent claim only recites issuing and receiving an irrevocability waiver, which is the abstract idea of certain methods of human activity because it recites a commercial interaction and the fundamental economic practice of mitigating risk.
For claims 7–11, the additional recited limitations of these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea. These dependent claims only recite monitoring the insurance policy to track expiration, missed payments, and payments performed, and notifying users, which is the abstract idea of certain methods of human activity because they recite a commercial interaction and the fundamental economic practice of insurance. The limitations of these claims fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because these claims do not introduce additional elements other than the generic components discussed above. These claims do recite displaying information through a system, but again, this is also merely being used as a tool to communicate information. These dependent claims, therefore, also amount to merely using a computer, in its ordinary capacity, as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Finally, the additional recited limitations of these dependent claims fail to establish that the claims provide an inventive concept because claims that merely use a computer, in its ordinary capacity, as a tool to perform the abstract idea cannot provide an inventive concept.
For claim 12, the additional recited limitations of this claim are merely directed to an abstract idea. This dependent claim only recites calculating preliminary total payment amounts based on financial details, which is the abstract idea of certain methods of human activity because it recites a commercial interaction, and the abstract idea of mathematical concepts because it recites a mathematical calculation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(1) Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
(2) Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
(3) Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
(4) Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 3–5 and 8–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Platt et al., U.S. Patent App. No. 2014/0278562 (“Platt”) in view of Kristan, U.S. Patent App. No. 2021/0407024 (“Kristan”).
For claim 1, Platt teaches:
A method of managing family law obligations comprising (¶ 21: example method):
receiving, via a processor, a settlement agreement (¶ 21: information received; ¶ 17: court order or other legal agreement; ¶ 16: processor);
determining, via a processor, payment details based on the settlement agreement (¶ 21: information regarding payments; ¶ 16: processor) . . .; and
issuing an insurance policy based on the payment details (¶ 21: insurance policy issued based on payment information).
Platt does not teach: by calculating a rebalancing beneficiaries support insurance (RBSI) payment schedule.
Kristan, however, teaches:
by calculating a rebalancing beneficiaries support insurance (RBSI) payment schedule (¶ 20, 24, 39, 124: payment schedule may be readjusted).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the payment insurance in Platt by adding the payment monitoring from Kristan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the purpose of ensuring child support payments are completed—a benefit explicitly disclosed by Kristan (¶ 1–2: risk of failures to pay child support; ¶ 3: invention provides financing for payments, and administration of these payments).
For claim 3, Platt and Kristan teach all the limitations of claim 1 above, and Kristan further teaches:
The method of Claim 1 further comprising: updating the RBSI payment schedule on a regular basis or in response to actions being performed (¶ 39: payment schedule adjusted based on payments missed).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the payment insurance in Platt by adding the payment monitoring from Kristan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the purpose of ensuring child support payments are completed—a benefit explicitly disclosed by Kristan (¶ 1–2: risk of failures to pay child support; ¶ 3: invention provides financing for payments, and administration of these payments).
For claim 4, Platt and Kristan teach all the limitations of claim 3 above, and Kristan further teaches:
The method of Claim 3 wherein the regular basis is weekly, monthly, bi- annually or annually (¶ 49: payments updated based on various timelines including monthly).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the payment insurance in Platt by adding the payment monitoring from Kristan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the purpose of ensuring child support payments are completed—a benefit explicitly disclosed by Kristan (¶ 1–2: risk of failures to pay child support; ¶ 3: invention provides financing for payments, and administration of these payments).
For claim 5, Platt and Kristan teach all the limitations of claim 3 above, and Kristan further teaches:
The method of Claim 3 wherein actions being performed comprise payments not made, removal of beneficiary from the settlement agreement or new expenses associated with the settlement agreement (¶ 39: payment schedule adjusted based on payments missed).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the payment insurance in Platt by adding the payment monitoring from Kristan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the purpose of ensuring child support payments are completed—a benefit explicitly disclosed by Kristan (¶ 1–2: risk of failures to pay child support; ¶ 3: invention provides financing for payments, and administration of these payments).
For claim 8, Platt teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Platt does not teach: monitoring status of the insurance policy; and determining a payment for the insurance policy has been missed.
Kristan, however, teaches:
The method of Claim 1 further comprising: monitoring status of the insurance policy (¶ 65, 67: monitoring progress of payments and collection); and
determining a payment for the insurance policy has been missed (¶ 123: payment missed).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the payment insurance in Platt by adding the payment monitoring from Kristan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the purpose of ensuring child support payments are completed—a benefit explicitly disclosed by Kristan (¶ 1–2: risk of failures to pay child support; ¶ 3: invention provides financing for payments, and administration of these payments).
For claim 9, Platt and Kristan teach all the limitations of claim 8 above, and Kristan further teaches:
The method of Claim 8 further comprising: notifying policy owner of missed payment (¶ 123: non-custodial parent notified).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the payment insurance in Platt by adding the payment monitoring from Kristan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the purpose of ensuring child support payments are completed—a benefit explicitly disclosed by Kristan (¶ 1–2: risk of failures to pay child support; ¶ 3: invention provides financing for payments, and administration of these payments).
For claim 10, Platt and Kristan teach all the limitations of claim 8 above, and Kristan further teaches:
The method of Claim 8 further comprising: notifying support beneficiary of missed payment (¶ 114: custodial parent notified).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the payment insurance in Platt by adding the payment monitoring from Kristan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the purpose of ensuring child support payments are completed—a benefit explicitly disclosed by Kristan (¶ 1–2: risk of failures to pay child support; ¶ 3: invention provides financing for payments, and administration of these payments).
For claim 11, Platt teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Platt does not teach: monitoring status of the insurance policy; receiving payment from a policy owner; and displaying payment within system for users to view.
Kristan, however, teaches:
The method of Claim 1 further comprising: monitoring status of the insurance policy (¶ 65, 67: monitoring progress of payments and collection);
receiving payment from a policy owner (¶ 22: receive payment from non-custodial parent); and
displaying payment within system for users to view (¶ 64: interface for displaying and monitoring payments).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the payment insurance in Platt by adding the payment monitoring from Kristan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the purpose of ensuring child support payments are completed—a benefit explicitly disclosed by Kristan (¶ 1–2: risk of failures to pay child support; ¶ 3: invention provides financing for payments, and administration of these payments).
For claim 12, Platt teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches:
The method of Claim 1 further comprising, before receiving a settlement agreement: receiving financial details from a user (¶ 21: user information received);
calculating a set of preliminary total support amounts (¶ 21: amounts calculated for user); and
transmitting the set of preliminary support amounts to the user (¶ 21: amounts sent to user).
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 101
Applicant’s arguments filed on July 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claims are patent eligible because they have been amended to include a processor for determining an RBSI payment schedule. Applicant cites to their website and explains that an RBSI payment schedule is more than abstract because it merges Family Law and Insurance Law to rebalance and reallocate policy amounts. These features cited by Applicant, however, are all abstract ideas directed to rebalancing and reallocating insurance policy payment amounts. These mental processes and commercial interactions are then only implemented on a generic computer processor. The claims are therefore merely applying the abstract ideas to generic computing technology, using it as a tool, rather than reciting any type of technological improvement. Thus, claims 1, 3–12, 17, and 18 are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s arguments filed on July 13, 2026 with respect to claims 1, 3–12, 17, and 18 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that Kristan (U.S. Patent App. No. 2021/0407024) fails to disclose the limitation “by calculating a rebalancing beneficiaries support insurance (RBSI) payment schedule.” Applicant explains that Kristan refers to loans for preventing defaulted payments, and thus does not disclose rebalancing spouse payments based on specific criteria such as time spent with children, as in the claimed invention. Applicant, however, is reading in features from example embodiments in the specification, as well as from claim 17. The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation, as it is currently written, encompasses rebalancing a payment schedule. And, Kristan is cited to disclose readjusting a payment schedule (¶ 20: “the non-custodial parent's payment terms may be adjusted”; ¶ 24: “The application may include an agreement by the non-custodial parent to new payment terms, such as extension of the payment time or a change to the periodic amount of payments.”; ¶ 39: “the financial institution may re-calculate the amount of money owed and adjust the future payment schedule.”; ¶ 124: “In some arrangements, a non-custodial parent may be allowed to defer payments or adjust their payments.”. Thus, the cited references, in combination, disclose “by calculating a rebalancing beneficiaries support insurance (RBSI) payment schedule.”
Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable by virtue of their dependence on claim 1, which was amended to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102. As discussed above, however, the combination of Platt (U.S. Patent App. No. 2014/0278562) and Kristan discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Thus, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 3–12, 17, and 18 are not persuasive.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure. Those prior art references are as follows:
Carolan et al., U.S. Patent App. No. 2004/0172279, discloses a system for facilitating interactions between family members .
Kiramittchian et al., U.S. Patent App. No. 2003/0200124, discloses providing marriage insurance to parties of divorce or dissolution.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIVESH PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3696