DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Remarks filed 2026 July 30 have been fully considered. Claims 1–6, 8, 10–17 have been amended. Claim 9 has been cancelled. Claims 1–8, 10–17 are pending, of which claims 1 and 10 are independent.
The objection to the specification is rendered moot in part by Applicant's amendment of the title to BATTERY SYSTEM AND CHARGING CONTROL METHOD FOR INDEPENDENT MANAGEMENT OF MULTIPLE BATTERY CELL TYPES and Applicant's amendment of ¶[0084] to correct the reference-numeral typographical error identified at page 3 of the prior Office Action. The objection is not rendered moot as to ¶[0083]: Applicant's amendment corrects only the second occurrence of the erroneous reference numeral "133" (in the clause reciting transmission of electric energy to the first bare cell 13), but leaves uncorrected the first occurrence of the same erroneous numeral (in the clause reciting that the first protection board 31 "is electrically connected to the first tab 133"). The objection to ¶[0083] is accordingly maintained.
The objections to claims 1 and 4 have been rendered moot by Applicant's amendment.
The rejection of claims 1–2, 4–8, and 11–17 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) has been rendered moot by Applicant's amendment.
The rejection of claims 1 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by WAKEFIELD (US 6,625,477 B1) is withdrawn. Applicant's amendments to claims 1 and 10 necessitated a further search, which identified FERRESE et al. (US 2016/0248266 A1) as anticipatory prior art. The rejection of claims 1–8, 10–17 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 103 over FERRESE in various combinations with JIA, HAN, KREISINGER, KIM, AHN, and PARK, are necessitated by Applicant's own amendment and rely on the same underlying rationale. Thus, this substitution does not constitute a new ground of rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments/amendments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because
Elements 10 and 2 of Fig. 1 are not clear by themselves .
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
¶[0083] — Reference numeral typographical error: "first tab 133" recited where "first tab 134" is correct per ¶[0051] and FIG. 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FERRESE et al. (US 2016/0248266 A1).
In re claim 1, FERRESE discloses an electronic device (FIG. 2, 3), comprising:
a battery, the battery comprises a plurality of bare cells, the plurality of bare cells including bare cells of different types (¶[0028]: battery cells 202 having different characteristics such as different sizes/capacities, chemistries, battery technologies, shapes, state of charge (SOC), charge rates, and discharge rates); and
a battery control circuit, configured to control charging and discharging of the battery, (¶[0029]: charge controller 204 may be implemented via a combined battery controller designed to manage operation of the battery system 128 as a whole, including both charging of the battery cells and delivery of power from the battery cells to service a system load),
wherein the battery control circuit comprises a processor and one or more charging links, (¶s [0020, 0029]: combined battery controller managing the battery system as a whole, incorporating the processor-executed determinations of Power Manager Module 126 together with charge controller 204’s charging logic 206 and distribution circuitry 205, which provide the one or more charging links), each of the one or more charging links is electrically connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of bare cells and to the processor (¶s [0030, 0041, 0042]: distribution circuitry 205 configured to connect each of the heterogeneous battery cells directly to the charge controller to provide individual current paths to and from each of the heterogeneous battery cells; distribution circuitry directs current to cells using the individual current paths), and
wherein the processor is configured to determine respective types of the plurality of bare cells and control the one or more charging links to perform different charging policies corresponding to the respective types of the plurality of bare cells (¶s [0034 – 0035, 0038]: power manager module 126 collects and analyzes contextual factors 208 including the types of battery cells 202; different combinations of contextual factors are mapped to different charging strategies 210; the charging strategy applied may selectively prioritize charging of types of cells that are well-suited to fast charging).
In re claim 4, FERRESE discloses wherein the number of the one or more charging links is the same as that of the plurality of bare cells (¶[0030]: distribution circuitry 205 configured to connect each of the heterogeneous battery cells directly to the charge controller to provide individual current paths to and from each of the heterogeneous battery cells), and the one or more charging links are electrically connected to the plurality of bare cells in a one-to-one correspondence (¶[0030]: distribution circuitry 205 provides individual current paths to and from each of the heterogeneous battery cells).
In re claim 8, FERRESE discloses wherein the battery control circuit further comprises a power management module (power manager module 126), the power management module is electrically connected between a corresponding bare cell and the processor (¶s [0020, 0029]: the power manager module 126 may be configured as a module combined with a controller or other component of the battery system 128; the combined battery controller manages operation of the battery system 128 as a whole, reached via the individual current paths distribution circuitry 205 establishes between each bare cell and the combined controller), and the processor controls discharging of the corresponding bare cell through the power management module (¶[0029]: the combined battery controller is designed to manage operation of the battery system 128 as a whole, including delivery of power from the battery cells to service a system load).
In re claim 10, FERRESE discloses a charging control method, used for controlling charging of a battery, wherein the charging control method is applied to a battery control circuit, the battery comprises a plurality of bare cells, the plurality of bare cells including bare cells of different types, and one or more charging links are respectively connected to corresponding bare cells of the plurality of bare cells (¶s [0028–0030, 0041]: battery system 128 includes a diverse combination of battery cells 202 having different characteristics; charge controller 204 may be implemented via a combined battery controller managing the battery system as a whole; distribution circuitry 205 connects each heterogeneous battery cell directly to the charge controller to provide individual current paths to corresponding bare cells), the charging control method comprising:
when it is determined that the battery is electrically connected to a power supply unit, determining respective types of the plurality of bare cells in the battery (¶s [0028, 0035, 0041]: contextual factors 208 include information regarding the types of battery cells 202; the charge controller is depicted as being connected to a power source 302 from which charging current may be obtained); and
controlling the one or more charging links to perform different charging policies corresponding to the respective types of the corresponding bare cells (¶s [0034, 0038, 0050]: different charging strategies 210 are mapped to different combinations of contextual factors 208, including cell type; the charge controller is directed to apply the selected charging strategy to control distribution of charging current among the heterogeneous battery cells).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FERRESE et al. (US 2016/0248266 A1), in view of JIA (CN 111262296 A).
In re claim 2, FERRESE is silent to wherein each of the one or more charging links comprises a charging management chip, the charging management chip is electrically connected to the processor and a corresponding bare cell associated with the charging link, and the processor is configured to control the charging management chip to process an input current and an input voltage of the charging link, and output a charging current and a charging voltage to the corresponding bare cell.
JIA teaches wherein each of the one or more charging links comprises a charging management chip (IC1, IC2), the charging management chip is electrically connected to the processor and a corresponding bare cell associated with the charging link (¶s [0072, 0074]: charging IC1 and charging IC2 communicate with the MCU/AP),
and the processor is configured to control the charging management chip to process an input current and an input voltage of the charging link, and output a charging current and a charging voltage to the corresponding bare cell (¶s [0037, 0042]: in the first charging mode, the first charging chip charges the first battery with a charging current greater than a first current threshold, and the second charging chip charges the second battery with a charging current greater than the first current threshold; in the second charging mode, the first and second charging chips charge with a lesser current).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to combine JIA's charging chip to FERRESE's individually-connected charging links in order to prevent bare cells of different chemistries, capacities, and charge/discharge rates from being overcharged, undercharged, or otherwise damaged by a single, undifferentiated charging current and voltage.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FERRESE et al. (US 2016/0248266 A1), in view of JIA (CN 111262296 A), and further in view of HAN et al. (US 2014/0368159 Al).
In re claim 3, FERRESE discloses wherein the battery control circuit further comprises a charging port, one end of the charging port is electrically connected to a power supply unit to receive the input current and the input voltage output by the power supply unit (FIG. 3; ¶[0042]: charge controller 204 connected to a power source 302 from which charging current 304 is obtained).
FERRESE does not expressly disclose wherein the other end of the charging port is electrically connected to the charging management chip to output the input current and the input voltage to the charging management chip, and the processor is electrically connected to the charging port and is configured to detect a voltage change of the charging port to determine a status of an electrical connection between the battery control circuit and the power supply unit.
HAN teaches wherein the battery control circuit further comprises a charging port (FIG. 3: VBUS interface), the other end of the charging port is electrically connected to the charging management chip to output the input current and the input voltage to the charging management chip, and the processor is electrically connected to the charging port and is configured to detect a voltage change of the charging port to determine a status of an electrical connection between the battery control circuit and the power supply unit (FIG. 3; ¶s [0017, 0043]: the mobile terminal may determine the VBUS voltage by means of an Analog to Digital Converter (ADC); the controller reads the current VBUS voltage against a 5.5V threshold to decide a control signal).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to combine HAN's voltage-based determination of the charging port's electrical condition to FERRESE's individually-connected charging links in order to enable the battery control circuit to determine when external charging power is available before initiating a charging policy, thereby preventing the battery control circuit from applying a charging policy to a charging link when no power supply unit is actually connected to it.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FERRESE et al. (US 2016/0248266 A1), in view of HSU et al. (US 2010/0217552 A1).
In re claim 5, FERRESE is silent to wherein the battery control circuit further comprises a coulometer, the coulometer is electrically connected between at least one of the plurality of bare cells and the processor, and the processor is configured to monitor a voltage, a current, and/or an electricity quantity of a corresponding bare cell through the coulometer, and controls a charging process of a corresponding charging link based on a monitoring result.
HSU teaches wherein the battery control circuit further comprises a coulometer (¶[0025]: Coulomb counter 323),
the coulometer is electrically connected between at least one of the plurality of bare cells and the processor (FIG. 4: coulomb counter 323, electrically connected between multi-cells 315 through current detecting circuit 327/ADC 329, and the EC and charge gauge module 330 through registers 336 and battery communication protocol controllers 340s/340m), and
the processor is configured to monitor a voltage, a current, and/or an electricity quantity of a corresponding bare cell through the coulometer, and controls a charging process of a corresponding charging link based on a monitoring result (¶[0025]: coulomb counter 323 monitors each cell's current and electricity quantity; the master communication protocol controller uses that monitored data to determine first control parameters that control charging of the cell).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to combine HSU's coulomb counter to FERRESE's individually-connected charging links in order to enable the charging strategy applied to each heterogeneous bare cell to be adjusted in real time based on that cell's own measured charge state.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FERRESE et al. (US 2016/0248266 A1), in view of JIA (CN 111262296 A), and further in view of KREISINGER et al. (US 5,534,765).
In re claim 6, FERRESE is silent to wherein the battery further comprises one or more protection boards, a protection board of the one or more protection boards is electrically connected to a corresponding bare cell of the plurality of bare cells, the protection board comprises a storage unit configured to store information about a type of the corresponding bare cell, the charging management chip is electrically connected to the corresponding bare cell through the protection board, and the processor is configured to receive, through communication between the charging management chip and the protection board, a feedback signal comprising the information, to determine the type of the corresponding bare cell based on the feedback signal.
JIA teaches wherein the battery further comprises one or more protection boards (protection board 12), a protection board of the one or more protection boards is electrically connected to a corresponding bare cell of the plurality of bare cells (¶[0046]: the first battery is mounted on the first protection board and connected in series with the first charging chip to form the first charging path), the charging management chip is electrically connected to the corresponding bare cell through the protection board (¶s [0046–0047]: the first battery is mounted on the first protection board and connected in series with the first charging chip to form the first charging path).
A PHOSITA would have been motivated to combine JIA's protection board to FERRESE's individually-connected charging links in order to physically and electrically integrate each heterogeneous bare cell's protective and monitoring circuitry with the charging path dedicated to that cell, thereby preventing a fault condition detected for one bare cell's own protective and monitoring circuitry from being applied to, or masked by, a charging path shared with bare cells of a different chemistry or capacity.
JIA does not expressly teach the protection board comprises a storage unit configured to store information about a type of the corresponding bare cell, and the processor is configured to receive, through communication between the charging management chip and the protection board, a feedback signal comprising the information, to determine the type of the corresponding bare cell based on the feedback signal.
KREISINGER teaches a storage device that stores information specific to the connected battery for use in charging it (col. 3, ll. 12–19: memory 122 stores charge parameters specific to the battery 120, in accordance with the charging requirements of its battery cells 121), and a controller that receives that stored information, through communication with the storage device, to determine and apply the corresponding charging treatment (col. 3, ll. 20–22, 55–57: controller 130 retrieves the stored charge instructions from memory 122 through the charger port 152 and clock signals through the port 153, and charges the battery accordingly).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to combine KREISINGER's battery-resident storage device and its controller's retrieval of the stored information with JIA's protection board and charging chip, in order to allow a single charging architecture to handle bare cells with different charging requirements without redesigning the charger for each cell type.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FERRESE et al. (US 2016/0248266 A1), in view of JIA (CN 111262296 A), KREISINGER et al. (EP 0 746 895 B1), and further in view of KIM et al. (US 7,679,315 B2).
In re claim 7, FERRESE is silent to the protection board being provided with a radio frequency chip, the radio frequency chip being electrically connected to the storage unit, the charging management chip being provided with a radio frequency identification circuit, and the processor receiving the feedback signal through communication between the radio frequency identification circuit and the radio frequency chip.
KIM discloses that the protection board is provided with a radio frequency chip (col. 7, ll. 30–42; col. 9, ll. 55–65: RFID antenna 500 coupled to protection circuit module 400, mountable on protection circuit board 410) electrically connected to the storage unit (database 314; col. 7, ll. 30–42, col. 9, ll. 55–65), the radio frequency chip is electrically connected to the storage unit (col. 9, ll. 55–65: database 314 also mountable on protection circuit board 410, alongside antenna 500), the charging management chip is provided with a radio frequency identification circuit (col. 1, ll. 9–15: reader 210, mounted in the device body, identifies the tag’s RFID antenna disposed on the battery’s protection circuit board), and the processor receives the feedback signal through communication between the radio frequency identification circuit and the radio frequency chip (FIG. 2, steps S110–S130: reader/tag exchange product-information signals; device body verifies the response).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to combine KIM’s radio-frequency tag-and-reader identification structure to FERRESE’s individually-connected charging links in order to enable the processor to confirm the corresponding bare cell’s stored type information through a dedicated wireless communication channel rather than relying solely on a wired data connection.
Claims 11, 13 – 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FERRESE et al. (US 2016/0248266 A1), in view of AHN et al. (US 9,099,883 B2).
In re claim 11, FERRESE is silent to wherein a charging policy corresponding to a type of a corresponding bare cell comprises: charging the corresponding bare cell until the corresponding bare cell is fully charged; stopping charging the corresponding bare cell; determining that the power supply unit is electrically connected to the battery; and performing a recharging policy on the corresponding bare cell.
AHN teaches wherein a charging policy corresponding to a type of a corresponding battery comprises:
charging the battery until the battery is fully charged (FIG. 5, step S111; col. 9, ll. 34–37: controller continues charging until reaching 99% [full charge] of total battery capacity);
stopping charging the battery (col. 9, ll. 44–46: controller stops charging for period Ts upon reaching 99% capacity);
determining that the power supply unit is electrically connected to the battery (FIG. 5, step S115: "is adapter separated?" NO branch — power supply remains connected); and
performing a recharging policy on the battery (FIG. 5, steps S111/S119: battery recharged to 99% if capacity discharges to 98% or less).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to combine AHN’s charge-stop-determine-recharge sequence to FERRESE’s type-based charging-policy determination in order to prevent a heterogeneous bare cell from remaining connected to full charging current indefinitely once it reaches its target capacity, while still restoring its charge if it discharges during continued connection to the power supply.
In re claim 13, FERRESE discloses determining that the bare cell is a type-2 bare cell, and charging the bare cell until the bare cell is fully charged (¶s [0028, 0035]: processor determines respective types of the plurality of bare cells, encompassing a second, type-2 cell type).
FERRESE does not expressly disclose the charging the bare cell until the bare cell is fully charged comprises: charging the bare cell in a conventional charging mode until the bare cell is fully charged.
AHN teaches wherein the charging the type-2 bare cell until the bare cell is fully charged comprises:
charging the bare cell in a conventional charging mode until the bare cell is fully charged (col. 9, ll. 34–42: controller charges to 99% capacity via a single, undifferentiated process).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to combine AHN’s single continuous charge-to-capacity process to FERRESE’s type-based charging-policy determination in order to apply an undifferentiated charging mode to a type-2 bare cell for which accelerated charging is not indicated, thereby limiting the charging current applied to that cell relative to a cell type for which fast charging is appropriate.
In re claim 14, FERRESE is silent to wherein the performing a recharging policy on the corresponding bare cell comprises: when duration in which the power supply unit is electrically connected to the corresponding bare cell is less than or equal to a preset duration threshold, determining whether an electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is less than a second preset electricity quantity threshold, wherein when the electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is greater than or equal to the second preset electricity quantity threshold, continuing to determine whether duration in which the power supply unit is electrically connected to the corresponding bare cell is greater than the preset duration threshold, until duration in which the power supply unit is electrically connected to the corresponding bare cell is greater than the preset duration threshold; or when the electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is less than the second preset electricity quantity threshold, charging the corresponding bare cell in a conventional charging mode, until the corresponding bare cell is fully charged, and performing the recharging policy, or until the power supply unit is disconnected from the battery, and ending the charging process.
AHN teaches wherein the performing a recharging policy on the bare cell comprises:
when duration in which the power supply unit is electrically connected to the bare cell is less than or equal to a preset duration threshold, determining whether an electricity quantity of the bare cell is less than a second preset electricity quantity threshold (FIG. 5, steps S113/S119: controller waits period TL, then checks whether capacity discharged to 98% or less), wherein
when the electricity quantity of the bare cell is greater than or equal to the second preset electricity quantity threshold, continuing to determine whether duration in which the power supply unit is electrically connected to the bare cell is greater than the preset duration threshold, until duration in which the power supply unit is electrically connected to the bare cell is greater than the preset duration threshold (FIG. 5: S119 “NO” branch loops back to S113, repeating the wait/duration check); or
when the electricity quantity of the bare cell is less than the second preset electricity quantity threshold, charging the bare cell in a conventional charging mode, until the bare cell is fully charged, and performing the recharging policy, or until the power supply unit is disconnected from the battery, and ending the charging process (FIG. 5, step S111: recharged to 99% if discharged to 98% or less; steps S115 – S117: adapter separation terminates charging).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to combine AHN’s duration-and-capacity-based recharge-monitoring sequence to FERRESE’s type-based charging-policy determination in order to restore a heterogeneous bare cell’s charge only when its discharge or its continued connection to the power supply actually warrants renewed charging, rather than continuously supplying charging current after the cell has reached a fully charged condition.
In re claim 16, FERRESE discloses determining that the bare cell is a type-2 bare cell, and charging the bare cell until the bare cell is fully charged (¶s [0028, 0035]: processor determines respective types of the plurality of bare cells, encompassing a second, type-2 cell type).
FERRESE does not expressly disclose when duration in which the power supply unit is electrically connected to the corresponding bare cell is greater than the preset duration threshold, determining whether an electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is less than a third preset electricity quantity threshold; when the electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is less than the third preset electricity quantity threshold, charging the corresponding bare cell in the conventional charging mode; when an electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is less than a fifth preset electricity quantity threshold, continuing to charge the corresponding bare cell in the conventional charging mode until an electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is greater than or equal to the fifth preset electricity quantity threshold; and when the electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is greater than or equal to the fifth preset electricity quantity threshold, stopping charging the corresponding bare cell and the performing the recharging policy, or waiting until the power supply unit is disconnected from the battery and ending the charging process.
AHN teaches when duration in which the power supply unit is electrically connected to the corresponding bare cell is greater than the preset duration threshold, determining whether an electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is less than a third preset electricity quantity threshold (FIG. 5, step S119: after wait period TL, controller checks whether capacity is 98% or less);
when the electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is less than the third preset electricity quantity threshold, charging the corresponding bare cell in the conventional charging mode (col. 9, ll. 34–42: controller charges to 99% capacity via a single, undifferentiated process);
when an electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is less than a fifth preset electricity quantity threshold, continuing to charge the corresponding bare cell in the conventional charging mode until an electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is greater than or equal to the fifth preset electricity quantity threshold (col. 9, ll. 34–42: charging continues until 99% capacity is reached); and
when the electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is greater than or equal to the fifth preset electricity quantity threshold, stopping charging the corresponding bare cell and the performing the recharging policy, or waiting until the power supply unit is disconnected from the battery and ending the charging process (FIG. 5, step S111: charging stops at 99% capacity, monitored for recharge per the S113/S119 loop; step S115→S117: adapter separation terminates charging).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to combine AHN’s duration-and-capacity-triggered conventional charging and recharge-monitoring sequence to FERRESE’s type-based charging-policy determination in order to apply the same undifferentiated conventional charging approach to a type-2 bare cell’s renewed charging as is applied to that cell type’s initial charging, consistent with the absence of an accelerated-charging option for that cell type.
Claims 12, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FERRESE et al. (US 2016/0248266 A1), in view of AHN et al. (US 9,099,883 B2), and further in view of PARK (US 2012/0169284 Al).
In re claim 12, FERRESE discloses determining that the bare cell is a type-1 bare cell, and charging the bare cell until the bare cell is fully charged (¶s [0028, 0035]: processor determines respective types of the plurality of bare cells, encompassing a first, type-1 cell type).
FERRESE does not expressly disclose the charging the bare cell until the bare cell is fully charged comprises: when an electricity quantity of the bare cell is less than a first preset electricity quantity threshold, charging the bare cell in a fast charging mode until the bare cell is fully charged; or when an electricity quantity of the bare cell is greater than or equal to the first preset electricity quantity threshold, charging the bare cell in a conventional charging mode until the bare cell is fully charged.
PARK teaches wherein the charging the type-1 bare cell until the bare cell is fully charged comprises:
when an electricity quantity of the bare cell is less than a first preset electricity quantity threshold, charging the bare cell in a fast charging mode until the bare cell is fully charged (FIG. 2; ¶[0039]: constant-current charging at greater current I1 while SOC remains below a first reference); or
when an electricity quantity of the bare cell is greater than or equal to the first preset electricity quantity threshold, charging the bare cell in a conventional charging mode until the bare cell is fully charged (FIG. 2; ¶[0039]: once SOC reaches the first reference, charging converts to lesser current I2).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to combine PARK’s electricity-quantity-threshold-triggered charge-current-magnitude selection to FERRESE’s type-based charging-policy determination in order to apply a higher charging current while a type-1 bare cell’s electricity quantity remains below a threshold level and a reduced charging current once that threshold is reached, so as to shorten charging time while limiting the risk of overcharging as the cell approaches full charge.
In re claim 15, FERRESE discloses determining that the bare cell is a type-1 bare cell, and charging the bare cell until the bare cell is fully charged (¶s [0028, 0035]: processor determines respective types of the plurality of bare cells, encompassing a first, type-1 cell type).
FERRESE does not expressly disclose when duration in which the power supply unit is electrically connected to the corresponding bare cell is greater than the preset duration threshold, determining whether an electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is less than a third preset electricity quantity threshold; when the electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is less than the third preset electricity quantity threshold, charging the corresponding bare cell in a fast charging mode, and detecting an electricity quantity; when the electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is less than a fourth preset electricity quantity threshold, continuing to charge the corresponding bare cell in the fast charging mode until an electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is greater than or equal to the fourth preset electricity quantity threshold; and when the electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is greater than or equal to the fourth preset electricity quantity threshold, stopping charging the corresponding bare cell and performing the recharging policy, or waiting until the power supply unit is disconnected from the battery and ending the charging process.
AHN teaches when duration in which the power supply unit is electrically connected to the corresponding bare cell is greater than the preset duration threshold, determining whether an electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is less than a third preset electricity quantity threshold (FIG. 5, step S119: after wait period TL, controller checks whether capacity is 98% or less); and
when the electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is greater than or equal to the fourth preset electricity quantity threshold, stopping charging the corresponding bare cell and performing the recharging policy, or waiting until the power supply unit is disconnected from the battery and ending the charging process (FIG. 5, step S111: charging stops at 99% capacity, monitored for recharge per the S113/S119 loop; step S115→S117: adapter separation terminates charging).
A PHOSITA would have been motivated to combine AHN’s time-bounded monitoring and threshold-triggered recharging cycle to FERRESE’s type-based charging-policy determination to maintain the maximum charged state of the battery by detecting natural discharge during the monitoring period and initiating a compensating recharge when the bare cell's charge falls below the preset threshold.
AHN does not expressly teach when the electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is less than the third preset electricity quantity threshold, charging the corresponding bare cell in a fast charging mode, and detecting an electricity quantity; or when the electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is less than a fourth preset electricity quantity threshold, continuing to charge the corresponding bare cell in the fast charging mode until an electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is greater than or equal to the fourth preset electricity quantity threshold.
PARK teaches when the electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is less than the third preset electricity quantity threshold, charging the corresponding bare cell in a fast charging mode, and detecting an electricity quantity (FIG. 3; ¶s [0039, 0042]: first-phase charging at current I1 while BMS calculates SOC(t)); and
when the electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is less than a fourth preset electricity quantity threshold, continuing to charge the corresponding bare cell in the fast charging mode until an electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is greater than or equal to the fourth preset electricity quantity threshold (FIG. 3, S13–S15; ¶[0043]: charging continues unchanged at S13 while SOC(t) has not yet reached reference SOCref_1).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to apply PARK’s multi-stage constant-current charging protocol to the type-1 bare cell recharging scenario to FERRESE’s type-based charging-policy determination, to achieve faster restoration of the bare cell’s charge following natural discharge while avoiding the capacity degradation associated with high-current charging at elevated state-of-charge levels.
In re claim 17, FERRESE is silent to wherein the performing a recharging policy on the corresponding bare cell further comprises: when the electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is greater than or equal to the third preset electricity quantity threshold, continuing to determine whether duration in which the power supply unit is electrically connected to the corresponding bare cell is greater than the preset duration threshold, until an electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is less than the third preset electricity quantity threshold.
AHN teaches wherein the performing a recharging policy on the corresponding bare cell further comprises:
when the electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is greater than or equal to the third preset electricity quantity threshold, continuing to determine whether duration in which the power supply unit is electrically connected to the corresponding bare cell is greater than the preset duration threshold, until an electricity quantity of the corresponding bare cell is less than the third preset electricity quantity threshold (FIG. 5: S119 “NO” branch loops back to S113 until the “YES” branch is reached).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to combine AHN’s repeated duration-determination loop to FERRESE’s type-based charging-policy determination in order to continue monitoring a type-1 bare cell’s continued connection to the power supply without triggering a further recharging or termination action until that cell’s electricity quantity actually falls below the threshold level warranting renewed charging.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D. JOHANN DJANAL-MANN/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859