DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to a Nonfinal rejection filed February 20, 2026.
The previous 112(b) rejection of claims 1-5 are withdrawn due to Applicant’s response and amendment.
The previous double patenting rejection of claim 2 is withdrawn due to Applicant’s response.
Claims 1-5 are currently pending.
This Action is a SECOND Nonfinal rejection.
Claim Analysis
Summary of Claim 1:
An inorganic material-reinforced thermoplastic polyester resin composition, comprising 8 to 20 parts by mass of a polybutylene terephthalate resin (A), 1 to 7 parts by mass of a polyethylene terephthalate resin (B), 1 to 12 parts by mass of a copolymerized polybutylene terephthalate resin (C), 5 to 12 parts by mass of a copolymerized polyethylene terephthalate resin (D), 1 to 6 parts by mass of a polycarbonate-based resin (E), 50 to 70 parts by mass of a glass fiber-based reinforcing material (F), and 0.05 to 2 parts by mass of a transesterification inhibitor (G), relative to 100 parts by mass of a total of components (A), (B), (C), (D), (E) and (F),
wherein glass fiber-based reinforcing material (F) comprises at least 40 to 55 parts by mass of a flat cross-section glass fiber (F1) having a ratio of major diameter to minor diameter (major diameter/minor diameter) of fiber cross-section of 1.3 to 8 and 5 to 20 parts by mass of a milled short glass fiber (F2) having a fiber length of 30 to 150 pm,
wherein glass fiber-based reinforcing material (F) in the inorganic material-reinforced thermoplastic polyester resin composition has a weight average fiber length Lw of 200 to 700 pm, and
wherein the inorganic material-reinforced thermoplastic polyester resin composition has a melt viscosity of 0.6 kPa-s or more and 1.5 kPa-s or less at 270°C and a shear rate of 10 sec-1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoharai et al. (JP 2017-39878 A as listed on IDS dated May 18, 2023) in view of Takahashi et al. (WO 2019235299).
The examiner will refer to the English translation of Shimoharai et al. provided in this Office Action.
The examiner will refer to the US equivalent of Takahashi et al., US 20210162638.
Regarding claim 1, Shimoharai et al. disclose in Example 1 an inorganic material-reinforced thermoplastic polyester resin composition comprising 10 parts by mass of polybutylene terephthalate resin (A), 5 parts by mass of polyethylene terephthalate resin (B), 10 parts by mass of a polybutylene terephthalate copolymer (C), 9 parts by mass polyethylene terephthalate copolymer (D), 3 parts by mass polycarbonate resin (E), 48 parts by mass of a flat glass fiber (F1) having a major/minor diameter ratio of 2 and 15 parts by mass of a milled glass fiber (F2) having a length of 100 µm, and 0.15 parts by mass of a transesterification inhibitor (G) (See Table 1, machine translation provided below), thereby lying within the claimed ranges of the amounts of (A), (B), (C), (D), (E), (F), and (G).
Shimoharai et al. is silent on the glass fiber-based reinforcing material (F) has a weight average fiber length of Lw as recited in the instant claim.
Takahashi et al. teach a molded body comprising a thermoplastic resin and a glass fiber having a weight average fiber length of 0.1 to 0.7 mm, equivalent to 100 to 700 microns and thereby overlapping with the claimed range (claim 22 and 35). Takashi et al. offer the motivation that within this range it is possible to secure a balance between the strength of the resin and the flowability of the resin [0090]. Shimoharai is also concerned with the rigidity of the resin and processability [0002-0003]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use glass fibers having the weight average fiber length as taught by Takahashi et al. with the thermoplastic resin composition of Shimoharai with reasonable expectation that the strength and processability would improve.
Shimoharai et al. is silent on the melt viscosity and shear rate of the inorganic material-reinforced thermoplastic polyester resin composition as recited in the instant claim.
However, in view of the substantially identical inorganic material-reinforced thermoplastic polyester resin composition of Shimoharai et al. in view of Takahashi et al., the inorganic material-reinforced thermoplastic polyester resin composition of Shimoharai et al. in view of Takahashi et al. will possess the claimed properties because melt viscosity and shear rate are inherent properties. (MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 2, Shimoharai et al. disclose the crystallization temperature (TC2) during cooling for Example 1 is 165°C (see Table 1 shown above), thereby lying within the claimed range of 160°C ≤ TC2 ≤ 180°C.
Regarding claim 3, Shimoharai et al. is silent on the acid value of the resin component as recited in the instant claim.
However, in view of the substantially identical resin component of Shimoharai et al., the inorganic material-reinforced thermoplastic polyester resin composition of Shimoharai et al. will possess the claimed properties because acid value is an inherent property. (MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 4, Shimoharai et al. is silent on the glass fiber-based reinforcing material (F) has a number average fiber length Ln and a weight average fiber length of Lw as recited in the instant claim.
However, Shimoharai et al. disclose the same trademarks “CSG3PL830S” and “EFH-100-31” as fibers F1 and F2 used in the examples of the instant specification (See instant specification page 25, line 2-8). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the number average fiber length and weight average fiber length to be inherent.
Regarding claim 5, Shimoharai et al. disclose the inorganic material-reinforced thermoplastic polyester resin composition of Example 1 was prepared by a twin-screw extruder wherein the raw materials except the reinforcing material were fed into the twin-screw extruder from a hopper and the reinforcing material was fed from a vent port by a side feed [0053], thereby reading on the instant claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5-6, filed February 20, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-5 under 35 U.S.C 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Shimoharai et al. (JP 2017-39878 A as listed on IDS dated May 18, 2023) in view of Takahashi et al. (WO 2019235299).
Applicant states “the weight average fiber length Lw of the glass fiber-based reinforcing material (F) differs based on the manufacturing method. Accordingly, the claimed weight average fiber length is not necessarily present in Shimoharai, and thus, Shimoharai fails to teach the claimed weight average fiber length Lw.”
The examiner agrees and directs attention to the new rejection for claim 1, wherein Takahashi et al. teach a molded body comprising a thermoplastic resin and a glass fiber having a weight average fiber length of 0.1 to 0.7 mm, equivalent to 100 to 700 microns and thereby overlapping with the claimed range (claim 22 and 35). Takashi et al. offer the motivation that within this range it is possible to secure a balance between the strength of the resin and the flowability of the resin [0090]. Shimoharai is also concerned with the rigidity of the resin and processability [0002-0003]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use glass fibers having the weight average fiber length as taught by Takahashi et al. with the thermoplastic resin composition of Shimoharai with reasonable expectation that the strength and processability would improve.
Conclusion
/ANDREA WU/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763