DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 2/3/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 16, 18, 22, 23, 26, 30, 31, 34-37, 40, 41, 43, 44, 49-52, 58, 59, 64 and 65 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Application Publication No. 2018/0298320, hereinafter Nelson.
Regarding claim 1, Nelson teaches a device for use with a tissue culture plate comprising a plurality of tissue culture wells (abstract), the device comprising a cylindrical well insert (item 53) configured to be inserted into said tissue culture wells (paragraph [0027]), wherein said well insert comprises a rim section (the upper flat section of item 42) on one end of the insert (figure 2A) and one or more carrier or platform (item 98) sections on an opposite end of the insert (figure 2A), wherein said carrier or platform section or sections is disposed around a perimeter of said opposite end (figure 2A), and said carrier or platform section or sections is positionable in said tissue culture wells so as to be suspended off the bottom of said tissue culture wells (figure 5).
Regarding claim 2, the tissue culture plate is not positively claimed and therefore any limitation on the tissue culture plate has minimal patentable weight (MPEP § 2115). The claim is therefore taught by Nelson.
Regarding claim 3, the tissue culture plate is not positively claimed and therefore any limitation on the tissue culture plate has minimal patentable weight (MPEP § 2115). The claim is therefore taught by Nelson. The examiner notes that as the tissue culture plate is not positively recited and the distance between the rim section and the carrier or platform section being less than the depth of the tissue culture wells would be possible depending upon the depth of the tissue culture wells which are not claimed and is therefore taught by Nelson.
Regarding claim 4, the tissue culture plate is not positively claimed and therefore any limitation on the tissue culture plate has minimal patentable weight (MPEP § 2115). The claim is therefore taught by Nelson. The examiner notes that as the tissue culture plate is not positively recited and the carrier or platform is suspended off the bottom of the tissue culture wells by about 1 mm would be possible depending upon the depth of the tissue culture wells which are not claimed and is therefore taught by Nelson.
Regarding claim 5, the tissue culture plate is not positively claimed and therefore any limitation on the tissue culture plate has minimal patentable weight (MPEP § 2115). The claim is therefore taught by Nelson. The examiner notes that as the tissue culture plate is not positively recited and the rim section has a diameter slightly larger than a diameter of the tissue culture wells would be possible depending upon the diameter of the tissue culture wells which are not claimed and is therefore taught by Nelson.
Regarding claim 6, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Nelson and the apparatus of Nelson is capable of accommodating a cell complex. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Nelson (see MPEP §2114).
Regarding claim 7, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Nelson and the apparatus of Nelson is capable of positioning a cell complex not in a central region of the tissue culture wells. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Nelson (see MPEP §2114).
Regarding claim 8, Nelson teaches wherein said carrier or platform section comprises one or more annular carriers or platforms (paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 11, Nelson teaches wherein said carrier or platform section comprises micropores (paragraph [0041]) and short vertical walls (paragraph [0041]) to keep said cell complex in place (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)).
Regarding claim 13, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Nelson and the apparatus of Nelson is capable of having the cell complex comprising a hydrogel. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Nelson (see MPEP §2114).
Regarding claim 15, Nelson teaches wherein said well insert comprises a wall that comprises open lattice or does not comprise any open space (paragraph [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson.
Regarding claim 12, Nelson teaches all limitations of claim 8; however, Nelson fails to teach each of said micropores have a size of about 100 microns to about 1,000 microns.
Nelson further teaches that the microporous matrix is of a sufficient porosity to allow the passage of macromolecules, proteins, ions, and nutrients from culture medium to cross the microporous matrix and contact cells or tissues deposited on a surface (culture surface) of the microporous matrix, while preventing direct cell to cell contact between cells or tissues cultured on the microporous matrix in the culture insert with cells cultured in the corresponding well of a multiwell plate containing culture medium (paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine, through routine experimentation, the optimum pore size to a range of 100 to 1,000 microns which would allow the passage of macromolecules, proteins, ions, and nutrients from culture medium to cross the microporous matrix while preventing direct cell to cell contact between cells or tissues (paragraph [0042]) (MPEP § 2144.05 (II)).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796