DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment, filed on 3/11/2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13, 16, 17, 19, 20, 22-29, 32, 34-39, 44-46, 49, 50, 52-56, 58-61, 63-68, and 70 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 12, 14, 15, 18, 21, 30, 31, 33, 40, 43, 47, 48, 51, 57, 62, and 69 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 12, 14, 15, 18, 21, 30, and 31, drawn to a chimeric polypeptide comprising a LRG5 binding ECD, a TM domain, and an intracellular signaling domain in the reply filed on 3/11/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that Applicant asserts the inventive groups share a special technical feature in a CAR species (Remarks filed 3/11/2026 pg. 10). This is not found persuasive because for the reasons set forth in the Restriction Requirement mailed on 12/11/2025. Briefly, the compositions of Group I (a protein) and Group II (a nucleic acid) do not have a common core structure and therefore do not have Unity of Invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
As stated in the Restriction Requirement mailed on 12/11/2025, Groups I and IV have Unity of Invention, and both inventive groups will be examined.
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Species of: i) the CAR sequence of SEQ ID NO: 64; ii) Lrg5 ECD VH CDRs of SEQ ID NO: 37-39 and VL CDRs of SEQ ID NO: 40-42, the VH of SEQ ID NO: 50 and the VL of SEQ ID NO: 49; iii) the linker domain of SEQ ID NO: 56; iv) the ICD of SEQ ID NO: 58 and 59, filed on 3/11/2026, is acknowledged.
The linker sequence of SEQ ID NO: 56 is 56 amino acid residues in length, and claim 18 is withdrawn as not reading on this species.
Claims 18, 33, 40, 43, 47, 48, 51, 57, and 69 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions and/or Species.
Claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 12, 14, 15, 21, 30, 31, and 62 are under examination as reading on a chimeric antigen receptor comprising SEQ ID NO: 64 and methods of treatment comprising administration of the CAR.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed Australian Application No. 2020904256, filed 11/18/2020, is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/18/2023, 4/07/2025, and 4/22/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner in their entireties.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency 1 - The Incorporation by Reference paragraph required by 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) is missing or incomplete. See item 1) a) or 1) b) above.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation-by-reference paragraph, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specific deficiency 2 – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d).
The instant specification discloses two sequences in ¶[0152] without the corresponding sequence identifiers.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code in ¶[0127]. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
The use of the terms:
Opti-MEM™ (¶[0278]),
GlutaMAX™ (¶[0278], [0306]),
Lipofectamine™ (¶[0279]),
P3000™ (¶[0279]),
RosetteSep™ (¶[0282]),
Dynabeads™ (¶[0283]),
Bright-Glo™ (¶[0307], [0313]),
X-VIVO™ (¶[0311], [0312]), and
Gibco™ (¶[0321]);
Which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because the claim currently recites “recognises" and should most likely recite “recognizes”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because the claim currently recites “…a heavy chain CDR3 having an amino acid sequence as set forth in SEQ ID No. 39, or having an amino acid sequence as set forth in SEQ ID No. 38…” and should most likely recite SEQ ID NO: 39 in both instances. SEQ ID NO: 38 is the CDR2 recited in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 12, 14, 15, 21, 30, 31, and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 4, 10, 14, 15, 21, 30, and 62 encompass chimeric antigen receptors or methods of treatment comprising administration of a chimeric antigen receptor comprising an extracellular binding domain with no recited structure and the function of “recognizes Lgr5”.
Claim 7 encompasses chimeric antigen receptors comprising an extracellular binding domain comprising the CDRs recited in the claims with up to 2 amino acid modifications in each CDR region with the function of “recognizes Lgr5”. The claim encompasses thousands to millions of different extracellular domain structures, defined by their amino acid sequences (especially in the CDR regions that are critical for antigen binding), with the recited function.
Claim 12 encompasses CARs comprising an extracellular binding domain comprising SEQ ID NO: 49 and/or SEQ ID NO: 50, or variants with at least 90% sequence identity to the recited sequences, with the recited function of “recognizes Lgr5”. Note that the instant specification discloses that these are the VL and VH regions, respectively. Thus, the claim encompasses thousands to millions of VL and VH variants with up to 90% sequence identity, including in the CDR regions critical for antigen binding, with the recited function.
Claim 31 encompasses CARs comprising or consisting of an amino acid sequence selected from SEQ ID NO: 60-65 and “functional variants thereof”. SEQ ID NO: 60-65 are the amino acid sequences of anti-Lrg5 CARs (¶[0274]), and thus claim 31 encompasses chimeric antigen receptors comprising or consisting of one of SEQ ID NO: 60-65, as well as “functional variants thereof” with no recited structure and the function of “recognizes Lgr5”.
Therefore, claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 12, 14, 15, 21, 30, 31 and 62 encompasses CARs comprising ECDs comprising binding domains with a partial structure at best and the function of “recognizes Lgr5”.
However, the specification fails to provide adequate written description support for a genus of CAR ECDs with a partial structure at best and the function of “recognizes Lgr5”.
The claims are not supported by a description that satisfies 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. § 112, first paragraph. "[T]he test for sufficiency [of the written description] is whether the disclosure of the application relied upon reasonably conveys to those skilled in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date." Ariad Phanns., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en bane).
A "sufficient description of a genus ... requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can 'visualize or recognize' the members of the genus." Id. at 1350. "[A]n adequate written description requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, physical properties, or other properties, of species falling within the genus sufficient to distinguish the genus from other materials." Id.
"[F]unctional claim language can meet the written description requirement when the art has established a correlation between structure and function." Id. "But merely drawing a fence around the outer limits of a purported genus is not an adequate substitute for describing a variety of materials constituting the genus and showing that one has invented a genus and not just a species." Id.
"A sufficient description of a genus ... requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can "visualize or recognize" the members of the genus" (AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1297, reiterating Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568-69) (emphasis added).
The specification discloses the generation of anti-Lgr5 CARs (Example 1). Six different anti-Lgr5 CARs were synthesized, which are CNA3002, CNA3003, CNA3004, CNA3102, CNA3103, and CNA3104 (SEQ ID NO: 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, and 65, respectively; ¶[0274]). All of these CARs have the same extracellular binding domain comprising the VH region of SEQ ID NO: 50 (comprising HCDR1-3 of SEQ ID NO: 37-39, respectively), and the VL of SEQ ID NO: 49 (comprising LCDR1-3 of SEQ ID NO: 40-42, respectively).
With respect to representative number of species, see AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co. v. Janssen Biotech, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 2014). Also, see MPEP 2163 Il(A)(3)(a))(ii):
A representative number of species means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See Abb Vie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Claims directed to a functionally defined genus of antibodies were not supported by a disclosure that "only describe[d] one type of structurally similar antibodies" that "are not representative of the full variety or scope of the genus.").
Satisfactory disclosure of a "representative number" depends on whether one of skill in the art would recognize that the applicant was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features possessed by the members of the genus in view of the species disclosed. For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus. See, e.g., Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406. Instead, the disclosure must adequately reflect the structural diversity of the claimed genus, either through the disclosure of sufficient species that are "representative of the full variety or scope of the genus," or by the establishment of "a reasonable structure-function correlation." Such correlations may be established "by the inventor as described in the specification," or they may be "known in the art at the time of the filing date." See AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1300-01, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790-91 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Holding that claims to all human antibodies that bind IL-12 with a particular binding affinity rate constant (i.e., koff) were not adequately supported by a specification describing only a single type of human antibody having the claimed features because the disclosed antibody was not representative of other types of antibodies in the claimed genus, as demonstrated by the fact that other disclosed antibodies had different types of heavy and light chains, and shared only a 50% sequence similarity in their variable regions with the disclosed antibodies.).
The claims are directed to a genus of extracellular binding domains, which includes antibody structures, with a partial structure at best and the function of “recognizes Lrg5”. However, Federal Circuit clarification of the law of written description as it applies to antibodies. The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (Federal Circuit) decided Amgen v. Sanofi, 872 F.3d 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2017), which concerned adequate written description for claims drawn to antibodies. The Federal Circuit explained in Amgen that when an antibody is claimed, 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) requires adequate written description of the antibody itself. Amgen, 872 F.3d at 1378-79. The Amgen court expressly stated that the so-called "newly characterized antigen" test, which had been based on an example in USPTO-issued training materials and was noted in dicta in several earlier Federal Circuit decisions, should not be used in determining whether there is adequate written description under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) for a claim drawn to an antibody. Citing its decision in Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., the court also stressed that the "newly characterized antigen" test could not stand because it contradicted the quid pro quo of the patent system whereby one must describe an invention in order to obtain a patent. Amgen, 872 F.3d at 1378-79, quoting Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2010). In view of the Amgen decision, adequate written description of a newly characterized antigen alone should not be considered adequate written description of a claimed antibody to that newly characterized antigen, even when preparation of such an antibody is routine and conventional.
In the instant case, the application is claiming extracellular domains of CARs that include antibody structures (for example, the antibody structures recited in claims 7 and 12) with a partial structure at best and the function of “recognizes Lrg5”. The instant specification only discloses one antibody structure used in 6 different CAR structures, defined by the heavy and light chain CDR sequences that are critical for antigen binding, that has the claimed function of “recognizes Lrg5”. No other representative species is disclosed that has the function of “recognizes Lrg5”. This one antibody structure does not sufficiently represent the broad genera of antigen binding constructs with differing CDR sequences that are encompassed by the claims.
Moreover, there is insufficient written description of the required kind of structure-identifying information about the corresponding makeup of the claimed extracellular binding domains to demonstrate possession. Also, see Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, Aventisub LLC, No. 2017-1480 (Fed. Cir. 2017). The Court reiterated that adequate written description must “contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products . . . .” The Court simultaneously suggested that the “newly characterized antigen” test “flouts” section 112 because it “allows patentees to claim antibodies by describing something that is not the invention, i.e., the antigen.” The Court concluded that for written description of an antibody to be adequate when presented with “functional” terminology, there must be an established correlation in the art between structure and function.
Given the broadly claimed class of extracellular binding domains, and in the absence of sufficient disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics for the broadly claimed class of antigen binding molecules that bind to a ligand, the patentee must establish “a reasonable structure-function correlation” either within the specification or by reference to the knowledge of one skilled in the art with functional claims. AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co. v. Janssen Biotech, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 2014), MPEP 2163.
The specification at best describes plan for making extracellular binding domains used in CARs that have the function of “recognizes Lrg5”, and then identifying those that satisfy the claim limitations, but a mere “wish or plan” for obtaining claimed invention is not sufficient. Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Laboratories, 97 USPQ2d 1870 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
The specification discloses only one extracellular binding domain structure (which is an antibody structure) within the claimed scope, which has the VH of SEQ ID NO: 50 and the VL of SEQ ID NO: 49. It is unlikely that antibodies or fragments thereof as defined by the claims which may contain less than the full complement of CDRs from the VH and VL of this antibody structure fused to framework sequences have the required binding function. The specification provides no direction or guidance regarding how to produce antigen binding constructs with the function of “recognizes Lrg5” as broadly defined by the claims.
With respect to the recitation an antibody which does not comprise all 6 CDRs of the antibody structure comprising the extracellular domains of CNA3002, CNA3003, CNA3004, CNA3102, CNA3103, and CNA3104, the Examiner directs Applicant's attention to the training material given by Bennett Celsa, Example 2: (Ab genus: modified CDR's) slides 34-40. Example 2 of the Training material (aipla.org/docs/default-source/committee-documents/bcp-files/2020/uspto-bcp-antibody-slides-final.pdf?sfvrsn=b377f2cc_0) which requires that the claims explicitly recite the binding antigen in addition to all 6 CDR regions for fulfillment of the written description requirements under § 112, 1. Slide 39 indicates that a claim encompasses antibodies with 6 intact CDRs as well as a subgenus of antibodies that encompass up to 10% variation (fragments and/or analogs) in the 6 CDRs lacks written description. Slide 40 provide the conclusion that, a single antibody species would not be deemed by one of skill in the art to be representative of a claim that defines an antibody that binds antigen X comprising at least 90% homology to the 6 CDR of the VH and VL chains.
Additionally, the instant claims encompass CDR modifications of up to 2 amino acid modifications to the claimed CDRs (claim 7) and up to 10% variation in the VH and/or VL regions, including in the CDR regions (claim 12). There is no teaching identifying what amino acids can be varied within the VH-CDR1-3 or VL-CDR1-3 regions and still retain TCRs with the recited function of “recognizes Lrg5“. It is known in the art that all six CDRs are critical for proper paratope-epitope interactions and subsequent receptor and T-cell activation (Wong et al., Front. Immunol., 2019, 10:2454); however, the amino acid structure-to-function correlation continues to be highly unpredictable. Further, it is known that even a single substitution of an amino acid within the CDR regions may significantly alter reactivity. For example, Robbins et al., (J. Immunol., 2008, 180(9)) teaches that a single amino acid substitution in the CDRs of TCRs could, in some cases enhance, or otherwise completely ablate T cell reactivity to the antigen (pg. 6120 last paragraph, fig. 2), and this occurred in an unpredictable manner. That is, only screening each mutation individually provided insight as to the resulting changes in functionality of the TCR variant. Additionally Brown et al. (J. Immuno. 1996 May, 3285-91 at 3290 and Tables 1 and 2) describes how a one amino acid change in the VH CDR2 of a particular antibody was tolerated whereas, the antibody lost binding upon introduction of two amino changes in the same region. Vajdos et al. (J. Mol. Biol. 2002, Jul 5, 320(2):415-28 at 416) teach that amino acid sequence and conformation of each of the heavy and light chain CDRs are critical in maintaining the antigen binding specificity and affinity which is characteristic of the parent immunoglobulin. The scope of the claims encompasses antibody structures with VH and VL regions that encompass variation (additions, deletions, substitutions) in their CDRs. The prior art discloses that 6 CDRs as being essential structure of an antibody’s binding site, and thus when intact, would provide enough structure to define the antibody’s binding site (structure/function correlation) e.g., where amino acid substitutions can be made so as to change (e.g., 6CDRs) or retain (e.g., constant or variable framework) antigen binding. Neither the prior art nor applicant's disclosure defines sufficient representative antibodies and/or sufficient structure/function correlation between modifying the VH or VL of the disclosed antibody used in anti-Lrg5 CAR extracellular binding domains and the retention of the function of “recognizes Lrg5” to satisfy the WD requirement for the claims.
Regarding claim 31, neither the instant specification nor the prior art provides sufficient guidance to allow one with ordinary skill in the art to generate “functional variants” of the CARs comprising SEQ ID NO: 60-65 with the function of “anti-Lgr5”. The specification at best describes plan for making “functional variants” of CARs that have the function of “recognizes Lrg5”, and then identifying those that satisfy the claim limitations; however this is insufficient to satisfy the written description requirement.
Possession is not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features. See University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927, 69 USPQ2d at 1895. Sufficient description to show possession of such a genus may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of Lrg5 binding extracellular binding domains falling within the scope of the genus or of a recitation of structural features common to members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus. See Eli Lilly, 119F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
Claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 12, 14, 15, 21, 30, 31, and 62 do not meet the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for written description.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the written description inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.). Consequently, Applicant was not in possession of the instant claimed invention. See University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co. 43 USPQ2d 1398.
Applicant is invited to point to clear support or specific examples of the claimed invention in the specification as-filed.
It is recommended to amend instant claim 1 to recite the disclosed CAR extracellular binding domain structure with the function of “recognizes Lrg5”, which can be defined by the amino acid sequences in the 6 CDRs that are critical for antigen binding, or defined by the amino acid sequences of the VH and VL region, or defined by the amino acid sequence of the full CAR structures themselves, to resolve this issue. For example, the CAR structures disclosed in SEQ ID NO: 60-65 have adequate written description support for a CAR or an extracellular binding domain with the function of “recognizes Lrg5”.
Additionally, regarding claim 7:
Claim 7 uses open language “a heavy chain CDR…” and “…a light chain CDR…” and “an amino acid as set forth in SEQ ID No…”, the phrase results in an antibody comprising the claimed antibody or any portion of the claimed SEQ ID NOs. The claim terminology “an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO…” does not place size limits on the VH/VL/CDRs, but rather reads on any portion of the claimed VH/ VL/ CDRs of SEQ ID NO. The VH/VL/CDRs are generic with respect to size, encompassing anything from dimers on up to the full size of the claimed SEQ ID NOs.
Claim 62 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required to practice the claimed invention are summarized In re Wands (858 F2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988)). The factors most relevant to this rejection are the scope of the claim, the amount of direction or guidance provided, the lack of sufficient working examples, the unpredictability in the art and the amount of experimentation required to enable one of skill in the art to practice the claimed invention.
Breadth of claims and nature of invention:
Claim 62 encompasses methods of preventing or treating a cancer associated with Lgr5 expression comprising administration of an anti-Lrg5 CAR.
The specification discloses anti-Lrg5 CARs to be expressed by T-cells to target and kill cells expressing Lrg5 to treat cancers (¶[0002]).
Amount of direction and existence of working examples:
Examples of anit-Lrg5 CARs are disclosed (SEQ ID NO: 60-64, Example 1). T-cells were induced to express these CARs (Examples), and the CAR-T cells were found to effectively target and kill Lgr5 expressing tumor cells in vitro (Examples 4-6, Fig. 7-11) and in vivo (Example 8, Fig. 14).
The specification does not disclose any examples of methods of treating or preventing Lgr5 expressing cancer cells with the CARs alone and not CAR-T cells expressing the CAR.
Level of predictability, state of prior art, and quantity of experimentation needed:
Claim 62 is directed to methods of treating or preventing cancers associated with Lgr5 expression comprising administration of an anti-Lgr5 CAR, however the instant specification only provides methods of treating Lgr5 cancers comprising administration of CAR-T cells expressing specific anti-Lgr5 CARs (SEQ ID NO: 60-64).
Additionally, the prior art teaches that CARs are expressed in T-cells to treat cancer. Barrett et al. (Annu Rev Med. 2014;65:333-47. doi: 10.1146/annurev-med-060512-150254) teaches (pg. 336, Col 2): “…RNA-based electroporation of lymphocytes using in vitro–transcribed mRNA mediates transient expression of proteins for approximately one week and obviates the risk of integrating viral vectors. Redirected T cells transduced with RNA encoding CARs have the expected gains of function…” Barrett et al. further teaches the general method of using CARs to treat subject, which is engineering T-cells to express the CAR and then administering such CAR-T cells to a subject to treat a cancer (Fig. 2):
Neither the instant specification nor the prior art provides sufficient guidance to one with ordinary skill in the art to make and use a method of treating or preventing a cancer associated with Lgr5 expression comprising administration of only a CAR polypeptide and not a T-cell expressing the CAR. Undue experimentation is required by one with ordinary skill in the art to make and use such an invention.
Additionally, regarding methods of preventing a cancer associated with Lgr5 expression, the burden of enabling the prevention of a disease (i.e. the need for additional testing) would be greater than that of enabling a treatment due to the need to screen those mammals susceptible to such diseases and the difficulty of proof that the administration of the CAR was the agent that acted to prevent the condition. Further, the specification does not provide guidance as to how one skilled in the art would go about screening those patients susceptible to cancers associated with Lgr5 expression within the scope of the presently claimed invention. Nor is sufficient guidance provided as to a specific protocol to be utilized in order to prove the efficacy of the presently claimed CAR in preventing a cancer associated with Lgr5e. For example, the specification discloses that experimental mice were first xenografted with colorectal adenocarcinoma cells; three days later the mice were administered anti-Lgr5 CAR T-cells (Example 8, ¶[0324]-[0328]). Tumor sizes were monitored via digital calipers (¶[0327]), showing the CAR-T cells expressing the CNA3004, CNA3102, CNA3103, and CNA3104 CARs can inhibit tumor progression (Fig. 13 and 14). Therefore, the specification at most discloses a method of treating a Lgr5 expressing cancer comprising administration of CAR-T cells expressing the CNA3004, CNA3102, CNA3103, or CNA3104 CARs.
The specification does not reasonably provide enablement to make and use the invention of instant claim 62.
Reasonable correlation must exist between the scope of the claims and scope of the enablement set forth. In view on the quantity of experimentation necessary the limited working examples, the nature of the invention, the state of the prior art, the unpredictability of the art and the breadth of the claims, it would take undue trials and errors to practice the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 10, 14, 15, 30, and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corey et al. (WO2019191339).
Corey et al. teaches expression cassettes comprising a polynucleotide encoding a chimeric antigen receptor comprising an extracellular domain that binds to a target antigen, and intracellular signaling domain, and a transmembrane domain (claim 1(b)). Corey et al. teaches the extracellular domain target antigen can be Lgr5 (claim 21). Corey et al. further teaches host cells comprising vectors comprising the expression cassettes (claims 34-37). Corey et al. teaches such CAR-T cells can be used in methods of treating tumors (Background and claim 40)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have used the teachings of Corey et al. to generate a CAR comprising a ECD that targets Lgr5, a transmembrane domain, and an intracellular signaling domain (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 1) and use the CAR in a method of treating Lgr5 expressing cancers comprising administration of T-cells comprising the anti-Lrg5 CAR (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 62) with a reasonable expectation of success, as Corey et al. teaches expression cassettes encoding such a CAR (claims 1 and 21), cells expressing the cassettes (claims 34-37), and general methods of expressing such CARs (pg. 44-48 and 51-69). One would have been motivated to make such a CAR for the purposes of treating Lgr5 expressing tumors with T-cells expressing an anti-Lgr5 CAR.
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Corey et al. teaches that the CAR extracellular binding domain can be an scFv (claim 13), which comprises a VH and a VL, meeting the claim limitations.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Corey et al. additionally teaches CARs comprising a spacer/linker domain between the extracellular binding domain and the TM domain (claim 14 and pg. 28), including SEQ ID NO: 63, which is 12 residues in length (“at least 12 amino acids in length”), meeting the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 30, Corey et al. teaches CD3ζ intracellular signaling domains (pg. 46 and claim 16), including SEQ ID NO: 167, which comprises a sequence (residues 1-111 of SEQ ID NO: 167) that is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 58:
Corey et al. additionally teaches 4-1BB co-stimulatory domains (pg. 47 and claim 17), including SEQ ID NO: 168, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 59 (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 31):
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the reference, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corey et al. (supra) as applied to claims 1, 4, 10, 14, 15, 30, and 62 above, and further in view of Riddell et al. (WO2014031687).
The teachings of Corey et al. have been discussed supra. Corey et al. additionally teaches additional hinge regions domains that can function in CARs (pg. 28-29): “…the extracellular domain of CARs provided in the present disclosure optionally comprises an extracellular, non-signaling spacer or linker domain. Where included, such a spacer or linker domain may position the binding domain away from the host cell surface to further enable proper cell to cell contact, binding, and activation. An extracellular spacer domain is generally located between the extracellular binding domain and the transmembrane domain of the CAR. The length of the extracellular spacer may be varied to optimize target molecule binding based on the selected target molecule, selected binding epitope, binding domain size and affinity…an extracellular spacer domain comprises all or a portion of an immunoglobulin Fe domain selected from: a CHI domain, a CH2 domain, a CH3 domain, or combinations thereof (see, e.g., PCT Publication WO2014/031687, which spacers are incorporated herein by reference in their entirety).”
Corey et al. does not teach the specific hinge-CH3 domain of instant SEQ ID NO: 56 (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 21).
Riddell et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches functional CAR hinge domains including an IgG4-hinge sequence that is 119 residues long (SEQ ID NO: 49, claim 4). Riddell et al. teaches that this hinge region leads to superior results compared to longer hinge regions (pg. 68): “…T-cell cytokine secretion and proliferation after tumor cell recognition are superior with the intermediate and short spacer constructs compared to the long spacer construct”.
SEQ ID NO: 49 of Riddell et al. is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 56:
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have modified the teachings of Corey et al. in view of Riddell et al. to have used the hinge region of SEQ ID NO: 56 of Riddell et al. in the CAR of Corey et al. with a reasonable expectation of success, as Corey et al. teaches other hinge regions can be used in CARs. One would have been motivated to make this change for the purposes of optimizing the CAR of Corey et al. by varying the hinge domain, for example using SEQ ID NO: 49 of Riddell et al, to achieve optimal target binding of the CAR, as taught by Corey et al.
Additionally, the hinge domains taught by Corey et al. and Riddell et al. are considered art-recognized equivalent structures with the function of “hinge domain”, and one would have been motivated to exchange these art-recognized equivalent hinge domain structures via routine optimization. See Smith v. Hayashi, 209 USPQ 754 (Bd. of Pat. Inter. 1980) (The mere fact that phthalocyanine and selenium function as equivalent photoconductors in the claimed environment was not sufficient to establish that one would have been obvious over the other. However, there was evidence that both phthalocyanine and selenium were known photoconductors in the art of electrophotography. "This, in our view, presents strong evidence of obviousness in substituting one for the other in an electrophotographic environment as a photoconductor." 209 USPQ at 759.) Also see MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the reference, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corey et al. (supra) in view of Riddell et al. (supra) as applied to claims 1, 4, 10, 14, 15, 21, 30, and 62 above, and further in view of Reyes et al. (WO2015153916).
The teachings of Corey et al. in view of Riddell et al. have been discussed supra. The combined teachings of Corey et al. and Riddell et al. do not teach Lgr5 CARs comprising an anti-Lgr5 extracellular domain comprising the heavy and light chain CDR sequences recited in instant claim 7, or the VH/VL sequences recited in instant claim 12.
Reyes et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches the anti-Lgr5 antibody 18G7H6A3 (Example 2, Table 1A). 18G7H6A3 has the heavy chain sequence of SEQ ID NO: 13, which contains a variable VH region that is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 50 (which contains the HCDR1-3 of SEQ ID NO: 37-39, respectively):
18G7H6A3 has the heavy chain sequence of SEQ ID NO: 14, which contains a variable VL domains that is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 49 (which contains the HCDR1-3 of SEQ ID NO: 40-42, respectively):
Reyes et al. further teaches the antibody can be in scFv form (¶[0056]), and 18G7H6A3 binds to and inhibits the growth of Lgr5 expressing cancer cells such as colorectal cancer (Example 8).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have modified the combined teachings of Corey et al. and Riddell et al. further in view of Reyes et al. to use the 18G7H6A3 antibody or a scFv version of the antibody as an anti-Lgr5 extracellular domain in the CAR taught by the combined teachings of Corey et al. and Riddell et al. (i.e., the limitations of instant claims 7 and 12) with a reasonable expectation of success, as Corey et al. teaches the anti-Lgr5 CARs can have an anti-Lgr5 antibody ECD such as an scFv, and Reyes et al. teaches such an antibody that one with ordinary skill would appreciate could be used as an anti-Lgr5 ECD in a CAR. One would have been motivated to make this change for the purposes of generating a functional anti-Lgr5 CAR that can be used to inhibit tumor growth, such as colorectal cancer.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the reference, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corey et al. (supra) in view of Riddell et al. (supra) and Reyes et al. (supra) as applied to claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 12, 14, 15, 21, 30, and 62 above, and further in view of Whitlow et al. (Protein Eng. 1993 Nov;6(8):989-95. doi: 10.1093/protein/6.8.989), and Forman (WO2016090369)
The combined teachings of Corey et al., Riddell et al., and Reyes et al. have been discussed supra. Additionally, Corey et al. teaches CAR CD28 TM domain comprising SEQ ID NO: 107, which is FWVLVVVGGVLACYSLLVTVAFIIFWV.
The combined teachings do not teach a specific Lgr5 scFv found in instant SEQ ID NO: 64, or the TM domain of MFWVLVVVGGVLACYSLLVTVAFIIFWV.
Whitlow et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches that scFvs can be constructed from an antibody by fusing the VH to the VL of an antibody via a linker (pg. 989, Col 2): “…investigators compared three VL-linker-VH-PE40 immunotoxins and a VH-linker-VL-PE40 immunotoxin for their ability to inhibit [3H]leucine incorporation (protein synthesis) in a variety of cell lines. All of the sFv immunotoxins demonstrated similar activities.” Whitlow et al. further teaches the GSTSGSGKPGSGEGSTKG linker leads to higher tumor uptake of scFv molecules when compared to other linkers, as well as decreased aggregation (Abstract, Table IV, Conclusion): “[w]e have designed a new linker sequence, 218, which is less susceptible to proteolysis… sFv containing the 218 linker shows reduced aggregation when compared to the CC49/212 sFv, along with a lower accumulation in the liver and spleen in vivo.”
Forman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the CD28 TM domain of SEQ ID NO: 15: MFWVLVVVGGVLACYSLLVTVAFIIFWV, as a suitable TM domain to use in chimeric antigen receptors (¶[0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have modified the combined teachings of Corey et al., Riddell et al., and Reyes et al. further in view of Whitlow et al. and Forman et al. to have made an anti-Lrg5 CAR using the VH of 18G7H6A3 (residues 1-137 of SEQ ID NO: 13 in Reyes et al.) fused to the VL of 18G7H6A3 (residues 21-131 of SEQ ID NO: 14 in Reyes et al.) via the linker domain taught by Whitlow et al. with a reasonable expectation of success, as Whitlow et al. teaches such a linker to be used in scFvs. One would have been motivated to make this change to make a 18G7H6A3 scFv that has less aggregation and accumulation in the liver and spleen.
Additionally, one would have been motivated to replace the art-recognized equivalent CD28 TM structures taught by Corey et al. and Forman via routine optimization, as the references establish that these are art-recognizes equivalent structures with the function of “CD28 TM domain”. See Smith v. Hayashi, 209 USPQ 754 (Bd. of Pat. Inter. 1980) (The mere fact that phthalocyanine and selenium function as equivalent photoconductors in the claimed environment was not sufficient to establish that one would have been obvious over the other. However, there was evidence that both phthalocyanine and selenium were known photoconductors in the art of electrophotography. "This, in our view, presents strong evidence of obviousness in substituting one for the other in an electrophotographic environment as a photoconductor." 209 USPQ at 759.) Also see MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
The anti-Lgr5 CAR taught by the combined references of Corey et al., Riddell et al., Reyes et al., Whitlow et al., and Forman et al. would have the following structure:
Signal Peptide and VH of 18G7H6A3 (residues 1-137 of SEQ ID NO: 13 of Reyes et al.) –GSTSGSGKPGSGEGSTKG linker (Whitlow et al.) – VL of 18G7H6A3 (residues 21-131 of SEQ ID NO: 14 of Reyes et al.) – IgG4_CH3 hinge (SEQ ID NO: 49 of Riddell et al) – MFWVLVVVGGVLACYSLLVTVAFIIFWV CD28 TM domain (Forman) – 4-1BB domain (SEQ ID NO:168 of Corey et al.) – CD3ζ ICD (SEQ ID NO: 167 of Corey et al.).
The amino acid sequence of this CAR comprises a sequence that is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 64, i.e., the limitations of instant claim 31:
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the reference, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corey et al. (supra) as applied to claims 1, 4, 10, 14, 15, 30, and 62 above, and further in view of Reyes et al. (supra).
The teachings of Corey et al. have been discussed supra. Corey et al. does not teach Lgr5 CARs comprising an anti-Lgr5 extracellular domain comprising the heavy and light chain CDR sequences recited in instant claim 7, or the VH/VL sequences recited in instant claim 12.
Reyes et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches the anti-Lgr5 antibody 18G7H6A3 (Example 2, Table 1A). 18G7H6A3 has the heavy chain sequence of SEQ ID NO: 13, which contains a variable VH region that is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 50 (which contains the HCDR1-3 of SEQ ID NO: 37-39, respectively, supra). 18G7H6A3 has the heavy chain sequence of SEQ ID NO: 14, which contains a variable VL domains that is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 49 (which contains the HCDR1-3 of SEQ ID NO: 40-42, respectively, supra). Reyes et al. further teaches the antibody can be in scFv form (¶[0056]), and 18G7H6A3 binds to and inhibits the growth of Lgr5 expressing cancer cells such as colorectal cancer (Example 8).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have modified the teachings of Corey et al. in view of Reyes et al. to use the 18G7H6A3 antibody or a scFv version of the antibody as an anti-Lgr5 extracellular domain in the CAR taught by Corey et al. (i.e., the limitations of instant claims 7 and 12) with a reasonable expectation of success, as Corey et al. teaches the anti-Lgr5 CARs can have an anti-Lgr5 antibody ECD such as an scFv, and Reyes et al. teaches such an antibody that one with ordinary skill would appreciate could be used as an anti-Lgr5 ECD in a CAR. One would have been motivated to make this change for the purposes of generating a functional anti-Lgr5 CAR that can be used to inhibit tumor growth, such as colorectal cancer.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the reference, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/ALEC JON PETERS/Examiner, Art Unit 1641
/MISOOK YU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1641