DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-14, 18, 24-27 in the reply filed on 05/11/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that cited references do not teach lentiviral-packaging system claimed. This is not found persuasive because references presented below in obviousness rejection make such system obvious.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 15-17, 19-23, 28-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 05/11/2026.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 18 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
A lentivirus-like particle of claim 18 produced by the method of claim 15, such method requires transfecting cells with lentiviral packaging system of claim 1 and culturing them, will be identical to lentiviral packaging system of claim 1, because such method simply amplifies amount of lentiviral packaging system of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the term "cell" embraces a human having the cell (for example, see instant specification paragraph [0011]). It is suggested to amend the claim to recite "An isolated cell" to avoid the claim embracing a human organism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, 18, 24-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al (WO 2019/213257, 7 November 2019, cited from IDS) and in further view of Gaudelli et al (Nature, 2017, vol. 551: 464-474).
Lu teach lentiviral packaging systems for delivery of CRISPR-associated endonuclease mRNAs, with reduced off-target effects comprising packaging plasmid comprising a eukaryotic promoter operably linked to a Gag nucleotide sequence, wherein the Gag nucleotide sequence comprises a nucleocapsid (NC) coding sequence and a matrix protein (MA) coding sequence, wherein one or both of the NC coding sequence or the MA coding sequence comprises at least one non-viral aptamer-binding protein (ABP) nucleotide sequence, and wherein the packaging plasmid does not encode a functional integrase protein (see paragraphs [0004-0005, 0061]) and further comprising a mammalian expression plasmid comprising an eukaryotic promoter operably linked to a non-viral nucleic acid sequence, such non-viral nucleic acid comprises guide RNA coding sequence and at least one aptamer coding sequence (see paragraph [0007]). Such aptamer coding sequence can be MS2 coat protein aptamer sequence or COM protein aptamer sequence, such aptamer sequence binds ABP nucleotide sequence (see paragraph [0083]). Further gRNA coding sequence can comprise aptamer inserted into ST2 loop of such gRNA coding sequence (see paragraph [0200]). Lu teach that such system can further comprise an envelope plasmid comprising an envelope glycoprotein coding sequence (see paragraph [0008]). Further, packaging plasmid can comprise Rev and Tat nucleotide sequences or Rev nucleotide sequence can be in a second packaging plasmid (see paragraph [0068]). ABP nucleotide sequence can encode MS2 coat protein (see paragraph [0083]). Lu teach lentivirus-like particle comprising: a) a fusion protein comprising a nucleocapsid (NC) protein or a matrix (MA) protein , wherein the NC protein or MA protein comprises at least one non-viral aptamer binding protein (ABP); and b) a ribonucleotide protein (RNP) complex comprising a CRISPR-associated endonuclease and a guide RNA; wherein the lentivirus-like particle does not comprise a functional integrase protein (see paragraphs [0010-0012]). Such CRISPR-associated endonuclease can be Cas9 protein (see paragraph [0059]). Further Lu teach cells comprising the lentiviral packaging systems and particles (see paragraph [0139]) and cells modified by transduction of plurality of lentivirus-like particles (see paragraph [0015]).
Lu do not teach a nucleic acid sequence encoding adenine base pair editor (ABE), wherein the ABE is a fusion protein comprising an adenosine deaminase and a catalytically impaired CRISPR-associated endonuclease such as Cas9 D10A as part of a mammalian expression plasmid, wherein ABE is ABE7.10.
Gaudelli teach adenine base editors (ABE), which comprise adenosine deaminase fused to a catalytically impaired CRISPR-associated endonuclease Cas9. Such ABEs have less off-target effects in human cells than just Cas9 and can be used for disease treatments (see Abstract). One of such ABE is ABE7.10, which provides substantially improved editing efficiency (see first column on page 469). Cas9 endonuclease of such ABE is Cas9 D10A (see second column on page 465).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include ABEs taught by Gaudelli into lentiviral packaging system taught by Lu, arriving at instant invention. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, because Gaudelli teach ABEs comprising Cas9 with improved activity and Lu teach delivery system to deliver nucleic acids encoding such endonucleases with reduced off-target effects, therefore delivering such ABEs using such delivery system will provide more efficient system for gene editing, which can be used for human disease treatment.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14, 18, 24-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,398,182 in view of Gaudelli, above. Claims from ‘182 recite lentiviral packaging system same as in instant claims except that such system does not comprise ABEs as instantly claimed. Teachings of Gaudelli are discussed above. It would have been obvious to include ABEs taught by Gaudelli into lentiviral packaging system from ‘182 to create more efficient gene editing system, arriving at instant invention.
Claims 1-14, 18, 24-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 102-108, 114-116, 120-123, 133, 149, 156, 168, 175-179, 183 of copending Application No. 19/270,184 in view of Gaudelli, above. Claims from ‘184 recite lentivirus-like particles same as in instant claims except that such particles do not comprise ABEs as instantly claimed. Teachings of Gaudelli are discussed above. It would have been obvious to include ABEs taught by Gaudelli into lentivirus-like particles from ‘184 to create more efficient gene editing system, arriving at instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637