DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed September 21, 2026, which amends claims 1-13 and 24. Claims 1-24 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed September 21, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of clam 24 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as set forth in the Office action mailed July 29, 2026.
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed September 21, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of clams 1-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tasaki et al. (WO 2020/080417) in view of Tanabe et al. (US 2009/0131673) as set forth in the Office action mailed July 29, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tasaki et al. (WO 2020/080417), wherein Tasaki et al. (US 2022/0285625) (hereafter “Tasaki’) is used as the English equivalent, in view of Kim et al. (US 2009/0131673) (US 2017/0155050) (hereafter “Kim”).
Regarding claims 1-24, Tasaki teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a first light emitting layer, a second light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0768]-[0847]) (claims 1 and 14). Tasaki teaches that both the first light emitting layer and the second light emitting layer comprise a host material and a fluorescent dopant (paragraph [0768]-[0847]). Tasaki teaches that the dopant material can be the same in each light emitting layer and can have the following structure,
(paragraphs [0768]-[0847]) (claims 15 and 23). Tasaki teaches host material can comprise a pyrene group or an anthracene group and teaches that at least one of the host materials needs to be deuterated and the deuterated host can either be the host of the first light emitting layer or the host of the second light emitting layer (paragraphs [0171] and [0768]-[0847]). Tasaki teaches that the host material can have the following structure,
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraphs [0258] and [0786]-[0847]) (claims 16-22). Tasaki teaches that the electroluminescent device can be used in a flat display device (paragraph [0757]) (claims 24).
Tasaki does not specifically teach where one of the host materials is a pyrene compound.
Kim teaches host materials for use in the light emitting layer for blue emitting materials (paragraphs [0146], [0194], [0195], [0215], [0227], and [0228]). Kim teaches that the host material can have the following structure,
, which is the same as the compounds of Tasaki and
,
, and
, and teaches that compounds can be substituted with deuterium atoms ([0051]-[0057], [0137]-[0145]and [0146]) (claims 2-13). Kim shows that the host materials can be used interchangeably [0146], [0194], [0195], [0215], [0227], and [0228]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one of the host materials of Tasaki with the pyrene host of Kim
,
, or
(which can also be deuterated). Tasaki teaches that the host materials can be a pyrene compound and that one of the hosts needs to be deuterated. Kim shows that the pyrene host materials can be used instead of anthracene host materials. Given the teachings in the prior art, it would have been obvious to use the host material of Tasaki as one of the host materials in the device of Kim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759