DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This is a first action on the merits of the application. Claims 1-13 are pending. Examiner’s Note Applicant is respectfully advised to rearrange lines 6-7 of claim 12 to improve clarity as follows: “ wherein the end of the second pipe at the upper end of the filter box of the second pipe is open.” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11: The claim recites, “ the separating space of the frame ” (line 3). Although there is antecedent for “the separating space” in claim 10, claim 10 does not associate the separating space with the frame. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the whole phrase, “ the separating space of the frame ,” and it is unclear if each “separating space” is the same, or if “the separating space of the frame” is a newly recited feature. Likewise, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “ the inner space of the first pipe ” (line 6), noting that the “inner space” (claim 1, line 3 ; claim 11, line 5 ) is not previously recited to be part of the first pipe. In view of the specification ([0061]), for the purposes of examination only, “ a nozzle provided in the inner space of the first pipe ” will be interpreted as “ a nozzle provided in the inner space at an end of the first pipe .” Claim 12: The claim recites, “ the separating space of the frame ” (line 3). Although there is antecedent for “the separating space” in claim 10, claim 10 does not associate the separating space with the frame. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the whole phrase, “ the separating space of the frame ,” and it is unclear if each “separating space” is the same, or if “the separating space of the frame” is a newly recited feature. Claim 13 is rejected because of its dependence from claim 12. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim s 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon ( KR200380021Y1 ), as evidenced by Park ( KR20060084567 A ). Mo on discloses a HEPA filter box in a clean room (Fig. 7 ; p. 1/2, bottom ) (i.e., a filter unit ) comprising (referring to the annotated Fig. 7 below) : a frame (the flanged portion of filter frame 100 in the figure) which the skilled practitioner would recognize is located along a ceiling (p. 2 /2, lines 5-6: “ the filter frame, which is usually located on the ceiling ”), as evidenced by Park ( Fig. 1; p. 3/4, line 17: ceiling 100 ) (i.e., a frame fixed along a perimeter of an opening in a wall ) ; a filter frame 100 extending from the frame /flanged portion (p. 1/2, bottom) that define s an interior volume in which the filter is disposed (i.e., a housing connected to the frame to form an inner space ) ; a cover plate installed on the frame to cover the inner space; and a filter box (as shown by the darkened boundaries of the filter) provided with the HEPA filter (the filter medium within the filter box) and installed in the inner space (Fig. 7) . Regarding claim 4, Moon teaches a cover plate with holes through which air passes, as shown by the dashed lines with arrow heads (Fig. 7) (i.e., wherein the cover plate has a plurality of holes for fluid communication). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claim s 2 -3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi ( KR200301988Y1 ). Regarding claim 2, Moon does not explicitly disclose a cover plate that is coupled to the frame by a hinge to open and close the inner space. Choi discloses a HEPA filter assembly of a clean air supply device for a clean room (Fig. 5; [16]) comprising a porous or perforated plate member 80 (i.e., a cover plate) ([31]) attached to a flanged portion/frame of a housing 10 ([31]) . Choi teaches a hinge means 84 ([40]) so that the perforated plate member can be rotated by the hinge means in a connected state without completely separating the perforated plate member from the housing, so that the HEPA filter can be easily replaced by one person ([52]). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the filter box of Moon by providing a cover plate that is coupled to the frame by a hinge to open and close the inner space as taught by Ch oi because , with this configuration, perforated plate member can be rotated by the hinge means in a connected state without completely separating the perforated plate member from the housing, so that the HEPA filter can be easily replaced by one person ( Choi , [52]). Regarding claim 3, Choi teaches a hinge means 84 on one side of the cover plate attached to the flanged portion/frame on one side (i.e., wherein the cover plate is coupled to one side of the frame by the hinge), and fastening members 86 on the other side (Figs. 4, 5; [40]) (i.e., wherein the cover plate is coupled to another side of the frame by a fastening member). Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sim ( KR20180053821A ) . Regarding claim 5, Moon does not explicitly disclose a frame that has an end that is fixed to an outer surface of the wall and extends inwardly of the opening and another end that is coupled to the filter box. Sim teaches that the channel-type bracket 21 (i.e., the frame) includes an outer upper bend (e) that interfaces with a ceiling board 100 ([0033]) (i.e., an end that is fixed to an outer surface of the wall and extends inwardly of the opening), and a gel receiving portion 33 ([0022]) that connects with the frame side 31 (Fig. 3, detail) (i.e., another end that is coupled to the filter box). Sim teaches that this configuration maintains an effective seal between a casing and a HEPA filter box, and simplifies the connection between a filter frame and the casing, enabling quick filter installation and filter replacement ([0031]). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the filter box of Moon by providing a frame that has an end that is fixed to an outer surface of the wall and extends inwardly of the opening and another end that is coupled to the filter box as taught by Ch oi because , with this configuration, an effective seal between a casing and a HEPA filter box is maintained, simplifying the connection between a filter frame and the casing, enabling quick filter installation and filter replacement ( Sim , [0031]). Regarding claim 6, Sim teaches that the channel-type bracket 21 (i.e., the frame) includes an outer upper bend (e) that interfaces with a ceiling board 100 ([0033]) (i.e., an outer fixing part that is fixed to the outer surface of the wall), a gel receiving portion 33 ([0022]) that connects with the frame side 31 (Fig. 3, detail) (i.e., an inner fixing part that is coupled with the filter box ), and an outer horizontal bent portion (d), a main body attachment surface (c) and another portion of the channel-shaped bracket 21 ([0044]) that are continuous between the outer upper bend (e) and the gel receiving portion 33 (i.e., a connecting part that connects the outer fixing part and the inner fixing part), the main body attachment surface (c) forming a bend that places the outer upper bend (e) and the gel receiving portion 33 at different heights (i.e., a connecting part that is bent to form a height difference between the outer fixing part and the inner fixing part ) . Claim Objections Claims 7 -13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Allowable Subject Matter The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: A thorough search for pertinent prior art did not locate any prior art that discloses or suggests the invention recited in claims 7 -13. The concept of a filter unit, comprising: a frame fixed along a perimeter of an opening in a wall; a housing connected to the frame to form an inner space; a cover plate installed on the frame to cover the inner space; and a filter box provided with a filter and installed in the inner space (claim 1); wherein the frame has a first piping part communicating with an inside of the housing and a second piping part extending to an upper end of the filter box (claim 7 ) is considered to define patentable subject matter over the prior art. The closest prior art is Park ( KR20060084567 A ), which discloses an air filter device 10 (Fig. 1) comprising a wing part 19 (i.e., a frame), a square box-shaped housing 12, a grate 22 (i.e., a cover plate), and a filter case 20 (p. 3/5, “Figures”). Park further teaches an inspection pipe 24 (i.e., a piping part) for supplying DOP test gas (p. 3/5). However, only one piping part is suggested, and it cannot be considered part of the wing part/frame. Other close prior art is Moon ( KR200380021Y1 ), which discloses a HEPA filter box in a clean room (Fig. 7; p. 1/2, bottom) comprising a frame, a housing, a cover plate, and a filter box (Fig. 7). However, Moon does not suggest that the frame should have first and second piping parts. Related prior art is Joo et al. ( KR20110111120A ), which discloses a HEPA filter (Fig. 3; [0027]) with test openings 124, 126 (i.e., first and second piping parts) in a filter box 120 ([0033], [0034]) so that aerosol from an injection nozzle 144 can be injected to the opening 124 (Fig. 4; [0036]). However, Joo does not suggest a cover plate installed on a frame . Moreover, the locations of the filter box where the test openings/piping parts are inserted cannot be regarded as a frame that is fixed along a perimeter of an opening in a wall , noting that Figs. 3 and 4 make it clear that it is the outer shell of the filter box 120 (i.e., the housing), rather than the portion with the test openings, that is disposed along the perimeter of a wall opening. Stated differently, if the portion of the filter box 120 with the test openings 124, 126 is regarded as the equivalent of the claimed frame and the outer sides of the filter box 120 are regarded as the equivalent of the claimed housing, then it is the housing and not the frame of Joo that is fixed along the perimeter of the opening of the wall. It would not have been obvious to modify Park or Moon in view of the teachings of Joo to arrive at the configuration of claim 7 none of the references suggest frames with two piping parts. Claims 11-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT GABRIEL E GITMAN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-7934 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-Th 7:15-5:45pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT In Suk Bullock can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-3471 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /GABRIEL E GITMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772