DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s reply filed on 2/20/26 is acknowledged. Claims 1-4 are pending. Claims 1 and 4 have been amended. Claims 1-4 are under consideration.
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection of Claims 1-4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota et al. (WO 2018/030326; translation provided herein) as evidenced by Ataman Chemicals (“Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer” <https://www.atamanchemicals.com/ trimethylol-hexyllactone-crosspolymer_u32279/>) is withdrawn in view of the amended claim(s).
Rejections Maintained and New Grounds of Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the powder" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A powder is not recited in claim 1. In addition, because a powder is not included in the composition, the claimed range of “90% or more of the sum of the mass of the composition minus the mass of the powder” is unclear. It is unclear how much hydrophilic liquid medium, oily liquid medium, and aqueous solidifying agent are required to be present.
Claims 2-4 are rejected as depending from indefinite claim 1 and not clarifying.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ujimoto et al. (WO 2020/032242, cited in IDS; using US equivalent 2021/0338552 as translation) as evidenced by Shin Etsu (“KSP-100”).
Ujimoto et al. teach an oil-based cosmetic having ultraviolet protection effects (e.g. abstract). Ujimoto et al. teach that the cometic is in the form of a solid (e.g. Claim 11; Examples). Ujomoto et al. teach that the composition comprises:
5-40 wt% of an ultraviolet protectant, including ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate (i.e. an oily liquid medium that separates when mixed with water at 1:1) (e.g. Claim 1, paragraphs 0024 and 0041; Examples); and
1-30 wt% of an alkylene oxide derivative and a polyhydric alcohol, including the specific combination of polyethylene glycol 400 and PEG/PPG-9/2 dimethyl ether (i.e. hydrophilic liquid medium and aqueous solidifying agent) (e.g. paragraphs 0070, 0071; Claims 1, 5).
Regarding Claims 1 and 4, while there is not a single example comprising each of the claimed components, the ingredients are included among a short list of preferred ingredients. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding Claim 2, Ujimoto further teaches the inclusion of a powder including KSP-100 by Shin-Etsu (e.g. paragraph 0079) and other oils (e.g. paragraph 0076), and as evidenced by Shin Etsu, KSP-100 is an oil absorbing powder (e.g. page 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Ujimoto et al. teach that the hardness of the solid is 5-300N, which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05.I). Ujimoto also exemplify values of 15, 148 and 207, which are within the claimed range (e.g. paragraphs 0083 and 0109).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE P BABSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619