DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-8 in the reply filed on March 20th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (KR20200053782, see Machine Translations for citations) (provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on May 18th, 2023).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a secondary battery for testing short circuit ([001]), the secondary battery comprises:
A positive electrode ([0034]); A negative electrode ([0034]); A separator disposed between the positive and negative electrode ([0034]); and
A short circuit induction member disposed on a region of on a surface or both surfaces of the separator (short circuit induction device, [001]),
Wherein the short circuit induction member has a structure including a metal pattern layer and an insulating layer, which is an insulation wax, applied on and covering the metal pattern layer (metal foil layer with porous wax layers, [0021]).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee discloses the limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses wherein the metal pattern layer includes one or more selected from among aluminum, copper, and titanium ([0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR20200053782, see Machine Translations for citations)
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Lee does not directly disclose wherein a formation area of the short induction member is in a range of 1 um2 to 1000 mm2.
However, Lee discloses wherein the diameter of the metal foil layer can be 0.3 to 2 cm ([0028]), which provides an area of 0.28 cm2 to 12 cm2, which overlaps the instant claim range of 1 um2 to 1000 mm2. Lee further discloses wherein the diameter of the porous wax layer can be 0.4 to 2.5 cm ([0028]), which provides an area of 0.50 cm2 to 19 cm2, which overlaps the instant claim range of 1 um2 to 1000 mm2.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Lee to have wherein a formation area of the short induction member is in a range of 1 um2 to 1000 mm2.
Regarding Claim 3, Lee discloses the limitations as set forth above. Lee does not directly disclose wherein a pattern width of the metal pattern layer is in range of 1 nm to 100 um.
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, any structure in the metal pattern layer can be interpreted to be a “pattern” for purposes of interpreting a “pattern width”.
Lee discloses wherein the metal foil layer may have average pore sizes of 20 um to 1 mm ([0027]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Lee to have wherein a pattern width of the metal pattern layer is in range of 1 nm to 100 um.
Regarding Claim 4, Lee discloses the limitations as set forth above. Lee does not directly disclose wherein a thickness of the metal pattern is in a range of 1% to 200% of a pattern width of the metal pattern layer.
However, Lee discloses wherein the thickness of the metal foil layer ranges from 5 to 50 um ([0086]), which overlaps the instant claim range of 1% to 200% of a pattern width of the metal pattern layer.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Lee to have wherein a thickness of the metal pattern is in a range of 1% to 200% of a pattern width of the metal pattern layer.
Regarding Claim 5, Lee discloses the limitations as set forth above. Lee does not directly disclose wherein a thickness of the insulating layer is in a range of 101% to 200% of a thickness of the metal pattern layer.
However, Lee discloses wherein the porous wax layer acting as the insulating layer can have thickness ranging from 10 to 100 um ([0085]), which overlaps the instant of the 101% to 200% of a thickness of the metal pattern layer.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Lee to have wherein a thickness of the insulating layer is in a range of 101% to 200% of a thickness of the metal pattern layer.
Regarding Claim 6 & 7, Lee discloses the limitations as set forth above. Lee discloses wherein the wax layer can be made of a hydrocarbon mixture containing insoluble alcohol fatty acid easters r slid alkanes such as a paraffinic compound ([0064]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Lee to have wherein he insulating layer is made of a hydrocarbon compound including at least one or more selected from insoluble alcohol fatty acid esters and C1 to C4o alkanes or is made of a C1 to C40 paraffin-based compound.
Conclusion
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728