This non-final rejection is in response to the application filed 05/18/2023.
Claims 1-26 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 4,2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12, 22, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Parron et al US 20190394786 A1., in view of Wang et al, US 20210360603 A1, and in further view of Cheng et al, US 20190379506 A1.
Regarding claim 1 Parron discloses A method of wireless communication at a multi-transmission and reception points (TRPs) sidelink device([0028] UEs 102 may be configured to communicate Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) communication signals with an eNB 104 and/or gNB 105), comprising:
receiving one or more signals comprising sidelink control information (SCI), the SCI indicating a resource reservation([0144] [0158] FIG. 10 The SCI signaling may include a resource reservation period, for instance a period of muted/reserved resource occasions. The SCI signaling may indicate whether a mute command is applicable to Mode-3 (eNB 104/gNB 105 controlled UEs 102) or to Mode-4 (UEs 102 using autonomous resource selection) or to both modes of operation. As indicated by 1035, the eNB 1004 may transmit network signaling for one or more of the following: to request that one or more UEs 102 and/or devices mute transmissions; reserve sidelink resources; and/or other.);
decoding the SCI based on the one or more signals([0153] A UE 102 may relay the signal to other UEs 102 or eNBs 104/gNBs 105. In some embodiments, the relay functionality may be handled in the physical layer. For instance, if the UE 102 decodes a DCI format or a SCI format with a specific priority.);
measuring a reference signal received power (RSRP) associated with the SCI([0098][0158] FIG. 10 At operation 830, the gNB 105 may transmit a downlink control message that indicates one or more parameters for one or more channel sense measurements by UEs 102. The channel sense measurement may be a sidelink received signal strength indicator (S-RSSI). Other measurements may be used, including but not limited to a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), a reference signal received power (RSRP). As indicated by 1035, the eNB 1004 may transmit network signaling for one or more of the following: to request that one or more UEs 102 and/or devices mute transmissions; reserve sidelink resources; and/or other.);
and determining available resources for sidelink transmission for a subset based on the RSRP([0097-0098] [0158] FIG. 10 At operation 830, the gNB 105 may transmit a downlink control message that indicates one or more parameters for one or more channel sense measurements by UEs 102. The channel sense measurement may be a sidelink received signal strength indicator (S-RSSI). Other measurements may be used, including but not limited to a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a channel busy ratio (CBR), or measurements to report candidate subset of resources for selection or subset of resources that should not be used (unavailable/excluded) for transmission and/or other. As indicated by 1035, the eNB 1004 may transmit network signaling for one or more of the following: to request that one or more UEs 102 and/or devices mute transmissions; reserve sidelink resources; and/or other.).
Parron does not disclose receiving SCI at multiple TRPs of the sidelink device; measuring reference signal received power RSRP at each of the multiple TRP s;
However, Wang does disclose receiving SCI at multiple TRPs of the sidelink device([0102] At 1420, the target UE may receive an indication of at least one PSSCH TCI state for one or more of the multiple TRPs. In some aspects, the UE receives the SCI from a first TRP and the SCI indicates a first PSSCH TCI state for the first TRP and a second PSSCH TCI state for a second TRP. );
measuring reference signal received power RSRP at each of the multiple TRP s( [0083] In other aspects, the TRPs 1004a or 1004b may determine their own transmit beams for sidelink and may provide the base station 1002 with a report, such as including a sidelink beam index for the selected beam(s) or an RSRP for the selected beam(s).);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron with receiving SCI at multiple TRPs of the sidelink device; measuring reference signal received power RSRP at each of the multiple TRP s as taught by Wang. The motivation for doing so would be to and/or increase capacity of the access network. (Wang, [0041])
Parron and Wang do not disclose measuring reference signal received power RSRP at each of the multiple TRP s; Determining available resources for a subset of one or more of the multiple TRP S
However, Cheng does disclose Determining available resources for a subset of one or more of the multiple TRPs([0125] As shown in FIG. 12, from a TRP mapping table 1202, the UE may identify that the CSI-RS resource#0, the CSI-RS resource#1 and the CSI-RS resource#2 are transmitted from the TRP#1; the CSI-RS resource#3, the CSI-RS resource#4 and the CSI-RS resource#5 are transmitted from the TRP#2; and the CSI-RS resource#6 and the CSI-RS resource#7 are transmitted from the TRP#3. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron and Wang with measuring reference signal received power RSRP at each of the multiple TRP s; determining available resources for a subset of one or more of the multiple TRP S as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the multiplexing gain and reduce the antenna correlation.( Cheng, [0047])
Regarding claim 2, Parron discloses wherein the available resources are in a future resource selection window([0174] A mode-3 UE 102 may report one or more measurements (such as an S-RSSI power measurement and/or other) per configured set of resources for a time interval (such as a resource selection window and/or other).).
Parron and Wang do not disclose the method wherein determining the available resources for the sidelink transmission includes separately determining the available resources for each of the multiple TRPs based on an RSRP measurement at a corresponding TRP,
However, Cheng does disclose the method wherein determining the available resources for the sidelink transmission includes separately determining the available resources for each of the multiple TRPs based on an RSRP measurement at a corresponding TRP( [0133] The UE's higher layer may select the candidate DL RSs transmitted from the TRP which has the largest number of available transmission paths based on the TRP mapping table (e.g., the TRP mapping table 1202 in FIG. 12). For example, the UE's higher layer may select the CSI-RS resource#0 to use because the CSI-RS resource#0 has a better L1-RSRP than the CSI-RS resource#1, the CSI-RS resource#2, and the CSI-RS resource#3.).,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron and Wang with the method wherein determining the available resources for the sidelink transmission includes separately determining the available resources for each of the multiple TRPs based on an RSRP measurement at a corresponding TRP as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the multiplexing gain and reduce the antenna correlation.( Cheng, [0047])
Regarding claim 3, Parron discloses the method wherein decoding the SCI based on the one or more signals comprises decoding the one or more signals received ([0153] [0158] A UE 102 may relay the signal to other UEs 102 or eNBs 104/gNBs 105. In some embodiments, the relay functionality may be handled in the physical layer. For instance, if the UE 102 decodes a DCI format or a SCI format with a specific priority. As indicated by 1025, Uu downlink signaling (PDCCH. PDSCH, PMCH and/or other) may be used for one or more of the following: to request muting, to indicate sidelink resource reservation for high reliability transmission on a sidelink resource grid (such as 1040); and/or other.).
Parron does not disclose decoding the one or more signals received at each of the multiple TRPs separately.
However, Wang does disclose decoding the one or more signals received at each of the multiple TRPs separately([0055] [0102] The soft decisions are then decoded and deinterleaved to recover the data and control signals that were originally transmitted by device 310 on the physical channel. At 1420, the target UE may receive an indication of at least one PSSCH TCI state for one or more of the multiple TRPs. In some aspects, the UE receives the SCI from a first TRP and the SCI indicates a first PSSCH TCI state for the first TRP and a second PSSCH TCI state for a second TRP. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron and Tran with decoding the one or more signals received at each of the multiple TRPs separately as taught by Wang. The motivation for doing so would be to and/or increase capacity of the access network. (Wang, [0041])
Regarding claim 4, Parron discloses the method wherein decoding the SCI based on the one or more signals comprises combining and decoding the one or more signals received([0084] [0153] The gNB 105 may allocate the resource pool for UE-autonomous (including but not limited to mode-4) V2V sidelink transmissions in accordance with autonomous resource selection by UEs 102. In some embodiments, the gNB 105 may allocate the resource pool for a combination of mode-3 V2V sidelink transmissions and mode-4 V2V sidelink transmissions. A UE 102 may relay the signal to other UEs 102 or eNBs 104/gNBs 105. In some embodiments, the relay functionality may be handled in the physical layer. For instance, if the UE 102 decodes a DCI format or a SCI format with a specific priority.).
Parron does not disclose combining and decoding the one or more signals received at each of the multiple TRPs.
However, Wang does disclose combining and decoding the one or more signals received at each of the multiple TRPs([0055] [0102] The soft decisions are then decoded and deinterleaved to recover the data and control signals that were originally transmitted by device 310 on the physical channel. At 1420, the target UE may receive an indication of at least one PSSCH TCI state for one or more of the multiple TRPs. In some aspects, the UE receives the SCI from a first TRP and the SCI indicates a first PSSCH TCI state for the first TRP and a second PSSCH TCI state for a second TRP. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron with decoding the one or more signals received at each of the multiple TRPs separately as taught by Wang. The motivation for doing so would be to and/or increase capacity of the access network. (Wang, [0041])
Regarding claim 5, Parron discloses the method wherein the sidelink device determines the available resources for the sidelink transmission further based on SCI decoding ([0144] [0153] The SCI signaling may include a resource reservation period, for instance a period of muted/reserved resource occasions. The SCI signaling may indicate which sidelink pool should not be used for transmission, and this may rely on dynamic activation/deactivation of pre-configured sidelink resource pools available for transmission, in some cases. A UE 102 may relay the signal to other UEs 102 or eNBs 104/gNBs 105. In some embodiments, the relay functionality may be handled in the physical layer. For instance, if the UE 102 decodes a DCI format or a SCI format with a specific priority.).
Regarding claim 6, Parron and Wang do not disclose the method further comprising:comparing the RSRP measurement at the corresponding TRP to an RSRP threshold to determine the available resources for the corresponding TRP.
However, Cheng does disclose the method further comprising:comparing the RSRP measurement at the corresponding TRP to an RSRP threshold to determine the available resources for the corresponding TRP( [0133][0137] The UE's higher layer may select the candidate DL RSs transmitted from the TRP which has the largest number of available transmission paths based on the TRP mapping table (e.g., the TRP mapping table 1202 in FIG. 12). For example, the UE's higher layer may select the CSI-RS resource#0 to use because the CSI-RS resource#0 has a better L1-RSRP than the CSI-RS resource#1, the CSI-RS resource#2, and the CSI-RS resource#3. Action#2. In some implementations, if the BFI counter set for the CSI RS resource #0 exceeds the threshold, while the BFI counter set for the CSI RS resource #10 is below the threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron and Wang with the method further comprising:comparing the RSRP measurement at the corresponding TRP to an RSRP threshold to determine the available resources for the corresponding TRP as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the multiplexing gain and reduce the antenna correlation.( Cheng, [0047])
Regarding claim 7, Parron and Wang do not disclose the method further comprising:determining that the available resources for a single TRP is less than a threshold number of resources based on the RSRP threshold; and adjusting the RSRP threshold for the single TRP.
However, Cheng does disclose the method further comprising:determining that the available resources for a single TRP is less than a threshold number of resources based on the RSRP threshold([0082] For example, if an entry of a TCI state associated with the scheduling PDCCH includes multiple spatial domain QCL RSs (e.g., multiple RSs with the QCL type D) for a multi-TRP transmission, the UE may trigger a BFR procedure through a RACH or a PUCCH as long as the signal quality (e.g., Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR) or RSRP) of a spatial domain QCL RS is below a threshold.);
and adjusting the RSRP threshold for the single TRP([0111] For example, the UE may only report the available DL RSs indices to a specific TRP that has the largest number of available RSs (e.g., having signal values larger than or equal to a predefined threshold (e.g., Beam-failure-candidate-beam-threshold)) in the measured BFR candidate RS sets.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron and Wang with the method further comprising:determining that the available resources for a single TRP is less than a threshold number of resources based on the RSRP threshold; and adjusting the RSRP threshold for the single TRP as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the multiplexing gain and reduce the antenna correlation.( Cheng, [0047])
Regarding claim 8, Parron and Tran do not disclose the method wherein the sidelink device applies a TRP specific RSRP threshold for each of the multiple TRPs.
However, Cheng does disclose the method wherein the sidelink device applies a TRP specific RSRP threshold for each of the multiple TRPs([0111] For example, the UE may only report the available DL RSs indices to a specific TRP that has the largest number of available RSs (e.g., having signal values larger than or equal to a predefined threshold (e.g., Beam-failure-candidate-beam-threshold)) in the measured BFR candidate RS sets.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron and Wang with the method wherein the sidelink device applies a TRP specific RSRP threshold for each of the multiple TRPs as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the multiplexing gain and reduce the antenna correlation.( Cheng, [0047])
Regarding claim 9, Parron and Wang do not disclose the method wherein the RSRP threshold is common to each of the multiple TRPs.
However, Cheng does disclose the method wherein the RSRP threshold is common to each of the multiple TRPs( [0110] For example, if the TRP information includes the index of SSB#1, the UE may consider that the preemption for the DL channels and DL signals which are QCL-ed with the SSB#1 are transmitted from the same TRP..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron and Wang with the method further comprising:comparing the RSRP measurement at the corresponding TRP to an RSRP threshold to determine the available resources for the corresponding TRP as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the multiplexing gain and reduce the antenna correlation.( Cheng, [0047])
Regarding claim 12, Parron and Wangdo not disclose the method wherein the sidelink device selects a single TRP for the sidelink transmission and selects the one or more resources from the available resources for the single TRP.
However, Cheng does disclose the method wherein the sidelink device selects a single TRP for the sidelink transmission and selects the one or more resources from the available resources for the single TRP ( [0133][0137] The UE's higher layer may select the candidate DL RSs transmitted from the TRP which has the largest number of available transmission paths based on the TRP mapping table (e.g., the TRP mapping table 1202 in FIG. 12). For example, the UE's higher layer may select the CSI-RS resource#0 to use because the CSI-RS resource#0 has a better L1-RSRP than the CSI-RS resource#1, the CSI-RS resource#2, and the CSI-RS resource#3. Action#2. In some implementations, if the BFI counter set for the CSI RS resource #0 exceeds the threshold, while the BFI counter set for the CSI RS resource #10 is below the threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron and Wang with the method further comprising:comparing the RSRP measurement at the corresponding TRP to an RSRP threshold to determine the available resources for the corresponding TRP as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the multiplexing gain and reduce the antenna correlation.( Cheng, [0047])
Regarding claim 22, Parron discloses the method wherein the decoding comprises blind decoding ([0061] The communication circuitry 500 may further include digital baseband circuitry 510 which may implement coding and/or decoding, control channel signal blind decoding, etc.).
Regarding claim 24, Parron discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a multi-transmission and reception points (TRPs) sidelink device ([0028] UEs 102 may be configured to communicate Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) communication signals with an eNB 104 and/or gNB 105), comprising:
memory ([0042] FIG. 2 memory 204);
and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to ([0043] FIG. 2 One or any combination of the hardware processor 202, the main memory 204, the static memory 206.):
receive one or more signals comprising sidelink control information (SCI), the SCI indicating a resource reservation ([0144] [0157-0158] FIG. 10 The SCI signaling may include a resource reservation period, for instance a period of muted/reserved resource occasions. The SCI signaling may indicate whether a mute command is applicable to Mode-3 (eNB 104/gNB 105 controlled UEs 102) or to Mode-4 (UEs 102 using autonomous resource selection) or to both modes of operation. A UE 102 and/or other device (which may or may not be associated with a vehicle) may transmit and/or receive some or all of the signaling. As indicated by 1035, the eNB 1004 may transmit network signaling for one or more of the following: to request that one or more UEs 102 and/or devices mute transmissions; reserve sidelink resources; and/or other.);
decode the SCI based on the one or more signals ([0153] A UE 102 may relay the signal to other UEs 102 or eNBs 104/gNBs 105. In some embodiments, the relay functionality may be handled in the physical layer. For instance, if the UE 102 decodes a DCI format or a SCI format with a specific priority.);
measure a reference signal received power (RSRP) associated with the SCI ([0098][0157- 0158] FIG. 10 At operation 830, the gNB 105 may transmit a downlink control message that indicates one or more parameters for one or more channel sense measurements by UEs 102. The channel sense measurement may be a sidelink received signal strength indicator (S-RSSI). Other measurements may be used, including but not limited to a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), a reference signal received power (RSRP). A UE 102 and/or other device (which may or may not be associated with a vehicle) may transmit and/or receive some or all of the signaling. As indicated by 1035, the eNB 1004 may transmit network signaling for one or more of the following: to request that one or more UEs 102 and/or devices mute transmissions; reserve sidelink resources; and/or other.);
and determine available resources for sidelink transmission for a subset based on the RSRP ([0097-0098] [0157-0158] FIG. 10 At operation 830, the gNB 105 may transmit a downlink control message that indicates one or more parameters for one or more channel sense measurements by UEs 102. The channel sense measurement may be a sidelink received signal strength indicator (S-RSSI). Other measurements may be used, including but not limited to a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a channel busy ratio (CBR), or measurements to report candidate subset of resources for selection or subset of resources that should not be used (unavailable/excluded) for transmission and/or other. A UE 102 and/or other device (which may or may not be associated with a vehicle) may transmit and/or receive some or all of the signaling. As indicated by 1035, the eNB 1004 may transmit network signaling for one or more of the following: to request that one or more UEs 102 and/or devices mute transmissions; reserve sidelink resources; and/or other.).
Parron does not disclose receiving SCI at multiple TRPs of the sidelink device; measuring reference signal received power RSRP at each of the multiple TRP s;
However, Wang does disclose receiving SCI at multiple TRPs of the sidelink device ([0102] At 1420, the target UE may receive an indication of at least one PSSCH TCI state for one or more of the multiple TRPs. In some aspects, the UE receives the SCI from a first TRP and the SCI indicates a first PSSCH TCI state for the first TRP and a second PSSCH TCI state for a second TRP. );
measuring reference signal received power RSRP at each of the multiple TRP s( [0083] In other aspects, the TRPs 1004a or 1004b may determine their own transmit beams for sidelink and may provide the base station 1002 with a report, such as including a sidelink beam index for the selected beam(s) or an RSRP for the selected beam(s).);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron with receiving SCI at multiple TRPs of the sidelink device; measuring reference signal received power RSRP at each of the multiple TRP s as taught by Wang. The motivation for doing so would be to and/or increase capacity of the access network. (Wang, [0041])
Parron and Wang do not disclose determining available resources for a subset of one or more of the multiple TRPs.
However, Cheng does disclose determining available resources for a subset of one or more of the multiple TRPs (([0125] As shown in FIG. 12, from a TRP mapping table 1202, the UE may identify that the CSI-RS resource#0, the CSI-RS resource#1 and the CSI-RS resource#2 are transmitted from the TRP#1; the CSI-RS resource#3, the CSI-RS resource#4 and the CSI-RS resource#5 are transmitted from the TRP#2; and the CSI-RS resource#6 and the CSI-RS resource#7 are transmitted from the TRP#3. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron and Wang with measuring reference signal received power RSRP at each of the multiple TRP s; determining available resources for a subset of one or more of the multiple TRP S as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the multiplexing gain and reduce the antenna correlation.( Cheng, [0047])
Regarding claim 25, Parron discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a multi-transmission and reception points (TRPs) sidelink device ([0028] UEs 102 may be configured to communicate Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) communication signals with an eNB 104 and/or gNB 105), comprising:
means for receiving one or more signals comprising sidelink control information (SCI), the SCI indicating a resource reservation ([0144] [0157-0158] FIG. 10 The SCI signaling may include a resource reservation period, for instance a period of muted/reserved resource occasions. The SCI signaling may indicate whether a mute command is applicable to Mode-3 (eNB 104/gNB 105 controlled) or to Mode-4 (UEs 102 using autonomous resource selection) or to both modes of operation. A UE 102 and/or other device (which may or may not be associated with a vehicle) may transmit and/or receive some or all of the signaling. As indicated by 1035, the eNB 1004 may transmit network signaling for one or more of the following: to request that one or more UEs 102 and/or devices mute transmissions; reserve sidelink resources; and/or other.);
means for decoding the SCI based on the one or more signals ([0153] A UE 102 may relay the signal to other UEs 102 or eNBs 104/gNBs 105. In some embodiments, the relay functionality may be handled in the physical layer. For instance, if the UE 102 decodes a DCI format or a SCI format with a specific priority.);
means for measuring a reference signal received power (RSRP) associated with the SCI ([0098][0157-0158] FIG. 10 At operation 830, the gNB 105 may transmit a downlink control message that indicates one or more parameters for one or more channel sense measurements by UEs 102. The channel sense measurement may be a sidelink received signal strength indicator (S-RSSI). Other measurements may be used, including but not limited to a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), a reference signal received power (RSRP). A UE 102 and/or other device (which may or may not be associated with a vehicle) may transmit and/or receive some or all of the signaling. As indicated by 1035, the eNB 1004 may transmit network signaling for one or more of the following: to request that one or more UEs 102 and/or devices mute transmissions; reserve sidelink resources; and/or other.);
and means for determining available resources for sidelink transmission for a subset based on the RSRP ([0097-0098] [0157-0158] FIG. 10 At operation 830, the gNB 105 may transmit a downlink control message that indicates one or more parameters for one or more channel sense measurements by UEs 102. The channel sense measurement may be a sidelink received signal strength indicator (S-RSSI). Other measurements may be used, including but not limited to a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a channel busy ratio (CBR), or measurements to report candidate subset of resources for selection or subset of resources that should not be used (unavailable/excluded) for transmission and/or other. A UE 102 and/or other device (which may or may not be associated with a vehicle) may transmit and/or receive some or all of the signaling. As indicated by 1035, the eNB 1004 may transmit network signaling for one or more of the following: to request that one or more UEs 102 and/or devices mute transmissions; reserve sidelink resources; and/or other.).
Parron does not disclose receiving SCI at multiple TRPs of the sidelink device; measuring reference signal received power RSRP at each of the multiple TRP s; determining available resources for a subset of one or more of the multiple TRPs.
However, Wang does disclose receiving SCI at multiple TRPs of the sidelink device (([0102] At 1420, the target UE may receive an indication of at least one PSSCH TCI state for one or more of the multiple TRPs. In some aspects, the UE receives the SCI from a first TRP and the SCI indicates a first PSSCH TCI state for the first TRP and a second PSSCH TCI state for a second TRP. );
measuring reference signal received power RSRP at each of the multiple TRP s( [0083] In other aspects, the TRPs 1004a or 1004b may determine their own transmit beams for sidelink and may provide the base station 1002 with a report, such as including a sidelink beam index for the selected beam(s) or an RSRP for the selected beam(s).);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron with receiving SCI at multiple TRPs of the sidelink device as taught by Wang. The motivation for doing so would be to and/or increase capacity of the access network. (Wang, [0041])
Parron and Wang do not disclose determining available resources for a subset of one or more of the multiple TRPs
However, Cheng does disclose determining available resources for a subset of one or more of the multiple TRPs ([0125] As shown in FIG. 12, from a TRP mapping table 1202, the UE may identify that the CSI-RS resource#0, the CSI-RS resource#1 and the CSI-RS resource#2 are transmitted from the TRP#1; the CSI-RS resource#3, the CSI-RS resource#4 and the CSI-RS resource#5 are transmitted from the TRP#2; and the CSI-RS resource#6 and the CSI-RS resource#7 are transmitted from the TRP#3. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron and Wang with determining available resources for a subset of one or more of the multiple TRP S as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the multiplexing gain and reduce the antenna correlation.( Cheng, [0047])
Regarding claim 26, Parron discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer executable code at a multi-transmission and reception points (TRPs) sidelink device, the code when executed by a processor cause the processor to ([0028] [0043] FIG. 2 UEs 102 may be configured to communicate Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) communication signals with an eNB 104 and/or gNB 105. One or any combination of the hardware processor 202, the main memory 204, the static memory 206. The machine readable medium may be or may include a non-transitory computer readable storage medium.):
receive one or more signals comprising sidelink control information (SCI), the SCI indicating a resource reservation ([0144] [0157-0158] FIG. 10 The SCI signaling may include a resource reservation period, for instance a period of muted/reserved resource occasions. The SCI signaling may indicate whether a mute command is applicable to Mode-3 (eNB 104/gNB 105 controlled UEs 102) or to Mode-4 (UEs 102 using autonomous resource selection) or to both modes of operation. A UE 102 and/or other device (which may or may not be associated with a vehicle) may transmit and/or receive some or all of the signaling. As indicated by 1035, the eNB 1004 may transmit network signaling for one or more of the following: to request that one or more UEs 102 and/or devices mute transmissions; reserve sidelink resources; and/or other.);
decode the SCI based on the one or more signals ([0153] A UE 102 may relay the signal to other UEs 102 or eNBs 104/gNBs 105. In some embodiments, the relay functionality may be handled in the physical layer. For instance, if the UE 102 decodes a DCI format or a SCI format with a specific priority.);
measure a reference signal received power (RSRP) associated with the SCI ([0098][0157- 0158] FIG. 10 At operation 830, the gNB 105 may transmit a downlink control message that indicates one or more parameters for one or more channel sense measurements by UEs 102. The channel sense measurement may be a sidelink received signal strength indicator (S-RSSI). Other measurements may be used, including but not limited to a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), a reference signal received power (RSRP). A UE 102 and/or other device (which may or may not be associated with a vehicle) may transmit and/or receive some or all of the signaling. As indicated by 1035, the eNB 1004 may transmit network signaling for one or more of the following: to request that one or more UEs 102 and/or devices mute transmissions; reserve sidelink resources; and/or other.);
And determine available resources for sidelink transmission for a subset based on the RSRP ([0097-0098] [0157-0158] FIG. 10 At operation 830, the gNB 105 may transmit a downlink control message that indicates one or more parameters for one or more channel sense measurements by UEs 102. The channel sense measurement may be a sidelink received signal strength indicator (S-RSSI). Other measurements may be used, including but not limited to a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a channel busy ratio (CBR), or measurements to report candidate subset of resources for selection or subset of resources that should not be used (unavailable/excluded) for transmission and/or other. A UE 102 and/or other device (which may or may not be associated with a vehicle) may transmit and/or receive some or all of the signaling. As indicated by 1035, the eNB 1004 may transmit network signaling for one or more of the following: to request that one or more UEs 102 and/or devices mute transmissions; reserve sidelink resources; and/or other.).
Parron does not disclose receiving SCI at multiple TRPs of the sidelink device; measuring reference signal received power RSRP at each of the multiple TRPs;
However, Wang does disclose receiving SCI at multiple TRPs of the sidelink device ([0102] At 1420, the target UE may receive an indication of at least one PSSCH TCI state for one or more of the multiple TRPs. In some aspects, the UE receives the SCI from a first TRP and the SCI indicates a first PSSCH TCI state for the first TRP and a second PSSCH TCI state for a second TRP.));
measuring reference signal received power RSRP at each of the multiple TRPs( [0083] In other aspects, the TRPs 1004a or 1004b may determine their own transmit beams for sidelink and may provide the base station 1002 with a report, such as including a sidelink beam index for the selected beam(s) or an RSRP for the selected beam(s).);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron with receiving SCI at multiple TRPs of the sidelink device; measuring reference signal received power RSRP at each of the multiple TRPs as taught by Wang. The motivation for doing so would be to and/or increase capacity of the access network. (Wang, [0041])
Parron and Tran do not disclose measuring reference signal received power RSRP at each of the multiple TRPs; determining available resources for a subset of one or more of the multiple TRPs.
However, Cheng does disclose determining available resources for a subset of one or more of the multiple TRPs ([0125] As shown in FIG. 12, from a TRP mapping table 1202, the UE may identify that the CSI-RS resource#0, the CSI-RS resource#1 and the CSI-RS resource#2 are transmitted from the TRP#1; the CSI-RS resource#3, the CSI-RS resource#4 and the CSI-RS resource#5 are transmitted from the TRP#2; and the CSI-RS resource#6 and the CSI-RS resource#7 are transmitted from the TRP#3. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron and Wang with measuring reference signal received power RSRP at each of the multiple TRP s; determining available resources for a subset of one or more of the multiple TRP S as taught by Cheng. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the multiplexing gain and reduce the antenna correlation.( Cheng, [0047])
Claims 10,11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Parron et al US 20190394786 A1., in view of Wang et al, US 20210360603 A1, in view of Cheng et al, US 20190379506 A1, and in further view of Farag et al, US 20210337519 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Parron, Wang, and Cheng do not disclose the method further comprising:reporting the available resources for each of the multiple TRPs to a higher layer.
However, Farag does disclose the method further comprising:reporting the available resources for each of the multiple TRPs to a higher layer ([0270-0271] The time between the start of the sensing window for RSAI transmission resources and the start of the sensing window for RSAI. Wherein the higher layer signaling and/or the L1 control signaling can be on the Uu interface (i.e. between a UE and a base station/TRP) or sidelink interface.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron, Wang, and Cheng with the method further comprising: reporting the available resources for each of the multiple TRPs to a higher layer as taught by Farag. The motivation for doing so would be to decrease propagation loss of the radio waves and increase the transmission distance. (Farag, [0034])
Regarding claim 11, Parron does not disclose the method further comprising:selecting one or more TRPs for the sidelink transmission; and transmitting the sidelink transmission from the one or more TRPs using the selected one or more resources
However, Wang does disclose the method further comprising:selecting one or more TRPs for the sidelink transmission([0033] As such, the base station may utilize other UEs, e.g., UE2 and UE3, to perform multi-TRP sidelink transmissions to relay the packets to the first UE.);
and transmitting the sidelink transmission from the one or more TRPs using the selected one or more resources([0051] The resources for a sidelink transmission may be selected from a resource pool including one or more subchannels. .).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron with receiving SCI at multiple TRPs of the sidelink device as taught by Wang. The motivation for doing so would be to and/or increase capacity of the access network. (Wang, [0041])
Parron, Wang, and Cheng do not disclose selecting, at the higher layer, one or more resources for the sidelink transmission from the reported available resources for each of the one or more TRPs;
However, Farag does disclose selecting, at the higher layer, one or more resources for the sidelink transmission from the reported available resources for each of the one or more TRPs ([0270- 0271] The time between the start of the sensing window for RSAI transmission resources and the start of the sensing window for RSAI. Wherein the higher layer signaling and/or the L1 control signaling can be on the Uu interface (i.e. between a UE and a base station/TRP) or sidelink interface.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron, Tran, and Dalin with selecting, at the higher layer, one or more resources for the sidelink transmission from the reported available resources for each of the one or more TRPs as taught by Farag. The motivation for doing so would be to decrease propagation loss of the radio waves and increase the transmission distance. (Farag, [0034])
Regarding claim 14, Parron, Wang, and Cheng do not disclose the method wherein the higher layer comprises a medium access control (MAC) layer.
However, Farag does disclose the method wherein the higher layer comprises a medium access control (MAC) layer([0258] The timing parameters can be updated through higher layer signaling, i.e. RRC signaling and/or MAC CE signaling.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron, Wang, and Cheng with the method wherein the higher layer comprises a medium access control (MAC) layer as taught by Farag. The motivation for doing so would be to decrease propagation loss of the radio waves and increase the transmission distance. (Farag, [0034])
Claims 13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Parron et al US 20190394786 A1., in view of Wang et al, US 20210360603 A1, in view of Cheng et al, US 20190379506 A1., in view of Farag et al, US 20210337519 A1., and in further view of MolavianJazi et al, US 20220210844 A1.
Regarding claim 13, Parron, Wang, Cheng, and Farag do not disclose the method wherein the sidelink device selects a subset of two or more TRPs for the sidelink transmission and selects the one or more resources that are common in the available resources of the subset of two or more TRPs.
However, Molavianjazi does disclose the method wherein the sidelink device selects a subset of two or more TRPs for the sidelink transmission and selects the one or more resources that are common in the available resources of the subset of two or more TRPs ([0088][0291] The embodiments can apply to various use cases and settings, such as for single-panel UEs, frequency bands below 6 GHz, eMBB, URLLC and IloT and XR, mMTC and loT, sidelink/V2X. Two TRPs can be associated with a same set of RO. The two TRPs can be configured with a same RO time resources, that is, a same "prachConfigurationIndex" value.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron, Wang, Cheng, and Farag with the method wherein the sidelink device selects a subset of two or more TRPs for the sidelink transmission and selects the one or more resources that are common in the available resources of the subset of two or more TRPs as taught by MolavianJazi. The motivation for doing so would to improve link adaptation during an initial random access procedure. (MolavianJazi, [0106]).
Regarding claim 15, Parron, Wang, and Cheng do not disclose the method further comprising: receiving, from a higher layer, an indication indicating one or more TRPs of the multiple TRPs;
However, Farag does disclose the method further comprising: receiving, from a higher layer, an indication indicating one or more TRPs of the multiple TRPs ([0208] [0270-0271] The determination can be based on a UE that receives separate indication for available resources in the candidate resource window and resources. The time between the start of the sensing window for RSAI transmission resources and the start of the sensing window for RSAI. Wherein the higher layer signaling and/or the L1 control signaling can be on the Uu interface (i.e. between a UE and a base station/TRP) or sidelink interface.);
and reporting to the higher layer, based on the indication, the available resources of the one or more TRPs (0208] [0270-0271] [0284] The determination can be based on a UE that receives separate indication for available resources in the candidate resource window and resources. The time between the start of the sensing window for RSAI transmission resources and the start of the sensing window for RSAI. Wherein the higher layer signaling and/or the L1 control signaling can be on the Uu interface (i.e. between a UE and a base station/TRP) or sidelink interface. A determination of the subset of resources to be reported to higher layers within the "candidate window for RSAI transmission resources".).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron, Wang, and Cheng with the method further comprising: receiving, from a higher layer, an indication indicating one or more TRPs of the multiple TRP s; and reporting to the higher layer, based on the indication, the available resources of the one or more TRPs as taught by Farag. The motivation for doing so would be to decrease propagation loss of the radio waves and increase the transmission distance. (Farag, [0034]).
Regarding claim 16, Parron, Wang, and Cheng do not disclose the method further comprising: receiving, from a higher layer, an indication indicating one or more TRPs of the multiple TRPs; and reporting the available resources that are commonly available for each of the one or more TRP indicated by the higher layer.
However, Farag does disclose the method further comprising: receiving, from a higher layer, an indication indicating one or more TRPs of the multiple TRPs ([0208] [0270-0271] The determination can be based on a UE that receives separate indication for available resources in the candidate resource window and resources. The time between the start of the sensing window for RSAI transmission resources and the start of the sensing window for RSAI. Wherein the higher layer signaling and/or the L1 control signaling can be on the Uu interface (i.e. between a UE and a base station/TRP) or sidelink interface.);
and reporting the available resources that are commonly available for each of the one or more TRP indicated by the higher layer ([0208] [0270-0271] [0284] The determination can be based on a UE that receives separate indication for available resources in the candidate resource window and resources. The time between the start of the sensing window for RSAI transmission resources and the start of the sensing window for RSAI. Wherein the higher layer signaling and/or the L1 control signaling can be on the Uu interface (i.e. between a UE and a base station/TRP) or sidelink interface. A determination of the subset of resources to be reported to higher layers within the "candidate window for RSAI transmission resources".).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron, Wang, and Cheng with the method further comprising: receiving, from a higher layer, an indication indicating one or more TRPs of the multiple TRP s; and reporting the available resources that are commonly available for each of the one or more TRP indicated by the higher layer as taught by Farag. The motivation for doing so would be to decrease propagation loss of the radio waves and increase the transmission distance. (Farag, [0034]).
Regarding claim 17, Parron, Wang, and Cheng do not disclose the method wherein the indication indicates a single TRP, and wherein the available resources for the single TRP are reported to the higher layer in response to the indication from the higher layer.
However, Farag does disclose the method wherein the indication indicates a single TRP ([0422] The respectively connected control resource sets being the same may mean that PDCCH repetition transmission is performed by applying the same TCI state at the time of transmitting each PDCCH from a single TRP.),
and wherein the available resources for the single TRP are reported to the higher layer in response to the indication from the higher layer ([0422] Connected via higher layer signaling are the same or different from each other, or different UE capability report values may be transmitted to the BS. The respectively connected control resource sets being the same may mean that PDCCH repetition transmission is performed by applying the same TCI state at the time of transmitting each PDCCH from a single TRP.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron, Wang, and Cheng, with the method wherein the indication indicates a single TRP, and wherein the available resources for the single TRP are reported to the higher layer in response to the indication from the higher layer as taught by Farag. The motivation for doing so would be to decrease propagation loss of the radio waves and increase the transmission distance. (Farag, [0034])
Regarding claim 18, Parron, Wang, Cheng, and Farag do not disclose the method wherein the indication indicates a subset of two or more TRPs and the available resources that are commonly available for the subset of two or more TRPs are reported to the higher layer.
However, Molavian does disclose the method wherein the indication indicates a subset of two or more TRPs and the available resources that are commonly available for the subset of two or more TRPs are reported to the higher layer ([0291-0292] Various RA parameters can be TRP-specific. In one example, two TRPs can be associated with a same set of RO. The two TRPs can be configured with a same RO time resources, that is, a same "prach-Configurationlndex" value. A first RA configuration can be provided by a cell-specific configuration via higher layers such as SIB1 or a common RRC configuration.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron, Wang, Cheng, and Farag with the method wherein the indication indicates a subset of two or more TRPs and the available resources that are commonly available for the subset of two or more TRPs are reported to the higher layer as taught by Molavian. The motivation for doing so would to improve link adaptation during an initial random access procedure. (Molavian, [0106]).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Parron et al US 20190394786 A1., in view of Wang et al, US 20210360603 A1, in view of Cheng et al, US 20190379506 A1., in view of Farag et al, US 20210337519 A1., and in further view of Zhu et al, US 20220140878 A1.
Regarding claim 19, Parron, Wang, Cheng, and Farag do not disclose the method further comprising:comparing the RSRP measurement at each of the one or more TRPs indicated by the higher layer to an RSRP threshold to determine the available resources for a corresponding TRP.
However, Zhu does disclose the method further comprising:comparing the RSRP measurement at each of the one or more TRPs indicated by the higher layer to an RSRP threshold to determine the available resources for a corresponding TRP ([0240] [0242] The group based beam reporting in a multiTRP system, the UE could be higher layer configured/indicated (e.g., via higher layer RRC parameter CSIResourceConfig or CSI-ReportConfig) by the network a stopping RSRP/SINR threshold. The proposed design strategies could be extended/generalized/applied to the case where interference measurement resources (IMRs) are configured for one or more of the coordinating TRPs in the multiTRP system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron, Wang, Cheng, and Farag with the method further comprising: comparing the RSRP measurement at each of the one or more TRPs indicated by the higher layer to an RSRP threshold to determine the available resources for a corresponding TRP as taught by Zhu. The motivation for doing so would be improve the beam acquisition accuracy. (Zhu, [0110]).
Regarding claim 20, Parron, Wang, Cheng, and Farag do not disclose the method wherein the RSRP threshold is common to each TRP of the one or more TRPs indicated by the higher layer.
However, Zhu does disclose the method wherein the RSRP threshold is common to each TRP of the one or more TRPs indicated by the higher layer ([0242] The UE is higher layer configured by the network both stopThreshold-groupBasedBeamReporting-mTRP/stopThresholdgroupBasedBeamReportingR17. By applying the configured stopping threshold when measuring the candidate groups/pairs of SSB/NZP CSI-RS resources, the UE could be able to quickly identify the resource indicators such as SSBRIs/CRIs and their corresponding beam metrics such as L1-RSRPs/L1- SINRs to be reported in the same reporting instance.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron, Wang, Cheng, and Farag with the method further comprising: comparing the RSRP measurement at each of the one or more TRPs indicated by the higher layer to an RSRP threshold to determine the available resources for a corresponding TRP as taught by Zhu. The motivation for doing so would be improve the beam acquisition accuracy. (Zhu, [0110])
Claim 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Parron et al US 20190394786 A1., in view of Wang et al, US 20210360603 A1, in view of Cheng et al, US 20190379506 A1, in view of Farag et al, US 20210337519 A1., in view of Zhu et al, US 20220140878 A1., in view of Yang et al, US 20200053661 A1., and in further view of Kakishima et al, US 20200396664 A1.
Regarding claim 21, Parron, Wang, Cheng, Farag, and Zhu do not disclose the method of further comprising:determining that available resources for of the one or more TRPs is less than a resource threshold based on a first RSRP threshold;
However, Yang does disclose the method of further comprising:determining that available resources for of the one or more TRPs is less than a resource threshold based on a first RSRP threshold ([0097] A WTRU may report an RSRP measurement associated with a TRP to the network. A WTRU may report an RSRP measurement, for example, when one or more of the following conditions are met: (i) a serving cell may become worse than a (e.g., first) preconfigured threshold; a difference between a serving cell and a neighboring may become less than a (e.g., third) threshold.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron, Wang, Cheng ,Farag, and Zhu with the method further comprising: determining that available resources for of the one or more TRPs is less than a resource threshold based on a first RSRP threshold as taught by Yang. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce and or substantially eliminate self-interference via either hardware (e.g., a choke) or signal processing via a processor (e.g., a separate processor (not shown) or via processor. (Yang, [0035])
Parron, Wang, Cheng, Farag, Zhu, and Yang do not disclose and increasing the first RSRP threshold until the available resources for the one or more TRPs indicated by the higher layer meets the resource threshold.
However, Kakishima does disclose and increasing the first RSRP threshold until the available resources for the one or more TRPs indicated by the higher layer meets the resource threshold ([0033] When the number of consecutive beam failure instances notified by the PHY layer is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value, the MAC layer may transmit the request for the beam RS index and the L1-RSRP measurement value to the PHY layer. For example, the predetermined threshold value is the maximum number of consecutive beam failure instances and is configured by higher layer signaling. For example, the TRP 20 may notify the UE 10 of the predetermined threshold value using Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron, Wang, Cheng, Farag, Zhu, and Yang with and increasing the first RSRP threshold until the available resources for the one or more TRPs indicated by the higher layer meets the resource threshold as taught by Kakishima. The motivation for doing so would be to achieve sufficient coverage and data rate. (Kakishima, [0002]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Parron et al US 20190394786 A1., in view of Wang et al, US 20210360603 A1, in view of Cheng et al, US 20190379506 A1, and in further view of Zhou et al, US 20230262765 A1.
Regarding claim 21, Parron, Wang, and Cheng do not disclose the method further comprising:prior to receiving the one or more signals, monitoring for the one or more signals during a sensing window.
However, Zhou does disclose the method further comprising:prior to receiving the one or more signals, monitoring for the one or more signals during a sensing window ([0087] The method for a sidelink UE to select resources autonomously is that the UE always keeps monitoring and buffering a sidelink resource pool, and before a sidelink transmission needs to be transmitted, determines a channel sensing time window and a resource selection time window according to the expected time range for transmitting the sidelink transmission.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parron, Wang, and Cheng with the method further comprising: prior to receiving the one or more signals, monitoring for the one or more signals during a sensing window as taught by Zhou. The motivation for doing so would be reducing the power consumption of the UE monitoring the sidelink. (Zhou, [0031]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RYA TEON NELSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419