DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Status of Application/Amendments/claims
Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/4/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 6, 24-25, 30 are amended.
Claims 1-30 are pending and have been examined, of which claims 1, 24, 25 and 30 are independent.
Claim Rejections/Objections Withdrawn
In view of the amendment filed, the following rejections/objections are withdrawn.
Claim rejection under 35 USC 112(b) for claim 6 has been withdrawn.
New Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by the Amendment
The following rejections are new grounds of rejections necessitated by the amendment filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-11, 16, 22-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20220069884) in view of Medina et al. (WO 2020173536)
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (UE#1 1720, fig 17; Para 141: determining transmit and receive beam pairs for FD transmissions between a base station and multiple UEs based on DL beam measurements and using SL transmission between the UEs), comprising:
transmitting, in a first transmission occasion (at 1775 in fig 17; in view of fig 9 and 17, timing between 910 and 920), sidelink control information (SCI) indicating a resource reservation for a self-interference measurement (1775, fig 17; para 141: Step 1775 involves the UE #1 1720 transmitting an indication of the UE #1 transmit beam to be used for self-interference/isolation at UE #1 1720 to UE #2 1725; para 116: fig. 9, which illustrates a series of events 900 occurring over a duration of time for selection of candidate beams, SRS self-interference estimate and reporting of a candidate selection by the UE, it can be seen that a transmission of SRS for self-interference/isolation estimation is triggered 910 by dynamic signaling by a DCI), wherein the resource reservation indicates at least a time-domain resource reservation associated with the second transmission occasion (fig 9; para 116-117: a transmission of SRS for self-interference/isolation estimation is triggered 910 by dynamic signaling by a DCI, after a particular time duration, that involves the UE selecting a UE transmit and UE receive beam from the candidate beam set, the UE transmits 920 the SRS, the particular time duration may be captured as a triggering offset between the DCI and the transmission of the SRS, the triggering offset may be pre-configured with several candidate values, and then dynamically selected in the triggering DCI; here, the fig 9 shows the time duration, where the DCI dynamically selects triggering offset for SRS transmission);
transmitting a signal, in the second transmission occasion (at 1780, fig 17; in view of fig 9 and 17, timing at 920; para 141: Step 1780 involves the UE #1 1720 transmitting and receiving the reference signal in order to obtain the measurements for self-interference/isolation estimation); and
performing the self-interference measurement based on the signal in the second transmission occasion using at least a portion of resources indicated in the resource reservation (1780, fig 17; para 141: Step 1780 involves the UE #1 1720 transmitting and receiving the reference signal in order to obtain the measurements for self-interference/isolation estimation).
Zhang teaches the self-interference measurement and beam pairing in full duplex. Zhang teaches the indication in sidelink about self-interference resources and measurement, but does not specify the information about transmission occasion of resources in the sidelink control information. Medina is directed to autonomous resource selection in sidelink including excluding resources reserved by neighboring UEs.
Medina further teaches sidelink control information (SCI) indicating a resource reservation for a self-interference measurement in the second transmission occasion (page 5 lines 1-12: UE becomes aware of TTIs used by its proximity by decoding PSCCH carrying sidelink control information SCI, a candidate TTI (e.g. subframe, slot, mini-slot OFDM symbol, etc.) is excluded from resource selection if it contains a radio resource indicated or reserved by decoded SCI; here, the reference clearly teaches SCI indicating resource reservation in candidate TTI, wherein the purpose or use of the resource is a variation or option). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine self-interference measurements to determine beam pairs in full duplex communication as taught by Zhang with time resource reservation indicated in SCI as taught by Medina for the benefit of sidelink data efficiently and cost-effectively as taught by Medina in page 4 lines 33-35.
Regarding claim 24, Zhang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication of a user equipment (UE) (UE#1 1720, fig 17; Para 141: determining transmit and receive beam pairs for FD transmissions between a base station and multiple UEs based on DL beam measurements and using SL transmission between the UEs; fig 3a, electronic device ED 110 is UE), comprising:
a memory (memory 208, fig 3a); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (processing unit 200 coupled to memory 208, fig 3a) and configured to:
transmit, in a first transmission occasion (at 1775 in fig 17; in view of fig 9 and 17, timing between 910 and 920), sidelink control information (SCI) indicating a resource reservation for a self-interference measurement (1775, fig 17; para 141: Step 1775 involves the UE #1 1720 transmitting an indication of the UE #1 transmit beam to be used for self-interference/isolation at UE #1 1720 to UE #2 1725; para 116: fig. 9, which illustrates a series of events 900 occurring over a duration of time for selection of candidate beams, SRS self-interference estimate and reporting of a candidate selection by the UE, it can be seen that a transmission of SRS for self-interference/isolation estimation is triggered 910 by dynamic signaling by a DCI), wherein the resource reservation indicates at least a time-domain resource reservation associated with the second transmission occasion (fig 9; para 116-117: a transmission of SRS for self-interference/isolation estimation is triggered 910 by dynamic signaling by a DCI, after a particular time duration, that involves the UE selecting a UE transmit and UE receive beam from the candidate beam set, the UE transmits 920 the SRS, the particular time duration may be captured as a triggering offset between the DCI and the transmission of the SRS, the triggering offset may be pre-configured with several candidate values, and then dynamically selected in the triggering DCI; here, the fig 9 shows the time duration, where the DCI dynamically selects triggering offset for SRS transmission);
transmit a signal, in the second transmission occasion (at 1780, fig 17; in view of fig 9 and 17, timing between at 920; para 141: Step 1780 involves the UE #1 1720 transmitting and receiving the reference signal in order to obtain the measurements for self-interference/isolation estimation); and
perform the self-interference measurement based on the signal in the second transmission occasion using at least a portion of resources indicated in the resource reservation (1780, fig 17; para 141: Step 1780 involves the UE #1 1720 transmitting and receiving the reference signal in order to obtain the measurements for self-interference/isolation estimation).
Zhang teaches the self-interference measurement and beam pairing in full duplex. Zhang teaches the indication in sidelink about self-interference resources and measurement, but does not specify the information about transmission occasion of resources in the sidelink control information. Medina is directed to autonomous resource selection in sidelink including excluding resources reserved by neighboring UEs.
Medina further teaches sidelink control information (SCI) indicating a resource reservation for a self-interference measurement in the second transmission occasion (page 5 lines 1-12: UE becomes aware of TTIs used by its proximity by decoding PSCCH carrying sidelink control information SCI, a candidate TTI (e.g. subframe, slot, mini-slot OFDM symbol, etc.) is excluded from resource selection if it contains a radio resource indicated or reserved by decoded SCI; here, the reference clearly teaches SCI indicating resource reservation in candidate TTI, wherein the purpose or use of the resource is a variation or option). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine self-interference measurements to determine beam pairs in full duplex communication as taught by Zhang with time resource reservation indicated in SCI as taught by Medina for the benefit of sidelink data efficiently and cost-effectively as taught by Medina in page 4 lines 33-35.
Regarding claim 25, Zhang teaches a method of wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (UE#2 1725, fig 17; Para 141: determining transmit and receive beam pairs for FD transmissions between a base station and multiple UEs based on DL beam measurements and using SL transmission between the UEs), comprising:
receiving, in a first transmission occasion (at 1775 in fig 17; in view of fig 9 and 17, timing between 910 and 920), sidelink control information (SCI) from a second UE (UE#1 1720, fig 17) indicating a resource reservation for a self-interference measurement (1775, fig 17; para 141: Step 1775 involves the UE #1 1720 transmitting an indication of the UE #1 transmit beam to be used for self-interference/isolation at UE #1 1720 to UE #2 1725; para 116: fig. 9, which illustrates a series of events 900 occurring over a duration of time for selection of candidate beams, SRS self-interference estimate and reporting of a candidate selection by the UE, it can be seen that a transmission of SRS for self-interference/isolation estimation is triggered 910 by dynamic signaling by a DCI), wherein the resource reservation indicates at least a time-domain resource reservation associated with the second transmission occasion (fig 9; para 116-117: a transmission of SRS for self-interference/isolation estimation is triggered 910 by dynamic signaling by a DCI, after a particular time duration, that involves the UE selecting a UE transmit and UE receive beam from the candidate beam set, the UE transmits 920 the SRS, the particular time duration may be captured as a triggering offset between the DCI and the transmission of the SRS, the triggering offset may be pre-configured with several candidate values, and then dynamically selected in the triggering DCI; here, the fig 9 shows the time duration, where the DCI dynamically selects triggering offset for SRS transmission)); and
excluding resources indicated in the resource reservation from candidate resources for a sidelink transmission by the first UE (1785, fig 17; Step 1785 involves UE #2 1725, when selecting the UE #2 receive beam for DL measurement or for self-interference/isolation estimation, avoiding candidate beams that receive a strong signal from the UE #1 transmit beam to be used for self-interference/isolation at UE #1 1720 shared by UE #1 1720).
Zhang teaches the self-interference measurement and beam pairing in full duplex. Zhang teaches the indication in sidelink about self-interference resources and measurement and the UE2 avoiding the indicated resources, but does not specify the information about transmission occasion of resources in the sidelink control information. Medina is directed to autonomous resource selection in sidelink including excluding resources reserved by neighboring UEs.
Medina further teaches sidelink control information (SCI) indicating a resource reservation for a self-interference measurement in the second transmission occasion (page 5 lines 1-12: UE becomes aware of TTIs used by its proximity by decoding PSCCH carrying sidelink control information SCI, a candidate TTI (e.g. subframe, slot, mini-slot OFDM symbol, etc.) is excluded from resource selection if it contains a radio resource indicated or reserved by decoded SCI; here, the reference clearly teaches SCI indicating resource reservation in candidate TTI, wherein the purpose or use of the resource is a variation or option). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine self-interference measurements to determine beam pairs in full duplex communication as taught by Zhang with time resource reservation indicated in SCI as taught by Medina for the benefit of sidelink data efficiently and cost-effectively as taught by Medina in page 4 lines 33-35.
Regarding claim 30, Zhang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (UE#2 1725, fig 17; Para 141: determining transmit and receive beam pairs for FD transmissions between a base station and multiple UEs based on DL beam measurements and using SL transmission between the UEs; fig 3a, electronic device ED 110 is UE), comprising:
memory (memory 208, fig 3a); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (processing unit 200 coupled to memory 208, fig 3a) and configured to:
receive, in a first transmission occasion (at 1775 in fig 17; in view of fig 9 and 17, timing between 910 and 920), sidelink control information (SCI) from a second UE (UE#1 1720, fig 17) indicating a resource reservation for a self-interference measurement (1775, fig 17; para 141: Step 1775 involves the UE #1 1720 transmitting an indication of the UE #1 transmit beam to be used for self-interference/isolation at UE #1 1720 to UE #2 1725; para 116: fig. 9, which illustrates a series of events 900 occurring over a duration of time for selection of candidate beams, SRS self-interference estimate and reporting of a candidate selection by the UE, it can be seen that a transmission of SRS for self-interference/isolation estimation is triggered 910 by dynamic signaling by a DCI), wherein the resource reservation indicates at least a time-domain resource reservation associated with the second transmission occasion (fig 9; para 116-117: a transmission of SRS for self-interference/isolation estimation is triggered 910 by dynamic signaling by a DCI, after a particular time duration, that involves the UE selecting a UE transmit and UE receive beam from the candidate beam set, the UE transmits 920 the SRS, the particular time duration may be captured as a triggering offset between the DCI and the transmission of the SRS, the triggering offset may be pre-configured with several candidate values, and then dynamically selected in the triggering DCI; here, the fig 9 shows the time duration, where the DCI dynamically selects triggering offset for SRS transmission); and
exclude resources indicated in the resource reservation from candidate resources for a sidelink transmission by the first UE (1785, fig 17; Step 1785 involves UE #2 1725, when selecting the UE #2 receive beam for DL measurement or for self-interference/isolation estimation, avoiding candidate beams that receive a strong signal from the UE #1 transmit beam to be used for self-interference/isolation at UE #1 1720 shared by UE #1 1720).
Zhang teaches the self-interference measurement and beam pairing in full duplex. Zhang teaches the indication in sidelink about self-interference resources and measurement and the UE2 avoiding the indicated resources, but does not specify the information about transmission occasion of resources in the sidelink control information. Medina is directed to autonomous resource selection in sidelink including excluding resources reserved by neighboring UEs.
Medina further teaches sidelink control information (SCI) indicating a resource reservation for a self-interference measurement in the second transmission occasion (page 5 lines 1-12: UE becomes aware of TTIs used by its proximity by decoding PSCCH carrying sidelink control information SCI, a candidate TTI (e.g. subframe, slot, mini-slot OFDM symbol, etc.) is excluded from resource selection if it contains a radio resource indicated or reserved by decoded SCI; here, the reference clearly teaches SCI indicating resource reservation in candidate TTI, wherein the purpose or use of the resource is a variation or option). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine self-interference measurements to determine beam pairs in full duplex communication as taught by Zhang with time resource reservation indicated in SCI as taught by Medina for the benefit of sidelink data efficiently and cost-effectively as taught by Medina in page 4 lines 33-35.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang fails to teach, but Medina further teaches wherein the first transmission occasion corresponds to a first slot, and the second transmission occasion corresponds to a second slot (page 17, lines 21-27: the UE may become aware of the TTIs used in its proximity by decoding the Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) carrying Sidelink Control Information (SCI), a candidate TTI (e.g., subframe, slot, mini-slot, OFDM symbol, etc.) is entirely excluded from radio resource selection if the candidate TTI (or a future TTI occurring at a pre-determined resource reservation interval thereafter) contains a radio resource indicated or reserved by a decoded SCI; here, the SCI is received in one TTI and the reserved resource correspond to second future TTI). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine self-interference measurements to determine beam pairs in full duplex communication as taught by Zhang with time resource reservation indicated in SCI as taught by Medina for the benefit of sidelink data efficiently and cost-effectively as taught by Medina in page 4 lines 33-35.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang further teaches wherein the UE transmits the signal using a first transmission reception point (TRP) (transmitter 202 and antenna 203, fig 3a; para 83: the ED 110 also includes a transmitter 202. The transmitter 202 is configured to modulate data or other content for transmission by at least one antenna or Network Interface Controller (NIC)) and performs the self-interference measurement at a second TRP different from the first TRP (receiver 204 and antenna 205, fig 3a; para 83: the ED 110 also includes a receiver 204. The receiver 204 is configured to demodulate data or other content received by at least one antenna 205).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang further teaches wherein the UE transmits the signal using at least a first antenna element and performs the self-interference measurement using at least a second antenna element different from the first antenna element (fig 11; para 126: a first UE, UE #1, illustrated to have at least two antenna panels, UE #1 transmits an SRS to determine whether there is acceptable self-interference/self-isolation between UE #1 transmit beam 1130a and UE #1 receive beam 1150b).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang further teaches wherein the resource reservation in the SCI indicates the resources for transmission of the signal in the second transmission occasion (1775, fig 17; para 141: Step 1775 involves the UE #1 1720 transmitting an indication of the UE #1 transmit beam to be used for self-interference/isolation at UE #1 1720 to UE #2 1725).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang further teaches wherein the resource reservation in the SCI further indicates additional resources in the second transmission occasion that are different from the resources for the transmission of the signal (para 97: via sidelink, one UE shares information on selected base station transmit beam and thereby corresponding UE receive beam for receiving SRS for self-interference/isolation estimation, so as to facilitate neighbor UEs to measure cross-UE interference by applying the receive beam that can be used to receive from the base station transmit beam that is spatially distant from the base station transmit beam to receive the SRS transmission from the UE).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang fails to teach, but Medina further teaches wherein the resource reservation in the SCI indicates frequency resources spanning a frequency range associated with the second transmission occasion (page 5, lines 28-32: receive sidelink control information (SCI), in particular on a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH), from at least one neighboring sidelink communication device (B, C) indicating and/or reserving a radio resource for transmission of sidelink data on a pre-defined carrier by the at least one neighboring sidelink communication device (B, C); here, term pre-defined carrier is considered for frequency range). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine self-interference measurements to determine beam pairs in full duplex communication as taught by Zhang with time resource reservation indicated in SCI as taught by Medina for the benefit of sidelink data efficiently and cost-effectively as taught by Medina in page 4 lines 33-35.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang further teaches wherein the SCI further indicates a first beam direction, and wherein the UE transmits the signal in the first beam direction (para 141: step 1775 involves the UE #1 1720 transmitting an indication of the UE #1 transmit beam to be used for self-interference/isolation at UE #1 1720 to UE #2 1725).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang further teaches wherein the UE transmits the signal in a first beam direction, and the UE performs the self-interference measurement based on a second beam direction (fig 4; para 95: the UE then transmits a reference signal on a first beam, which is transmit beam 440a, an example of which is a sounding reference signal (SRS). Transmission on transmit beam 440a can be measured on a second beam identified in the candidate beam set, which is receive beam 450a to determine self-interference 460).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang further teaches wherein the UE transmits the SCI in the first beam direction and the second beam direction (fig 11, beams between base station, UE1 and UE2; para 126: UE #1 then shares 1164 the base station transmit beam 1140b for possible FD. When UE #1 transmits an SRS to determine whether there is acceptable self-interference/self-isolation between UE #1 transmit beam 1130a and UE #1 receive beam 1150b, UE #2 can determine 1166 a cross-interference estimation between UE #1 transmit beam 1130a and UE #2 receive beam 1160).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang further teaches wherein the SCI comprises an indication of the first beam direction and the second beam direction (para 97: via sidelink, one UE shares information on selected base station transmit beam and thereby corresponding UE receive beam for receiving SRS for self-interference/isolation estimation, so as to facilitate neighbor UEs to measure cross-UE interference by applying the receive beam that can be used to receive from the base station transmit beam that is spatially distant from the base station transmit beam to receive the SRS transmission from the UE).
Regarding claim 22, Zhang further teaches wherein the signal comprises a reference signal, and the self-interference measurement is based on a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement (para 19: measure interference signal strength of the RS on a second beam identified in the set of candidate beams; determine self-interference for the first and second beams based on the measured interference strength signal; para 104: to determine transmit/receive beam pairs with reduced self-interference, the beam training is performed, the beam training results are reported from the UE via beam reporting, where one or more of resource indication information, such as channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource indicator (CRI) and corresponding layer 1—reference signal received power/signal interference to noise ratio (L1-RSRP/SINR) are provided).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang further teaches wherein the self-interference measurement is based on a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement of the signal (para 19: measure interference signal strength of the RS on a second beam identified in the set of candidate beams; determine self-interference for the first and second beams based on the measured interference strength signal).
Regarding claim 26, Zhang further teaches wherein the resource reservation is for transmission of a signal by the second UE in a first beam direction for the self-interference measurement by the second UE based on a second beam direction (para 10: receiving, by an apparatus, configuration information comprising a set of candidate beams; transmitting, by the apparatus, a reference signal (RS) on a first beam identified in the set of candidate beams; measuring, by the apparatus, interference signal strength of the RS on a second beam identified in the set of candidate beams).
Regarding claim 27, Zhang further teaches wherein the first UE receives the SCI from the first beam direction (fig 11, beams between base station, UE1 and UE2; para 126: UE #1 then shares 1164 the base station transmit beam 1140b for possible FD. When UE #1 transmits an SRS to determine whether there is acceptable self-interference/self-isolation between UE #1 transmit beam 1130a and UE #1 receive beam 1150b, UE #2 can determine 1166 a cross-interference estimation between UE #1 transmit beam 1130a and UE #2 receive beam 1160).
Regarding claim 28, Zhang further teaches wherein the first UE receives the SCI from the second beam direction (fig 11, beams between base station, UE1 and UE2; para 126: UE #1 then shares 1164 the base station transmit beam 1140b for possible FD. When UE #1 transmits an SRS to determine whether there is acceptable self-interference/self-isolation between UE #1 transmit beam 1130a and UE #1 receive beam 1150b, UE #2 can determine 1166 a cross-interference estimation between UE #1 transmit beam 1130a and UE #2 receive beam 1160).
Regarding claim 29, Zhang further teaches wherein the SCI reserves resources in the second beam direction for the self-interference measurement (para 10: receiving, by an apparatus, configuration information comprising a set of candidate beams; transmitting, by the apparatus, a reference signal (RS) on a first beam identified in the set of candidate beams; measuring, by the apparatus, interference signal strength of the RS on a second beam identified in the set of candidate beams).
Claims 9, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20220069884) in view of Medina et al. (WO 2020173536) in further view of Ganesan et al. (US 20230361955)
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Medina teaches the limitations of the parent claim. Zhang in view of Medina fail to teach that the beam direction is indicated by TCI state. Ganesan is directed to methods and systems for multiple sidelink reference signals transmission.
Ganesan further teaches wherein the first beam direction is indicated by a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state comprised in the SCI (Para 82: a TCI state may be signaled in 1st SCI informing an RX UE about an RX-spatial filter and/or RX beam for receiving 2nd SCI and PSSCH and may be used by neighboring UEs for a sensing procedure (e.g., SCI decoding) to be aware of a resource usage and/or occupancy per beam; It is further noted that Para 82 of the reference is supported by earlier filed provisional application para 261). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine self-interference measurements to determine beam pairs in full duplex communication as taught by Zhang and Medina with beam indicated in TCI as taught by Ganesan for the benefit of avoiding a hidden node problem as taught by Ganesan in para 81.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang in view of Medina teaches the limitations of the parent claim.
Zhang in view of Medina fail to teach, but Ganesan further teaches wherein the second beam direction is indicated by a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state comprised in the SCI (Para 82: a TCI state may be signaled in 1st SCI informing an RX UE about an RX-spatial filter and/or RX beam for receiving 2nd SCI and PSSCH and may be used by neighboring UEs for a sensing procedure (e.g., SCI decoding) to be aware of a resource usage and/or occupancy per beam). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine self-interference measurements to determine beam pairs in full duplex communication as taught by Zhang and Medina with beam indicated in TCI as taught by Ganesan for the benefit of avoiding a hidden node problem as taught by Ganesan in para 81.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20220069884) in view of Medina et al. (WO 2020173536) in further view of Deng et al. (WO 2020068906)
Regarding claim 18, Zhang in view of Medina teaches the limitations of the parent claim. Zhang in view of Medina fail to teach that SCI is transmitted on a wider beam. Deng is directed to autonomous sidelink transmission beam management.
Deng further teaches wherein the UE transmits the SCI in the first transmission occasion on a wider beam than a first beam (fig 3; para 114; para 138: WTRU1 may transmit control information using a wide beam (e.g. using the spatial domain transmission filter used for the sensing) and the SCI may include reference signal scheduling). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine self-interference measurements to determine beam pairs in full duplex communication as taught by Zhang and Medina with beam indicated in wide beam SCI as taught by Deng for the benefit of reducing latency in beam selection as taught by Deng in para 135.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15, 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to Zhang not teaching the new claim limitation of “wherein the resource reservation indicates at least a time-domain resource reservation associated with the second transmission occasion” (page 8) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Zhang in para 141 and fig 17 describes transmit beam which does not teach time domain resource reservation associated with the second transmission occasion. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang reference is directed to beam pairing in full duplex. The reference also teaches the measurement and reporting of self-interference. It is noted by applicant and the examiner agrees that step 1775 indicates beam resource. However, fig 9 and para 116-117 are directed to time duration for the self-interference measurement configuration and the reporting. Further, para 116 describes dynamic selection of triggering offset between transmission of control signal and the transmission of self-interference signal. The configuration signal for resource indicates time domain resources for the transmission of the self-interference signal. Zhang does not specify the information about transmission occasion of resources is in the sidelink control information. Medina is directed to autonomous resource selection in sidelink including excluding resources reserved by neighboring UEs and teaches SCI carrying TTI information. Thus, Zhang appears to teach the amended claim limitation and Zhang in view of Medina appears to teach the claim limitations of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RINA C PANCHOLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 2/4/2026