DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 12/17/2025.
No claims have been added.
Claim(s) 20-32 has/have been cancelled.
Claims(s) 1-19 and 33 is/are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 12/17/2025, with respect to objection of the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, filed 12/17/2025, with respect to objection of claims 2-17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-12, filed 12/17/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 11, 15-19 and 33 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and claims 3, 9-10 and 12-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lee et al. US 20230276458 in view of Zhou et al. US 20190357300.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 18, 19 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20230276458 in view of Zhou et al. US 20190357300.
As to claim 1:
Lee et al. discloses:
A method of operating a communications device configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a wireless communications network, the method comprising:
operating in one of an idle state and an inactive state and, when operating in the one of the idle state and the inactive state,
receiving, via a broadcasted signal from the wireless communications network, a configuration of at least two bandwidth parts (BWPs) for use by the communications device in transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals from the wireless communications network while remaining in the one of the idle state and the inactive state,
(“When the UE is in the (RRC) idle/inactive state, the UE may maintain the initial DL/UL BWP before entering the connected state. The UE may receive an RRC Setup message or an RRC Resume message in the initial DL BWP, and the corresponding message may include configuration information on one or more UE-dedicated BWPs. Upon receiving the UE-dedicated BWP configuration information, the UE may use an active BWP rather than the initial BWP to perform DL/UL communication with the BS.”; Lee et al.; 0132)
(“On the other hand, when the UE in the (RRC) idle/inactive state activates an MBMS DL BWP in all of the above-described steps, the (RRC) idle/inactive UE may deactivate an initial DL BWP, receive the initial DL BWP and MBMS DL BWP simultaneously, or receive the initial DL BWP and MBMS DL BWP at different times. For example, the UE periodically switches to the MBMS DL BWP (e.g. BWP2) according to the MSS set configuration for a specific MCCH or MSS set configuration for a specific MTCH. After monitoring a PDCCH occasion, the UE may switch back to the initial DL BWP (e.g. BWP1) for a paging occasion (PO) or for serving cell measurement. Alternatively, when the PO of the UE overlaps with PDSCH TB transmission for an MBMS-related CSS/MSS, an MBMS SIB, or an MCCH/MTCH, if the UE is incapable of performing simultaneous reception, the UE may receive the PO with priority, the MBMS SIB with priority, an MCCH CSS set or MCCH TB with priority, or an MTCH MSS set or MTCH TB with priority, which is designated to have high priority by the BS/UE.”; Lee et al.; 0215)
(“When the (RRC) idle/inactive UE activates an MBMS UL BWP in all of the above-described steps, the (RRC) idle/inactive UE may deactivate an initial UL BWP, transmit the initial UL BWP and MBMS UL BWP simultaneously, or transmit the initial UL BWP and MBMS UL BWP at different times. For example, the UE may switch to the MBMS UL BWP to transmit HARQ feedback. After PUCCH HARQ-ACK transmission or PUCCH HARQ feedback transmission for an SIB/MCCH/MTCH TB or after completion of a RACH procedure for HARQ feedback, the UE may switch back to the initial UL BWP for initial access or an SI request.”; Lee et al.; 0216)
(where
“When the UE is in the (RRC) idle/inactive state”/”when the UE in the (RRC) idle/inactive state”/”When the (RRC) idle/inactive” maps to “operating in one of an idle state and an inactive state and, when operating in the one of the idle state and the inactive state”
“The UE may receive an RRC Setup message or an RRC Resume message in the initial DL BWP, and the corresponding message may include configuration information on one or more UE-dedicated BWPs. Upon receiving the UE-dedicated BWP configuration information, the UE may use an active BWP rather than the initial BWP to perform DL/UL communication with the BS” maps to “receiving, via a broadcasted signal from the wireless communications network, a configuration of at least two bandwidth parts, BWPs, for use by the communications device in transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals from the wireless communications network”, where paragraph 0217 of Zhou et al. teaches “RRC may comprise broadcast”, where “one or more UE-dedicated BWPs” maps to “at least two bandwidth parts, BWPs”, “UL/DL communication” maps to “for use by the communications device in transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals from the wireless communications network”, “message…configuration” maps to “a configuration”
“when the UE in the (RRC) idle/inactive state activates an MBMS DL BWP in all of the above-described steps”/”When the (RRC) idle/inactive UE activates an MBMS UL BWP in all of the above-described steps”/FIG. 8/FIG. 9 maps to “while remaining in the one of the idle state and the inactive state”, where “all of the above-described steps” is considered as including the steps as illustrated in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein radio resources forming a first of the BWPs at least partially overlap in both frequency and time with radio resources forming a second of the BWPs, and wherein the first BWP and the second BWP have a same numerology.
However, Zhou et al. further teaches an overlap/same numerology capability which includes:
wherein radio resources forming a first of the BWPs at least partially overlap in both frequency and time with radio resources forming a second of the BWPs, and wherein the first BWP and the second BWP have a same numerology.
(“In an example, the UE may transmit one or more second SP CSI reports with a report periodicity for the second DL BWP, after or in response to the DCI. In an example, a UE may transmit SP CSI reports with a same periodicity for the first DL BWP and the second DL BWP, for example, if the first DL BWP and the second DL BWP are configured with overlapped bandwidth, a same numerology, and/or a same SP CSI resource setting and/or CSI reporting setting. In an example, when receiving a DCI indicating an active BWP switching from a first DL BWP to a second DL BWP, the UE may autonomously perform CSI measurements based on RSs (e.g., SSBs/CSI-RSs) of the second DL BWP. The UE may transmit SP CSI reports for the new BWP based on the CSI measurements.”; Zhou et al.; 0380)
(“a first DL BWP of the first plurality of DL BWPs may be associated with a first PUCCH resource of the one or more PUCCH resources on the UL BWP, a second DL BWP of the first plurality of DL BWPs may be associated with a second PUCCH resource”; Zhou et al.; 0361)
(“Within an SS burst set periodicity, NR-PBCH repeated in one or more SS blocks may change. A set of possible SS block time locations may be specified per frequency band in an RRC message. The maximum number of SS-blocks within SS burst set may be carrier frequency dependent. The position(s) of actual transmitted SS-blocks may be informed at least for helping CONNECTED/IDLE mode measurement, for helping CONNECTED mode UE to receive downlink (DL) data/control in one or more SS-blocks, or for helping IDLE mode UE to receive DL data/control in one or more SS-blocks. A UE may not assume that the gNB transmits the same number of physical beam(s). A UE may not assume the same physical beam(s) across different SS-blocks within an SS burst set. For an initial cell selection, UE may assume default SS burst set periodicity which may be broadcast via an RRC message and frequency band-dependent. At least for multi-beams operation case, the time index of SS-block may be indicated to the UE.”; Zhou et al.; 0213)
(where
“the first DL BWP and the second DL BWP are configured with overlapped bandwidth, a same numerology”/”BWP 4”/”BWP 5”/FIG. 27/”BWP…resource” maps to “wherein radio resources forming a first of the BWPs at least partially overlap in both frequency and time with radio resources forming a second of the BWPs, and wherein the first BWP and the second BWP have a same numerology”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the overlap/same numerology capability of Zhou et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the overlap/same numerology capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhou et al., the benefits of reduced latency (Lee et al.; 0019) with improved delay (Zhou et al.; 0335) are achieved.
As to claim 2:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first BWP has a narrower bandwidth than the second BWP.
However, Zhou et al. further teaches bandwidth capability which includes:
wherein the first BWP has a narrower bandwidth than the second BWP.
(see FIG. 10, BWP1 and BWP2)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the bandwidth capability of Zhou et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the bandwidth capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhou et al., the benefits of reduced latency (Lee et al.; 0019) with improved delay (Zhou et al.; 0335) are achieved.
As to claim 18:
Lee et al. discloses:
A communications device comprising
transceiver circuitry configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from wireless communications networks, and
controller circuitry configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry
to operating in one of an idle state and an inactive state and, when operating in the one of the idle state and the inactive state,
receiving, via a broadcasted signal from the wireless communications network, a configuration of at least two bandwidth parts (BWPs) for use by the communications device in transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals from the wireless communications network while remaining in the one of the idle state and the inactive state,
(“When the UE is in the (RRC) idle/inactive state, the UE may maintain the initial DL/UL BWP before entering the connected state. The UE may receive an RRC Setup message or an RRC Resume message in the initial DL BWP, and the corresponding message may include configuration information on one or more UE-dedicated BWPs. Upon receiving the UE-dedicated BWP configuration information, the UE may use an active BWP rather than the initial BWP to perform DL/UL communication with the BS.”; Lee et al.; 0132)
(“On the other hand, when the UE in the (RRC) idle/inactive state activates an MBMS DL BWP in all of the above-described steps, the (RRC) idle/inactive UE may deactivate an initial DL BWP, receive the initial DL BWP and MBMS DL BWP simultaneously, or receive the initial DL BWP and MBMS DL BWP at different times. For example, the UE periodically switches to the MBMS DL BWP (e.g. BWP2) according to the MSS set configuration for a specific MCCH or MSS set configuration for a specific MTCH. After monitoring a PDCCH occasion, the UE may switch back to the initial DL BWP (e.g. BWP1) for a paging occasion (PO) or for serving cell measurement. Alternatively, when the PO of the UE overlaps with PDSCH TB transmission for an MBMS-related CSS/MSS, an MBMS SIB, or an MCCH/MTCH, if the UE is incapable of performing simultaneous reception, the UE may receive the PO with priority, the MBMS SIB with priority, an MCCH CSS set or MCCH TB with priority, or an MTCH MSS set or MTCH TB with priority, which is designated to have high priority by the BS/UE.”; Lee et al.; 0215)
(“When the (RRC) idle/inactive UE activates an MBMS UL BWP in all of the above-described steps, the (RRC) idle/inactive UE may deactivate an initial UL BWP, transmit the initial UL BWP and MBMS UL BWP simultaneously, or transmit the initial UL BWP and MBMS UL BWP at different times. For example, the UE may switch to the MBMS UL BWP to transmit HARQ feedback. After PUCCH HARQ-ACK transmission or PUCCH HARQ feedback transmission for an SIB/MCCH/MTCH TB or after completion of a RACH procedure for HARQ feedback, the UE may switch back to the initial UL BWP for initial access or an SI request.”; Lee et al.; 0216)
(where
“When the UE is in the (RRC) idle/inactive state”/”when the UE in the (RRC) idle/inactive state”/”When the (RRC) idle/inactive” maps to “operating in one of an idle state and an inactive state and, when operating in the one of the idle state and the inactive state”
“The UE may receive an RRC Setup message or an RRC Resume message in the initial DL BWP, and the corresponding message may include configuration information on one or more UE-dedicated BWPs. Upon receiving the UE-dedicated BWP configuration information, the UE may use an active BWP rather than the initial BWP to perform DL/UL communication with the BS” maps to “receiving, via a broadcasted signal from the wireless communications network, a configuration of at least two bandwidth parts, BWPs, for use by the communications device in transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals from the wireless communications network”, where paragraph 0217 of Zhou et al. teaches “RRC may comprise broadcast”, where “one or more UE-dedicated BWPs” maps to “at least two bandwidth parts, BWPs”, “UL/DL communication” maps to “for use by the communications device in transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals from the wireless communications network”, “message…configuration” maps to “a configuration”
“when the UE in the (RRC) idle/inactive state activates an MBMS DL BWP in all of the above-described steps”/”When the (RRC) idle/inactive UE activates an MBMS UL BWP in all of the above-described steps”/FIG. 8/FIG. 9 maps to “while remaining in the one of the idle state and the inactive state”, where “all of the above-described steps” is considered as including the steps as illustrated in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein radio resources forming a first of the BWPs at least partially overlap in both frequency and time with radio resources forming a second of the BWPs, and wherein the first BWP and the second BWP have a same numerology.
However, Zhou et al. further teaches an overlap/same numerology capability which includes:
wherein radio resources forming a first of the BWPs at least partially overlap in both frequency and time with radio resources forming a second of the BWPs, and wherein the first BWP and the second BWP have a same numerology.
(“In an example, the UE may transmit one or more second SP CSI reports with a report periodicity for the second DL BWP, after or in response to the DCI. In an example, a UE may transmit SP CSI reports with a same periodicity for the first DL BWP and the second DL BWP, for example, if the first DL BWP and the second DL BWP are configured with overlapped bandwidth, a same numerology, and/or a same SP CSI resource setting and/or CSI reporting setting. In an example, when receiving a DCI indicating an active BWP switching from a first DL BWP to a second DL BWP, the UE may autonomously perform CSI measurements based on RSs (e.g., SSBs/CSI-RSs) of the second DL BWP. The UE may transmit SP CSI reports for the new BWP based on the CSI measurements.”; Zhou et al.; 0380)
(“a first DL BWP of the first plurality of DL BWPs may be associated with a first PUCCH resource of the one or more PUCCH resources on the UL BWP, a second DL BWP of the first plurality of DL BWPs may be associated with a second PUCCH resource”; Zhou et al.; 0361)
(“Within an SS burst set periodicity, NR-PBCH repeated in one or more SS blocks may change. A set of possible SS block time locations may be specified per frequency band in an RRC message. The maximum number of SS-blocks within SS burst set may be carrier frequency dependent. The position(s) of actual transmitted SS-blocks may be informed at least for helping CONNECTED/IDLE mode measurement, for helping CONNECTED mode UE to receive downlink (DL) data/control in one or more SS-blocks, or for helping IDLE mode UE to receive DL data/control in one or more SS-blocks. A UE may not assume that the gNB transmits the same number of physical beam(s). A UE may not assume the same physical beam(s) across different SS-blocks within an SS burst set. For an initial cell selection, UE may assume default SS burst set periodicity which may be broadcast via an RRC message and frequency band-dependent. At least for multi-beams operation case, the time index of SS-block may be indicated to the UE.”; Zhou et al.; 0213)
(where
“the first DL BWP and the second DL BWP are configured with overlapped bandwidth, a same numerology”/”BWP 4”/”BWP 5”/FIG. 27/”BWP…resource” maps to “wherein radio resources forming a first of the BWPs at least partially overlap in both frequency and time with radio resources forming a second of the BWPs, and wherein the first BWP and the second BWP have a same numerology”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the overlap/same numerology capability of Zhou et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the overlap/same numerology capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhou et al., the benefits of reduced latency (Lee et al.; 0019) with improved delay (Zhou et al.; 0335) are achieved.
As to claim 19:
Lee et al. discloses:
Circuitry for a communications device comprising
transceiver circuitry configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from wireless communications networks, and
controller circuitry configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry
to operating in one of an idle state and an inactive state and, when operating in the one of the idle state and the inactive state,
receiving, via a broadcasted signal from the wireless communications network, a configuration of at least two bandwidth parts (BWPs) for use by the communications device in transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals from the wireless communications network while remaining in the one of the idle state and the inactive state,
(“When the UE is in the (RRC) idle/inactive state, the UE may maintain the initial DL/UL BWP before entering the connected state. The UE may receive an RRC Setup message or an RRC Resume message in the initial DL BWP, and the corresponding message may include configuration information on one or more UE-dedicated BWPs. Upon receiving the UE-dedicated BWP configuration information, the UE may use an active BWP rather than the initial BWP to perform DL/UL communication with the BS.”; Lee et al.; 0132)
(“On the other hand, when the UE in the (RRC) idle/inactive state activates an MBMS DL BWP in all of the above-described steps, the (RRC) idle/inactive UE may deactivate an initial DL BWP, receive the initial DL BWP and MBMS DL BWP simultaneously, or receive the initial DL BWP and MBMS DL BWP at different times. For example, the UE periodically switches to the MBMS DL BWP (e.g. BWP2) according to the MSS set configuration for a specific MCCH or MSS set configuration for a specific MTCH. After monitoring a PDCCH occasion, the UE may switch back to the initial DL BWP (e.g. BWP1) for a paging occasion (PO) or for serving cell measurement. Alternatively, when the PO of the UE overlaps with PDSCH TB transmission for an MBMS-related CSS/MSS, an MBMS SIB, or an MCCH/MTCH, if the UE is incapable of performing simultaneous reception, the UE may receive the PO with priority, the MBMS SIB with priority, an MCCH CSS set or MCCH TB with priority, or an MTCH MSS set or MTCH TB with priority, which is designated to have high priority by the BS/UE.”; Lee et al.; 0215)
(“When the (RRC) idle/inactive UE activates an MBMS UL BWP in all of the above-described steps, the (RRC) idle/inactive UE may deactivate an initial UL BWP, transmit the initial UL BWP and MBMS UL BWP simultaneously, or transmit the initial UL BWP and MBMS UL BWP at different times. For example, the UE may switch to the MBMS UL BWP to transmit HARQ feedback. After PUCCH HARQ-ACK transmission or PUCCH HARQ feedback transmission for an SIB/MCCH/MTCH TB or after completion of a RACH procedure for HARQ feedback, the UE may switch back to the initial UL BWP for initial access or an SI request.”; Lee et al.; 0216)
(where
“When the UE is in the (RRC) idle/inactive state”/”when the UE in the (RRC) idle/inactive state”/”When the (RRC) idle/inactive” maps to “operating in one of an idle state and an inactive state and, when operating in the one of the idle state and the inactive state”
“The UE may receive an RRC Setup message or an RRC Resume message in the initial DL BWP, and the corresponding message may include configuration information on one or more UE-dedicated BWPs. Upon receiving the UE-dedicated BWP configuration information, the UE may use an active BWP rather than the initial BWP to perform DL/UL communication with the BS” maps to “receiving, via a broadcasted signal from the wireless communications network, a configuration of at least two bandwidth parts, BWPs, for use by the communications device in transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals from the wireless communications network”, where paragraph 0217 of Zhou et al. teaches “RRC may comprise broadcast”, where “one or more UE-dedicated BWPs” maps to “at least two bandwidth parts, BWPs”, “UL/DL communication” maps to “for use by the communications device in transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals from the wireless communications network”, “message…configuration” maps to “a configuration”
“when the UE in the (RRC) idle/inactive state activates an MBMS DL BWP in all of the above-described steps”/”When the (RRC) idle/inactive UE activates an MBMS UL BWP in all of the above-described steps”/FIG. 8/FIG. 9 maps to “while remaining in the one of the idle state and the inactive state”, where “all of the above-described steps” is considered as including the steps as illustrated in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein radio resources forming a first of the BWPs at least partially overlap in both frequency and time with radio resources forming a second of the BWPs, and wherein the first BWP and the second BWP have a same numerology.
However, Zhou et al. further teaches an overlap/same numerology capability which includes:
wherein radio resources forming a first of the BWPs at least partially overlap in both frequency and time with radio resources forming a second of the BWPs, and wherein the first BWP and the second BWP have a same numerology.
(“In an example, the UE may transmit one or more second SP CSI reports with a report periodicity for the second DL BWP, after or in response to the DCI. In an example, a UE may transmit SP CSI reports with a same periodicity for the first DL BWP and the second DL BWP, for example, if the first DL BWP and the second DL BWP are configured with overlapped bandwidth, a same numerology, and/or a same SP CSI resource setting and/or CSI reporting setting. In an example, when receiving a DCI indicating an active BWP switching from a first DL BWP to a second DL BWP, the UE may autonomously perform CSI measurements based on RSs (e.g., SSBs/CSI-RSs) of the second DL BWP. The UE may transmit SP CSI reports for the new BWP based on the CSI measurements.”; Zhou et al.; 0380)
(“a first DL BWP of the first plurality of DL BWPs may be associated with a first PUCCH resource of the one or more PUCCH resources on the UL BWP, a second DL BWP of the first plurality of DL BWPs may be associated with a second PUCCH resource”; Zhou et al.; 0361)
(“Within an SS burst set periodicity, NR-PBCH repeated in one or more SS blocks may change. A set of possible SS block time locations may be specified per frequency band in an RRC message. The maximum number of SS-blocks within SS burst set may be carrier frequency dependent. The position(s) of actual transmitted SS-blocks may be informed at least for helping CONNECTED/IDLE mode measurement, for helping CONNECTED mode UE to receive downlink (DL) data/control in one or more SS-blocks, or for helping IDLE mode UE to receive DL data/control in one or more SS-blocks. A UE may not assume that the gNB transmits the same number of physical beam(s). A UE may not assume the same physical beam(s) across different SS-blocks within an SS burst set. For an initial cell selection, UE may assume default SS burst set periodicity which may be broadcast via an RRC message and frequency band-dependent. At least for multi-beams operation case, the time index of SS-block may be indicated to the UE.”; Zhou et al.; 0213)
(where
“the first DL BWP and the second DL BWP are configured with overlapped bandwidth, a same numerology”/”BWP 4”/”BWP 5”/FIG. 27/”BWP…resource” maps to “wherein radio resources forming a first of the BWPs at least partially overlap in both frequency and time with radio resources forming a second of the BWPs, and wherein the first BWP and the second BWP have a same numerology”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the overlap/same numerology capability of Zhou et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the overlap/same numerology capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhou et al., the benefits of reduced latency (Lee et al.; 0019) with improved delay (Zhou et al.; 0335) are achieved.
As to claim 33:
Lee et al. discloses:
Circuitry for an infrastructure equipment forming part of a wireless communications network, the circuitry comprising
transceiver circuitry configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from communications devices, and
controller circuitry configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry
to transmit, via a broadcasted signal receivable by at least one of the communications devices which is operating in one of an idle state and an inactive state, a configuration of at least two bandwidth parts, BWPs, for use by the infrastructure equipment in transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals from the at least one communications device while the at least one communications device is operating in the one of the idle state and the inactive state,
(“When the UE is in the (RRC) idle/inactive state, the UE may maintain the initial DL/UL BWP before entering the connected state. The UE may receive an RRC Setup message or an RRC Resume message in the initial DL BWP, and the corresponding message may include configuration information on one or more UE-dedicated BWPs. Upon receiving the UE-dedicated BWP configuration information, the UE may use an active BWP rather than the initial BWP to perform DL/UL communication with the BS.”; Lee et al.; 0132)
(“On the other hand, when the UE in the (RRC) idle/inactive state activates an MBMS DL BWP in all of the above-described steps, the (RRC) idle/inactive UE may deactivate an initial DL BWP, receive the initial DL BWP and MBMS DL BWP simultaneously, or receive the initial DL BWP and MBMS DL BWP at different times. For example, the UE periodically switches to the MBMS DL BWP (e.g. BWP2) according to the MSS set configuration for a specific MCCH or MSS set configuration for a specific MTCH. After monitoring a PDCCH occasion, the UE may switch back to the initial DL BWP (e.g. BWP1) for a paging occasion (PO) or for serving cell measurement. Alternatively, when the PO of the UE overlaps with PDSCH TB transmission for an MBMS-related CSS/MSS, an MBMS SIB, or an MCCH/MTCH, if the UE is incapable of performing simultaneous reception, the UE may receive the PO with priority, the MBMS SIB with priority, an MCCH CSS set or MCCH TB with priority, or an MTCH MSS set or MTCH TB with priority, which is designated to have high priority by the BS/UE.”; Lee et al.; 0215)
(“When the (RRC) idle/inactive UE activates an MBMS UL BWP in all of the above-described steps, the (RRC) idle/inactive UE may deactivate an initial UL BWP, transmit the initial UL BWP and MBMS UL BWP simultaneously, or transmit the initial UL BWP and MBMS UL BWP at different times. For example, the UE may switch to the MBMS UL BWP to transmit HARQ feedback. After PUCCH HARQ-ACK transmission or PUCCH HARQ feedback transmission for an SIB/MCCH/MTCH TB or after completion of a RACH procedure for HARQ feedback, the UE may switch back to the initial UL BWP for initial access or an SI request.”; Lee et al.; 0216)
(where
“When the UE is in the (RRC) idle/inactive state”/”when the UE in the (RRC) idle/inactive state”/”When the (RRC) idle/inactive” maps to “operating in one of an idle state and an inactive state and, when operating in the one of the idle state and the inactive state”
“The UE may receive an RRC Setup message or an RRC Resume message in the initial DL BWP, and the corresponding message may include configuration information on one or more UE-dedicated BWPs. Upon receiving the UE-dedicated BWP configuration information, the UE may use an active BWP rather than the initial BWP to perform DL/UL communication with the BS” maps to “receiving, via a broadcasted signal from the wireless communications network, a configuration of at least two bandwidth parts, BWPs, for use by the communications device in transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals from the wireless communications network”, where paragraph 0217 of Zhou et al. teaches “RRC may comprise broadcast”, where “one or more UE-dedicated BWPs” maps to “at least two bandwidth parts, BWPs”, “UL/DL communication” maps to “for use by the communications device in transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals from the wireless communications network”, “message…configuration” maps to “a configuration”
“when the UE in the (RRC) idle/inactive state activates an MBMS DL BWP in all of the above-described steps”/”When the (RRC) idle/inactive UE activates an MBMS UL BWP in all of the above-described steps”/FIG. 8/FIG. 9 maps to “while remaining in the one of the idle state and the inactive state”, where “all of the above-described steps” is considered as including the steps as illustrated in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein radio resources forming a first of the BWPs at least partially overlap in both frequency and time with radio resources forming a second of the BWPs, and wherein the first BWP and the second BWP have a same numerology.
However, Zhou et al. further teaches an overlap/same numerology capability which includes:
wherein radio resources forming a first of the BWPs at least partially overlap in both frequency and time with radio resources forming a second of the BWPs, and wherein the first BWP and the second BWP have a same numerology.
(“In an example, the UE may transmit one or more second SP CSI reports with a report periodicity for the second DL BWP, after or in response to the DCI. In an example, a UE may transmit SP CSI reports with a same periodicity for the first DL BWP and the second DL BWP, for example, if the first DL BWP and the second DL BWP are configured with overlapped bandwidth, a same numerology, and/or a same SP CSI resource setting and/or CSI reporting setting. In an example, when receiving a DCI indicating an active BWP switching from a first DL BWP to a second DL BWP, the UE may autonomously perform CSI measurements based on RSs (e.g., SSBs/CSI-RSs) of the second DL BWP. The UE may transmit SP CSI reports for the new BWP based on the CSI measurements.”; Zhou et al.; 0380)
(“a first DL BWP of the first plurality of DL BWPs may be associated with a first PUCCH resource of the one or more PUCCH resources on the UL BWP, a second DL BWP of the first plurality of DL BWPs may be associated with a second PUCCH resource”; Zhou et al.; 0361)
(“Within an SS burst set periodicity, NR-PBCH repeated in one or more SS blocks may change. A set of possible SS block time locations may be specified per frequency band in an RRC message. The maximum number of SS-blocks within SS burst set may be carrier frequency dependent. The position(s) of actual transmitted SS-blocks may be informed at least for helping CONNECTED/IDLE mode measurement, for helping CONNECTED mode UE to receive downlink (DL) data/control in one or more SS-blocks, or for helping IDLE mode UE to receive DL data/control in one or more SS-blocks. A UE may not assume that the gNB transmits the same number of physical beam(s). A UE may not assume the same physical beam(s) across different SS-blocks within an SS burst set. For an initial cell selection, UE may assume default SS burst set periodicity which may be broadcast via an RRC message and frequency band-dependent. At least for multi-beams operation case, the time index of SS-block may be indicated to the UE.”; Zhou et al.; 0213)
(where
“the first DL BWP and the second DL BWP are configured with overlapped bandwidth, a same numerology”/”BWP 4”/”BWP 5”/FIG. 27/”BWP…resource” maps to “wherein radio resources forming a first of the BWPs at least partially overlap in both frequency and time with radio resources forming a second of the BWPs, and wherein the first BWP and the second BWP have a same numerology”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the overlap/same numerology capability of Zhou et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the overlap/same numerology capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhou et al., the benefits of reduced latency (Lee et al.; 0019) with improved delay (Zhou et al.; 0335) are achieved.
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20230276458 in view of Zhou et al. US 20190357300 and in further view of Xu et al. US 20230284320 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 9/23/2025).
As to claim 3:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the radio resources of the first BWP are fully contained within the radio resources of the second BWP.
However, Xu et al. further teaches a BWP capability which includes:
wherein the radio resources of the first BWP are fully contained within the radio resources of the second BWP.
(“As an illustrative example, during operation a UE may receive or determine a RS configuration having a first bandwidth as shown in FIG. 8. The UE may also receive or determine that an active BWP for connected mode UEs has a second bandwidth as shown in FIG. 8. In FIG. 8, the second bandwidth is smaller than the first bandwidth and overlaps a middle portion of the first bandwidth. A UE in an unconnected mode may determine that a bandwidth for a RS for UEs in an unconnected mode is the overlapped portion in some implementations, that is the overlapped portion between a bandwidth of the RS indicated by the RS configuration provided to the unconnected mode UE and a bandwidth of the active BWP of the connected mode UEs. In other implementations, the UE may determine the bandwidth for the RS for UEs in an unconnected mode is the full bandwidth of the RS configuration or some other portion thereof. Additional examples are provided below.”; Xu et al.; 0124)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the BWP capability of Xu et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the BWP capability as taught by the processing/communications of Xu et al., the benefits of improved unconnected mode operation (Xu et al.; 0087) are achieved.
As to claim 10:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
determining that the communications device is to … receive the data associated with the at least one of the second group of services within the radio resources of the second BWP periodically in accordance with a periodic scheduling of the data associated with the at least one of the second group of services.
However, Xu et al. further teaches a period/paging/data capability which includes:
determining that the communications device is to … receive the data associated with the at least one of the second group of services within the radio resources of the second BWP periodically in accordance with a periodic scheduling of the data associated with the at least one of the second group of services.
(“In some implementations, a network provides both configuration parameters and lifetime/availability of the RS. Due to the periodic behavior (paging scheme) of unconnected UE, a periodic RS will enable enhanced paging reception.”; Xu et al.; 0062)
(“In the example shown in FIG. 4, the base station 105 transmits a paging message 456 after the RS transmission 454. The paging message 456 includes or corresponds to a paging indication or wake-up message. The paging message 456 may indicate that the base station 105 has data for the UE and it may enable the LTE 115 to switch from the unconnected mode to the connected mode.”; Xu et al.; 0085)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the BWP capability of Xu et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the BWP capability as taught by the processing/communications of Xu et al., the benefits of improved unconnected mode operation (Xu et al.; 0087) are achieved.
Claim(s) 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 15, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20230276458 in view of Zhou et al. US 20190357300 and in further view of Yeo et al. US 20220046588 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 9/23/2025).
As to claim 4:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
transmitting to and/or receiving from the wireless communications network, within the radio resources of the first BWP, data associated with a first group of services, and/or
transmitting to and/or receiving from the wireless communications network, within the radio resources of the second BWP, data associated with a second group of services which are different from the first group of services,
wherein data associated with the first group of services can be transmitted and/or received within the radio resources of the first BWP at the same time as data associated with the second group of services is transmitted and/or received within the radio resources of the second BWP.
However, Yeo et al. further teaches an BWP capability which includes:
transmitting to and/or receiving from the wireless communications network, within the radio resources of the first BWP, data associated with a first group of services, and/or
transmitting to and/or receiving from the wireless communications network, within the radio resources of the second BWP, data associated with a second group of services which are different from the first group of services,
wherein data associated with the first group of services can be transmitted and/or received within the radio resources of the first BWP at the same time as data associated with the second group of services is transmitted and/or received within the radio resources of the second BWP.
(“According to an embodiment, when BWP A, which is a groupcast BWP, and BWP B, which is a unicast BWP, are separately configured, the UE may anticipate that one or more of BWP A and BWP B are to be activated. In other words, the UE may anticipate that both BWP A, which is a groupcast BWP, and BWP B, which is a unicast BWP, are to be activated at a specific time and may thus receive both a unicast service and a groupcast service.”; Yeo et al.; 0336)
(“In the case, HARQ feedback information for unicast PDSCH and HARQ feedback information for groupcast PDSCH together may be transmitted from the base station to the UE, which may be called multiplexing….”; Yeo et al.; 0406)
(see Table 30)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the BWP capability of Yeo et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the BWP capability as taught by the processing/communications of You et al., the benefits of reduced latency (Lee et al.; 0019) with reduced power consumption (Yeo et al.; 0313) are achieved.
As to claim 6:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
determining that the communications device is to transmit and/or receive data associated with at least one of the second group of services within the radio resources of the second BWP.
However, Yeo et al. further teaches an BWP capability which includes:
determining that the communications device is to transmit and/or receive data associated with at least one of the second group of services within the radio resources of the second BWP.
(“According to an embodiment, a BWP for groupcast and a BWP for unicast may be separately configured. For example, the base station may configure the UE with a BWP for groupcast, e.g., BWP A, and a BWP for unicast, e.g., BWP B. In this case, the base station may activate BWP A to transmit/receive groupcast control information and groupcast data to/from the UE and activate BWP B to transmit/receive control information for unicast and data for unicast to/from the UE. According to an embodiment, for ease of description, the control information for unicast is referred to as unicast control information, and data for unicast is referred to as unicast data. According to an embodiment, for ease of description, the BWP for groupcast is referred to as a groupcast BWP, and the BWP for unicast is referred to as a unicast BWP. The UE may be configured with BWP A, which is a groupcast BWP, and BWP B, which is a unicast BWP, by the base station and may thus perform transmission/reception of groupcast control information and groupcast data via BWP A and transmission/reception of unicast control information and unicast data via BWP B.”; Yeo et al.; 0334)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the BWP capability of Yeo et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the BWP capability as taught by the processing/communications of You et al., the benefits of reduced latency (Lee et al.; 0019) with reduced power consumption (Yeo et al.; 0313) are achieved.
As to claim 7:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
receiving, from the wireless communications network, a downlink control information, DCI, indicator, and
determining that the communications device is to transmit and/or receive the data associated with the at least one of the second group of services within the radio resources of the second BWP based on the DCI indicator.
However, Yeo et al. further teaches an BWP capability which includes:
determining that the communications device is to transmit and/or receive the data associated with the at least one of the second group of services within the radio resources of the second BWP based on the DCI indicator.
(“According to an embodiment, a BWP for groupcast and a BWP for unicast may be separately configured. For example, the base station may configure the UE with a BWP for groupcast, e.g., BWP A, and a BWP for unicast, e.g., BWP B. In this case, the base station may activate BWP A to transmit/receive groupcast control information and groupcast data to/from the UE and activate BWP B to transmit/receive control information for unicast and data for unicast to/from the UE. According to an embodiment, for ease of description, the control information for unicast is referred to as unicast control information, and data for unicast is referred to as unicast data. According to an embodiment, for ease of description, the BWP for groupcast is referred to as a groupcast BWP, and the BWP for unicast is referred to as a unicast BWP. The UE may be configured with BWP A, which is a groupcast BWP, and BWP B, which is a unicast BWP, by the base station and may thus perform transmission/reception of groupcast control information and groupcast data via BWP A and transmission/reception of unicast control information and unicast data via BWP B.”; Yeo et al.; 0334)
(“If the UE is configured with one or more BWPs, the base station may indicate, to the UE, a change in BWP using the BWP indicator in the DCI.”; 0070)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the BWP capability of Yeo et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the BWP capability as taught by the processing/communications of You et al., the benefits of reduced latency (Lee et al.; 0019) with reduced power consumption (Yeo et al.; 0313) are achieved.
As to claim 8:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the DCI indicator indicates that the communications device is to receive control information for the data associated with the at least one of the second group of services within the radio resources of the first BWP before transmitting and/or receiving the data associated with the at least one of the second group of services within the radio resources of the second BWP in accordance with the control information.
However, Yeo et al. further teaches an BWP capability which includes:
wherein the DCI indicator indicates that the communications device is to receive control information for the data associated with the at least one of the second group of services within the radio resources of the first BWP before transmitting and/or receiving the data associated with the at least one of the second group of services within the radio resources of the second BWP in accordance with the control information.
(“According to an embodiment, a BWP for groupcast and a BWP for unicast may be separately configured. For example, the base station may configure the UE with a BWP for groupcast, e.g., BWP A, and a BWP for unicast, e.g., BWP B. In this case, the base station may activate BWP A to transmit/receive groupcast control information and groupcast data to/from the UE and activate BWP B to transmit/receive control information for unicast and data for unicast to/from the UE. According to an embodiment, for ease of description, the control information for unicast is referred to as unicast control information, and data for unicast is referred to as unicast data. According to an embodiment, for ease of description, the BWP for groupcast is referred to as a groupcast BWP, and the BWP for unicast is referred to as a unicast BWP. The UE may be configured with BWP A, which is a groupcast BWP, and BWP B, which is a unicast BWP, by the base station and may thus perform transmission/reception of groupcast control information and groupcast data via BWP A and transmission/reception of unicast control information and unicast data via BWP B.”; Yeo et al.; 0334)
(“If the UE is configured with one or more BWPs, the base station may indicate, to the UE, a change in BWP using the BWP indicator in the DCI.”; 0070)
(“In a method for configuring a bandwidth part, UEs before RRC connected may receive configuration information for the initial BWP via MIB in the initial access phase. Specifically, the UE may be configured with a control region for a downlink control channel where downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling SIB may be transmitted from the MIB of the physical broadcast channel (PBCH). In this case, the bandwidth of the configured by the MIB may be regarded as the initial BWP, and the UE may receive the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), which transmits the SIB, via the configured initial BWP. The initial BWP may be utilized for other system information (OSI), paging, and random access as well as for receiving SIB.”; Yeo et al.; 0069)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the BWP capability of Yeo et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the BWP capability as taught by the processing/communications of You et al., the benefits of reduced latency (Lee et al.; 0019) with reduced power consumption (Yeo et al.; 0313) are achieved.
As to claim 9:
Lee et al. discloses:
wherein the DCI indicator is a group common DCI indicator which is further received from the wireless communications network by one or more other communications devices.
(“DCI format 0_0 may be used to schedule a TB-based (or TB-level) PUSCH, and DCI format 0_1 may be used to schedule a TB-based (or TB-level) PUSCH or a code block group (CBG)-based (or CBG-level) PUSCH. DCI format 1_0 may be used to schedule a TB-based (or TB-level) PDSCH, and DCI format 1_1 may be used to schedule a TB-based (or TB-level) PDSCH or a CBG-based (or CBG-level) PDSCH (DL grant DCI). DCI format 0_0/0_1 may be referred to as UL grant DCI or UL scheduling information, and DCI format 1_0/1_1 may be referred to as DL grant DCI or DL scheduling information. DCI format 2_0 is used to deliver dynamic slot format information (e.g., a dynamic slot format indicator (SFI)) to a UE, and DCI format 2_1 is used to deliver DL pre-emption information to a UE. DCI format 2_0 and/or DCI format 2_1 may be delivered to a corresponding group of UEs on a group common PDCCH which is a PDCCH directed to a group of UEs.”; Lee et al.; 0121)
As to claim 11:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
determining that the communications device is to stop transmitting and/or receiving the data associated with the at least one of the second group of services within the radio resources of the second BWP, and that the communications device is to transmit and/or receive data associated with at least one of the first group of services within the radio resources of the first BWP.
However, Yeo et al. further teaches an BWP capability which includes:
determining that the communications device is to stop transmitting and/or receiving the data associated with the at least one of the second group of services within the radio resources of the second BWP, and that the communications device is to transmit and/or receive data associated with at least one of the first group of services within the radio resources of the first BWP.
(“According to an embodiment, a BWP for groupcast and a BWP for unicast may be separately configured. For example, the base station may configure the UE with a BWP for groupcast, e.g., BWP A, and a BWP for unicast, e.g., BWP B. In this case, the base station may activate BWP A to transmit/receive groupcast control information and groupcast data to/from the UE and activate BWP B to transmit/receive control information for unicast and data for unicast to/from the UE. According to an embodiment, for ease of description, the control information for unicast is referred to as unicast control information, and data for unicast is referred to as unicast data. According to an embodiment, for ease of description, the BWP for groupcast is referred to as a groupcast BWP, and the BWP for unicast is referred to as a unicast BWP. The UE may be configured with BWP A, which is a groupcast BWP, and BWP B, which is a unicast BWP, by the base station and may thus perform transmission/reception of groupcast control information and groupcast data via BWP A and transmission/reception of unicast control information and unicast data via BWP B.”; Yeo et al.; 0334)
(“According to an embodiment, when BWP A, which is a groupcast BWP, and BWP B, which is a unicast BWP, are separately configured, the UE may anticipate that either BWP A or BWP B is to be activated. In other words, the UE may anticipate that only one BWP is to be activated at a specific time and may thus receive either a unicast service or a groupcast service.”; Yeo et al.; 0335)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the BWP capability of Yeo et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the BWP capability as taught by the processing/communications of You et al., the benefits of reduced latency (Lee et al.; 0019) with reduced power consumption (Yeo et al.; 0313) are achieved.
As to claim 15:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
receiving, from the wireless communications, a configuration of a control resource set, CORESET, the CORESET being specific to the second group of services and being for use by the communications device in receiving a control channel for at least one of the second group of services.
However, Yeo et al. further teaches an BWP capability which includes:
receiving, from the wireless communications, a configuration of a control resource set, CORESET, the CORESET being specific to the second group of services and being for use by the communications device in receiving a control channel for at least one of the second group of services.
(“Whether or not to support a groupcast service in any BWP may be implicitly determined based on other configuration information. For example, the base station may configure the UE to monitor PDCCH for groupcast in a specific BWP, and the UE may regard the BWP configured to monitor PDCCH for groupcast as a groupcast BWP. According to an embodiment, PDCCH for groupcast is referred to as a groupcast PDCCH for convenience of description. The method for configuring to monitor the groupcast PDCCH may include, e.g., a method for configuring a CORESET for groupcast, a method for configuring a search space for groupcast, a method for configuring to monitor a DCI format for groupcast, and a method for configuring to monitor a DCI format scrambled to RNTI.”; Yeo et al.; 0345)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the BWP capability of Yeo et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the BWP capability as taught by the processing/communications of You et al., the benefits of reduced latency (Lee et al.; 0019) with reduced power consumption (Yeo et al.; 0313) are achieved.
As to claim 16:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the CORESET is located within the radio resources of the first BWP.
However, Yeo et al. further teaches an BWP capability which includes:
wherein the CORESET is located within the radio resources of the first BWP.
(“Method B1 is a method of transmitting groupcast control information and groupcast data in an initial BWP. Here, a CORESET for groupcast may be configured to transmit groupcast control information in the initial BWP.”; Yeo et al.; 0357)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the BWP capability of Yeo et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the BWP capability as taught by the processing/communications of You et al., the benefits of reduced latency (Lee et al.; 0019) with reduced power consumption (Yeo et al.; 0313) are achieved.
As to claim 17:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
receiving, from the wireless communications network, an indication of one or more search spaces within the CORESET, each of the one or more search spaces being associated with one of the second group of services and being for monitoring by the communications device for a control channel for the associated one of the second group of services.
However, Yeo et al. further teaches an BWP capability which includes:
receiving, from the wireless communications network, an indication of one or more search spaces within the CORESET, each of the one or more search spaces being associated with one of the second group of services and being for monitoring by the communications device for a control channel for the associated one of the second group of services.
(“Whether or not to support a groupcast service in any BWP may be implicitly determined based on other configuration information. For example, the base station may configure the UE to monitor PDCCH for groupcast in a specific BWP, and the UE may regard the BWP configured to monitor PDCCH for groupcast as a groupcast BWP. According to an embodiment, PDCCH for groupcast is referred to as a groupcast PDCCH for convenience of description. The method for configuring to monitor the groupcast PDCCH may include, e.g., a method for configuring a CORESET for groupcast, a method for configuring a search space for groupcast, a method for configuring to monitor a DCI format for groupcast, and a method for configuring to monitor a DCI format scrambled to RNTI.”; Yeo et al.; 0345)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the BWP capability of Yeo et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the BWP capability as taught by the processing/communications of You et al., the benefits of reduced latency (Lee et al.; 0019) with reduced power consumption (Yeo et al.; 0313) are achieved.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20230276458 in view of Zhou et al. US 20190357300 and in further view of Yeo et al. US 20220046588 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 9/23/2025) and Agiwal US 20190200396(cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 9/23/2025).
As to claim 12:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the determination is made by the communications device based on the communications device not having transmitted or received any data associated with the at least one of the second group of services within the radio resources of the second BWP for a predetermined period of time.
However, Agiwal et al. further teaches an inactivity timer/start/restart capability which includes:
wherein the determination is made by the communications device based on the communications device not having transmitted or received any data associated with the at least one of the second group of services within the radio resources of the second BWP for a predetermined period of time.
(“When BA is configured, the UE only has to monitor PDCCH on the one active BWP i.e. it does not have to monitor PDCCH on the entire DL frequency of the serving cell. A serving cell is configured with one or more BWPs, and for a serving cell, there is always one active BWP at any point in time. The BWP switching for a serving cell is used to activate an inactive BWP and deactivate an active BWP at a time. The BWP switching is controlled by the PDCCH indicating a downlink assignment or an uplink grant, or by RRC signaling. Additionally, a BWP inactivity timer is used to switch the active DL BWP to the default DL BWP or initial DL BWP of a serving cell. One of the configured BWPs of a serving cell can be a default DL BWP and is indicated in BWP configuration received from gNB. Initial DL BWP is also signaled (either in system information or in dedicated signaling). One of the configured BWPs of a serving cell can be a first active DL BWP and is indicated in BWP configuration received from gNB. It is to be noted that BWP inactivity timer may or may not be configured in BWP configuration of each serving cell received from gNB. BWP inactivity timer if configured, is signaled independently for each serving cell. None or multiple serving cells may be configured with BWP inactivity timer.”; Agiwal; 0120)
(“If BWP inactivity timer is configured for an activated serving cell, the MAC entity in UE shall for this activated Serving Cell performs the following operations according to the current procedure: [0123] A) If the Default-DL-BWP is configured, and the active DL BWP is not the BWP indicated by the Default-DL-BWP; or if the Default-DL-BWP is not configured, and the active DL BWP is not the initial DL BWP: [0124] i. if a PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI or CS-RNTI indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant is received on the active BWP; or if a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured uplink grant or received in a configured downlink assignment; [0125] 1. start or restart the BWP-InactivityTimer associated with the active DL BWP”; Agiwal; 0122)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the inactivity timer/start/restart capability of Agiwal into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the inactivity timer/start/restart capability as taught by the processing/communications of Agiwal, the benefits of improved random access (Agiwal; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 13:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the predetermined period of time is determined by the communications device to have elapsed based on the expiry of an inactivity timer.
However, Agiwal et al. further teaches an inactivity timer/start/restart/expiration capability which includes:
wherein the predetermined period of time is determined by the communications device to have elapsed based on the expiry of an inactivity timer.
(“When BA is configured, the UE only has to monitor PDCCH on the one active BWP i.e. it does not have to monitor PDCCH on the entire DL frequency of the serving cell. A serving cell is configured with one or more BWPs, and for a serving cell, there is always one active BWP at any point in time. The BWP switching for a serving cell is used to activate an inactive BWP and deactivate an active BWP at a time. The BWP switching is controlled by the PDCCH indicating a downlink assignment or an uplink grant, or by RRC signaling. Additionally, a BWP inactivity timer is used to switch the active DL BWP to the default DL BWP or initial DL BWP of a serving cell. One of the configured BWPs of a serving cell can be a default DL BWP and is indicated in BWP configuration received from gNB. Initial DL BWP is also signaled (either in system information or in dedicated signaling). One of the configured BWPs of a serving cell can be a first active DL BWP and is indicated in BWP configuration received from gNB. It is to be noted that BWP inactivity timer may or may not be configured in BWP configuration of each serving cell received from gNB. BWP inactivity timer if configured, is signaled independently for each serving cell. None or multiple serving cells may be configured with BWP inactivity timer.”; Agiwal; 0120)
(“If BWP inactivity timer is configured for an activated serving cell, the MAC entity in UE shall for this activated Serving Cell performs the following operations according to the current procedure: [0123] A) If the Default-DL-BWP is configured, and the active DL BWP is not the BWP indicated by the Default-DL-BWP; or if the Default-DL-BWP is not configured, and the active DL BWP is not the initial DL BWP: [0124] i. if a PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI or CS-RNTI indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant is received on the active BWP; or if a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured uplink grant or received in a configured downlink assignment; [0125] 1. start or restart the BWP-InactivityTimer associated with the active DL BWP”; Agiwal; 0122)
(“[0121] In fifth generation wireless communication system UE may perform random access procedure for various reasons such as for UL timing alignment, requesting UL grant or for requesting on demand SI etc. During the random access procedure if BWP is switched (e.g. if BWP inactivity timer expires) then UE will have to abort the ongoing random access procedure and restart it again in newly activated BWP. This leads to increased delay in completing the random access procedure. So, a method to minimize the interruption is needed.”; Agiwal; 0121)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the inactivity timer/start/restart capability of Agiwal into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the inactivity timer/start/restart capability as taught by the processing/communications of Agiwal, the benefits of improved random access (Agiwal; Abstract) are achieved.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20230276458 in view of Zhou et al. US 20190357300 and in further view of Yeo et al. US 20220046588 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 9/23/2025) and Agiwal US 20190200396 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 9/23/2025) and Islam et al. US 20220159574 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 9/23/2025).
As to claim 14:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the predetermined period of time is determined by the communications device to have elapsed in accordance with a discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation of the communications device.
However, Islam et al. further teaches a DRX cycle/switch capability which includes:
wherein the predetermined period of time is determined by the communications device to have elapsed in accordance with a discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation of the communications device.
(“…In one example, the UE may switch to the new BWP in the next DRX cycle after the sleep duration indicated by the GTS signalling expires or the UE may switch to the new BWP after the end of the current DRX cycle or in next Nth DRX cycle, N=>1…”; Islam et al.; 0187)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the DRX cycle/switch capability of Islam et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the DRX cycle/switch capability as taught by the processing/communications of Islam et al., the benefits of improved wake-up (Islam et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS
Examiner
Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464