DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 6/16/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-7,9-10,13-14,16-21 and 24-28 are pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 2/20/2026. However, the amendment to claim 10 does not add sufficient structure to avoid being interpreted under 112(f). The amendment to claim 10 includes further functional limitations to the generic term.
Claim Objections
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: “downstream the pump” should be corrected to “downstream of the pump” or similarly for clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a manual separator unit” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9-10, 13-14, 17-21, 24-25, and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry (US 20190224402 A1), in view of Senff (US 20170209234 A1), and further in view of Skwarek (US 20060265031 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 27, Henry discloses a portable bowel irrigating system for irrigating the bowels of a user (abstract, [0002], and [0161]; “a trans-anal irrigation (TAI) device which is shown generally at 410 in FIG. 28”), comprising: a base unit comprising a power supply being a motor (pump base unit 412 comprising an electric motor 506, [0161] and [0173] & Fig. 32);
a liquid container for an irrigation liquid (reservoir 414, [0161]-[0162] & Fig. 28) comprising an irrigation liquid outlet guide (“The base plate 428 includes a projecting tube (not shown) that engages a valve in the pump base unit 412 to provide selectable fluid communication between the interior of the reservoir and a conduit joined to one of the pump flow control valves.”, [0163]; the projecting tube is being interpreted as an irrigation liquid outlet guide as the tube connects to unit 412 to provide selectable fluid communication; the projecting tube being synonymous to check valve 218 of reservoir 210, see [0134] and [0138] & Fig. 16 and 18), the container configured to be removably connected to the base unit (irrigation fluid reservoir 414 configured to removably connected to unit 412, see [0163]; “the reservoir 414 can be easily removed from the pump base unit 412”, [0194]);
The Examiner notes that the pump base units 12, 212, and 412 and reservoirs 212 and 412 are similar structures that would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to include similar components, many of which are referenced using the same ending digits. Henry discloses that “Turning now to details of the pump base unit 212 as shown in FIG. 18, while an irrigation water pump, flow control valves, an electronic controller and batteries therefor are not shown here, it can be seen that the pump base unit has space underneath the floor 236 and the trough's bottom wall 242 for receiving these components.”, ([0139]), and
“The base plate 428 includes a projecting tube (not shown) that engages a valve in the pump base unit 412 to provide selectable fluid communication between the interior of the reservoir and a conduit joined to one of the pump flow control valves. The projecting tube engages a valve that automatically closes when the reservoir is removed from the pump base unit 412 and automatically opens when the reservoir is mounted on the pump base unit 412.” ([0163]).
The valve and conduit in the pump base unit 412, as described above in [0163], would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to be in reference to a valve and conduit as described in reference to pump base unit 212, including aperture 244 and the conduit defined by ring 274, disc 276, boss 278, and nipple 280. The projecting tube of base plate 438, as described in [0163], would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to be in reference to check valve 218 as described in reference to reservoir 210 ([0134] and [0138] & Fig. 16 and 18).
Therefore, pump base unit 212 and reservoir 210, and its corresponding features, can reasonably be interpreted to be included in pump unit base 412 and reservoir 414, as a fluid connection between pump base unit 412 and reservoir 414 would necessarily be included (see reservoir conduit 542 and pump inlet conduit 544, [0176] & Fig. 28 and 33);
a pump cartridge comprising an irrigation liquid inlet (pump base unit 212 comprising an aperture 244 “which communicates with a conduit below the floor”, [0136] & Fig. 17-20; the conduit is defined by ring 274, disc 276, boss 278, and nipple 280, see [0140]-[0141] & Fig. 18-20) and a pump mechanism configured to be actuated by the power supply (pump 508 is configured to be actuated by electric motor 506, [0141], [0176], and [0198] & Fig. 23 and 28-33; pump 508 and pump base unit 212 may be interpreted as the pump cartridge as pump base unit 212 and pump 508 constitute a container that holds a device or material, or a cartridge);
the pump cartridge and the irrigation liquid inlet connected to the base unit such that the irrigation liquid inlet is in communication with the irrigation liquid outlet guide in the base unit (pump base 212, comprising aperture 244 and the conduit, is connected to base unit 414 such that aperture 244 and the conduit are in communication with check valve 218, or the projecting tube of base plate 428, [0134] and [0138] & Fig. 16, 18, and 28; when connected, check valve 218 and aperture 244, with the conduit, are located in base unit 412, see Fig. 28);
an anal probe (disposable rectal catheter 420, [0161] & Fig. 28);
a first tubing attached to the pump cartridge and configured to provide at least a portion of an irrigation liquid flow path from the pump cartridge towards the anal probe (fluid tubing 416 attached to fitting 498, synonymous to fitting 234 of unit 212 which “provide attachment points for connectors of the fluid tubing used to provide fluid communication between the pump base unit and the catheter”, see [0136] and [0171] & Fig. 17, 28, and 32; tubing 416 provides a portion of the flow path for irrigation fluid to flow from pump base unit 212/412 toward catheter 420, [0141]; “This permits flow to the catheter lumen 486 of the fluid tubing 416 via the catheter branch 556, the catheter supply line 562 to the catheter lumen 486. From there water flows to the middle pipe 480 in the hub 418, to the catheter duct 470 in the manifold 460 and from there to the main passage 462 in the shaft 436 and ultimately out the apertures 446 to the rectum, as indicated in FIG. 42.”, [0186] & Fig. 28, 33, and 42);
wherein the power supply is configured to actuate the pump mechanism (electric motor 110 facilitates actuation of pump 108, synonymous to electric motor 506 facilitating actuation of pump 508, [0112] and [0173] & Fig. 8 and 32) and move the irrigation liquid from the liquid container into the irrigation liquid inlet of the pump cartridge, through the irrigation liquid flow path of the first tubing, and to the anal probe (“The condition of the hydraulic control circuit during stage 3 is shown in FIG. 41. The reservoir flow director valve 510 opens the pump inlet conduit 544 and closes the reservoir recirculation conduit 546. The pump flow director valve 512 closes the pump recirculation conduit 552 and opens the distributor conduit 554. The balloon and waste valves 516, 518 remain closed while the catheter valve 514 is opened. This permits flow to the catheter lumen 486 of the fluid tubing 416 via the catheter branch 556, the catheter supply line 562 to the catheter lumen 486. From there water flows to the middle pipe 480 in the hub 418, to the catheter duct 470 in the manifold 460 and from there to the main passage 462 in the shaft 436 and ultimately out the apertures 446 to the rectum, as indicated in FIG. 42.”, [0186] and [0176] & Fig. 33 and 41; pump 508 and motor 506 move irrigation fluid from reservoir 414 into aperture 244, to pump 508, and through tubing 416 to catheter 420; “The nipple 280 has an internal passageway 282 and is suitable for connecting tubing (not shown) inside the pump base unit 212 to the pump, which is also in the pump base unit.”, [0141] & Fig. 23; also see [0176] & Fig. 28-33).
Henry discloses that “it can be seen that the pump base unit [212] has space underneath the floor 236 and the trough's bottom wall 242 for receiving these components” ([0139]) but fails to explicitly disclose the pump cartridge configured to be removably attachable in the base unit.
However, Senff teaches a portable hollow cavity irrigating system (oral irrigator 100 including a base 102, [0066] & Fig. 1A and 3A-4) comprising a pump cartridge (upper housing 180 of base 102, [0073] & Fig. 3A and 4) comprising an irrigation liquid inlet (reservoir aperture 156 defined in upper housing 180 of base 102, [0135] & Fig. 3A and 4) and configured to be removably attachable in the base unit (“the base 102 includes a lower housing 178, an upper housing 180, a face plate 182, and a trim ring 126, each of which interconnect together.”, [0073]; “With reference to FIG. 4, once the internal components are connected together and received within the lower housing 178, the upper housing 180 is secured to the lower housing 178.” and “The upper housing 180 is secured in a number of different manners, such as press fit,… fasteners, or the like.”, [0130]; upper housing 108 of base 102 is capable of being removably attachable to lower housing 178 of base 102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pump cartridge of Henry with Senff to include the pump cartridge configured to be removably attachable in the base unit using a press fit since such a modification would allow a user to install and connect internal components of the base unit (see [0130] of Senff) and be able to later access any internal components for maintenance or modification.
As modified, pump base unit 412, including the features of pump base unit 212, would be separable into an upper housing, like upper housing 180 of Senff, and a lower housing, like lower housing 178 of Senff. The upper housing of pump base unit 412 would include the features of pump base 212, including aperture 244 and the conduit, which would define a pump cartridge and be removably attachable to a lower housing of pump base unit 412, as illustrated in Fig. 32, which would define a base unit.
Further, Skwarek teaches a portable irrigating system (abstract and [0040] & Fig. 1) comprising a pump mechanism configured to be removably attachable in the base unit (fluid pump 63 configured to be to removably attached in device housing 19 with securing mechanisms 69A and 69B, which are latches that snap over a base of fluid pump 63 to hold pump 63 in place, [0053], [0082], and [0084]-[0088] & Fig. 6; ”pins, screws, sliding guides, or another type of mechanism may secure fluid pump 63 within pump bay 29.”, [0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pump mechanism of Henry, as modified, with Skwarek to be removably attachable in the base unit since such a modification would allow a user or a physician to remove the pump in the event the fluid pump fails or a different fluid pump is needed and allow the system to be used with a variety of therapies or be upgradable ([0082] of Skwarek). As modified, pump 508 would be removably attached in base unit 412 through latches or sliding guides 69A and 69B of Skwarek.
Regarding claim 7, Henry, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Henry discloses a check valve 218 positioned in reservoir 210 configured to be actuated by boss 278 (see [0146]-[0147] & Fig. 18-24) but fails to explicitly disclose the system wherein the irrigation liquid inlet in the pump cartridge comprises a check valve.
However, Senff further discloses the system wherein the irrigation liquid inlet in the pump cartridge comprises a check valve (reservoir valve 158 in reservoir aperture 156, [0135] & Fig. 3A and 3D; reservoir port 142 activates valve 158 to allow flow from the reservoir).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the check valve of Henry with Senff to include the irrigation liquid inlet in the pump cartridge comprising a check valve since such a modification is taught by Senff to be an art effective configuration for a flow restricting valve between an attachable reservoir and a base unit (see [0135] of Senff). As modified, check valve 218 would be positioned in aperture 244 of Henry, like valve 158 in aperture 156 of Senff.
Regarding claim 9, Henry, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Henry further discloses the system comprising a casing of the pump cartridge (shell or housing 228, including perimeter wall 230, is being interpreted as a casing of pump base unit 212, see [0136] & Fig. 17-18) but fails to explicitly disclose the system wherein the power supply comprises at least one shaft connected to the motor and extending through a casing of the pump cartridge.
However, Senff further teaches a power supply (power assembly 134, power connector socket 136, and wires 254, [0085] & Fig. 6B) comprises at least one shaft connected to the motor (wires 254, which is long slender cylindrical component and can be interpreted as shaft, are electrically connected to motor 218, [0085] & Fig. 6B). Wires 254 are taught to “run in a space between the lower housing 178 and the upper housing 180 above the power block cavity 174 (shown in FIGS. 6A-6D).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the power supply of Henry with Senff to include at least one shaft connected to the motor since such a modification would provide structure to electrically connect the motor to power (see [0085] of Senff).
Henry discloses the “while an irrigation water pump, flow control valves, an electronic controller and batteries therefor are not shown here, it can be seen that the pump base unit [212] has space underneath the floor 236 and the trough's bottom wall 242 for receiving these components.” ([1039]). As modified, wires 254 would be disposed in and spread through, or extend through, housing 228, inside of the space defined by perimeter wall 230, which is explicitly disclosed as intended to house electronic structures.
Regarding claim 10, Henry, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Henry further discloses the system further comprising a manual separator unit located in the irrigation liquid flow path downstream of the pump cartridge (connector hub 418 comprising nipple 456 configured to engage tubing 416, downstream of pump base unit 212/412, [0166] & Fig. 28 and 38-39), wherein the manual separator unit is releasably connectable to the anal probe (“the hub 418 has a U-shaped configuration in the nature of a clevis. One of the two arms of the clevis is seen at 450. Together the two arms define in the hub a slot at 452 which releasably receives the catheter shaft 436 and its manifold”, [0166]; shaft 436 being part of catheter 420, [0165] & Fig. 39).
Regarding claim 13, Henry, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Henry further discloses the system wherein the anal probe comprises a catheter portion (catheter 420 comprises a hollow shaft 436, [0165] & Fig. 28-39) and a handle portion (manifold 460 of catheter 420, [0167] & Fig. 33, which may be interpreted as a handle portion considering it can be held be a user).
Regarding claim 14, Henry, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Henry further discloses the system wherein the base unit comprises one and only one control button configured to power up the irrigation system (“A power button on the outside of the shell turns the pump base unit on and off.”, [0112]), with the system further comprising a remote control unit adapted to wirelessly control flow of the irrigation liquid (a wireless controller 422, [0161] & Fig. 28; see [0117], [0178], and [0183]).
Regarding claim 17, Henry, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Henry further discloses the system wherein the first tubing comprises a double-lumen tube (fluid tubing 416 comprises a catheter lumen 486 and a balloon lumen 484, [0170] & Fig. 33).
Regarding claim 18, Henry, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Henry, as modified, further discloses the system wherein the base unit includes a socket configured to receive the pump cartridge (as modified, the space in which the upper housing of unit 412 including the features of base unit 212 is connected/inserted, and the space in which pump 508 is seen disposed in Fig. 32, is being interpreted as a socket included in the lower housing of base unit 414).
Regarding claim 19, Henry, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Henry, as modified, further discloses the system wherein the irrigation liquid inlet of the pump cartridge is provided in a top wall of a casing of the pump cartridge (aperture 244 is provided in bottom wall 242 of shell or housing 228, which is being interpreted as a casing, see [0136] & Fig. 17-18).
Regarding claim 20, Henry, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Henry further discloses the system further comprising a second flow path for supplying liquid to an inflatable balloon provided on the anal probe (flow path from reservoir 414 to retention balloon 448 provided on catheter 420, [0165] and [0184] & Fig. 28, 33, and 38-39; also see [0170] and [0176] ).
Regarding claim 21, Henry, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Henry further discloses the system further comprising a remote-control configured to communicate wirelessly with the base unit to allow controlling of the irrigation system (a wireless controller 422, [0161] & Fig. 28; see [0117], [0178], and [0183]).
Regarding claim 24, Henry, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Henry further discloses the system wherein the pump cartridge is configured to be removably attachable in the base unit without tools (as modified, the upper housing of pump base unit 412 is configured to be connected to the lower housing of base unit 414 with a press fit, see claim 1 above and [0130] of Senff; a press fit allows for manual attachment and removal; as modified, pump 508 is attached with latches or sliding guides, which allows for manual attachment and removal, see claim 1 above and [0088] of Skwarek).
Regarding claim 25, Henry, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Henry further discloses the system configured such that the irrigation liquid is not in contact with the pump mechanism (fluid flows through internal tubing which provides various fluid connections among the valves, the pump, and the fitting 498, [0173]; see Fig. 33 and the hydraulic control circuit).
Regarding claim 28, Henry discloses a portable bowel irrigating system for irrigating bowels of a user (abstract, [0002], and [0161]; “a trans-anal irrigation (TAI) device which is shown generally at 410 in FIG. 28”), comprising: a base unit comprising a motor (pump base unit 412 comprising motor 506, [0161] and [0173] & Fig. 32); a liquid container for an irrigation liquid, the liquid container configured to be removably connected to the base unit in a first direction relative to the base unit (irrigation fluid reservoir 414 configured to removably connected to unit 412, see [0163]; “the reservoir 414 can be easily removed from the pump base unit 412”, [0194]; reservoir 414 configured to be removed in a vertical direction); a pump cartridge comprising an irrigation liquid inlet (pump base unit 212 comprising an aperture 244 “which communicates with a conduit below the floor”, [0136] & Fig. 17-20; the conduit is defined by ring 274, disc 276, boss 278, and nipple 280, see [0140]-[0141] & Fig. 18-20);
The Examiner notes that the pump base units 12, 212, and 412 are all similar structures that would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to include similar components, many of which are referenced using the same ending digits. Henry discloses that “Turning now to details of the pump base unit 212 as shown in FIG. 18, while an irrigation water pump, flow control valves, an electronic controller and batteries therefor are not shown here, it can be seen that the pump base unit has space underneath the floor 236 and the trough's bottom wall 242 for receiving these components.”, ([0139]), and
“The base plate 428 includes a projecting tube (not shown) that engages a valve in the pump base unit 412 to provide selectable fluid communication between the interior of the reservoir and a conduit joined to one of the pump flow control valves. The projecting tube engages a valve that automatically closes when the reservoir is removed from the pump base unit 412 and automatically opens when the reservoir is mounted on the pump base unit 412.” ([0163]).
The valve and conduit in the pump base unit 412, as described above in [0163], would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to be in reference to a valve and conduit as described in reference to pump base unit 212, including aperture 244 and the conduit defined by ring 274, disc 276, boss 278, and nipple 280. Therefore, pump base unit 212, and its corresponding features, can reasonably be interpreted to be included in pump unit base 412, as a fluid connection between pump base unit 412 and reservoir 414 would necessarily be included (see reservoir conduit 542 and pump inlet conduit 544, [0176] & Fig. 28 and 33).
an anal probe (disposable rectal catheter 420, [0161] & Fig. 28);
a first tubing attached to the pump cartridge and configured to provide at least a portion of an irrigation liquid flow path from the pump cartridge towards the anal probe (fluid tubing 416 attached to fitting 498, synonymous to fitting 234 of unit 212 which “provide attachment points for connectors of the fluid tubing used to provide fluid communication between the pump base unit and the catheter”, see [0136] and [0171] & Fig. 17, 28, and 32; tubing 416 provides a portion of the flow path for irrigation fluid to flow from pump base unit 212/412 toward catheter 420, [0141]; “This permits flow to the catheter lumen 486 of the fluid tubing 416 via the catheter branch 556, the catheter supply line 562 to the catheter lumen 486. From there water flows to the middle pipe 480 in the hub 418, to the catheter duct 470 in the manifold 460 and from there to the main passage 462 in the shaft 436 and ultimately out the apertures 446 to the rectum, as indicated in FIG. 42.”, [0186] & Fig. 28, 33, and 42); wherein the base unit comprises a power supply configured to actuate the motor (rechargeable battery pack 120 for powering pump 108 and electric motor 110, which are synonymous to pump 508 and electric motor 506, [0112] and [0173] & Fig. 8 and 32) and move the irrigation liquid from the liquid container into the irrigation liquid inlet of the pump cartridge, through the irrigation liquid flow path of the first tubing, and to the anal probe (“The condition of the hydraulic control circuit during stage 3 is shown in FIG. 41. The reservoir flow director valve 510 opens the pump inlet conduit 544 and closes the reservoir recirculation conduit 546. The pump flow director valve 512 closes the pump recirculation conduit 552 and opens the distributor conduit 554. The balloon and waste valves 516, 518 remain closed while the catheter valve 514 is opened. This permits flow to the catheter lumen 486 of the fluid tubing 416 via the catheter branch 556, the catheter supply line 562 to the catheter lumen 486. From there water flows to the middle pipe 480 in the hub 418, to the catheter duct 470 in the manifold 460 and from there to the main passage 462 in the shaft 436 and ultimately out the apertures 446 to the rectum, as indicated in FIG. 42.”, [0186] and [0176] & Fig. 33 and 41; pump 508 and motor 506 move irrigation fluid from reservoir 414 into aperture 244, to pump 508, and through tubing 416 to catheter 420; “The nipple 280 has an internal passageway 282 and is suitable for connecting tubing (not shown) inside the pump base unit 212 to the pump, which is also in the pump base unit.”, [0141] & Fig. 23; also see [0176] & Fig. 28-33).
However, Henry fails to explicitly disclose a pump cartridge configured to be removably attachable in the base unit in a second direction relative to the base unit, the first and second directions being angularly offset.
However, Senff teaches a portable hollow cavity irrigating system (oral irrigator 100 including a base 102, [0066] & Fig. 1A and 3A-4) comprising a pump cartridge (upper housing 180 of base 102, [0073] & Fig. 3A and 4) comprising an irrigation liquid inlet (reservoir aperture 156 defined in upper housing 180 of base 102, [0135] & Fig. 3A and 4) and configured to be removably attachable in the base unit (“the base 102 includes a lower housing 178, an upper housing 180, a face plate 182, and a trim ring 126, each of which interconnect together.”, [0073]; “With reference to FIG. 4, once the internal components are connected together and received within the lower housing 178, the upper housing 180 is secured to the lower housing 178.” and “The upper housing 180 is secured in a number of different manners, such as press fit,… fasteners, or the like.”, [0130]; upper housing 108 of base 102 is capable of being removably attachable to lower housing 178 of base 102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pump cartridge of Henry with Senff to include the pump cartridge configured to be removably attachable in the base unit using a press fit since such a modification would allow a user to install and connect internal components of the base unit (see [0130] of Senff) and be able to later access any internal components for maintenance or modification.
As modified, pump base unit 412, including the features of pump base unit 212, would be separable into an upper housing, like upper housing 180 of Senff, and a lower housing, like lower housing 178 of Senff. The upper housing of pump base unit 412 would include the features of pump base 212, including aperture 244 and the conduit, which would define a pump cartridge and be removably attachable to a lower housing of pump base unit 412, as illustrated in Fig. 32, which would define a base unit.
As combined, the upper housing of pump base unit 412 would be capable of being removably attachable in the lower housing of pump base unit 412 in a second direction relative to the base unit, the first and second directions being angularly offset, as the press fit arrangement would allow for a user to begin attachment and/or finish removal of the upper housing of pump base unit 412 at an angle relative to the vertical direction.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry (US 20190224402 A1), in view of Senff (US 20170209234 A1), in view of Skwarek (US 20060265031 A1), and further in view of Hvid (WO 2018188710 A1).
Regarding claims 2-3, Henry, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. However, Henry fails to explicitly disclose the system comprising a pressure regulator provided in the irrigation liquid flow path between the pump cartridge and the anal probe, with the first tubing connected between the pump cartridge and the pressure regulator, and
further comprising a second tubing attachable between the pressure regulator and the anal probe such that the first tubing, the pressure regulator and the second tubing combine to form the irrigation liquid flow path from the pump cartridge to the anal probe.
However, Hvid teaches a portable bowel irrigating system (abstract) comprising a pressure regulator provided in the irrigation liquid flow path between the pump cartridge and the anal probe (user interface housing 22 comprising a first pressure sensor 72 and a second pressure sensor 76, page 8 lines 6-26 and page 11 lines 1-26 & Fig. 1 and 4; interface 22 is provided between reservoir housing 18, which includes a pump operable to pump irrigation liquid from reservoir 4, and catheter 14, page 8 lines 6-26 & Fig. 1), with the first tubing connected between the pump cartridge and the pressure regulator (first tubing part 32 connected between reservoir housing 18 and interface 22, page 8 lines 6-26 & Fig. 1; “. The first tubing part 32 extends between the reservoir housing 18 and a user control interface housing 22”), and
further comprising a second tubing (second tubing 34, Fig. 1) attachable between the pressure regulator and the anal probe such that the first tubing, the pressure regulator and the second tubing combine to form the irrigation liquid flow path from the pump cartridge to the anal probe (“The tubing system 6 comprises a first tubing part 32 and a second tubing part 34 each forming a part of the first fluid path of the irrigation system... The second tubing part 34 extends between the user control interface housing 22 and the second connector 12.”, page 8 lines 6-26 & Fig. 1 and 4; connector 12 connectable to catheter 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Henry, as modified, with Hvid to include a pressure regulator provided in the irrigation liquid flow path between the pump cartridge and the anal probe, with the first tubing connected between the pump cartridge and the pressure regulator, and further comprising a second tubing attachable between the pressure regulator and the anal probe such that the first tubing, the pressure regulator and the second tubing combine to form the irrigation liquid flow path from the pump cartridge to the anal probe,
since such a modification would reduce the necessary safety margin allowing the irrigation system to operate “closer to the maximum irrigation liquid pressure at the catheter tip in accordance with regulatory requirements”, which would provide “an improved and more safe irrigation” (see page 11 last two paragraphs-page 12 first paragraph and page 2 last paragraph-page 3 first paragraph of Hvid).
Claim(s) 4-6 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry (US 20190224402 A1), in view of Senff (US 20170209234 A1), in view of Skwarek (US 20060265031 A1), and further in view of Abell (US 4874363 A).
Regarding claims 4-6, Henry, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Henry further discloses the system further comprising a first valve tube downstream of the pump cartridge, and a second valve tube downstream of the pump cartridge (solenoid valves 514 and 516 located downstream of the upper housing of pump base unit 412, which includes the features of pump base unit 212, [0173] & Fig. 33), wherein the base unit comprises at least one valve actuator unit configured to engage with and actuate the first pinch valve (pump base unit 412 comprises a power circuit board 122 and a controller printed circuit board 124, which may be interpreted as a valve actuator unit, configured to electrically engage with and actuate the solenoid valve, including valve 514, see [0117]; “Each of the solenoid valves will only be energized at its appropriate stage and for the duration required… The electronic control of the fluid pathways, pressure sensor interface, communication with the wireless Bluetooth remote controller, and battery pack charging are provided by 2 printed circuit board assemblies, namely the power pcb 122 and main controller pcb 124.”).
However, Henry fails to explicitly disclose the first and second valve tube being pinch valves. However, Abell teaches a portable bowel irrigating system (abstract and col 1 lines 11-16) comprising a solenoid pinch valve 36, comprising a solenoid 56 and plunger 51, electrically connected to a control panel 69 and configured to open and close a fluid tube (abstract, col 3 lines 33-41, and col 4 lines 25-53 & Fig. 3-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the solenoid valves of Henry, as modified, with Abell to include solenoid pinch valves since Abell teaches solenoid pinch valves to be an art effective valve for the selective opening and closing of a fluid tube in a bowel irrigation system (abstract and col 4 lines 25-53).
Regarding claim 26, Henry, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 25. Henry further discloses the system wherein the pump cartridge further includes a valve tube downstream the pump mechanism (solenoid valves 514 located downstream of the upper housing of pump base unit 412, which includes the features of pump base unit 212, [0173] & Fig. 33) and the base unit further includes a valve actuator unit configured to engage with and actuate the pinch valve tube (pump base unit 412 comprises a power circuit board 122 and a controller printed circuit board 124, which may be interpreted as a valve actuator unit, configured to electrically engage with and actuate the solenoid valve, including valve 514, see [0117]; “Each of the solenoid valves will only be energized at its appropriate stage and for the duration required… The electronic control of the fluid pathways, pressure sensor interface, communication with the wireless Bluetooth remote controller, and battery pack charging are provided by 2 printed circuit board assemblies, namely the power pcb 122 and main controller pcb 124.”).
However, Henry fails to explicitly disclose the valve tube being a pinch valve tube. However, Abell teaches a portable bowel irrigating system (abstract and col 1 lines 11-16) comprising a solenoid pinch valve 36, comprising a solenoid 56 and plunger 51, electrically connected to a control panel 69 and configured to open and close a fluid tube (abstract, col 3 lines 33-41, and col 4 lines 25-53 & Fig. 3-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the solenoid valve of Henry, as modified, with Abell to include a solenoid pinch valve since Abell teaches solenoid pinch valves to be an art effective valve for the selective opening and closing of a fluid tube in a bowel irrigation system (abstract and col 4 lines 25-53).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry (US 20190224402 A1), in view of Senff (US 20170209234 A1), in view of Skwarek (US 20060265031 A1), and further in view of Mckeon (WO 2009152568 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Henry, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Henry further discloses the system wherein the pump cartridge comprises a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 286, [0142] & Fig. 18-20) but fails to explicitly disclose the system wherein the pump cartridge comprises at least one pressure sensor. However, Mckeon teaches a system (abstract) wherein the pump cartridge comprises at least one pressure sensor (apparatus 152 includes sensors 159 and 160 which may include temperature and pressure sensors, page 28 & Fig. 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Henry, as modified, with Mckeon to include the pump cartridge comprising at least one pressure sensor since such a modification would provide more fluid data to help control the irrigation process and yield predictable results pertaining to fluid pressure monitoring (see page 28 first, second, and last paragraphs and page 29 first and last paragraphs of Mckeon).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to Applicant’s arguments that Henry’s pump base unit 412 and unit 212 are being interpreted as the “liquid container” and the “pump cartridge”, the Examiner finds that reservoir 414 is being interpreted as the liquid container. Pump base unit 412 is not being interpreted as the liquid container.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Henry is modified with Senff to teach the pump cartridge being removably attachable.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that Senff fails to teach a system comprising both as liquid container and a pump cartridge, the Examiner finds that Senff is not relied upon to teach these limitations. The upper housing 180 of Senff is a component of the system that is separate from and removably attached to base 102 ([0130]).
In response to Applicant’s arguments that Senff’s upper housing 180 is not taught to be removably attached in the base 102 since it is a top boundary, the Examiner finds that as a top boundary, the upper housing would necessarily be positioned at least partially in the base 102 to close and seal the base.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARTIN A RADOMSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783