DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 9/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 7-8, 12-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-8, 12, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexandersen (US 20020019613 A1), in view of Norred (US 20200352602 A1), in view of Montgomery (US 0724913 A), and further in view of Shuffield (US 4516578 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Alexandersen discloses an anal probe for use in an anal irrigation procedure (abstract & Fig. 1), the anal probe comprising:
a stem having a distal end and a proximal tip portion (catheter 2 having a distal end at connector part 8 and a proximal tip portion by eyes 7, [0036] & Fig. 1-3), the stem comprising; an internal lumen, the internal lumen extending from the distal end to the proximal tip portion (“The catheter 2 is a conventionally female or male urinary catheter, that is hollow…”, [0036] & Fig. 3 and 11), an eyelet, the eyelet within the proximal tip portion and in communication with the internal lumen (eyes 7 formed in the proximal tip and communicating with catheter 2 to deliver irrigation medium 4, [0036], [0044], and [0070] & Fig. 1-3 and 11);
a retention part, the retention part formed of a compressible material that is configured to be compressed to allow insertion of the retention part into a rectum and further allow the retention part to expand inside the rectum to press against a wall of the rectum (“fixation member 6 for fixation of the catheter 2 inside the body canal 21 and for providing a liquid tight seal between the catheter 2 and the body canal 21”, [0034] & Fig. 1-3 and 5; “the fixation member 6 is made of compressible material. This compressible material may e.g. be a foam or a molded elastic material.”, [0037] and [0040]-[0042] and [0044]; “the fixation member 6 comprises a resilient compressible plug-like body of molded material, which body, when inserted into the body canal, is self expandable to a cross-sectional dimension ensuring closure of the body canal 21, 22.”, [0039]; also see [0046] and [0049]), the retention part having a distal portion and a proximal portion, the distal portion having a first radial extent which is smaller than a second radial extent proximally of the distal portion (fixation member 6 having a bowl shape, the distal portion having a first radial extent smaller than a second radial extent proximally of the distal portion, see Fig. 3 and 11 & [0046] and [0056] and [0058]), and
the retention part comprising: a central bore, the central bore located within the distal portion of the retention part and fixedly attached to the stem distal of the eyelet (the distal portion of fixation member 6 having a bowl shape comprising a central bore, see Fig. 2-3 and 11 & [0046]; the distal portion of fixation member 6 is attached to catheter 2 distal to eyes 7 using, for example, members 26 or grooves 27 in the central bore, [0051] & Fig. 2-3, 6, 8, and 11), and a rim located at the proximal portion (proximal portion of fixation member 6 is seen comprising a rim, see Fig. 3 and 11).
However, Alexandersen fails to explicitly disclose the retention part wherein the proximal tip portion of the stem does not extend beyond the rim and comprising foldable arms, each foldable arm attached to the proximal tip portion of the stem and between the distal portion and the proximal portion of the retention part, wherein, in a storage configuration, the foldable arms fold up inside the retention part between the distal portion and the rim of the retention part, and the rim extending proximally beyond a proximal-most tip of the proximal tip portion of the stem.
However, Norred teaches a suction tube configured to be inserted into a body cavity (abstract and [0043] & Fig. 2A and 10) wherein the proximal tip portion of the stem does not extend beyond the rim and the rim extends proximally beyond a proximal-most tip of the proximal tip portion of the stem (proximal-most tip of tube 122 ending at opening 123 does not extend proximally beyond open mouth 129’ of shield 127’ and the rim of mouth 129’ of shield 127’ extends proximally beyond opening 123 of tube 122, [0047]-[0048] & Fig. 2A) and
Montgomery teaches an anal probe (Col 1 second paragraph & Fig. 1-2 and 4) wherein the proximal tip portion of the stem does not extend beyond the rim and the rim extends proximally beyond a proximal-most tip of the proximal tip portion of the stem (stem 1 includes a discharge end forming a proximal-most tip of a proximal tip portion of stem 1, see Fig. 2 & col 2 first paragraph; disk 5, configured to come in contact with the inner surface of the sphincter, is seen including a rim at its end which extends past the discharge end of stem 1, see Fig. 1-2 and 5 & col 1 first paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the retention part of Alexandersen with Norred or Montgomery to include wherein the proximal tip portion of the stem does not extend beyond the rim and the rim extending proximally beyond a proximal-most tip of the proximal tip portion of the stem since such a modification would prevent internal bodily tissue from impinging upon the openings/eyelets of the stem ([0048] of Norred) and since such a configuration is taught by Montgomery to be an art effective length for a retention part and catheter of an anal probe configured to inject fluid (col 2 second paragraph & Fig. 1-2 and 4 of Montgomery).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the retention part of Alexandersen to have the rim of the retention part extend proximally beyond the proximal-most tip of the stem since Alexandersen places no criticality on the length of catheter 2, simply stating that “The length… of the catheter 2… can be chosen according to the actual need. Normally the length from the fixation member to the tip of the catheter is between one and a few centimeters…” (emphasis added) ([0070]), and
it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the retention part of Alexandersen would perform equally well with the rim extending proximally beyond the proximal-most tip of the stem since the proximal discharge end of the anal probe is still capable of injecting fluid. The anal probe would function appropriately having the claimed length of rim extension. Further, Applicant also appears to place no criticality on the length of extension of the rim of the retention part (see end of page 9 and top of page 10).
Further, Shuffield teaches an anal probe (abstract and Fig. 11) comprising a retention part (diaphragm part 14, col 4 lines 39-63 and col 5 lines 14-40 & Fig. 1 and 11) comprising foldable arms, each foldable arm attached to the proximal tip portion of the stem (fins 50, attached to the proximal top portion of tube 11, configured to fold inwardly when diaphragm 14 is compressed, see Col 6 last paragraph-Col 7 second paragraph & Fig. 11-12; “It has been found that these upstanding ribs provide a particularly advantageous balance between sufficient flexibility to facilitate and sufficient rigidity to remain in place during use.”, col 6 line 64-col 7 line 6 & Fig. 6 and 11), wherein, in a storage configuration, the foldable arms fold up inside the retention part (fins 50 are configured to fold inward, in a forward twisting motion, to wrap around tube 11, when diaphragm 14 is compressed, see Col 6 last paragraph-Col 7 second paragraph & Fig. 11-12 of Shuffield).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the anal probe of Alexandersen, as modified, with Shuffield to include foldable arms, each foldable arm attached to the proximal tip portion of the stem, wherein, in a storage configuration, the foldable arms fold up inside the retention part, since such a modification would provide added rigidity to the retention part to help keep the retention part in place during use and yield predictable results pertaining to enhanced stiffening of the retention part for secure positioning (Col 2 lines 18-31 and Col 6 last paragraph-Col 7 first paragraph of Shuffield).
As modified, fins 50 of Shuffield would be included under eyes 7 of catheter 2, synonymously to how fins 50 are included under openings 45 of Shuffield (see Fig. 11 of Shuffield). As combined, each fin 50 would be attached between the distal portion and the proximal portion of fixation member 6. In a storage configuration, or when film material 24 covers and compresses fixation member 6 (Fig. 2), fins 50 would be folded inside fixation member 6 between the distal portion and the rim of fixation member 6 as fins 50 are positioned below eyes 7, inside of the bowl-space defined by fixation member 6 (Fig. 11). In the storage configuration, fixation member 6 is compressed inwardly (Fig. 2-3 and [0046] and [0081]); therefore, fins 50 would also be compressed and folded inwardly, as fins 50 are fully extended in their uncompressed state.
Regarding claim 3, Alexandersen, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Alexandersen further discloses the anal probe wherein a proximal-most tip of the stem is closed off to provide a closed tip, and the eyelet is formed in a sidewall of the stem (the proximal-most tip of catheter 2 is seen closed off creating a closed tip with eyes 7 formed in a sidewall of catheter 2, see Fig. 1-11 and [0036]).
Regarding claim 7, Alexandersen, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Alexandersen further discloses the anal probe wherein the rim of the proximal portion of the retention part is circular (the rim of the proximal end of fixation member 6 is circular, see Fig. 2-3 and 11 & [0046] and [0058]).
Regarding claim 8, Alexandersen, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Alexandersen further discloses the anal probe wherein the distal portion and the proximal portion of the retention part form a conical retention part (the proximal and distal portions of member 6 form a conical retention part, see [0058] & Fig. 2-3 and 11).
Regarding claim 12, Alexandersen, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Alexandersen further discloses the anal probe wherein the retention part is made of foam ([0037] and [0080]).
Regarding claims 17-18, Alexandersen, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Alexandersen further discloses the anal probe further comprising a film-element configured to retain the anal probe in the storage configuration wherein the retention part of the anal probe is compressed and maintained inside of the film-element such that a diameter of the retention part in the storage configuration is smaller than a diameter of the retention part in a use configuration (film material 24 configured to retain fixation member 6 in a compressed state before insertion, [0041] and [0068] & Fig. 1-2 and 4; film material 24 is configured to maintain member 6 in a compressed state until inserted, upon which member 6 expands, [0042] & Fig. 2-3; “shown in FIG. 2 the fixation member 6 is kept compressed by a film of PVA. When the fixation member 6 comes into contact with the humidity of the rectum the PVA film will start to dissolve and the fixation member 6 will expand.”, [0046] and [0049]), wherein the film-element is made of a water-soluble film ([0043], [0081], and [0097]).
Regarding claim 20, Alexandersen, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Alexandersen further discloses the anal probe wherein a proximal-most tip of the proximal tip portion of the stem comprises a hemispherical cap (the proximal most tip of the proximal tip portion of catheter 2 is seen comprising a hemispherical end or cap, all of Figs. 1-15).
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Alexandersen (US 20020019613 A1), in view of Norred (US 20200352602 A1), in view of Montgomery (US 0724913 A), in view of Shuffield (US 4516578 A), and further in view of Torstensen (US 20030074018 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Alexandersen, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Alexandersen further discloses the anal probe wherein the retention part is made of a compressible material (“the fixation member 6 is made of compressible material. This compressible material may e.g. be a foam or a molded elastic material.”, [0037]) but fails to explicitly disclose the anal probe wherein the retention part is made of silicone. However, Torstensen teaches an anal probe (catheter-like probe 1 and sealing element 2, [0034] & Fig. 1) wherein the retention part is made of silicone (sealing element 2 made of silicone, [0025] & Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the retention part of Alexandersen, as modified, with Torstensen to include the retention part made of silicone since Torstensen teaches silicone to be an art effective material for a compressible sealing element of an anal probe ([0025] of Torstensen).
Regarding claim 14, Alexandersen, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. However, Alexandersen fails to explicitly disclose the anal probe, wherein an outer surface of the retention part is impermeable to liquid. However, Torstensen teaches an anal probe (catheter-like probe 1 and sealing element 2, [0034] & Fig. 1), wherein an outer surface of the retention part is impermeable to liquid (sealing element 2d is made throughout of a hydrophobic material, [0037] & Fig. 2d). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the retention part of Alexandersen, as modified, with Torstensen to include the retention part made of a hydrophobic material since Torstensen teaches a hydrophobic material to be an art effective material for a compressible sealing element of an anal probe ([0028] and [0037] of Torstensen). As modified, fixation member 6 of Alexandersen would be made of a hydrophobic material, rendering the outer surface of member 6 impermeable to liquid.
Regarding claim 15, Alexandersen, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. However, Alexandersen fails to explicitly disclose the anal probe wherein an outer surface of the retention part is covered by a layer of film material configured to make the outer surface impermeable to liquid.
However, Torstensen teaches an anal probe (catheter-like probe 1 and sealing element 2, [0034] & Fig. 1) wherein an outer surface of the retention part is covered by a layer of film material configured to make the outer surface impermeable to liquid (outer surface 14 of sealing element 2a is covered by a liquid tight foil layer 11, [0027] and [0036] & Fig. 2a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the retention part of Alexandersen, as modified, with Torstensen to include an outer surface of the retention part covered by a layer of film material since such a modification would include structure to prevent passage of bowel liquids through the retention part and aid in smooth retraction of the retention part from the user ([0027] and [0036] of Torstensen).
Regarding claim 16, Alexandersen, as modified, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. However, Alexandersen fails to explicitly disclose the anal probe wherein an outer surface of the retention part is coated with a coating configured to make the outer surface impermeable to liquid.
However, Torstensen teaches an anal probe (catheter-like probe 1 and sealing element 2, [0034] & Fig. 1) wherein an outer surface of the retention part is coated with a coating configured to make the outer surface impermeable to liquid (outer surface 14 of sealing element 2a is covered by a liquid tight foil layer 11, [0027] and [0036] & Fig. 2a; the outer surface 14 can be interpreted as covered with an enclosing layer 11, or coated with a coating, which is liquid tight foil configured to make surface 14 impermeable to liquid, [0027] and [0036] & Fig. 2a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the retention part of Alexandersen, as modified, with Torstensen to include an outer surface of the retention part coated with a coating since such a modification would include structure to prevent passage of bowel liquids through the retention part and aid in smooth retraction of the retention part from the user ([0027] and [0036] of Torstensen).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The Examiner notes that the arguments to Shuffield, in the reply filed 9/17/2026, are directed to an embodiment not being relied upon for rejection.
Conclusion
/MARTIN A RADOMSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783