DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission of an RCE filed on 04/27/2026 for claims/response filed on 04/02/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 04/02/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-15 remain canceled.
Claims 16-32 remain pending and are examined herein on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/02/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically:
Applicant begins by arguing that the references Seki and Staite teach away from the disclosed combination because these references disclose different temperature ranges as one is a heater and the other indicates cold surfaces (Remarks, p.7, 4th ¶ to p.8, 2nd ¶).
However, "the prior art's mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed…” -In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See also UCB, Inc. V. Actavis Labs, UT, Inc., 65 F.4th 679, 692, 2023 USPQ2d 448 (Fed. Cir. 2023) ("a reference does not teach away if it merely expresses a general preference for an alternative invention but does not criticize, discredit or otherwise discourage investigation into the invention claimed.") (internal quotations omitted) (quoting DePuy Spine, Inc. V. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 567 F.3d 1314, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2009)) (MPEP 2145 X. D. 1.)
As such, the teaching regarding use of different temperature ranges is not discrediting by the references with respect to other temperature ranges and so the cited art does not teach away.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning (Remarks, p.8, 3rd ¶), it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In the instant case the references themselves provide all the motivation and knowledge regarding color-changing materials for vehicle components. Further, the instant disclosure is not relied on in any way (see 103 rejections below).
In response to applicant's argument (Remarks, p.9, 1st full ¶ to the top of p.10) that the intended purpose of Seki's device would be rendered unsatisfactory for its intended purpose and that the mode of operation would be changed, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
The combined teaching of these cited references suggests to those of ordinary skill in the art to use color changing materials/components to indicate temperatures in vehicles.
Specifically, Seki is to a vehicle part (interior heater) with color change material thereon; Staite is to a vehicle part (at least upholstery, door panel, dashboard or steering wheel) with color change material thereon; and Schneider is to a vehicle part (air vent) with color change material thereon.
As such, these references suggest the concept regarding color change vehicle functional components to one of ordinary still in the art at the time of filing (see 103/obviousness section below).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually (Remarks, p.10, 1st full ¶ arguing regarding claim 21 and against Seki where the rejection(s) cite(s) Staite), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument (Remarks, p.10, 2nd full ¶, regarding claim 22) that the gear selection lever is not directly taught, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
The combined teaching of these cited references suggests to those of ordinary skill in the art to use color changing materials to indicate temperatures in vehicles and specifically in the cabin and on various control surfaces.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention (Remarks, p.11, regarding claims 18 and 19), it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that "These claims specifically require that the region including the temperature-sensitive material be produced by these methods." Remarks, p.11) are not recited in the rejected claims (the actual claim language is "at least one region, which includes the temperature-sensitive material, of the functional component, is produced at least partially from claim 18; and "at least one region, which includes the temperature-sensitive material, of the functional component, is at least partially produced from" claim 19; emphasis added). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Please note, if applicant intends to claim a production of the region including the temperature-sensitive material such limitation(s) must be recited concretely in the claims.
Regarding claims 24-27 and 30-34 (Remarks, p.12, regarding Seki and Staite) regarding incompatibility of the cited art see above. Specifically, with regarding to the test for obviousness.
Additionally, in response to applicant's implied argument that Seki, Staite and Schneider are nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
In this case, Seki is to a vehicle part (interior heater) with color change material thereon; Staite is to a vehicle part (at least upholstery, door panel, dashboard or steering wheel) with color change material thereon; and Schneider is to a vehicle part (air vent) with color change material thereon.
As such, these references are reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned (“functional component for a vehicle” which “has at least one temperature-sensitive material”) AND these references teach, suggest and motivate the concepts to one of ordinary still in the art at the time of filing (see 103/obviousness section below).
Further, regarding the arguments regarding grouping (Remarks, p.12) see drawings cited below showing the citations for the grounded, non-speculative and clearly illustrated basis for the rejections.
Therefore, the position of the office must remain that upon knowledge of the cited art one of ordinary skill in the art would have had all the information and motivation required to make the invention as claimed at the time it was made.
See rejections under 35 USC § 103 updated, clarified and reiterated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17, 20-23 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki et al. (US 20180105017; hereinafter Seki) in view of Staite (GB 2555783; all reference to copy of record 05/19/2023 from IDS of the same date).
Regarding claim 16, Seki teaches a functional component (at least heater devices 10 including at least 10a and 10b) for a vehicle (abstract; fig. 1; [0024-25]), comprising:
at least one temperature-sensitive material (at least one of 221 and 222 – collectively referenced as 22; [0040]; see [0040-43] teaching regarding these thermochromic and color variable materials) forming and/or comprising at least a portion of the functional component (see at least figs. 3 and 4 showing this forming/comprising; see at least [0036]),
wherein the temperature sensitive material is designed such that, one or more predefined limit temperatures (at least T1 and/or T2; see fig. 4 showing examples of this/these predefined temperature limit(s)), an optically perceptible property for representing a temperature information (color; see fig. 4), which describes the temperature of at least a portion of the functional component, is changeable (see fig. 4 best showing this; see also figs. 5-9 showing detailed examples of this temperature based color changing).
Seki does not directly and specifically state that the one or more predefined limit(s) is/are in the range from -5° C to 40° C.
However, Staite teaches color changing vehicle components (abstract) with color changing limits including “change, from a darker colour to a lighter color, thermochromically between 12°C and 13°C.” (abstract; see also p.2, ¶ at 11 giving color change temperature of 8-18°C and 10-15°C; see also p.4, ¶s at 5 and 11).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the functional component for a vehicle having thermochromic / temperature sensitive material with predefined transition temperatures of Seki with the specific knowledge of using the predefined limit temperature(s) in the range of -5° C to 40° C of Staite. This is because such temperatures allow for the color to change in room temperature vehicle environments as desired by a designer (see Staite at least at abstract teaching that items on the inside of a vehicle are all suggested as design choices for changing in response to “ambient” conditions – see claim 1 of Staite teaching and claiming an “automotive interior component” with the changeable appearance with claims 9 as well as claim 19 directly claiming this range; see also [0092] of Seki teaching that a wide range of vehicle components may be color change components and that may variations are known to be possible including at least designing for the “number of the component(s)”; “value”; “amount”; “shape”; and/or “positional relationship” of the components). This suggested set of temperatures and ambient condition changes as well as various locations, shapes and sizes of the components suggest broad utility for the disclosed color changing automotive components and is important in order to design for and provide a desired end user experience.
Regarding claim 17, Seki teaches that at least a first region of the functional component is formed from the first temperature-sensitive material and/or comprises the first temperature-sensitive material (region of 222; see figs 3 and 4), the temperature-sensitive material comprises a first predefined limit temperature (T2; see fig. 4), and at least a second region of the functional component includes a second temperature-sensitive material and/or comprises a second temperature-sensitive material (region of 221; see figs. 3 and 4) which is constructed such that an optically perceptible property is changeable at least at one predefined second limit temperature (T1; see fig. 4) which is different from the first predefined limit temperature (at least fig. 4 gives an example of T2=60C and T1=120C).
Regarding claim 20, Seki teaches that the changeable, optically perceptible property of the at least one temperature-sensitive material includes a color, a degree of transparency, a degree of translucence, and/or a surface sheen (see figs. 4-6 showing and teaching at least color and transparency).
Regarding claim 21, Seki teaches that the functional component is at least [on] an input device of the vehicle (at least steering wheel/steering column 92/94; [0025] “device 10b is installed to a lower portion of a steering column 94”; see fig. 1, element 10b).
Seki lacks direct and specific teaching that the functional component is a portion of the input device and the temperature-sensitive material is arranged on a user-touching input surface that is configured for tactile actuation by an operator.
However, Staite teaches color changing vehicle components (abstract) with color changing limits including “change, from a darker colour to a lighter color, thermochromically between 12°C and 13°C.” (abstract; see also p.2, ¶ at 11 giving color change temperature of 8-18°C and 10-15°C; see also p.4, ¶s at 5 and 11) and that the component may be a user-touching input surface configured for tactile actuation by an operator such as preferably a “steering wheel” (abstract; see also p.2, ¶ at 17).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the functional component for a vehicle of Seki with the knowledge of placing a color changing / thermochromic component on a user-touching input surface configured for tactile actuation by an operator such as a steering wheel of Staite. This is because such placement allows for a user-touching input surface configured for tactile actuation by an operator to show temperature. This is important in order to provide temperature information regarding the component / steering wheel to an end user in a direct and visual manner.
Regarding claim 22, Seki lacks direct and specific teaching that the input device is a gear selection lever.
However, Staite teaches color changing vehicle components (abstract) with color changing limits including “change, from a darker colour to a lighter color, thermochromically between 12°C and 13°C.” (abstract; see also p.2, ¶ at 11 giving color change temperature of 8-18°C and 10-15°C; see also p.4, ¶s at 5 and 11) and that the component may be a user-touching input surface configured for tactile actuation by an operator such that “The component can be upholstery of a seat or a door panel or a dashboard or a steering wheel or the like or a part thereof.” (emphasis added - p.2, ¶ at 17; see also abstract).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the functional component for a vehicle of Seki with the knowledge of placing a color changing / thermochromic component on a user-touching input surface configured for tactile actuation by an operator such as a steering wheel or the like of Staite. This is because such placement allows for a user-touching input surface configured for tactile actuation by an operator to show temperature. This is important in order to provide temperature information regarding the component to an end user in a direct and visual manner.
Further, Seki does disclose that the functional component/heater is “the on-vehicle radiant heater, which is installed to the vehicle” ([0078]; see fig. 1) and that the installation location is not limited by the given example ([0078]; see also [0092] teaching that a wide range of vehicle components may be color change components and that may variations are known to be possible including at least designing for the “number of the component(s)”; “value”; “amount”; “shape”; and/or “positional relationship” of the components).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the functional component/heater for a vehicle which is known to be installed to a steering column of Seki with integration into the vehicle’s other control surfaces such as a gear selection lever as indicated by design requirements. This is because since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention (here on an input device in a vehicle to on a different input device in a vehicle where the art teaches that the instillation location is not limited by the example) involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C)).
Regarding claim 23, Seki lacks direct and specific teaching that the input device is a steering wheel and/or a handlebar grip.
However, Staite teaches color changing vehicle components (abstract) and that the component may be a user-touching input surface configured for tactile actuation by an operator such as preferably a “steering wheel” (abstract; see also p.2, ¶ at 17).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the functional component for a vehicle of Seki with the knowledge of placing a color changing / thermochromic component on a user-touching input surface configured for tactile actuation by an operator such as a steering wheel of Staite. This is because such placement allows for a user-touching input surface configured for tactile actuation by an operator to show temperature. This is important in order to provide temperature information regarding the component / steering wheel to an end user in a direct and visual manner.
Regarding claim 28, Seki teaches an arrangement, comprising:
a functional component according to claim 16 (see treatment of claim 16 above), and
a temperature control device ([0034] teaches regarding a control device), wherein thermal energy absorbed and/or discharged by the temperature control device acts on the functional component thermally ([0034]; see also [0064-65]).
Seki does not directly and specifically state that at least 75% of the thermal energy is used to generate a descriptive temperature information item by exceeding and/or not reaching the predefined limit temperature.
However, Staite does disclose color changing vehicle components (abstract) with color changing limits including “change, from a darker colour to a lighter color, thermochromically between 12°C and 13°C.” (abstract; see also p.2, ¶ at 11 giving color change temperature of 8-18°C and 10-15°C; see also p.4, ¶s at 5 and 11) and that the component may have a means for heating (at least “low wattage heating element 16” p.4, ¶ at 11) where the heating from the element warms the component, such as leather upholstery or covering boss to cause a color change (abstract; p.4, ¶ at 11).
Please note that the warming of the leather is for the purpose of changing the color and the applied energy is used for this purpose – i.e. all of the energy is used to generate a descriptive temperature information item by exceeding and/or not reaching the predefined limit temperature (see p.4, ¶ at 11).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the functional component for a vehicle of Seki with energy application warming the leather upholstery / boss for the purpose of changing the color of Staite. This is because such application of energy for the express purpose of changing a color of a leather boss allows a graphic to appear more prominently (see p.4, ¶ at 11 of Staite). This is important in order to inform or provide a sense of prestige to an end user.
Regarding claim 29, Seki teaches a vehicle (see at least [0024] teaches that the component/devices are installed in a vehicle; see also fig. 1) comprising at least one functional component according to claim 16 (see treatment of claim 16 above).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki et al. (US 20180105017; hereinafter Seki) as modified by Staite (GB 2555783; all reference to copy of record 05/19/2023 from IDS of the same date) as applied to claim 16 above and in view of Benthien et al. (US 20160136891; hereinafter Benthien).
Regarding claim 18, Seki and Staite do not directly and specifically state that at least one region, which includes the temperature-sensitive material, of the functional component, is produced at least partially from an additive production method.
However, Benthien teaches producing components for vehicles “using additive layer manufacturing” (abstract; see also title and summary).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the functional component for a vehicle of Seki with the knowledge of the additive manufacturing / production as known from Benthien. This is because such additive manufacturing / production allows for accurately producing desired vehicular parts / components. This is important in order to provide properly formed devices to an end user for making the vehicle (see at least Summary of Benthien indicating the various benefits using additive manufacturing to properly form vehicle components including: improved mechanical resistance [0008]; applying multiple layers [0009]; increased production speed [0014]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki et al. (US 20180105017; hereinafter Seki) and Staite (GB 2555783; all reference to copy of record 05/19/2023 from IDS of the same date) as applied to claim 16 above and in view of Fox et al. (US 20130052412; hereinafter Fox).
Regarding claim 19, Seki and Staite do not directly and specifically state that at least one region, which includes the temperature-sensitive material, of the functional component, is at least partially produced from an injection-molding method.
However, Fox teaches producing components for vehicles (abstract; title) using injection molding ([0039]; see also title).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the functional component for a vehicle of Seki with the injection molding for the manufacturing / production of vehicle parts / components of Fox. This is because such injection molding allows for producing desired vehicular parts / components with a well-known method for manufacture. This is important in order to provide properly formed devices to an end user for making the vehicle (see [0039] of Fox teaching that “Due to the dimensional accuracy of the mold cavity, each edge of the resultant trim component will substantially correspond to the desired dimensions.”).
Claims 24-27 and 30-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki et al. (US 20180105017; hereinafter Seki) as modified by Staite (GB 2555783; all reference to copy of record 05/19/2023 from IDS of the same date) as applied to claims 16 and 29 respectively above and further in view of Schneider (DE 202010008497; all reference to English Machine Translation of record 10/28/2025).
Regarding claim 24, Seki and Staite do not directly and specifically state that the functional component is at least a portion of a supply device and/or directing device for supplying and/or steering air into an interior of the vehicle.
However, Schneider teaches a device/functional component for a vehicle ([0001]) having at least one temperature-sensitive material (at least 4 and/or 5; see fig. 1; [0042]; [0007]) and the functional component is at least a portion of a supply device and/or directing device for supplying and/or steering air into an interior of the vehicle ([0001]; see fig. 1).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the functional component(s) for a vehicle having thermochromic materials of Seki and Staite with the specific knowledge of using the functional component for a vehicle having thermochromic materials which is an air supply device of Schneider. This is because use of this use of such thermochromic material allows for “the temperature of the air flow can be intuitively and correctly perceived by an observer” ([0017] of Schneider). This is important in order to inform an end user of the vehicle whether the heating/AC is on or off.
Regarding claim 25, Seki and Staite do not directly and specifically state that the supply device and/or directing device comprises at least one outlet which comprises a base member and a directing member movably supported relative to the base member, and the directing member comprises a directing portion, past or through which at least a portion of the air which is supplied and/or directed into the interior of the vehicle flows, and at least a portion of the directing member is constructed from or includes the temperature sensitive material which changes its optically perceptible property in the case of a change in temperature.
However, Schneider teaches a device/functional component for a vehicle ([0001]) having at least one temperature-sensitive material (at least 4 and/or 5; see fig. 1; [0042]; [0007]) and the functional component is at least a portion of a supply device and/or directing device for supplying and/or steering air into an interior of the vehicle ([0001]; see fig. 1) where the device has an outlet (see fig. 1; [0005]) having a base member (at least frame 3; see fig. 1; [0031]; [0042]) and a directing member (at least guide slats 2; [0026]; see fig. 1) for directing airflow ([0030]) which include, are coated with or are made of thermochromic material ([0026] – see especially regarding “guide slats 2 which are coated with thermochromatic material 5” and also may comprise thermochromatic pigmentation).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the functional component for a vehicle having thermochromic materials of Seki and Staite with the functional component for a vehicle having thermochromic materials which is an air supply device of Schneider. This is because use of this use of such thermochromic material allows for “the temperature of the air flow can be intuitively and correctly perceived by an observer” ([0017] of Schneider). This is important in order to inform an end user of the vehicle whether the heating is on or off.
Regarding claim 26, Seki and Staite do not directly and specifically state that the directing member comprises a channel directing portion provided with an inlet region and an outlet region and through which flows at least a portion of the air which is supplied and/or directed via the outlet into the interior of the vehicle.
However, Schneider teaches a device/functional component for a vehicle ([0001]) having at least one temperature-sensitive material (at least 4 and/or 5; see fig. 1; [0042]; [0007]) and the functional component is at least a portion of a supply device and/or directing device for supplying and/or steering air into an interior of the vehicle ([0001]; see fig. 1) where the device has an outlet on the outflow side (generally the front as drawn; see fig. 1) and an inlet (generally the back as drawn; see fig. 1) opposite the outflow side and on the inflow side (see fig. 1; see also [0005]) having a base member (at least frame 3; see fig. 1; [0031]; [0042]) with a channel for airflow therebetween (see fig. 1) and a directing member (at least guide slats 2; [0026]; see fig. 1) for directing airflow ([0030]) which include / are coated with / are made of thermochromic material ([0026]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the functional component for a vehicle having thermochromic materials of Seki with the specific knowledge of using the functional component for a vehicle having thermochromic materials which is an air supply device for discharging air into the passenger compartment of a vehicle of Schneider. This is because use of this use of such thermochromic material allows for “the temperature of the air flow can be intuitively and correctly perceived by an observer” ([0017] of Schneider). This is important in order to inform an end user of the vehicle whether the heating is on or off.
Regarding claim 27, Seki and Staite do not directly and specifically state that the portion of the air is a maximum of 50% by volume.
However, Schneider teaches a device/functional component for a vehicle ([0001]) having at least one temperature-sensitive material (at least 4 and/or 5; see fig. 1; [0042]; [0007]) and the functional component is at least a portion of a supply device and/or directing device for supplying and/or steering air into an interior of the vehicle via a divided airflow ([0001]; see fig. 1 showing slats both directing and dividing the airflow ) where the device has an outlet on the outflow side (generally the front as drawn; see fig. 1) and an inlet (generally the back as drawn; see fig. 1) opposite the outflow side and on the inflow side (see fig. 1; see also [0005]) having a base member (at least frame 3; see fig. 1; [0031]; [0042]) with a channel for airflow therebetween (see fig. 1) and a directing member (at least guide slats 2; [0026]; see fig. 1) for directing airflow ([0030]) which include, are coated with or are made of thermochromic material ([0026]) where each channel between the slats is ~ 20-25% of the airflow (see fig. 1, showing an example of 5 evenly spaced slats).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the functional component for a vehicle having thermochromic materials of Seki and Staite with the specific knowledge regarding the functional component for a vehicle having thermochromic materials which is an air supply device having divided and directed airflow of Schneider. This is because use of this use of such dividing of the airflow with slats having thermochromic material allows for directing the air over the slats as desired which provides a structure where “the temperature of the air flow can be intuitively and correctly perceived by an observer” ([0017] of Schneider). This is important in order to inform an end user of the vehicle whether the heating is on or off while directing the airflow.
Regarding claim 30, Seki and Staite do not directly and specifically state that the functional component is at least a portion of a supply device and/or directing device for supplying and/or directing air into an interior of a vehicle, the supply and/or directing of air into the interior has at least two outlet openings, at least a first outlet opening is in the form of a functional component with a property which changes the optically perceptible property thereof in accordance with temperature, and at least one additional outlet opening has no change or a different change which is dependent on the temperature of an optically perceptible property thereof as the first outlet opening, wherein in at least one operating mode of the supply device and/or directing device, at least 70% of the air which is supplied via the supply device and/or directing device into the interior is introduced into the interior via the first outlet opening.
However, Schneider teaches a device/functional component for a vehicle ([0001]) having at least one temperature-sensitive material (at least 4 and/or 5; see fig. 1; [0042]; [0007]) and the functional component is at least a portion of a supply device and/or directing device for supplying and/or steering air into an interior of the vehicle ([0001]; see fig. 1) where the device has an outlet on the outflow side (generally the front as drawn; see fig. 1) and an inlet (generally the back as drawn; see fig. 1) opposite the outflow side and on the inflow side (see fig. 1; see also [0005]) having a base member (at least frame 3; see fig. 1; [0031]; [0042]) with a channel for airflow therebetween (see fig. 1) and a directing member (at least guide slats 2; [0026]; see fig. 1) for directing airflow ([0030]) which include, are coated with or are made of thermochromic material ([0026]) where each channel between the slats is ~ 20-25% of the airflow (see fig. 1, showing an example of 5 evenly spaced slats) and plural openings may be considered as grouped into an opening with more than 70% of the airflow which optically changes based on the temperature (see fig. 1; [0032] teaches that in “particular, it is also possible to provide a thermochromic material with different properties on different guide lamellae 2”; see also [0032-36] teaching more in depth).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the functional component for a vehicle having thermochromic materials of Seki with the functional component for a vehicle having thermochromic materials which is an air supply device having plural openings and thermochromic materials with different properties on the guides defining these openings of Schneider. This is because use of this use of such dividing of the airflow with slats / guides having differing thermochromic material allows for directing the air over the slats as desired which provides a structure where “the temperature of the air flow can be intuitively and correctly perceived by an observer” ([0017] of Schneider). This is important in order to inform an end user of the vehicle whether the heating/AC is on or off while directing the airflow.
Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (slatted ventilation vent with divided airflows and thermochromatic indicator), discovering the optimum or workable ranges (here a range with 70% division of the airflow) involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05 (II-A).
Regarding claim 31, Seki and Staite do not directly and specifically state that the first outlet opening comprises a first group of outlet openings.
However, Schneider teaches a device/functional component for a vehicle ([0001]) having at least one temperature-sensitive material (at least 4 and/or 5; see fig. 1; [0042]; [0007]) and the functional component is at least a portion of a supply device and/or directing device for supplying and/or steering air into an interior of the vehicle ([0001]; see fig. 1) where the device has an outlet on the outflow side (generally the front as drawn; see fig. 1) and an inlet (generally the back as drawn; see fig. 1) opposite the outflow side and on the inflow side (see fig. 1; see also [0005]) having a base member (at least frame 3; see fig. 1; [0031]; [0042]) with a channel for airflow therebetween (see fig. 1) and a directing member (at least guide slats 2; [0026]; see fig. 1) for directing airflow ([0030]) which include, are coated with or are made of thermochromic material ([0026]) where each channel between the slats is ~ 20-25% of the airflow (see fig. 1, showing an example of 5 evenly spaced slats) and plural openings may be considered as a first group of openings (see fig. 1; [0032] teaches that in “particular, it is also possible to provide a thermochromic material with different properties on different guide lamellae 2” i.e. divisors amongst the groups of openings; see also [0032-36] teaching more in depth).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the functional component for a vehicle having thermochromic materials of Seki with knowledge of the functional component which is an air supply device having plural openings and thermochromic materials with different properties on the guides defining these plural openings of Schneider. This is because use of this use of such thermochromic material allows for “the temperature of the air flow can be intuitively and correctly perceived by an observer” ([0017] of Schneider). This is important in order to inform an end user of the vehicle regarding the heating.
Regarding claim 32, Seki and Staite do not directly and specifically state that the second outlet opening comprises a second group of outlet openings.
However, Schneider teaches a device/functional component for a vehicle ([0001]) having at least one temperature-sensitive material (at least 4 and/or 5; see fig. 1; [0042]; [0007]) and the functional component is at least a portion of a supply device and/or directing device for supplying and/or steering air into an interior of the vehicle ([0001]; see fig. 1) where the device has an outlet on the outflow side (generally the front as drawn; see fig. 1) and an inlet (generally the back as drawn; see fig. 1) opposite the outflow side and on the inflow side (see fig. 1; see also [0005]) having a base member (at least frame 3; see fig. 1; [0031]; [0042]) with a channel for airflow therebetween (see fig. 1) and a directing member (at least guide slats 2; [0026]; see fig. 1) for directing airflow ([0030]) which include, are coated with or are made of thermochromic material ([0026]) where each channel between the slats is ~ 20-25% of the airflow (see fig. 1, showing an example of 5 evenly spaced slats) and plural openings may be considered as a second group of openings (see fig. 1; [0032] teaches that in “particular, it is also possible to provide a thermochromic material with different properties on different guide lamellae 2” i.e. divisors amongst the groups of openings; see also [0032-36] teaching more in depth).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the functional component for a vehicle having thermochromic materials of Seki with knowledge of the functional component which is an air supply device having plural openings and thermochromic materials with different properties on the guides defining these plural openings of Schneider. This is because use of this use of such thermochromic material allows for “the temperature of the air flow can be intuitively and correctly perceived by an observer” ([0017] of Schneider). This is important in order to inform an end user of the vehicle regarding the heating.
Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (slatted ventilation vent with divided airflows and thermochromatic indicator), discovering the optimum or workable ranges (here a range of second – and first – openings) involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05 (II-A).
Regarding claim 33, Seki and Staite do not directly and specifically state that the portion of the air that flows through the channel directing portion is a maximum of 25% by volume.
However, Schneider teaches a device/functional component for a vehicle ([0001]) having at least one temperature-sensitive material (at least 4 and/or 5; see fig. 1; [0042]; [0007]) and the functional component is at least a portion of a supply device and/or directing device for supplying and/or steering air into an interior of the vehicle via a divided airflow ([0001]; see fig. 1 showing slats both directing and dividing the airflow ) where the device has an outlet on the outflow side (generally the front as drawn; see fig. 1) and an inlet (generally the back as drawn; see fig. 1) opposite the outflow side and on the inflow side (see fig. 1; see also [0005]) having a base member (at least frame 3; see fig. 1; [0031]; [0042]) with a channel for airflow therebetween (see fig. 1) and a directing member (at least guide slats 2; [0026]; see fig. 1) for directing airflow ([0030]) which include, are coated with or are made of thermochromic material ([0026]) where each channel between the slats is ~ 20-25% of the airflow (see fig. 1, showing an example of 5 evenly spaced slats).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the functional component for a vehicle having thermochromic materials of Seki and Staite with the specific knowledge regarding the functional component for a vehicle having thermochromic materials which is an air supply device having divided and directed airflow of Schneider. This is because use of this use of such dividing of the airflow with slats having thermochromic material allows for directing the air over the slats as desired which provides a structure where “the temperature of the air flow can be intuitively and correctly perceived by an observer” ([0017] of Schneider). This is important in order to inform an end user of the vehicle whether the heating is on or off while directing the airflow.
Regarding claim 34, Seki, Staite and Schneider do not directly and specifically state that the portion of the air that flows through the channel directing portion is a maximum of 10% by volume.
However, Schneider does disclose a device/functional component for a vehicle ([0001]) having at least one temperature-sensitive material (at least 4 and/or 5; see fig. 1; [0042]; [0007]) and the functional component is at least a portion of a supply device and/or directing device for supplying and/or steering air into an interior of the vehicle via a divided airflow ([0001]; see fig. 1 showing slats both directing and dividing the airflow ) where the device has an outlet on the outflow side (generally the front as drawn; see fig. 1) and an inlet (generally the back as drawn; see fig. 1) opposite the outflow side and on the inflow side (see fig. 1; see also [0005]) having a base member (at least frame 3; see fig. 1; [0031]; [0042]) with a channel for airflow therebetween (see fig. 1) and a directing member (at least guide slats 2; [0026]; see fig. 1) for directing airflow ([0030]) which include, are coated with or are made of thermochromic material ([0026]) where each channel between the slats is ~ 20-25% of the airflow (see fig. 1, showing an example of 5 evenly spaced slats).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the ~20-25% dividing of Schneider with a more restrictive dividing such as less than 10%. This is because one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected increasing the number of airflow direction and temperature indication slats to be one of several straightforward ways of adding granularity to the direction of the airflow since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device (here slats for dividing and directing airflow) involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B)).
Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (slatted ventilation vent with divided airflows and thermochromatic indicator), discovering the optimum or workable ranges (here max of 10% by volume in a particular channel/airflow) involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05 (II-A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
See especially:
Fung et al. (US 20220267630) teaches regarding additive manufacturing of thermochromic items including via 3D printing (abstract) where “Thermochromic Free Flowing Powder from LCR Hallcrest, LLC (Illinois) having color transition temperatures of: −10° C., 15° C., 31° C., 47° C., and 69° C.” ([0035]) is used.
/PHILIP L COTEY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/LAURA MARTIN SWEENEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855