DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on June 16, 2026 has been received. Claims 1-23, 28, 34, 39, and 41 are canceled. Claims 42 and 43 are withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 44-49 are new. Claims 24-27, 29-33, 35-38, 40, and 44-49 are currently under consideration.
Claim Objections
Claims 24 and 44 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In each claim, “and interior” (at line 4) should be changed to --an interior--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24-27, 29-33, 35-38, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 24, the recitation of “one or more elements for enlarging the outer surface area of a reformer tube” (at lines 8-9), which refers to one or a plurality of elements, renders the claim indefinite because the claim later recites “the elements … are distributed heterogeneously” (at lines 11-12), which refers to a plurality of elements. Also, a plurality of elements would be necessary to provide a heterogenous distribution of said elements.
Also, the relationship between “a row of inner burners” (at line 17) and “a means for heating the reformer tubes” previously set forth in the claim (at line 7) is unclear.
Also, the relationship between “a row of outer burners” (at line 18) and “a means for heating the reformer tubes” previously set forth in the claim (at line 7) is unclear.
Regarding claim 27, the limitations are unclear because claim 24 already sets forth “a reformer tube row” (at line 16), “a row of inner burners” (at line 17), and “a row of outer burners” (at line 18). The relationships between the various elements set forth in both claims are unclear, and some of the limitations are redundant.
Regarding each of claims 33, 35, 36, and 37, the recitation of “one or more elements” (at line 2) is unclear for the same reasons set forth under the rejection of claim 24, above.
The remaining claims are also rejected for being dependent from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-26, 29-32, 35-38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guazzotti et al. (US 2019/0039038 A1) in view of Ganeshan (US 6,364,658 B1).
Regarding claim 24, Guazzotti et al. discloses a reforming reactor for an endothermic process (i.e., an endothermic reactor; see FIG. 1 or 2), comprising:
a plurality of reformer tubes (i.e., a plurality of catalytic vessels 10 having the form of tubes; see paragraphs [0044]-[0045]) allowing a flow of hydrocarbons and at least one further fluid inside the tubes (i.e., a process gas feed 1 comprising starting materials for a steam reforming or CO2 reforming process, distributed to a top end of the catalytic vessels 10 via a manifold 13; see paragraph [0001]);
wherein the reformer tubes 10 comprise an interior containing a catalyst (i.e., an enhanced catalytic device 11a,11b; see paragraphs [0048]-[0049]) for the conversion of said hydrocarbons and said at least one further fluid to synthesis gas;
a means for heating the reformer tubes (i.e., burners 101 and hot flue gases, see paragraphs [0044]-[0044]; wherein said “means” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to burners or a hot flue gas and/or a hot product gas, as described in the specification, and equivalents thereof; see specification at page 6, lines 8-9 and 29-30);
wherein the catalyst comprises a structured catalyst (i.e., the enhanced catalytic device 11a or 11b comprises a mechanical support, such as an open cell ceramic foam, metal foam, or wire mesh, on which a catalytic material is deposited; see paragraph [0051]); and
wherein a circumferential surface of a reformer tube 10 has a first partial surface and a second partial surface, the first partial surface corresponding to the surface with which reformer tubes 10 within a row face one another, and the second partial surface corresponding to the surface with which reformer tubes 10 face a row of outer burners 101.
Guazzotti et al. discloses that at least a portion of the reformer tubes 10 is provided with one or more elements (i.e., an extended surface 12, such as longitudinal fins or studs; see paragraph [0046]) for enlarging the outer surface area of a reformer tube, in the region of a convection chamber 200.
Guazzotti et al., however, fails to disclose that at least a portion of the reformer tubes 10 is provided with one or more elements for enlarging the outer surface area of a reformer tube, in the region of the combustion chamber 100; wherein the elements are distributed heterogeneously along the circumference of the reformer tube, and the number of elements arranged on the first partial surface is larger than the number of elements arranged on the second partial surface.
Ganeshan discloses an apparatus (i.e., a double-fired furnace used as chemical process equipment; see FIG. 9, column 4, lines 7-19, and column 6, lines 13-20) comprising:
a plurality of tubes (i.e., a plurality of radiant tubes, arranged in rows with a predetermined center-to-center tube spacing; see FIG. 2) allowing a flow of fluids to be heated inside the tubes;
a means for heating the tubes (i.e., burners for producing flames at the positions of the two radiant planes 74 on the opposite sides of the tube);
wherein at least a portion of the tubes is provided with one or more elements (i.e., extended surface structures, such as studs 60 or fins 100 (FIG. 10)) for enlarging the outer surface area of the tube;
wherein the circumferential surface of the tube has a first partial surface (i.e., a partial surface corresponding to a relatively low-flux region 75 of the tube; as further shown in FIG. 5B, the low-flux regions M receive relatively less direct flame radiation) and a second partial surface (i.e., a partial surface corresponding to a relatively high-flux light regions 72 of the tube; as further shown in FIG. 5B, the front and rear portions of the tube, which face the radiant planes, define high-flux regions which receive greater direct flame radiation); (NOTE: the “refractory plane” in FIG. 5B is incorrectly labeled and should be a “radiating plane”, see column 2, lines 9-19);
wherein the first partial surface 75 corresponds to the surface with which tubes within a tube row face one another, and the second partial surface 72 corresponds to the surface with which the tubes face the burners 74;
wherein the elements 60 are distributed heterogeneously along the circumference of the tube (i.e., the heat fluxes on the exterior surface area of the tubes are measured or mathematically modeled, and with the aid of this information, the exterior surface of the tube is provided with the extended surface elements 60 to add heat transfer area to the exterior of the tube in the regions where the heat flux is low, wherein the area of the extended surfaces varies proportionally with the difference between the maximum flux and the mapped flux so that the flux is as uniform as possible, and wherein the area of the extended surfaces can be varied by the number and spacing of the extended surface structures and/or by varying the size of the extended surface structures, see column 5, lines 58, to column 6, line 8; in addition, the extended surfaces can have a larger area in a central region of the low-flux region relative to the area of the extended surfaces adjacent to the margins between the low-flux region and high-flux regions, see column 3, lines 61-64); and
wherein the number of elements arranged on the first partial surface 75 is larger than the number of elements arranged on the second partial surface 72 (i.e., the extended surface structures 60 are concentrated in the low-flux regions 75 of the tube, and the high-flux regions 72 of the tube are essentially free of the structures; see FIG. 9; column 4, lines 7-19).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention provide the claimed arrangement of elements for enlarging the outer surface area of the reformer tubes in the reforming reactor of Guazzotti et al. because the elements would have added heat transfer area to the exterior surface of the reformer tubes in the regions along the circumference where the heat flux was low and, accordingly, the heat flux distribution around the circumference of the reformer tubes could be made as uniform as possible, and the radiant heat transfer would be increased, as taught by Ganeshan (see column 5, line 47, to column 6, line 12).
Regarding claim 25, the further limitation “wherein the reforming reactor is configured such that a normalized space velocity at an inlet of a reformer tube is from 1 Nm3/(s*m3) to 5 Nm3/(s*m3)” is directed to a process limitation that does not structurally differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus. The modified reforming reactor of Guazzotti et al. would be operable in the recited manner by feeding the hydrocarbons and the at least one further fluid to the inlet of the reformer tube at a volume flow rate sufficient to achieve the claimed normalized space velocity.
Regarding claim 26, the further limitation “wherein the reforming reactor is configured such that a normalized space velocity at an inlet of a reformer tube is from 1.9 Nm3/(s*m3) to 3.2 Nm3/(s*m3)” is directed to a process limitation that does not structurally differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus. The modified reforming reactor of Guazzotti et al. would be operable in the recited manner by feeding the hydrocarbons and the at least one further fluid to the inlet of the reformer tube at a volume flow rate sufficient to achieve the claimed normalized space velocity.
Regarding claim 29, Guazzotti et al. further discloses that the structured catalyst is selected from the group consisting of monoliths, open cell foams, stacked wire meshes and structured packing (i.e., the enhanced catalytic device 11a,11b comprises a mechanical support, for example, an open cell ceramic foam, metal foam, or wire mesh, on which a catalytic material for the endothermic process is deposited; see paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 30, Guazzotti et al. (see paragraph [0051]) further discloses that the structured catalyst 11a,11b comprises a supporting structure (i.e., the mechanical support, for example, an open cell ceramic foam, metal foam, or wire mesh) and a catalytic active species fixed to said supporting structure (i.e., the catalytic material for the endothermic process, for example, catalyst active species selected from transition metals (single component or combination of more metals), deposited on the mechanical support).
Regarding claim 31, Guazzotti et al. further discloses that a flowed-through area of the reformer tube 10 comprises a circular cross-section (i.e., the second embodiment, shown in FIG. 2 and 3b) or an annular cross-section (i.e., the first embodiment, shown in FIG. 1 and 3a).
Regarding claim 32, Guazzotti et al. further discloses that the structured catalyst 11a,11b comprises one type of structured catalyst or a plurality of structured catalysts within the same reformer tube (i.e., the enhanced catalytic device 11a,11b comprises structured elements stacked one over the other inside if the catalytic vessels 10 after the deposition of the catalyst active species; see paragraph [0052]).
Regarding claims 35 and 36, Guazzotti et al. discloses that the element 12 for enlarging the outer surface area of the reformer tube 10 can comprise fins (i.e., the extended surface 12 can comprise longitudinal fins; see paragraph [0030], [0046]). Additionally, Ganeshan discloses that the elements for enlarging the outer surface of the tube can also comprise fins (i.e., fins 100, FIG. 10; see also column 2, lines 41-42; column 6, lines 21-23).
Regarding claim 37, Guazzotti et al. discloses that the element 12 for enlarging the outer surface area of the reformer tube 10 extends in the longitudinal direction of the reformer tube (i.e., the extended surface 12 can comprise longitudinal fins; see paragraph [0030], [0046]). In addition, Ganeshan discloses that the elements for enlarging the outer surface area of the tube can extend in the longitudinal direction of the tube (i.e., the fins 100 have a length dimension that extends along the longitudinal direction of the tube; see FIG. 10).
Regarding claim 38, Guazzotti et al. (see FIG. 2) discloses that the number of elements 12 for enlarging the outer surface area of the reformer tube 10 is larger in the area of the inlet of the reformer tube than in the area of the outlet of the reformer tube (i.e., the extended surface 12, for example, the longitudinal fins or studs, is only provided in the area of the catalytic vessel 10 proximate to the inlet, which receives the process gas 1; the area of the catalytic vessel 10 proximate to the outlet 2, which discharges the syngas product, does not include elements for enlarging the outer surface area). The area of the inlet of the reformer tube 10 is farther away from the burners 101 than the area of an outlet of the reformer tube 10, and therefore, a lower heat flux in the area of the inlet of the reformer tube 10 would be expected. Ganeshan does not further state that the number of elements for enlarging the outer surface area of the tube is larger in the area of an inlet of the tube than in the area of an outlet of the tube. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a larger number of elements for enlarging the outer surface area of the reformed tube in the area of an inlet of the reformer tube than in the area of an outlet of the reformer tube in the modified reforming reactor of Guazzotti et al. because one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the area of the inlet to exhibit a lower heat flux than the area of the outlet, and by increasing the number of elements provided in the regions of lower heat flux (including the area of the inlet), an improvement in the heat flux distribution along the reformer tube would be expected, as suggested by Ganeshan (see column 5, line 47, to column 6, line 12).
Regarding claim 40, Guazzotti et al. discloses that an average heat flux of the reformer tubes 10 ranges from approximately 55,000 to 95,000 kcal/hr/m2, depending on location in the combustion chamber 100 of the reforming reactor (see Table at paragraph [0045]). 1 kW equals approximately 860 kcal/hr. Therefore, Guazzotti et al. discloses that the heat flux from an outer part of the reformer tubes 10 to an inner part of the reformer tubes 10 lies within the claimed range of from 50 kW/m2 to 200 kW/m2 (or the range of from 43,000 kcal/hr/m2 to 172,000 kcal/hr/m2) on average along the length of the tube. In addition, Ganeshan discloses that the provision of the elements 60 on the exterior surface of the tubes further increases the average heat flux by between 10 and 25 percent (see column 5, lines 1-23). Accordingly, the heat flux from an outer part of the reformer tubes to an inner part of the reformer tubes in the modified reforming reactor of Guazzotti et al. would also lie within the instantly claimed range.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guazzotti et al. (US 2019/0039038 A1) in view of Ganeshan (US 6,364,658 B1), as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Cances et al. (EP 2 708 812 A1).
Guazzotti et al. (see FIG. 3a, 3b) discloses that the means for heating the reformer tubes 10 are burners 101; wherein the reformer tubes 10 are arranged in a reformer tube row; and wherein the burners 101 comprise a plurality of outer burners arranged in outer burner rows. Guazzotti et al., however, fails to disclose the claimed arrangement of the reformer tubes 10 and the burners 101 in the reforming reactor.
Cances et al. discloses a reforming reactor for an endothermic process (i.e., a typical arrangement of a top-fired furnace 1, in FIG. 1, which has been modified according to the design modification of FIG. 5; see paragraphs [0035], [0039]), wherein the reactor comprises: a plurality of reformer tubes (i.e., catalyst tubes 2) allowing a flow of hydrocarbons and at least one further fluid (i.e., a feed comprising methane and steam) inside the tubes; wherein the reformer tubes 2 contain in their interior a catalyst for the conversion of said hydrocarbons and said at least one further fluid to synthesis gas; and means (i.e., burners 3) for heating the reformer tubes 2; and wherein the means for heating the reformer tubes 2 are burners 3.
Specifically, Cances et al. (see FIG. 5; paragraph [0039]) discloses that the burners 3 and the reformer tubes 2 are arranged within the reformer reactor 1 in a manner such that:
the reformer tubes are arranged in rows (i.e., as a first row of catalyst tubes 21, a second row of catalyst tubes 22, etc.) within the reforming reactor 1, with each row of reformer tubes 21, 22, etc., thereby defining a reformer tube row; and
the burners 3 are arranged in rows (i.e., as rows of inner burners 3a and rows of outer or side burners 3b) within the reforming reactor and comprise a plurality of inner burners 3a arranged between and parallel to two reformer tube rows (i.e., between adjacent rows of catalyst tubes 21, 22, etc.), thereby defining an inner burner row; and a plurality of outer burners 3b arranged between and parallel to a reformer tube row (i.e., the row of reformer tubes 21) and a reforming reactor wall (i.e., a wall 1a), thereby defining an outer burner row.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the claimed arrangement of reformer tubes and burners within the modified reforming reactor of Guazzotti et al. because the claimed arrangement would have increased the capacity of the reforming reactor by providing multiple reformer tube rows for the conversion of said hydrocarbons and said at least one further fluid to synthesis gas and made it possible to generate a more homogenous temperature profile in the reformer tubes, as taught by Cances et al. (see paragraph [0028]).
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guazzotti et al. (US 2019/0039038 A1) in view of Ganeshan (US 6,364,658 B1), as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Farnell (GB 2314853 A).
Ganeshan (see column 5, lines 35-46) discloses that the elements 60 may be made from any suitable material that can be used in the furnace, such as high temperature steel and alloy, wherein the elements 60 can be welded or fixed by other means to the exterior of the tubes.
The combination of Guazzotti et al. and Ganeshan, however, fails to disclose that the element for enlarging the outer surface area of the reformer tube is be made from the same material as the reformer tube.
Farnell discloses a reforming reactor for an endothermic process (i.e., a reactor for effecting an endothermic reaction, and in particular, the catalytic steam reforming of hydrocarbons; see page 1, lines 2-3; page 2, lines 1-8), the reforming reactor (i.e., a top-fired reformer 1; see FIG. 1-2; page 2, line 34, to page 3, line 8) comprising:
a plurality of reformer tubes (i.e., catalyst filled reformer tubes 2) allowing a flow of hydrocarbons and at least one further fluid (i.e., a flow of hydrocarbon and steam, supplied via a header 4) inside the tubes, wherein the reformer tubes 2 contain in their interior a catalyst for the conversion of said hydrocarbons and said at least one further fluid to synthesis gas (i.e., the reformer tubes 2 are filled with a catalyst for promoting the steam reforming reaction of hydrocarbons to synthesis gas; see page 2, lines 1-8); and
means for heating the reformer tubes (i.e., burners 7 and hot flue gas; wherein said “means” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to burners or a hot flue gas and/or a hot product gas, as described in the specification, and equivalents thereof; see specification at page 6, lines 8-9 and 29-30);
wherein at least a portion of the plurality of reformer tubes 2 is provided with one or more elements (i.e., longitudinally extending fins 11, see page 2, lines 9-17; other means of extending the surface may also be employed, for example, serrations or studs, see page 2, lines 28-29) for enlarging the outer surface area of a reformer tube 2; and
wherein the one or more elements 11 for enlarging the outer surface area of the reformer tube 2 can be made from the same material as the reformer tube (i.e., the extended surface may be provided by attachments to the tubes or else “integrally cast thereon”, such that the same material forms the fins 11 and the reformer tubes 2; see page 2, lines 29-30).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the elements for enlarging the outer surface area of the reformer tubes from the same material as the reformer tubes in the modified reforming reactor of Guazzotti et al. because the provision of the elements for enlarging the outer surface area of the reformer tubes by integrally casting the elements thereon would have been recognized as another suitable technique for providing the elements on the outer surface area of the reformer tubes, as taught by Farnell.
Claims 44-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guazzotti et al. (US 2019/0039038 A1) in view of Giacobbe (US 5,935,531 A).
Regarding claim 44, Guazzotti et al. discloses a reforming reactor for an endothermic process (i.e., an endothermic reactor according to FIG. 1, 3a, and 4a), comprising:
a plurality of reformer tubes (i.e., a plurality of catalytic vessels 10 having the form of tubes; see paragraphs [0044]-[0045]) allowing a flow of hydrocarbons and at least one further fluid inside the tubes (i.e., a process gas feed 1 comprising starting materials for a steam reforming process or a CO2 reforming process, distributed to a top end of the catalytic vessels 10 via a manifold 13; see paragraph [0001]);
wherein the reformer tubes 10 comprise an interior containing a catalyst (i.e., an enhanced catalytic device 11a; see paragraphs [0048]-[0049]) for the conversion of the hydrocarbons and the at least one further fluid to synthesis gas (see paragraph [0001]);
a means for heating the reformer tubes (i.e., burners 101 and hot flue gases, see paragraphs [0044]-[0044]; wherein said “means” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to burners or a hot flue gas and/or a hot product gas, as described in the specification, and equivalents thereof; see specification at page 6, lines 8-9 and 29-30);
wherein at least a portion of the plurality of reformer tubes 10 is provided with one or more elements for enlarging the outer surface area of a reformer tube (i.e., an extended surface 12, for example longitudinal fins or studs; see paragraph [0046]); and
wherein the catalyst comprises a structured catalyst (i.e., the enhanced catalytic device 11a comprises a mechanical support, such as an open cell ceramic foam, metal foam, or wire mesh, on which a catalytic material is deposited; see paragraph [0051]).
Guazzotti et al. fails to disclose a rod arranged within the interior of the reformer tube (i.e., within the interior of an inner tube 20; see FIG. 1), wherein the rod is configured to increase the velocity of the synthesis gas.
Giacobbe discloses a reforming reactor for an endothermic process (i.e., a catalytic reactor for conducting endothermic reactions, such as the production of hydrogen by steam reformation of hydrocarbons; see column 1, lines 5-8), the reforming reactor (see FIG. 1-7 and corresponding description) comprising:
a plurality of reformer tubes (i.e., a plurality of tubular catalytic vessels 10) allowing a flow of hydrocarbons and at least one further fluid inside the tubes (i.e., a flow of reactants comprising steam and hydrocarbons for the steam reformation of hydrocarbons, fed to the inside of each tubular catalytic vessels 10 via feed lines 17);
wherein the reformer tubes 10 comprise an interior and contain in the interior a catalyst (i.e., a catalytic material filled within an annular chamber 11 inside each tubular catalytic vessel 10) for the conversion of said hydrocarbons and said at least one further fluid to synthesis gas;
a means for heating the reformer tubes (i.e., a plurality of burners 15 arranged in rows within a housing 13 that contains the tubular catalytic vessels 10; wherein the recited “means” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to burners or a hot flue gas and/or a hot product gas, as described in the specification, and equivalents thereof; see specification at page 6, lines 8-9 and 29-30); and
specifically, a rod 23 arranged within the interior (i.e., a heat exchange promoter 23 within each tubular catalytic vessel 10, constructed in the form of a tubular flow displacement body that extends coaxially substantially over the entire length of an ascending pipe 18 through which the synthesis gas formed by the catalytic reaction flows, the heat exchange promoter 23 having an outer diameter that is smaller than an inner diameter of the ascending pipe 18 so that an annular space 25 is formed between the two diameters, wherein the synthesis gas can only flow up through this annular space 25 to reach the product gas outlet 19; see FIG. 4, 4a; column 6, lines 14-33), wherein the rod is configured to increase the velocity of the synthesis gas (i.e., the heat exchange promoter 23 reduces the cross-sectional flow area of the ascending pipe 18, thereby increasing the flow velocity of the synthesis gas through the annular space 25; as well-known in the art, the basic formula for flow velocity is v = Q /A, where Q is the volumetric flow rate and A is the cross-sectional area of the flow).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange a rod (i.e., a heat exchange promoter constructed in the form of a tubular flow displacement body) within the interior of each reformer tube in the reforming reactor of Guazzotti et al. because the rod would have compelled the synthesis gas to an intimate heat exchange with the downward flowing process gas to be heated, with the heat exchange being effected through the wall of the inner tube through which the synthesis gas flows, positioned inside of each of the reformer tubes, as taught by Giacobbe (see column 6, lines 22-31).
Regarding claim 45, the further limitation “wherein the reforming reactor is configured such that a normalized space velocity at an inlet of a reformer tube is from 1 Nm3/(s*m3) to 5 Nm3/(s*m3)” is directed to a process limitation that does not structurally differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus. The modified reforming reactor of Guazzotti et al. would be operable in the recited manner by feeding the hydrocarbons and the at least one further fluid to the inlet of the reformer tube at a volume flow rate sufficient to achieve the claimed normalized space velocity.
Regarding claim 46, the further limitation “wherein the reforming reactor is configured such that a normalized space velocity at an inlet of a reformer tube is from 1.9 Nm3/(s*m3) to 3.2 Nm3/(s*m3)” is directed to a process limitation that does not structurally differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus. The modified reforming reactor of Guazzotti et al. would be operable in the recited manner by feeding the hydrocarbons and the at least one further fluid to the inlet of the reformer tube at a volume flow rate sufficient to achieve the claimed normalized space velocity.
Regarding claim 47, Guazzotti et al. further discloses that the structured catalyst is selected from the group consisting of monoliths, open cell foams, stacked wire meshes and structured packing (i.e., the enhanced catalytic device 11a,11b comprises a mechanical support, for example, an open cell ceramic foam, metal foam, or wire mesh, on which a catalytic material for the endothermic process is deposited; see paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 48, Guazzotti et al. (see paragraph [0051]) further discloses that the structured catalyst 11a,11b comprises a supporting structure (i.e., the mechanical support, for example, an open cell ceramic foam, metal foam, or wire mesh) and a catalytic active species fixed to said supporting structure (i.e., the catalytic material for the endothermic process, for example, catalyst active species selected from transition metals (single component or combination of more metals), deposited on the mechanical support).
Regarding claim 49, Guazzotti et al. further discloses that an average heat flux of the reformer tubes 10 ranges from approximately 55,000 to 95,000 kcal/hr/m2, depending on location in the combustion chamber 100 of the reforming reactor (see Table at paragraph [0045]). 1 kW equals approximately 860 kcal/hr. Therefore, Guazzotti et al. discloses that the heat flux from an outer part of the reformer tubes 10 to an inner part of the reformer tubes 10 lies within the claimed range of from 50 kW/m2 to 200 kW/m2 (or the range of from 43,000 kcal/hr/m2 to 172,000 kcal/hr/m2) on average along the length of the tube.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on June 16, 2026 have been considered. In particular, Applicant (at the paragraph bridging pages 8-9) argues,
“… Instant claim 1 requires that the reformer tubes have two partial surfaces, with fins "distributed heterogeneously along the circumference of the reformer tube". The first partial surface faces "away" (i.e. perpendicular) to the burners and facing only adjacent reformer tubes. The first partial surface has a larger number of fins. The second partial surface faces "toward" (i.e. parallel) to the burners and perpendicular to the adjacent reformer tubes. The second partial surface has a smaller number of fins. In contrast, Ganeshan '658 shows the "light side" of the tube (facing toward the burners) as having no fins (studs 60) and the "dark side" of the tube (facing toward adjacent burners) having fins (as can be seen at least in Figures 6, and 7).” (with emphasis added).
The Office respectfully disagrees.
Claim 24 (at lines 11-12 and 19-22) recites,
“wherein the elements for enlarging the outer surface area of a reformer tube are distributed heterogeneously along the circumference of a reformer tube”
“wherein the number of elements for enlarging the outer surface of a reformer tube arranged on the first partial surface is larger than the number of elements for enlarging the outer surface of a reformer tube arranged on the second partial surface.”
Note that the claim language does not actually require any of the elements to be arranged on the second partial surface.
As shown in FIG. 9 of Ganeshan, the first partial surface (i.e., corresponding to a low-flux region 75, which faces adjacent tubes) comprises a plurality of elements (i.e., studs 60) for enlarging the outer surface of the tube. The second partial surface (i.e., corresponding to a high flux region 72, which directly faces the radiant planes or burners) are “essentially free” of elements for enlarging the outer surface of the tube (see column 4, lines 7-19). In the figure, the number of elements arranged on the first partial surface 75 (e.g., thirty-six studs 60, with eighteen on each opposing side of the tube) is larger than the number of elements arranged on the second partial surface 72 (e.g., zero studs 60); (i.e., thirty-six is greater than zero).
Furthermore, the specific distribution of the elements along the circumference of the tubes ultimately depends on its intended application. Thus, Ganeshan (see column 5, lines 58, to column 6, line 8) discloses that an optimal distribution of the elements along the circumference of the tubes will be based on measurements or mathematical modeling of the heat fluxes on the exterior surface area of the tubes during use, and with the aid of this information, the exterior surface of the tubes can be provided with the extended surface elements (e.g., studs 60) to add heat transfer area to the exterior of the tube in regions where the heat flux is low. The area of the elements varies proportionally with the difference between the maximum flux and the mapped flux so that the flux can be made as uniform as possible, and the area of the extended surfaces can be varied by adjusting the number and spacing of the extended surface structures and/or by varying the size of the extended surface structures. For instance, FIG. 5B shows the heat flux distribution of a smooth tube heated by two radiating flames located on opposite sides of the tube (NOTE: the “refractory plane” is incorrectly labeled and should be a “radiating plane”). One of ordinary skill in the art would have possessed the requisite knowledge to determine an appropriate number, size, and/or placement of the elements 60 along the circumference of the tube, such as only on a first partial surface (about point M), or on both the first partial surface and a minor portion of a second partial surface, in order to balance out the differences in heat flux between the high flux regions and the low flux regions and obtain a heat flux that was as uniform as possible.
Lastly, the borders which define where a first partial surface begins/ends and where a second partial surface begins/ends are arbitrary, such that one of ordinary skill in the art may refer to the elements which are disposed at the margins between a low-flux region and a high-flux region as belonging to either of the first partial surface or the second partial surface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Spoto et al. (US 2007/0160514 A1) and Arisaki (JP 59-010341 A) are cited to further illustrate the state of the art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
* * *
/JENNIFER A LEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774