DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to US App. 18/037,848. Claims 1-21 have been examined.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
Claims 20 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 20 “the battery powered device” and “the access to restricted area” lack antecedent basis. In claim 21, “name of the device” lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is indefinite how these elements in the claim 21 relate together namely battery powered access control device, the first access device, and name of the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Picard et al. (CA 2663505) hereafter Picard.
Regarding Claim 1,
A system (100) comprising:
a plurality of access devices (102) configured to communicate to each other; wherein a first access device (102a) of the plurality of access devices (102) is configured to generate a health message (154) [Picard: 0030; … a method for providing real time clock distribution in an advanced metering system mesh network; … establishing a network including at least one root node and a plurality of node devices, at least some of which node devices comprise metrology devices; configuring the network for bi-directional communications between the at least one root node and each of the plurality of node devices];
a control circuitry (104) that is coupled to the plurality of access devices (102), and configured to: read an initial device time associated to the first access device (102a) from the health message received from the first access device (102a) [Picard: 0031; … configuring the plurality of node devices such that one or more node devices correspond to one or more son node devices and one or more node devices correspond to father node devices; associating each son node device with one or more father node devices; transmitting update time information to each son node device - from its associated one or more father node devices in a packet format including predetermined preamble and header portions at a predetermined bit rate; and configuring each son node device to resynchronize itself based on the transmitted update time information each time it receives a message from one of its associated father node devices];
compare the initial device time with a controller time associated to the control circuitry (104), determine first auto drift correction parameters based on a result of the comparison, wherein a first time correction is applied to the initial device time based on the first auto drift correction parameters to generate an intermediate device time [Picard: 0044; providing each node device with a crystal controlled internal clock; conducting packet communications among the root node and the plurality of node devices; and configuring each node device to realign its internal clock each time the node device communicates with another node device closer to the root node than itself; per such exemplary methodology, each such node device will realign its clock to be in synchronization with the network thereby compensating for time differences caused by drift in any of the node device clocks; 0046]; and
compare the intermediate device time with the controller time and determine second auto drift correction parameters based on a result of the comparison, wherein a second time correction is applied to the intermediate device time based on the second auto drift correction parameters to generate a final device time when a difference between the intermediate device time and the controller time is above a first predefined threshold value [Picard: predefined threshold value == some limit or desired accuracy; 0511; each endpoint would generally have a clock shift with the upper level; for relatively larger level numbers, such shift would become significant relative to the cell relay clock; this could lead to a loss of synchronization if the shift were allowed to grow above some limit; 0513; whenever the receiver resynchronizes its local clock, two values are recorded: the value of the correction, which is Clock_Correction(k), and the time of this resynchronization, which is Resync_Time(k); this time is given by the value of the system real-time-clock at the moment of the resynchronization; the parameter k is used here to number the successive resynchronization occurrences; from these two values and with the knowledge of the previous resynchronization time, it is theoretically possible to evaluate the relative drift of the local crystal oscillator, Xdrift; 0514; each clock correction value can be considered to be the result of two contributions; the first one is a slow drift due to a difference between the local crystal frequency and the average crystal frequency in the father endpoints; the second contribution is a random time shift occurring each time a packet travel time is estimated; 0515; to reduce the contribution of random errors, successive clock corrections are preferably summed …; 0428; several parameters permit the computation of beacon periodicity of synchronized EPs (end points); the most important is the clock accuracy of the EP; it is mainly dependent on the accuracy of the crystal (or oscillator) and of the firmware clock; another parameter is the number of beacons one can assume a system can miss, due to collisions, jammers, etc.; the last parameter is the maximum drift the system is authorized to have between 2 levels; 0386; the present challenge which is successfully addressed herewith is to refresh periodically the time in each node before its clock drifts beyond the desired accuracy].
Note:
Intermediate device time is associated with each resynchronization occurrence.
Regarding Claim 2,
further comprising a communication network (110) that enables the plurality of access devices (102) to communicate to each other [Picard: 0030; configuring the network for bi-directional communications between the at least one root node and each of the plurality of node devices].
Regarding Claim 3,
wherein the control circuitry (104) is further configured to determine second auto drift correction parameters for the first access device (102a) based on a time taken by the first access device (102a) to drift to a predefined value [Picard: 0511; each endpoint would generally have a clock shift with the upper level; for relatively larger level numbers, such shift would become significant relative to the cell relay clock; this could lead to a loss of synchronization if the shift were allowed to grow above some limit; 0513; whenever the receiver resynchronizes its local clock, two values are recorded: the value of the correction, which is Clock_Correction(k), and the time of this resynchronization, which is Resync_Time(k); this time is given by the value of the system real-time-clock at the moment of the resynchronization; the parameter k is used here to number the successive resynchronization occurrences; from these two values and with the knowledge of the previous resynchronization time, it is theoretically possible to evaluate the relative drift of the local crystal oscillator, Xdrift; 0514; each clock correction value can be considered to be the result of two contributions; the first one is a slow drift due to a difference between the local crystal frequency and the average crystal frequency in the father endpoints; the second contribution is a random time shift occurring each time a packet travel time is estimated; 0515; to reduce the contribution of random errors, successive clock corrections are preferably summed …].
Regarding Claim 4,
wherein the control circuitry (104) is further configured to periodically receive the health message (154) from the first device (102a) [Picard: 0031; transmitting update time information to each son node device - from its associated one or more father node devices in a packet format including predetermined preamble and header portions at a predetermined bit rate; and configuring each son node device to resynchronize itself based on the transmitted update time information each time it receives a message from one of its associated father node devices].
Regarding Claim 5,
further comprising a main access device (102c) that is coupled to the first access device (102a) and a second access device (102b) of the plurality of access devices (102), and configured to receive a message addressed to the first device (102b) from the second device (102b), wherein the main device (102c) is further configured to store the health message (154) in an internal memory [Picard: 0037; causing a previously registered end device which has lost its synchronization to the network to transmit a beacon request to a neighboring end device; and configuring the neighboring end device to transmit synchronization information to the previously registered end device if the neighboring end device has received within a predetermined number of recent time slots a message from a father end device by which the neighboring end device has been synchronized; 0039; configuring the network for bi-directional communications between the central facility and each of the plurality of node devices via associations with respective of the father node devices; from each existing son node device associated with a given specific father node device, providing information to such given specific father node device about alternative father communications links available to such existing son node device; for each father node device, upon receiving a request from a non-son node device to become a son node device therof].
Regarding Claim 6,
wherein the control circuitry (104) is further configured to generate and provide a notification to the first access device (102a) when the difference between the intermediate device time and the controller time is above the predefined threshold value such that the notification enables the first device (102a) to perform time synchronization with the main device (102c) [Picard: 0511; each endpoint would generally have a clock shift with the upper level; for relatively larger level numbers, such shift would become significant relative to the cell relay clock; this could lead to a loss of synchronization if the shift were allowed to grow above some limit; 0513; whenever the receiver resynchronizes its local clock, two values are recorded: the value of the correction, which is Clock_Correction(k), and the time of this resynchronization, which is Resync_Time(k); this time is given by the value of the system real-time-clock at the moment of the resynchronization; the parameter k is used here to number the successive resynchronization occurrences; from these two values and with the knowledge of the previous resynchronization time, it is theoretically possible to evaluate the relative drift of the local crystal oscillator, Xdrift; 0514; each clock correction value can be considered to be the result of two contributions; the first one is a slow drift due to a difference between the local crystal frequency and the average crystal frequency in the father endpoints; the second contribution is a random time shift occurring each time a packet travel time is estimated; 0515; to reduce the contribution of random errors, successive clock corrections are preferably summed …].
Regarding Claim 7,
wherein, in response to the notification, the first device (102a) requests a current time from the main device (102c) to perform time synchronization [Picard: 0478; the beacon request allows nodes to refresh the information of their neighbors when they consider it is not recent enough, especially in the case another node asked them synchronization (they must be sure to still have a good connectivity before accepting); 0505; if necessary, the endpoint will repeat its SYNC request until it receives an acknowledgment or until the maximum number of retries is reached].
Regarding Claim 8,
wherein the control circuitry (104) is further configured to perform a network mapping of the plurality of access devices (102) [Picard: mapping == configuring; 0030; … a method for providing real time clock distribution in an advanced metering system mesh network; … establishing a network including at least one root node and a plurality of node devices, at least some of which node devices comprise metrology devices; configuring the network for bi-directional communications between the at least one root node and each of the plurality of node devices].
Regarding Claim 9,
wherein the control circuitry (104) is further configured to determine network parameters based on the generated network mapping, wherein the network parameters comprise one of, a hop count and latency between the plurality of access devices (102) [Picard: 0032; each of such plurality of node devices is further configured to operate in accordance with repeating time slots within repeating hyperframes, with each of such plurality of node devices assigned a network cell address and a level number based on the number of hops to each respective node device from said root node, and with each packet message including at least an indication of the transmitting node device's level number, cell address, and time slot].
Regarding Claim 10,
wherein the control circuitry (104) is further configured to determine an optimum hop count value for each access device of the plurality of access devices (102) such that messages routed between the plurality of access devices (102) and the control circuitry (104) has a minimal time delay [Picard: 0047; configuring the network for bi-directional communications among the at least one master node and each of the plurality of node devices using a repeating hyperframe subdivided into a repeating time slot packet protocol; assigning levels to each node based on the number of hops the node is away from the master node such that nodes further away from the master node will be assigned higher numbers; identifying at each node neighbor nodes thereof, wherein neighbors with a lower level are identified as fathers of the node, neighbors having an equal level are identified as brothers, and neighbors having a higher level are identified as sons; broadcasting a message from the master node to the higher level nodes; and assigning acknowledgement sequences to son nodes within messages broadcast by father nodes; 0033; computing an average local propagation delay for each one-hop link for uplink communications from end devices towards its associated cell relay; computing the global average propagation delay along each uplink path from an end device to its associated cell relay; selecting at each end device the lowest value of global average propagation delay to define its own optimized global propagation delay value].
Regarding Claim 11,
wherein the control circuitry (104) is further configured to generate a list of discovered devices based on the detection [Picard: 0755; with reference to a Neighbor list, if the knowledge of the 1-hop neighborhood is enough for an endpoint, it is not the case for the Cell Master; this one has to know the content of the cell to compute downlink paths; therefore, all the endpoints should send regularly their NET Neighbor List using an uplink message.
Regarding Claim 12,
wherein the control circuitry (104) is further configured to utilize the network parameters to determine a time delay for different routes in the communication network (110) and provides the time delay for different routes to each access device of the plurality of access devices (102) [Picard: 0033; computing an average local propagation delay for each one-hop link for uplink communications from end devices towards its associated cell relay; computing the global average propagation delay along each uplink path from an end device to its associated cell relay; selecting at each end device the lowest value of global average propagation delay to define its own optimized global propagation delay value].
Regarding Claim 13,
wherein each access device of the plurality of access devices (102) comprises a battery (103) to provide an electrical energy to perform operations [Picard: battery == limited energy available; 0606; for low-cost devices which do not contain energy storage devices, this means that they have limited energy available and will not be able to continue to participate to the network; 0610; the MAC layer stops listening and sends 3 very short messages with the EP (end point) remaining energy].
Regarding Claim 14,
wherein the main device (102c) is powered by way of a power supply to provide an electrical energy to perform operations [Picard: 0606; it is noted that endpoints that experience a power outage possess important information that if it could be relayed to the data collection system, can be applied for very useful network management purposes; however, during a power outage, the supply of energy has been cut off].
Regarding Claim 15,
wherein the first device (102a) comprises a device clock (105) such that the control circuitry (104) is configured to apply the first time correction and the second time correction by way of the device clock (105) [Picard: 0511; each endpoint would generally have a clock shift with the upper level; for relatively larger level numbers, such shift would become significant relative to the cell relay clock; this could lead to a loss of synchronization if the shift were allowed to grow above some limit; 0513; whenever the receiver resynchronizes its local clock, two values are recorded: the value of the correction, which is Clock_Correction(k), and the time of this resynchronization, which is Resync_Time(k); this time is given by the value of the system real-time-clock at the moment of the resynchronization; the parameter k is used here to number the successive resynchronization occurrences; from these two values and with the knowledge of the previous resynchronization time, it is theoretically possible to evaluate the relative drift of the local crystal oscillator, Xdrift; 0514; each clock correction value can be considered to be the result of two contributions; the first one is a slow drift due to a difference between the local crystal frequency and the average crystal frequency in the father endpoints; the second contribution is a random time shift occurring each time a packet travel time is estimated].
Regarding Claim 16,
wherein the control circuitry (104) further comprises a controller clock (107) configured to generate the controller time [Picard: 0514; each clock correction value can be considered to be the result of two contributions; the first one is a slow drift due to a difference between the local crystal frequency and the average crystal frequency in the father endpoints; the second contribution is a random time shift occurring each time a packet travel time is estimated].
Regarding Claim 19,
A method (200) for synchronizing time of a plurality of access devices (102) in the communication network (110), the method (200) comprising:
detecting, by way of a control circuitry (104) of a system 100, the plurality of access devices (102) once the plurality of access devices (102) is powered ON by transmitting a status signal (152) [Picard: mapping == configuring; 0030; … a method for providing real time clock distribution in an advanced metering system mesh network; … establishing a network including at least one root node and a plurality of node devices, at least some of which node devices comprise metrology devices; configuring the network for bi-directional communications between the at least one root node and each of the plurality of node devices; 0032; each of such node devices are preferably configured for bi-directional based communications with the root node, and with at least some of such node devices comprising metrology devices; still further, preferably each such plurality of node devices is further configured to transmit respective packet messages];
transmitting, by way of the control circuitry (104), a health message (154) to the plurality of access devices (102) to establish a communication in within the communication network (110) [Picard: 0030; … a method for providing real time clock distribution in an advanced metering system mesh network; … establishing a network including at least one root node and a plurality of node devices, at least some of which node devices comprise metrology devices; configuring the network for bi-directional communications between the at least one root node and each of the plurality of node devices];
reading, local time of by the control circuitry (104) associated with the first access device (102a) from the health message (154) received; receiving the health message (154) by the first access device (102a) from the control circuitry (104) and comparing the local time with the time of the controller circuitry (104) [Picard: 0031; … configuring the plurality of node devices such that one or more node devices correspond to one or more son node devices and one or more node devices correspond to father node devices; associating each son node device with one or more father node devices; transmitting update time information to each son node device - from its associated one or more father node devices in a packet format including predetermined preamble and header portions at a predetermined bit rate; and configuring each son node device to resynchronize itself based on the transmitted update time information each time it receives a message from one of its associated father node devices];
determining first auto drift correction parameters based on the result of the comparison that is applied to the local time of the plurality of access devices (102) based on the first auto drift correction parameters to generate an intermediate access device time [Picard: 0044; providing each node device with a crystal controlled internal clock; conducting packet communications among the root node and the plurality of node devices; and configuring each node device to realign its internal clock each time the node device communicates with another node device closer to the root node than itself; per such exemplary methodology, each such node device will realign its clock to be in synchronization with the network thereby compensating for time differences caused by drift in any of the node device clocks; 0046];
comparing the intermediate device time with the time of the controller clock (107) and determining second auto drift correction parameters based on a result of the comparison; applying a second time correction parameters by the control circuitry (104) to the intermediate device time based on the second auto drift correction parameters; and generating and updating a final device time when a difference between the intermediate device time and the controller circuitry (104) time is above a first predefined threshold value [Picard: predefined threshold value == some limit or desired accuracy; 0511; each endpoint would generally have a clock shift with the upper level; for relatively larger level numbers, such shift would become significant relative to the cell relay clock; this could lead to a loss of synchronization if the shift were allowed to grow above some limit; 0513; whenever the receiver resynchronizes its local clock, two values are recorded: the value of the correction, which is Clock_Correction(k), and the time of this resynchronization, which is Resync_Time(k); this time is given by the value of the system real-time-clock at the moment of the resynchronization; the parameter k is used here to number the successive resynchronization occurrences; from these two values and with the knowledge of the previous resynchronization time, it is theoretically possible to evaluate the relative drift of the local crystal oscillator, Xdrift; 0514; each clock correction value can be considered to be the result of two contributions; the first one is a slow drift due to a difference between the local crystal frequency and the average crystal frequency in the father endpoints; the second contribution is a random time shift occurring each time a packet travel time is estimated; 0515; to reduce the contribution of random errors, successive clock corrections are preferably summed …; 0428; several parameters permit the computation of beacon periodicity of synchronized EPs (end points); the most important is the clock accuracy of the EP; it is mainly dependent on the accuracy of the crystal (or oscillator) and of the firmware clock; another parameter is the number of beacons one can assume a system can miss, due to collisions, jammers, etc.; the last parameter is the maximum drift the system is authorized to have between 2 levels; 0386; the present challenge which is successfully addressed herewith is to refresh periodically the time in each node before its clock drifts beyond the desired accuracy].
Note:
Intermediate device time is associated with each resynchronization occurrence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Picard in view of Park (KR 101907923).
Regarding Claim 17,
Picard teaches:
further comprising a server (106) that is coupled to the control circuitry … [Picard: 0212; the meter data acquisition process begins with the Meter (or Master) Data Management System 391 initiating a request for data].
However, Picard does not teach that a server (106) that is … configured to synchronize time with the control circuitry (104) at predefined time intervals.
Park teaches:
a server (106) that is … configured to synchronize time with the control circuitry (104) at predefined time intervals [Park: p. 6; the smart time may be automatically synchronized with the server time at predetermined intervals by the smart time transmission unit 150 to store updated smart time information; p. 5; the smart time transmitter 140 may synchronize with a separate communication server (not shown) so that the smart time can be synchronized with the server time at all times; accordingly, the present invention synchronizes the smart time of the guest smartphone 100 with the lock time of the lock device 200 to match both the times of the management server 300,].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Picard and Park in order to improve the accuracy of the operation and management of the lock device [Park: p. 11].
Regarding Claim 18,
Picard teaches that the meter data acquisition process begins with the Meter (or Master) Data Management System 391 initiating a request for data [Picard: 0212].
However, Picard does not teach that the control circuitry (104) is further configured to periodically synchronize the controller clock (107) with the server (106) and wherein, the control circuitry (104) is further configured to correct the controller time of the controller clock (107) when a drift in the controller time and a time of the server (106) is identified.
Park teaches:
wherein the control circuitry (104) is further configured to periodically synchronize the controller clock (107) with the server (106) and wherein, the control circuitry (104) is further configured to correct the controller time of the controller clock (107) when a drift in the controller time and a time of the server (106) is identified [Park: p. 6; the smart time may be automatically synchronized with the server time at predetermined intervals by the smart time transmission unit 150 to store updated smart time information; p. 5; the smart time transmitter 140 may synchronize with a separate communication server (not shown) so that the smart time can be synchronized with the server time at all times; accordingly, the present invention synchronizes the smart time of the guest smartphone 100 with the lock time of the lock device 200 to match both the times of the management server 300].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Picard and Park in order to improve the accuracy of the operation and management of the lock device [Park: p. 11].
Regarding Claim 20,
Picard teaches configuring the network for bi-directional communications between the at least one root node and each of the plurality of node devices [Picard: 0030].
However, Picard does not teach that the battery powered device (102-3) is electrically connected to a locking system, which control the access to restricted area and wireless connected to the control circuitry (104) over the mesh network.
Park teaches:
wherein the battery powered device (102-3) is electrically connected to a locking system, which control the access to restricted area and wireless connected to the control circuitry (104) over the mesh network [Park: p. 5; in the present invention, 'close proximity' between the guest smartphone 100 and the lock device 200 means 'when a non-contact proximity or proximity wireless communication is performed' or 'when contact communication is performed' 140 may include a lock device 200 and a contact confirmation module (not shown) for confirming the contact; accordingly, the present invention controls the lock time to be updated by the smart time every time the guest smartphone 100 is close to the lock device 200, thereby matching the times of the guest smartphone 100 and the lock device 200].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Picard and Park in order to improve the accuracy of the operation and management of the lock device [Park: p. 11].
Regarding Claim 21,
Picard teaches configuring the network for bi-directional communications between the at least one root node and each of the plurality of node devices [Picard: 0030].
However, Picard does not teach that the control circuitry (104) monitors battery powered access control device (104) time by reading the health message (154) transmitted from the first access device which contain name of the device (102c).
Park teaches:
wherein the control circuitry (104) monitors battery powered access control device (104) time by reading the health message (154) transmitted from the first access device which contain name of the device (102c) [Park: name of device == unique identification number; p. 5; it is assumed that the guest smartphone 100, the lock device 200, and the management server 300 have the same 'mobile key generation algorithm', and each unique identification number may be substantially the same; in the present invention, 'close proximity' between the guest smartphone 100 and the lock device 200 means 'when a non-contact proximity or proximity wireless communication is performed' or 'when contact communication is performed' 140 may include a lock device 200 and a contact confirmation module (not shown) for confirming the contact; accordingly, the present invention controls the lock time to be updated by the smart time every time the guest smartphone 100 is close to the lock device 200, thereby matching the times of the guest smartphone 100 and the lock device 200].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Picard and Park in order to improve the accuracy of the operation and management of the lock device [Park: p. 11].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lu (US 2016/0100400) teaches that the network monitor 605 of the coexistence manager 510-a in FIG. 6 may be configured to monitor a wireless communication network (e.g., the network 100 in FIG. 1) for changes that may trigger a (re)synchronization of TDM time slots … [Lu: 0054].
SAAD A. WAQAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2468
/Saad A. Waqas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468