DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. The Applicants submitted claim amendments on 8/4/2026 in response to the office action mailed on 5/8/2026. The status of the claims are as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2019/0366621 A1) to Achten et al. (hereinafter Achten).
The above noted rejection is hereby withdrawn.
NEW Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2019/0366621 A1) to Achten et al. (hereinafter Achten) in view of the teachings of (EP 0305816 A2) to Wittmann et al. (hereinafter Wittmann).
Achten is directed toward a polycarbonate composition containing a flame retardant. Achten discloses at paragraph [0013] that the composition contains 20% to 99% of an aromatic polycarbonate, which reads on Applicants range of 50% to 90.38%. Achten discloses at paragraph [0128] that titanium dioxide fillers in common amounts are added. Achten discloses at paragraph [0150] that fillers may be added at 0.00% to 10% by weight, which reads on Applicants 5 to 20% by weight of titanium dioxide. Achten discloses at paragraph [0018] that 0.0% to 5% of at lease one anti dripping agent may be added, which reads on Applicants range of 0.1 to 0.8%. Achten discloses at paragraph [0015] that 0.0 to 1.0% by weight of a flame retarder is present, which reads on Applicants range of 0.02% to 0.15%. Achten discloses at paragraph [0143] that flame retardant compounds reading on Applicants sulfonate compounds. Achten discloses at paragraph [0016] that 0 to 50% of impact modifiers are present. Achten discloses at paragraph [0092] that impact modifiers comprises one or more graft copolymers. Achten discloses at paragraph [0094] that the graft base is an acrylate rubber. Achten discloses at paragraph [0096] that the graft is a C1-C8 methacrylate. Achten discloses at paragraph [0128] that additives such as UV absorbers are added. Achten discloses at paragraph [0124] that the antidrip is a PTFE polymer. Achten discloses at paragraph [0102] that graft polymer has a core shell structure. It has been held that the mere fact that a reference suggest a multitude of possible combinations does not in and of itself make any one of these combinations less obvious, citing Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804 (Fed. Cir. 1989). It would be obvious for One skilled in the art would select Applicants composition from the list.
Wittman is directed toward flame resistant thermoplastic polycarbonate with titanium dioxide fillers. Achten and Wittman are both directed toward flame resistant thermoplastic polycarbonate with titanium dioxide fillers and therefore are analogous art. Wittman teaches ”a thermoplastic molding compositions made from aromatic polycarbonate, polyalkylene terephthalate, graft polymer, fluorinated polyolefin and phosphorus compound.” Wittman teaches “the filled or reinforced molding compositions can contain up to 60, preferably 10 to 60% by weight, based on the filled or reinforced molding composition, of fillers and / or reinforcing materials. Preferred reinforcing materials are glass fibers. Preferred fillers which can also have a reinforcing effect are glass spheres, mica, silicates, quartz, talc, titanium dioxide, wollastonite.” Wittman teaches that the preferred range for reinforcement is 10% and greater and therefore one skilled in the art would find it obvious to have a range above 10%. This is NOT teaching away from Achten, which is silent about having a higher range.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the disclosure of Achten in view of the teachings of Wittman to select from the list disclosed the Applicants composition and to have a titanium dioxide in the preferred range for structural reinforcement that would form a prime facie case of obviousness from claims 1-9.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any previous combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Office can use Wittman as the primary reference to negate the alleged “teaching away” of the current primary reference and therefore this argument is moot.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766