DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/19/2023 and 8/3/2023 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 1/9/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10-13 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2019/0366621 A1) to Achten et al. (hereinafter Achten).
Achten is directed toward a polycarbonate composition containing a flame retardant. Achten discloses at paragraph [0013] that the composition contains 20% to 99% of an aromatic polycarbonate, which reads on Applicants range of 50% to 90.38%. Achten discloses at paragraph [0128] that titanium dioxide fillers in common amounts are added. Achten discloses at paragraph [0150] that fillers may be added at 0.00% to 10% by weight, which reads on Applicants 5 to 20% by weight of titanium dioxide. Achten discloses at paragraph [0018] that 0.0% to 5% of at lease one anti dripping agent may be added, which reads on Applicants range of 0.1 to 0.8%. Achten discloses at paragraph [0015] that 0.0 to 1.0% by weight of a flame retarder is present, which reads on Applicants range of 0.02% to 0.15%. Achten discloses at paragraph [0143] that flame retardant compounds reading on Applicants sulfonate compounds. Achten discloses at paragraph [0016] that 0 to 50% of impact modifiers are present. Achten discloses at paragraph [0092] that impact modifiers comprises one or more graft copolymers. Achten discloses at paragraph [0094] that the graft base is an acrylate rubber. Achten discloses at paragraph [0096] that the graft is a C1-C8 methacrylate. Achten discloses at paragraph [0128] that additives such as UV absorbers are added. Achten discloses at paragraph [0124] that the antidrip is a PTFE polymer. Achten discloses at paragraph [0102] that graft polymer has a core shell structure. It has been held that the mere fact that a reference suggest a multitude of possible combinations does not in and of itself make any one of these combinations less obvious, citing Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804 (Fed. Cir. 1989). It would be obvious for One skilled in the art would select Applicants composition from the list.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the disclosure of Achten to select from the list disclosed the Applicants composition that would form a prime facie case of obviousness from claims 1-9.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766