DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 3 recites ”(radiation energy)”. It is recommended to remove the parenthesis and replace with “at a radiation energy of 16 KeV “. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the metal element" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2018/0254482A1 (Matsuu) in view of US2019/0280284A1 (Azami) , which is listed in Applicant’s information disclosure statement.
Regarding claims 1, 4 and 5, Matsuu teaches a positive electrode includes a positive electrode active material layer and a conductive assistant ([0043]), wherein the positive electrode active material layer contains:
a positive electrode active material particle A expressed by General Formula (A) LiαNixCoyMn(1-x-y)O2, where 0<α≤1.15, 0.7≤x≤0.9, 0<y≤0.2, and 0<(1-x-y) ([0045]), and exemplified as LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 ([0075]), which meets the claimed first metal composite, the claimed x, the claimed (1-y-z) (i.e., 0.3≤ (1-y-z)<1) and the claimed y and z ; and
a positive electrode active material particle B such as B1 expressed by General Formula (B1) Li βNiaCo bAl (1-a-b)O2 , where 0<β≤1.15, 0.7≤a≤0.9, 0<b≤0.2, and 0<(1-a-b) ([0045]), which renders the claimed second metal composite obvious since β encompasses the claimed a, a abuts the claimed (2-a-b) (i.e., the claimed 1≤ (2-a-b)<2), b+(1-a-b) is equal to or greater than 0.1 and equal to or less than 0.3, which meets the claimed b.
For the overlapped/encompassed range above, it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside range disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 f. 2d 257,191 USPQ 90(CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.I; and for the abutted range above, it has been held that when the difference between a claimed invention and the prior art is the range or value of a particular variable, then a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 Titanium Metals Corp of Am v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed Cir 1985).
Matsuu further teaches that the positive electrode active material layer may contain a conductive assistant such as carbon black, Ketjenblack, acetylene black, natural graphite, artificial graphite, and carbon fiber ([0048]).
Matsuu does not expressly disclose a carbon nanotube in the mixture layer, the amount of the carbon nanotube and the average diameter and fiber length of the carbon naotube.
Azami teaches that carbon nanotube has an elongated shape in addition to high conductivity and is useful as a conductive material together with carbon black in positive electrodes containing lithium nickel composite oxides, which can form a conductive path in the gap between the primary particles of the lithium nickel composite oxide, prevent the increase in electronic resistance and achieve high capacity retention rate ([0025] and [0031]), wherein the carbon nanotubes in the positive electrode mixture layer is preferably 0.5 mass % or more and 10 mass % or less ([0028]), and the average diameter of the carbon nanotubes is preferably 5 nm or more and more preferably 10 nm or more and preferably 30 nm or less, the average length of the carbon nanotubes is preferably 300 nm or more and 1000 nm or less ([0026]), which meets the claimed diameter range of less than 20 nm when the diameter is 5 or 10 nm, and length of equal to 1 µm when the length is 1000nm, respectively.
At the time the invention was made it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the carbon nanotube of Azami , the amount , diameter and length in the positive electrode active material layer of Matsuu. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teachings of Azami that to do so would predictably provide a conductive path while prevent the increase in electronic resistance and achieve high capacity retention rate ([0025] and [0031]).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuu teaches that in the mixture of the positive electrode active material particle A and the positive electrode active material particle B such as B1, the blending quantity of the positive electrode active material particle B such as B1 ranges of equal to or more than 3 parts by mass and equal to or lower than 30 parts by mass ([0035]), and exemplified as 3% and 10% (Table 1, examples 1-2), which meets the claimed range of the second metal composite oxide.
Regarding claim 3, since Matsuu teaches the same composite oxide as claimed, absent evidence to the contrary, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable basis to expect the X-ray diffraction pattern of the Matsuu composite would inherently be the same as claimed. If there is any difference between the product of Matsuu and the product of the instant claims the difference would have been minor and obvious. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I) , In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Matsuu teaches a lithium-ion secondary battery including a negative electrode, a nonaqueous electrolytic solution, and the positive electrode ([0017], [0043] and [0067]), wherein the negative electrode comprises a carbon material, and a Si-based material such as Si, SiO2, SiOx (,0<x≤2) or a composite of both ([0063]), which meets the claimed negative electrode active material.
Matsuu is silent on the content of the Si-based material.
Azami exemplifies a negative electrode active material comprise 90 mass % of artificial graphite and 5 mass % of SiO ([0068]), which provides stability and lessening volume expansion ([0043]-[0044]), which meets the claimed content.
At the time the invention was made it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize 5 mass% of SiO and 90 mass % of artificial graphite of Azami as the negative electrode active material of Matsuu and Azami. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teachings of Azami that to do so would predictably provide stability and lessening volume expansion of the negative electrode([0043]-[0044]).
Conclusion
/AIQUN LI/ Ph.D., Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766