DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment has been considered and entered for the record.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swami et al. (WO 2020/154566 A1 – hereafter ‘566) in view of Chodavaraplu et al. (US 2011/0115499 A1 – hereafter ‘499).
‘566 (Swami) discloses a system for the integration of on-chip impedance sensors (Abstract) which includes the following limitations for claim 1:
“A microfluidic bio-sensing system”: ‘566 discloses a microfluidic device ([0006]) that can be used for bio-sensing and is being interpreted as the microfluidic biosensing system of the instant application.
“a substrate comprising a microfluidic channel”: ‘566 discloses a microfluidic chip ([0012]; Fig. 8A; Fig. 8B) that includes a microfluidic channel.
“a plurality of electrodes in the microfluidic channel”: ‘566 discloses that a plurality of electrodes are within the channel ([0012]).
“at least one semiconductor chip operably coupled to the plurality of electrodes.”: ‘566 discloses a printed circuit board (PCB) that is connected to the chip and operates the electrodes ([0114]; Fig. 8A; Fig. 8B).
“the at least one semiconductor chip is configured to control the plurality of electrodes”: ‘566 discloses that the chips on the PCB operates the electrodes ([0012]; [0114]).
“manipulate a flow through the microfluidic channel”: The PCB of ‘566 is fully capable of controlling the flow through the channel ([0041]).
“sensor cells and/or biomolecules”: ‘566 discloses that the electrodes detect the presence of biological particles or cells ([0041]).
With regards to the semiconductor, ‘566 does not specify that the PCB includes a semiconductor such as a CMOS chip, but such elements are common components of PCB and would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include this common component on the PCB of ‘566 in order to operate the electrodes in the microfluidic channel.
‘499 discloses a high throughput microfluidic device that measures impedance (Abstract) that for claim 1 includes using a printed circuit board (Fig. 8B) that is connected to an electrode array that uses standard CMOS integrated circuits ([0071]) in order to operate the electrodes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the earliest effective filing date of the instant application to use the CMOS chip of ‘499 within ‘566 in order to control the electrodes. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to provide low cast and common components to operate the electrodes.
For claim 2, ‘566 discloses controlling the voltage of the electrodes ([0009]).
For claim 3, ‘566 discloses that the voltage is an AC voltage ([0085]).
For claim 4, the electrodes of ‘566 are being interpreted as an asymmetric electrode.
For claim 5, ‘566 does not specify the material for the electrode.
For claim 5, ‘499 discloses using a gold electrode ([0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the conventional and well-known electrode material of ‘499 within ‘566 in order to provide a conductive electrode. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to have an electrode with a high affinity for proteins ([0058]). See also MPEP §2144.07.
For claim 6, ‘566 discloses controlling the voltage to generate electric fields ([0012]).
For claim 7, ‘566 discloses that the voltage is an AC voltage ([0085]).
For claim 8, the chip of ‘566 is fully capable of generating an asymmetric excitation of the electrodes.
For claim 19, ‘566 discloses that the electrodes are within a microfluidic device ([0012]) that can be made from PDMS ([0188]). However, ‘566 differs regarding a CMOS chip.
499 discloses a high throughput microfluidic device that measures impedance (Abstract) that for claim 19 includes using a printed circuit board (Fig. 8B) that is connected to an electrode array that uses standard CMOS integrated circuits ([0071]) in order to operate the electrodes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the earliest effective filing date of the instant application to use the CMOS chip of ‘499 within ‘566 in order to control the electrodes. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to provide low cast and common components to operate the electrodes.
‘566 (Swami) discloses a system for the integration of on-chip impedance sensors (Abstract) which includes the following limitations for claim 22:
“A microfluidic bio-sensing system”: ‘566 discloses a microfluidic device ([0006]) that can be used for bio-sensing and is being interpreted as the microfluidic biosensing system of the instant application.
“a substrate comprising a microfluidic channel”: ‘566 discloses a microfluidic chip ([0012]; Fig. 8A; Fig. 8B) that includes a microfluidic channel.
“a plurality of electrodes in the microfluidic channel”: ‘566 discloses that a plurality of electrodes are within the channel ([0012]).
“at least one semiconductor chip operably coupled to the plurality of electrodes.”: ‘566 discloses a printed circuit board (PCB) that is connected to the chip and operates the electrodes ([0114]; Fig. 8A; Fig. 8B).
“the at least one semiconductor chip is configured to control the plurality of electrodes”: ‘566 discloses that the chips on the PCB operates the electrodes ([0012]; [0114]).
“manipulate a flow through the microfluidic channel”: The PCB of ‘566 is fully capable of controlling the flow through the channel ([0041]).
“sensor cells and/or biomolecules”: ‘566 discloses that the electrodes detect the presence of biological particles or cells ([0041]).
With regards to the semiconductor, ‘566 does not specify that the PCB includes a semiconductor such as a CMOS chip, but such elements are common components of PCB and would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include this common component on the PCB of ‘566 in order to operate the electrodes in the microfluidic channel.
‘499 discloses a high throughput microfluidic device that measures impedance (Abstract) that for claim 22 includes using a printed circuit board (Fig. 8B) that is connected to an electrode array that uses standard CMOS integrated circuits ([0071]) in order to operate the electrodes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the earliest effective filing date of the instant application to use the CMOS chip of ‘499 within ‘566 in order to control the electrodes. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to provide low cast and common components to operate the electrodes.
Modified ‘566 does not explicitly disclose a plurality of these controllers. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a plurality of the chips in order to increase the throughput of the sensing system. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to run multiple tests in parallel. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI B.
Claims 9, 10, 12-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swami et al. (WO 2020/154566 A1 – hereafter ‘566) in view of Chodavaraplu et al. (US 2011/0115499 A1 – hereafter ‘499) and in further view of Baba et al. (US 2018/0100792 A1 – hereafter ‘792).
For claim 9, modified ‘566differs from the instant claim by not explicitly stating if some of the electrodes are top electrodes.
‘792 discloses for claim 9 that the electrodes can be placed on different surfaces (Fig. 7(1)) such that there is a top electrode and a bottom electrode ([0086]). This allows the electrodes to sandwich the migration channel where the electrical measurement is allowed to cut across the channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the electrode positioning of ‘792 within modified ‘566 in order to allow the measurement to cut across the channel. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been to allow the potential difference between the resistance element to be balanced ([0134]).
For claim 10, ‘566 discloses measuring the impedance of the cells ([0010]; [0011]) where this is done by electronic circuits ([0081]) and is being interpreted as the impedance spectrum receiver.
For claim 12, the impedance connect of ‘566 is configured to receive a variable frequency ([0094]).
For claim 13, ‘566 discloses that the frequencies vary from greater than 0.1 MHz ([0094]).
For claim 14, modified ‘566differs from the instant claim by not explicitly stating if some of the electrodes are top electrodes.
‘792 discloses for claim 14 that the electrodes can be placed on different surfaces (Fig. 7(1)) such that there is a top electrode and a bottom electrode ([0086]). This allows the electrodes to sandwich the migration channel where the electrical measurement is allowed to cut across the channel. The top electrodes are fully capable of being excitation electrodes and the bottom of being sensing electrodes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the electrode positioning of ‘792 within modified ‘566 in order to allow the measurement to cut across the channel. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been to allow the potential difference between the resistance element to be balanced ([0134]).
For claim 15, the electrode array of ‘566 is being interpreted as a four corner arrangement as there is a center electrode and four end electrodes that would be the corners (Fig. 8B).
For claim 18, ‘566 discloses that the electrodes can be on a printed circuit board ([0178]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: For claim 11, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest where the impedance spectroscopy receiver includes a voltage excitation driver, a transimpedance amplifier and an in-phase and quadrature mixer.
Claim 58 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: For claim 58, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest a microfluidic bio-sensing system where at least one semiconductor chip configured to control at least one of electrokinetic fluid flow, cell manipulation and sensing, and bio-molecular sensing by utilizing at least one plurality of electrodes in a microfluidic channel; and an impedance spectroscopy receiver configured to provide impedance measurements in real- time; wherein a top portion of the plurality of electrodes is designated for voltage excitation and a bottom portion of the plurality of electrodes is connected to a receiver for cell sensing; wherein the impedance spectroscopy receiver includes a voltage excitation driver, a transimpedance amplifier and an in-phase and quadrature mixer.
The closest prior art is Swami et al. (WO 2020/154566 A1) which discloses a microfluidic device with electrodes and a PCB with electronics for operating the electrodes, but Swami does not teach or suggest the voltage excitation driver, a transimpedance amplifier and an in-phase and quadrature mixer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10, 12-15, 18, 19 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kashanin et al. (US 2019/0232290 A1) discloses a microfluidic chip for imaging a particle within a microchannel.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799