DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Priority
This application, filed on 05/19/2023, is a 371 of PCT/JP2021/042505, filed on 11/18/2021, which claims priority to JP application Nos: i) 2020-192152, filed on 11/19/2020; and ii) 2021-163773, filed on 10/04/2021. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/19/2023, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98. The IDS documents were considered. A signed copy of Form PTO-1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chu et al (hereinafter “Chu”, WO2018192777A1, published 10/25/2018).
By way of a background, Applicants’ invention is directed to a hair growth composition comprising phytosphingosine (see, e.g., ¶ 0001 of the specification).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), consistent with the specification, independent claim 1 is being interpreted as a topical composition comprising phytosphingosine.
Similar to the Applicants’ invention (see discussions above), Chu teaches a hair care composition (see page 1, lines 4-8), comprising 0.1-5.0 wt% phytosphingosine (see page 4, lines 29 through line 2 on page 4, and reference claim 1).
Therefore, claim 1 is anticipated by Chu.
Regarding claims 2-3, Chu teaches 0.1-5.0 wt% phytosphingosine, which is within the claimed “0.001-20 wt%” (claim 2) and “0.005-10 wt%” (claim 3). A specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range. Please MPEP § 2131.03.
Therefore, claims 2-3 are anticipated by Chu.
Regarding claims 4-10, the recited intended use of a composition of claim 1 (e.g., for causing new hair growth or hair shaft growth promotion, claim 4), is an inherent property of the composition. Any properties exhibited by or benefits provided by the composition are inherent and are not given patentable weight over the prior art. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicants disclose and/or claim are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01. In the instant case, Chu teaches a composition of claim 1 (see discussions above).
Applicants are further requested to note that it is well settled that “intended use” of a composition or product, e.g., a topical composition comprising phytosphingosine, will not further limit claims drawn to a composition or product. See, e.g., Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987) and In re Hack 114,
Therefore, claims 4-10 are anticipated by Chu.
Regarding claim 11, Chu discloses that an aspect of the invention comprises a method of applying the composition on to scalp and/or hair (see page 4, lines 4-7 and reference claims 1, 5).
Non-Statutory Obviousness-Type Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 18 of U.S. patent application No. 18/571,529 (‘529 application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The instant application claims and ‘529 application claims are similarly drawn to a composition comprising phytosphingosine.
For example, the claims of the instant application (e.g., claim 1) are drawn to a composition comprising phytosphingosine, whereas, the claims of the ‘529 applications (e.g., claim 1), are directed to a composition comprising phytosphingosine among the active agents.
Therefore, there is sufficient overlap between the claim scopes to render them obvious over each other. Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the reference application subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over 1-10 and 18 of U.S. patent application No. 18/571,549 (‘549 application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The instant application claims and ‘549 application claims are similarly drawn to a composition comprising phytosphingosine.
For example, the claims of the instant application (e.g., claim 1) are drawn to a composition comprising phytosphingosine, whereas, the claims of the ‘549 applications (e.g., claim 1), are directed to a composition comprising phytosphingosine among the active agents.
Therefore, there is sufficient overlap between the claim scopes to render them obvious over each other. Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the reference application subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over 1-10 and 18 of U.S. patent application No. 18/571,559 (‘559 application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The instant application claims and ‘559 application claims are similarly drawn to a composition comprising phytosphingosine.
For example, the claims of the instant application (e.g., claim 1) are drawn to a composition comprising phytosphingosine, whereas, the claims of the ‘559 applications (e.g., claim 1), are directed to a composition comprising phytosphingosine among the active agents.
Therefore, there is sufficient overlap between the claim scopes to render them obvious over each other. Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the reference application subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusions
No claim is allowable.
If Applicants should amend the claims, a complete and responsive reply will clearly identify where support can be found in the disclosure for each amendment. Applicants should point to the page and line numbers of the application corresponding to each amendment, and provide any statements that might help to identify support for the claimed invention (e.g., if the amendment is not supported in ipsis verbis, clarification on the record may be helpful). Should the Applicants present new claims, Applicants should clearly identify where support can be found in the disclosure.
Correspondence
/IBRAHIM D BORI/
Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629
.