DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 09/22/2025 has been entered. In the present application, claims 16-25 and 28-37 are currently pending. Claims 1-15 and 26-27 have been canceled. Claims 36-37 are newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/22/2025, with respect to the pending claims, have been fully considered. Applicant has amended the independent claim with a newly added limitation stating, “…a first steering wire comprising a first end section, a second end section, and a middle section between the first end section and the second end section, the first end section and the second end section extending from the handle to the distal end segment of the bending section; and a disc made of a second material different from the first material and having a first pair of steering wire lumen openings, a first pair of locking openings, a proximal surface, and a distal surface, the disc being arranged inside the distal end segment of the bending section, the first pair of locking openings comprising a first locking opening and a second locking opening, the first pair of steering wire lumen openings comprising a first steering wire lumen opening and a second steering wire lumen opening, the first end section of the first steering wire traversing the first steering wire lumen, the second end section of the first steering wire traversing the second steering wire lumen, and the middle section of the first steering wire traversing the first locking opening and the second locking opening of the disc to lock the first steering wire to the disc.”
Such newly added limitation changes the scope of the claims, renders the previous rejection moot, and requires a new ground of rejection. Therefore, the previous rejections identified in the non-final office action dated 06/20/2025 have been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made below. Please see the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103 below for further explanation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-20, 22-25, and 28-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuka Ide (US2019/0167070) hereinafter Ide, in view of Smith et al. (US9155451) hereinafter Smith.
Regarding Claim 16, Ide discloses an endoscope comprising:
a handle (Ide - Fig. 1 manipulator 3);
a shaft (Ide - Fig. 1 insertion portion 2) connected to the handle (Ide - Fig. 1 manipulator 3) and comprising a bending section (Ide - Fig. 1 bending part 7),
the bending section (Ide - Fig. 1 bending part 7) made of a first material (Ide - rubber [0037] “… the bendable part 7 is covered with a sleeve of bendable rubber disposed over the outer circumference thereof. “) and comprising segments (Ide - as illustrated in Fig. 3., [0037-0038] “The bendable part 7 houses therein a bendable tube made up of a plurality of bending pieces,… The bending piece group is defined by a plurality of bending pieces 31 arranged successively rearwardly from the distal-end bending piece 31 a at substantially equal intervals with predetermined spaces therebetween. ”) including a proximal end segment (Ide - see annotated Fig. 3), a distal end segment (Ide - Fig. 3 distal-end piece 31a, see annotated Fig. 3) and intermediate segments (Ide - see annotated Fig. 3) between the proximal end segment (Ide - see annotated Fig. 3) and the distal end segment (Ide - Fig. 3 distal-end piece 31a, see annotated Fig. 3),
the segments (Ide - as illustrated in Fig. 3., [0037-0038]) interconnected by hinge members (Ide - Fig. 3 pivots or rivets 34),
the bending section (Ide - Fig. 1 bending part 7) further comprising an inner lumen (Ide – lumen surrounding instrument insertion channel, [0037] “The distal-end rigid part 21 has an observation window 22, two illumination windows 23, and an opening 24 of the treating instrument insertion channel, defined in a distal-end face thereof.”) and steering wire lumens having lumen ends (Ide - [0039] “The multiple bending pieces 31 each of which having string guides, not depicted. The string guides are wire receivers directed radially inwardly where a bending operation wire 33 is disposed.”) at a distal end of the bending section (Ide - Fig. 1 bending part 7), the inner lumen (Ide – lumen surrounding instrument insertion channel, [0037] “The distal-end rigid part 21 has an observation window 22, two illumination windows 23, and an opening 24 of the treating instrument insertion channel, defined in a distal-end face thereof.”) configured to accommodate a working channel tube (Ide – tube of instrument insertion channel, [0037] “The distal-end rigid part 21 has an observation window 22, two illumination windows 23, and an opening 24 of the treating instrument insertion channel, defined in a distal-end face thereof.”);
a first steering wire (Figs. 1-17 bending operation wire 33).
Ide is silent as to explicitly discloses the first steering wire comprising a first end section, a second end section, and a middle section between the first end section and the second end section, the first end section and the second end section extending from the handle to the distal end segment of the bending section; and a disc made of a second material different from the first material and having a first pair of steering wire lumen openings, a first pair of locking openings, a proximal surface, and a distal surface, the disc being arranged [[at]] inside the distal end segment of the bending section, the first pair of locking openings comprising a first locking opening and a second locking opening, the first pair of steering wire lumen openings comprising a first steering wire lumen opening and a second steering wire lumen opening, the first end section of the first steering wire traversing the first steering wire lumen, the second end section of the first steering wire traversing the second steering wire lumen, and the middle section of the first steering wire traversing the first locking opening and the second locking opening of the disc to lock the first steering wire to the disc.
However Smith, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the first steering wire (Smith - Figs. 31-32 tends 11, 11’) comprising a first end section (Smith - see annotated Fig. 32), a second end section (Smith - see annotated Fig. 32), and a middle section (Smith - Figs. 31-32 crosspiece 141) between the first end section (Smith - see annotated Fig. 32) and the second end section (Smith - see annotated Fig. 32), the first end section (Smith - see annotated Fig. 32) and the second end section (Smith - see annotated Fig. 32) extending from (Smith - [col. 9 lines 35-47] “Eight tendons 11, 11′ are equally spaced apart about the circumference of the hollow body between the vertebra 17 and the handle 104, although only five can be seen in FIG. 20. Four of the tendons which extend from a tendon termination bushing 131 at the tip 107 to the handle 104 are so-called steering tendons 11′. Other tendons which only extend between the vertebra 17 and the handle 104 are so-called non-steering tendons 11.”) the handle (Smith - Fig. 21 handle 104) to the distal end segment (Smith - Fig. 25-32 tip 107 ) of the bending section (Smith - Fig. 21 corrugated tube 130); and a disc (Smith - Figs. 25-32 bushing 131) made of a second material (Smith - [col. 11 lines29-31] “…the termination bushing 131, which may be formed of polycarbonate.”) different from the first material (Smith – corrugated tube 130) and having a first pair of steering wire lumen openings (Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, see annotated Fig. 31), a first pair of locking openings (Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, see annotated Fig. 31), a proximal surface (Smith - see annotated Fig. 31), and a distal surface (Smith - see annotated Fig. 31), the disc (Smith - Figs. 25-32 bushing 131) being arranged [[at]] inside the distal end segment (Smith - Fig. 25-32 tip 107 )of the bending section (Smith - Fig. 21 corrugated tube 130), the first pair of locking openings (Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, see annotated Fig. 31) comprising a first locking opening and a second locking opening (Smith - Fig. 31 each of holes 140, see annotated Fig. 31), the first pair of steering wire lumen openings (Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, see annotated Fig. 31) comprising a first steering wire lumen opening and a second steering wire lumen opening (Smith - Fig. 31 each of holes 140, see annotated Fig. 31), the first end section of the first steering wire (Smith - see annotated Fig. 32) traversing the first steering wire lumen (Smith - Fig. 31 each of holes 140, see annotated Fig. 31), the second end section (Smith - see annotated Fig. 32) of the first steering wire traversing the second steering wire lumen (Smith - Fig. 31 each of holes 140, see annotated Fig. 31), and the middle section (Smith - Figs. 31-32 crosspiece 141) of the first steering wire (Smith - Figs. 31-32 tends 11, 11’) traversing the first locking opening and the second locking opening (Smith - Fig. 31 each of holes 140, see annotated Fig. 31)of the disc (Smith - Figs. 25-32 bushing 131) to lock the first steering wire (Smith - Figs. 31-32 tends 11, 11’) to the disc (Smith - Figs. 25-32 bushing 131).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ide with the teachings of Smith to include the first steering wire comprising a first end section, a second end section, and a middle section between the first end section and the second end section, the first end section and the second end section extending from the handle to the distal end segment of the bending section; and a disc made of a second material different from the first material and having a first pair of steering wire lumen openings, a first pair of locking openings, a proximal surface, and a distal surface, the disc being arranged [[at]] inside the distal end segment of the bending section, the first pair of locking openings comprising a first locking opening and a second locking opening, the first pair of steering wire lumen openings comprising a first steering wire lumen opening and a second steering wire lumen opening, the first end section of the first steering wire traversing the first steering wire lumen, the second end section of the first steering wire traversing the second steering wire lumen, and the middle section of the first steering wire traversing the first locking opening and the second locking opening of the disc to lock the first steering wire to the disc for the benefit of “…avoid[ing] the necessity of welding ends of tendons to a terminating vertebra or ring” (Smith – [col. 11 lines 50-60])
Regarding Claim 17, Ide in view of Smith teach the endoscope of claim 16, wherein the first pair of locking openings (Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, see annotated Fig. 31)are positioned between steering wire lumen openings of the first pair of steering wire lumen openings (Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, see annotated Fig. 31)
Regarding Claim 18, Ide in view of Smith teach the endoscope of claim 16, wherein the first steering wire is threaded through the first steering wire lumen opening over the distal surface and into the first looking opening, and over the proximal surface into the second locking opening, and over the distal surface and into the second steering wire lumen opening (Smith – Fig. 31 [col. 11 lines 51-60] “As can been seen, each tendon 11, 11′ passes through a respective hole 140 in the termination bushing 131. Each two tendons together have a U-shape in the form of a large staple having a crosspiece 141 extending between two of the holes 140. This avoids the necessity of welding ends of tendons to a terminating vertebra or ring. The U-shaped tendons and crosspiece are best seen in FIG. 31A.”)
Regarding Claim 19, Ide in view of Smith teach the endoscope of claim 18, wherein the middle section (Smith - Figs. 31-32 crosspiece 141) is threaded through the disc (Smith - Figs. 25-32 bushing 131), wherein the first end section (Smith – see annotated Fig. 32) extends from the disc (Smith - Figs. 25-32 bushing 131) through a first steering wire lumen (Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, see annotated Fig. 31) of the steering wire lumens, and wherein the second end section (Smith see annotated Fig. 32) extends from the disc (Smith - Figs. 25-32 bushing 131) through a second steering wire lumen(Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, see annotated Fig. 31) of the steering wire lumens. (Smith – Fig. 31 [col. 11 lines 51-60]
Regarding Claim 20, Ide in view of Smitha teach the endoscope of claim 16,
further comprising a second steering wire (Smith - Figs. 31-32 tends 11, 11’, see annotated Fig. 32)
the disc (Smith - Figs. 25-32 bushing 131) further comprising a second pair of steering wire lumen openings (Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, see annotated Fig. 32 associated with the annotated second steering wire) and a second pair of locking openings (Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, see annotated Fig. 32), the first pair of steering wire lumen openings wherein:
the second pair of locking openings (Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, see annotated Fig. 32) comprises a third locking opening and a fourth locking opening (each individual hole of 140 associated with the annotated second pair of locking openings of Fig. 32), the first pair of locking opening (Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, see annotated Fig. 32) positioned between the first steering wire lumen opening (Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, see annotated Fig. 32 associated with the annotated first steering wire) and the second steering wire lumen opening (Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, see annotated Fig. 32 associated with the annotated second steering wire),
the second pair of steering wire lumen openings (Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, see annotated Fig. 32 associated with the annotated second steering wire) comprise a third steering wire lumen opening and a fourth steering wire lumen opening (each individual hole of 140 associated with the annotated second steering wire of Fig. 32), the second pair of locking openings (Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, see annotated Fig. 32) positioned between the third steering wire lumen opening and the fourth steering wire lumen opening (each individual hole of 140 associated with the annotated second steering wire of Fig. 32), the second pair of looking openings (Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, see annotated Fig. 32) comprise a third locking opening and a fourth locking opening (Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, see annotated Fig. 32 associated with the annotated second pair of locking openings), and the second steering wire (Smith - Figs. 31-32 tends 11, 11’, see annotated Fig. 32) is threated through the third steering wire lumen opening over the distal surface and into the third locking opening, and over the proximal surface (see annotated Fig. 31) into the fourth locking opening, then over the distal surface and into the fourth steering wire lumen opening. ([Smith – [col. 9 lines 35-47] “Eight tendons 11, 11′ are equally spaced apart about the circumference of the hollow body between the vertebra 17 and the handle 104, although only five can be seen in FIG. 20. Four of the tendons which extend from a tendon termination bushing 131 at the tip 107 to the handle 104 are so-called steering tendons 11′. Other tendons which only extend between the vertebra 17 and the handle 104 are so-called non-steering tendons 11.”)
Regarding Claim 22, Ide in view of Smith teach the endoscope of claim 16, wherein the distal end segment (Smith - Fig. 25-32 tip 107 ) comprises an inner shell surface (Smith - Figs. 32 inner liner 133) and an alignment rib (Smith - Fig. 32 seam 42) extending inwardly from the inner shell surface (Smith - Figs. 32 inner liner 133)
wherein the first steering wire (Smith - Figs. 31-32 tends 11, 11’, see annotated Fig. 32) is threaded through the first steering wire lumen opening over the distal surface (Smith - see annotated Fig. 31) and into the first looking opening then over the proximal surface (Smith see annotated Fig. 31) into the second locking opening and over the distal surface and into the second steering wire lumen opening (Smith – Fig. 31 [col. 11 lines 51-60] “As can been seen, each tendon 11, 11′ passes through a respective hole 140 in the termination bushing 131. Each two tendons together have a U-shape in the form of a large staple having a crosspiece 141 extending between two of the holes 140. This avoids the necessity of welding ends of tendons to a terminating vertebra or ring. The U-shaped tendons and crosspiece are best seen in FIG. 31A.”)
wherein the disc (Smith - Figs. 25-32 bushing 131) comprises a recess (Smith - Figs. 25-32 recess of bushing 131), and wherein the recess (Smith - Figs. 25-32 recess of bushing 131)receives the alignment rib (Smith - Fig. 32 seam 42) to align the disc (Smith - Figs. 25-32 bushing 131) in the distal end of the bending section (Smith - Fig. 21 corrugated tube 130)
Regarding Claim 23, Ide in view of Smith teach the endoscope of claim 16, wherein the distal end segment (Smith - Fig. 25-32 tip 107 ) comprises an inner shell surface (Smith - Figs. 32 inner liner 133) and an alignment rib (Smith - Fig. 32 seam 42 near reference numeral 141) extending inwardly from the inner shell surface (Smith - Figs. 32 inner liner 133) and a press fit rib (Smith - Fig. 32 seam 42 near reference numeral 11,11’) extending inwardly from the inner shell surface (Smith - Figs. 32 inner liner 133),
wherein the first steering wire (Smith - Figs. 31-32 tends 11, 11’, see annotated Fig. 32) is threaded through the first steering wire lumen opening over the distal surface (Smith - see annotated Fig. 31) and into the first looking opening then over the proximal surface (Smith see annotated Fig. 31) into the second locking opening and over the distal surface and into the second steering wire lumen opening (Smith – Fig. 31 [col. 11 lines 51-60] “As can been seen, each tendon 11, 11′ passes through a respective hole 140 in the termination bushing 131. Each two tendons together have a U-shape in the form of a large staple having a crosspiece 141 extending between two of the holes 140. This avoids the necessity of welding ends of tendons to a terminating vertebra or ring. The U-shaped tendons and crosspiece are best seen in FIG. 31A.”)
wherein the disc (Smith - Figs. 25-32 bushing 131) comprises a recess (Smith - Figs. 25-32 recess of bushing 131), and wherein the recess (Smith - Figs. 25-32 recess of bushing 131)receives the alignment rib (Smith - Fig. 32 seam 42) to align the disc (Smith - Figs. 25-32 bushing 131) in the distal end of the bending section (Smith - Fig. 21 corrugated tube 130), and
wherein the press fit rib (Smith - Fig. 32 seam 42 near reference numeral 11,11’) establishes a press fit connection between an outer circumference of the disc (Smith - Figs. 25-32 bushing 131) and the distal end segment (Smith - Fig. 25-32 tip 107 ).
Regarding Claim 24, Ide in view of Smith teach the endoscope of claim 16, wherein the second material (Smith - [col. 11 lines29-31] “…the termination bushing 131, which may be formed of polycarbonate.”) is harder or more rigid than the first material (Ide – rubber [0037]).
Regarding Claim 25, Ide in view of Smith teach the endoscope of claim 24, wherein the first material (Ide – rubber [0037]) is a polymer material and the second material is a metal material (Smith - [col. 13 lines 39-40] “Both metal and plastic tendons and vertebrae may be used in one device.”)
Regarding Claim 28, Ide in view of Smith teach the endoscope of claim 16, wherein the disc(Smith - Figs. 25-32 bushing 131) abuts a distal surface provided in the distal end (Smith - Fig. 25-32 distal surface of tip 107 near bushing 131 )of the bending section (Smith - Fig. 21 corrugated tube 130),
Regarding Claim 29, Ide in view of Smith teach the endoscope of claim 16, wherein the distal end (Smith - Fig. 25-32 tip 107) comprises a wire cutout (Fig. 44 braid 240), the wire cutout (Figs. 4-5 contact area D2) being a recessed portion with respect to the distal surface (Smith - Fig. 25-32 distal surface of tip 107 near bushing 131 ) and being provided in a circumferential area of the distal end segment (Smith - Figs. 25-32 near bushing 131) where the first pair of locking openings (see annotated Fig. 32) are provided.
Regarding Claim 30, Ide in view of Smith teach the endoscope of claim 16, wherein steering wire lumen openings (Smith - Fig. 31 holes 140), of the first pair of steering wire lumen openings (Smith - Fig. 31 hole 140, have an elongated hole shape.
Regarding Claim 31, Ide in view of Smith teach the endoscope of claim 16, wherein the first steering wire (Smith – Fig. 31A tendons 11,11’) has a first kink (Smith – see annotated Fig. 31a) and a second kink (Smith – see annotated Fig. 31a) , wherein the first kink (Smith – see annotated Fig. 31a) is formed by the first steering wire (Smith – Fig. 31A tendons 11,11’) running via an edge provided between a steering wire lumen of the first pair of steering wire lumens and the distal surface, and wherein the second kink (Smith – see annotated Fig. 31a) is formed by the first steering wire (Smith – Fig. 31A tendons 11,11’) running via an edge formed by the other of the steering wire lumen openings (Smith - Fig. 31 holes 140), of the first pair of steering wire lumen openings (Smith - Fig. 31 holes 140).
Regarding Claim 32, Ide in view of Smith teach the endoscope of claim 16, wherein the distal end (Smith - Fig. 25-32 tip 107) comprises an alignment rib (Smith - Fig. 32 seam 42) and wherein the disc (Smith - Figs. 25-32 bushing 131) comprises a recess (Smith - Figs. 25-32 recess of bushing 131) receiving the alignment rib (Smith - Fig. 32 seam 42).
Regarding Claim 33, Ide in view of Smith teach the endoscope of claim 32, wherein the distal end segment (Smith - Fig. 25-32 tip 107) comprises an alignment rib (Smith - Fig. 32 seam 42).
Regarding Claim 34, Ide in view of Smith teach the endoscope of claim 32, wherein the distal end (Smith - Fig. 25-32 tip 107) comprises a press fit rib (Smith - Fig. 32 seam 42). configured to establish a press fit connection with an outer circumference of the disc (Smith - Figs. 25-32 bushing 131).
Regarding Claim 35, Ide in view of Smith teach the endoscope of claim 34, wherein the distal end segment (Smith - Fig. 25-32 tip 107) a press fit rib (Smith - Fig. 32 seam 42).
Regarding Claim 36, Ide in view of Smith teach the endoscope of claim 16, wherein the bending section (Smith - Fig. 21 corrugated tube 130) comprises steering wire lumens (Smith – lumens of tendons 11,11’ Figs. 31-32 extending through holes of vertebres 13-18), and wherein a portion of the middle section (Smith – Figs. 31-32 crosspiece 141) of the first steering wire (Smith – tendons 11,11’ Figs. 31-32) is positioned longitudinally between the disk (Smith - Figs. 25-32 bushing 131) and the steering wire lumens (Smith – lumens of tendons 11,11’ Figs. 31-32 extending through holes of vertebres 13-18).
Claims 21 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ide in view of Smith in view of Cooper et al. (US2011/0125166) hereinafter Cooper.
Regarding Claim 21, Ide in view of Smith teach the endoscope of claim 20, but are silent as to wherein the first pair of steering wire lumen openings and the first pair of looking openings are positioned in a first angular area (a), and wherein the second pair of steering wire lumen openings and the second pair of locking openings are positioned in a second angular area (P), the first angular area (a) being diametrically opposed with respect to the second angular area (P).
However Cooper, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first pair of steering wire lumen openings and the first pair of looking openings (Cooper - Figs. 4 and 4a one of U-turns 45) are positioned in a first angular area (a), and wherein the second pair of steering wire lumen openings (Cooper - Figs. 4 and 4a second one of U-turns 45) and the second pair of locking openings are positioned in a second angular area (P), the first angular area (a) being diametrically opposed with respect to the second angular area (P). (Cooper – [0070] “FIG. 4 shows twelve lumens for the specific embodiment to accommodate six cables 44 making U-turns 45 at the distal end of the tube 42. The high number of cables used allows the tube 42 to have a higher stiffness for the same cable pulling force to achieve the same bending in pitch and yaw. For example, the use of twelve cables instead of four cables means the tube 42 can be three times as stiff for the same cable pulling force. Alternatively, if the stiffness of the tube 42 remains the same, the use of twelve cables instead of four cables will reduce the cable pulling force required by a factor of three. Note that although the material properties and cable stress levels may permit the U-turns 45 to bear directly on the end of the tube 42, a reinforced distal termination plate 41 may be included to distribute cable forces more smoothly over the tube 42.”)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ide in view of Smith with the teachings of Cooper to include wherein the first pair of steering wire lumen openings and the first pair of looking openings are positioned in a first angular area (a), and wherein the second pair of steering wire lumen openings and the second pair of locking openings are positioned in a second angular area (P), the first angular area (a) being diametrically opposed with respect to the second angular area (P) for the benefit of “reduc[ing] the cable pulling force required … and cable stress level…to distribute cable forces more smoothly over the tube” (Cooper – [0070]).
Regarding Claim 37, Ide in view of Smith teach the endoscope of claim 16, but are silent at explicitly teaching further comprising a first wheel and a second wheel, the first wheel being connected to the first end section of the first steering wire and configured to translate the first end section of the first steering wire to bend the bending section along a first bending plane, and the second wheel being connected to the second end section of the first steering wire and configured to translate the second end section of the first steering wire to bend the bending section along a second bending plane, wherein the second bending plane is different from the first bending plane.
However Cooper in the same field of endeavor teaches, further comprising a first wheel and a second wheel, the first wheel being connected to the first end section of the first steering wire and configured to translate the first end section of the first steering wire to bend the bending section along a first bending plane, and the second wheel being connected to the second end section of the first steering wire and configured to translate the second end section of the first steering wire to bend the bending section along a second bending plane, wherein the second bending plane is different from the first bending plane. (Cooper - [0070] “The proximal ends of the cables 44 may be connected to an actuator mechanism, Such as an assembly including a gimbal plate 46 that is disclosed in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 10/187,248, filed on Jun. 27, 2002, the full disclosure of which is incorporated herein by reference. This mechanism facilitates the actuation of a selected plural ity of cables in a coordinated manner for control of a bendable or steerable member, such as controlling the flexible wrist bending angle and direction. The example of an actuator mechanism of application Ser. No. 10/187,248 can be adapted to actuate a large number of peripheral cables in a proportion ate manner so as to provide a coordinated Steering of a flexible member without requiring a comparably large number of linear actuators. Alternatively, a separately controlled linear actuation mechanism may be used to tension each cable or cable pairs looped over a pulley and moved with a rotary actuator, the steering.”)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ide in view of Smith with the teachings of Cooper to include further comprising a first wheel and a second wheel, the first wheel being connected to the first end section of the first steering wire and configured to translate the first end section of the first steering wire to bend the bending section along a first bending plane, and the second wheel being connected to the second end section of the first steering wire and configured to translate the second end section of the first steering wire to bend the bending section along a second bending plane, wherein the second bending plane is different from the first bending plane for the benefit of “…provid[ing] a corrdinate steering of a flexible member…”(Cooper – [0070] “For example, the use of twelve cables instead of four cables means the tube 42 can be three times as stiff for the same cable pulling force. Alternatively, if the stiffness of the tube 42 remains the same, the use of twelve cables instead of four cables will reduce the cable pulling force required by a factor of three. Note that although the material properties and cable stress levels may permit the U-turns 45 to bear directly on the end of the tube 42, a reinforced distal termination plate 41 may be included to distribute cable forces more smoothly over the tube 42. The proximal ends of the cables 44 may be connected to an actuator mechanism, Such as an assembly including a gimbal plate 46 that is disclosed in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 10/187,248, filed on Jun. 27, 2002, the full disclosure of which is incorporated herein by reference. This mechanism facilitates the actuation of a selected plural ity of cables in a coordinated manner for control of a bendable or steerable member, such as controlling the flexible wrist bending angle and direction. The example of an actuator mechanism of application Ser. No. 10/187,248 can be adapted to actuate a large number of peripheral cables in a proportion ate manner so as to provide a coordinated Steering of a flexible member without requiring a comparably large number of linear actuators. Alternatively, a separately controlled linear actuation mechanism may be used to tension each cable or cable pairs looped over a pulley and moved with a rotary actuator, the steering.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Nakayama et al. (US2019/0313882);
Armand et al. (US9737687);
Yuichi Torii (US6482149);
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN ELIZABETH MONAHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795