AN ENERGY STORAGE DEVICE
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 36 objected to because of the following informalities: please amend to “stackable anion exchange membrane (AEM) electrolyser, and wherein the metal hydride…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Amendment
In response to communication filed on 4/8/2026:
Claims 36 and 47-50 have been amended; claims 39, 45-46, and 51 have been canceled. No new matter has been entered.
Previous rejections under 35 USC 103 have been modified due to amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to the Streckert reference, Applicant discloses: “Streckert treats the hydrogen source as a replaceable cartridge (like a battery pack) whereas the present invention is a closed loop chemical plant (see Modi declaration).
Other differences between the instant claimed invention and Streckert are mentioned in the Modi declaration (see paragraph 6) in terms of dynamic response rates and effective desorption at scale.”
The Examiner respectfully traverses. A “Modi declaration” has not been filed with the Application. Therefore, any reference to this document is considered moot. Further, there is no disclosure for a “closed loop chemical plant” in the as-filed specification and is also not commensurate within the scope of the claims.
In regards to the Norbert reference, Applicant discloses: “In short Norbert doesn’t teach or suggest the claimed combination of features and doesn't provide the advantages explained in the Modi declaration. The Examiner asserts that one could modify Streckert with Norbert to come up with the present invention. Please respectfully disagree and point out to the Examiner that neither of these prior art documents teach of an electrolyser which is a stackable anion exchange membrane (AEM) electrolyser, in conjunction with a metal hydride store which uses hydrogen storage alloys to convert hydrogen into metal hydrides and where the hydrogen storage alloy has a C14 Laves phase. The advantages of the current arrangement are highlighted in paragraph 7 of the Modi declaration. Please argue accordingly.”
The Examiner respectfully traverses. A “Modi declaration” has not been filed with the Application. Therefore, any reference to this document is considered moot. Further, the phrase “Please respectfully disagree and point out to the Examiner that neither of these prior art documents teach of an electrolyser which is a stackable anion exchange membrane (AEM) electrolyser, in conjunction with a metal hydride store which uses hydrogen storage alloys to convert hydrogen into metal hydrides and where the hydrogen storage alloy has a C14 Laves phase” is not an actual argument.
The Applicant further discloses: “These deficiencies are not remedied by Kai (US2021/0320287) and /or Yu (J. Uni. Sci. Tech. Beijing) which also do not teach the specific arrangement of combined features to deliver the instant device and the advantages outlined in the Modi declaration. For instance, it will be important to stress that none of Streckert, Norbert, Kai and Yu (either alone or in combination) teach about the complex thermal decoupling that is required in integrating an electrolyser, fuel- cell and metal hydride all in a single enclosure. The non-obviousness lies in having the conflicting thermal profiles being managed which is electrolyser and metal hydride vessels generating heat simultaneously in the same enclosure without risking overheating and having fuel-cell heat generation being directed to the vessels when required (see paragraph 7 of Modi declaration).”
The Examiner respectfully traverses. A “Modi declaration” has not been filed with the Application. Therefore, any reference to this document is considered moot. Further, there is no disclosure in the as-filed specification for “complex thermal decoupling” and is also not commensurate within the scope of the claims.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot based on new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment. Further, despite Applicant disclosing now canceled claim 51 was not rejected, the Examiner is respectfully reminding the Applicant that the reference of Yu was used to address the subject matter of said claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36-38, 41-44, 47-50, and 52-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Streckert et al. (US 6,447,945 B1) and further in view of Norbert et al. (DE 20 2005 011017 U1), Yu et al. (J. Univ. Sci. Technol. Beijing, 11, (2004), 263-267), and Gillespie et al. (WO 2020/163910 A1).
Regarding claims 36 and 52, Streckert et al. teach an integrated energy storage device (Col. 1, lines 45-48 disclose a combination of such a PEM fuel cell-powered portable electronic device with an electrolyzer unit for efficiently recharging a hydrogen reservoir while at the same time powering the electronic device.), including:
an electrolyser for generating hydrogen through electrolysis of water (Figs. 1 and 15; Col. 8, lines 42-49 disclose an electrolyzer, element 17, which uses water to generate hydrogen.);
a metal hydride store (Fig. 15, element 27 discloses a hydride container. Further, col. 6, lines 50-65 disclose the hydride form is in the form of a metal hydride.) fluidly coupled to the electrolyser (Col. 8, lines 35-40), for receiving and converting the hydrogen from a gaseous form to solid state metal hydrides and back to hydrogen when required (Col. 8, lines 48-58 disclose the flow of hydrogen gas to the hydride container which stores the hydrogen.);
one or more fuel cells (Col. 3, lines 47-50; Fig. 3, element 33) coupled to the metal hydride store (Figs. 2 and 3 disclose the connection via elements 17a, 53a, 54a, 61, and 67), for generating electricity from hydrogen generated from the metal hydride store (Col. 3, lines 55-65); one or more coupling means for electrically connecting to a local electrical load to supply electricity to the electrical load (Col. 3, lines 55-65 disclose electrical connections between components in a base section, element 13 shown in Figs. 1- 3, are effected through sliding contacts in the hinge, element 17a.), wherein the one or more coupling means are accessible from the enclosure (Figs 1-3 disclose the hinge, element 17a, for electrical connections is accessible from the base section.).
Further, Streckert et al. teach wherein the metal hydride store uses hydrogen storage alloys to convert hydrogen into metal hydrides (Col. 6, line 60-Col. 7, line 3).
However, they do not teach an enclosure for housing the electrolyser, the metal hydride store, and the one or more fuel cells therein.
Streckert disclose a fuel cell (Fig. 3, element 33) being located in the upper lid of a laptop (Fig. 3, element 15), a hydride container being located in a lower lid of a laptop (Fig. 2, element 27) along with a hydride container being located inside of an enclosure of an electrolyzer (Fig. 15 shows a hydride container, element 27, being inserted inside of an electrolyzer, element 71, having a cover, element 75.). Therefore, Streckert teaches all three components, each being kept in some type of enclosure. This is merely an example of making components integral. MPEP 2144.04 V B: In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
However, alternatively, Norbert et al. teach an energy station comprising an electrolyzer (Fig. 1, element 2) producing hydrogen and heat, a hydrogen intermediate storage (Fig. 1, element 3) which is in the form of metal hydride storage, and a fuel cell (Fig. 1, element 4)(Abstract). Further, figure 1 shows all three components within the same enclosure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Streckert with Norbert in order to ensure the provision of the energy required for a specific period of time.
However, neither Streckert nor Norbert teach wherein the hydrogen storage alloy has a C14 Laves phase; and, wherein the metal hydride store uses room temperature metal hydride families, for example but not limited to, AB, AB2, A2B, ABS based hydrogen storage alloys to convert the hydrogen into metal hydrides.
Yu et al. teach an alloy for hydrogen storage comprising the formula TiMn1.25-xCr0.25(VFe)x wherein x is 0-0.4 (Abstract; Fig. 4; page 265, left column, bottom paragraph). Further, the alloy has a C14 Laves phase and is an AB2 alloy (Section 3.1: Phase Structure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Streckert and Norbert with Yu in order to increase hydrogen storage capacity.
However, Streckert, Norbert, and Yu do not teach wherein the electrolyser is a stackable anion exchange membrane (AEM) electrolyser.
Gillespie et al. teach an electrolyser designed to produce hydrogen from water (Abstract). Preferably the water electrolyser is an anion exchange membrane (AEM) electrolyser, including a plurality of AEM cells arranged in a stack configuration (Paragraph 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Streckert, Norbert, and Yu with Gillespie in order to reduce the need for a DC-to-DC converter.
Regarding claims 37 and 38, the combination of Streckert, Norbert, Yu, and Gillespie et al. teach the integrated energy storage device according to claim 36. Further, Norbert et al. teach wherein the device includes one or more auxiliary energy storage units such as a battery (Fig. 2, element 15 discloses a battery.), which is chargeable by at least one of: an external power supply, or an electrolyser of the device (Paragraph 0033).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Streckert with Norbert in order to ensure the provision of the energy required for a specific period of time.
Regarding claims 41, the combination of Streckert, Norbert, Yu, and Gillespie et al. teach the integrated energy storage device according to claim 36. Further, Streckert et al. teach wherein the device is fluidly coupled to a water source, for receiving and supplying water to the electrolyser for generating hydrogen. (Col. 8, lines 45-56 disclose the electrolyzer 71 has a tank that is filled with alkaline or acidic electrolyte and will be replenished with distilled or demineralized water, and water from the tank is supplied through a check valve to a cell assembly containing an ion exchange membrane.).
Regarding claims 42-44, the combination of Streckert, Norbert, Yu, and Gillespie et al. teach the integrated energy storage device according to claim 36. Further, Streckert et al. teach wherein the metal hydride store includes one or more storage vessels for storing the metal hydrides and wherein the metal hydride store includes a twin pair of hydrogen storage vessels (Col. 7, lines 4-25; Fig. 6, element 27a disclose four hydride containers which store metal hydride material.); wherein the one or more storage vessels are removable from the device and replaceable with new storage vessels if required (Col. 7, lines 4-25).
Regarding claim 47, the combination of Streckert, Norbert, and Gillespie et al. teach the integrated energy storage device according to claim 36. However, they do not teach wherein the alloy has a hydrogen storage capacity of at least 1.5 wt% H2, or at least 1.6 wt% H2, or at least 1.7 wt% H2, or at least 1.8 wt% H2, or at least 1.9 wt% H2, or at least 2 wt% H2, or least 2.1 wt% H2, or least 2.2 wt% H2, or least 2.3 wt% H2, or least 2.4 wt% H2, or least 2.5 wt% H2, or at least 2.6 wt% H2, or at least 2.7 wt.% H2, or at least 2.8 wt.% H2, or at least 2.9 wt.% H2, or least 3 wt% H2, or least 3.25 wt% H2, or least 3.5 wt% H2, or least 3.75 wt% H2, or at least 4 wt.% H2 at 30 bar.
Yu et al. teach an alloy for hydrogen storage comprising the formula TiMn1.25-xCr0.25(VFe)x wherein x is 0-0.4 (Abstract; Fig. 4; page 265, left column, bottom paragraph). Further, the alloy has a hydrogen storage capacity of at least 1.5 wt% H2, or at least 1.6 wt% H2, or at least 1.7 wt% H2, or at least 1.8 wt% H2, or at least 1.9 wt% H2, or at least 2 wt% H2, or least 2.1 wt% H2, or least 2.2 wt% H2, or least 2.3 wt% H2, or least 2.4 wt% H2, or least 2.5 wt% H2, or at least 2.6 wt% H2, or at least 2.7 wt.% H2, or at least 2.8 wt.% H2, or at least 2.9 wt.% H2, or least 3 wt% H2, or least 3.25 wt% H2, or least 3.5 wt% H2, or least 3.75 wt% H2, or at least 4 wt.% H2 at 30 bar (Fig. 4 shows the hydrogen capacity is at least 1.5 wt.% H2 when the pressure at around 3 MPa.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Streckert , Norbert, and Gillespie with Yu in order to increase hydrogen storage capacity.
Regarding claim 48, the combination of Streckert, Norbert, and Gillespie et al. teach the integrated energy storage device according to claim 36. However, they do not teach wherein the alloy has a hydrogen storage capacity of at least 4.5 wt% H2, or least 5 wt% H2, or least 6 wt% H2 at 100 bar.
Yu et al. teach an alloy for hydrogen storage comprising the formula TiMn1.25-xCr0.25(VFe)x wherein x is 0-0.4 (Abstract; Fig. 4; page 265, left column, bottom paragraph). While they do not teach wherein the alloy has a hydrogen storage capacity of at least 4.5 wt% H2, or least 5 wt% H2, or least 6 wt% H2 at 100 bar, Yu does teach the exact same composition of the alloy.
MPEP 2112.01 II: COMPOSITION CLAIMS — IF THE COMPOSITION IS PHYSICALLY THE SAME, IT MUST HAVE THE SAME PROPERTIES
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Regarding claim 49, the combination of Streckert, Norbert, and Gillespie et al. teach the integrated energy storage device according to claim 36. However, they do not teach wherein the alloy is adapted to desorb at least 65%, or at least 75%, at least 80%, or at least 85%, or at least 90%, or at least 95% of the stored hydrogen at 30 bar.
Yu et al. teach an alloy for hydrogen storage comprising the formula TiMn1.25-xCr0.25(VFe)x wherein x is 0-0.4 (Abstract; Fig. 4; page 265, left column, bottom paragraph). While they do not teach wherein the alloy is adapted to desorb at least 65%, or at least 75%, at least 80%, or at least 85%, or at least 90%, or at least 95% of the stored hydrogen at 30 bar, Yu does teach the exact same composition of the alloy.
MPEP 2112.01 II: COMPOSITION CLAIMS — IF THE COMPOSITION IS PHYSICALLY THE SAME, IT MUST HAVE THE SAME PROPERTIES
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Regarding claim 50, the combination of Streckert, Norbert, and Gillespie et al. teach the integrated energy storage device according to claim 36. However, they do not teach wherein the alloy is capable of a rate of uptake and release of hydrogen of at least about 0.5 g H2/min, or at least about 0.75 g H2/min, or at least about 1.0 g H2/min, or at least about 1.25 g H2/min, or at least about 1.4 g H2/min.
Yu et al. teach an alloy for hydrogen storage comprising the formula TiMn1.25-xCr0.25(VFe)x wherein x is 0-0.4 (Abstract; Fig. 4; page 265, left column, bottom paragraph). While they do not teach wherein the alloy is capable of a rate of uptake and release of hydrogen of at least about 0.5 g H2/min, or at least about 0.75 g H2/min, or at least about 1.0 g H2/min, or at least about 1.25 g H2/min, or at least about 1.4 g H2/min, Yu does teach the exact same composition of the alloy.
MPEP 2112.01 II: COMPOSITION CLAIMS — IF THE COMPOSITION IS PHYSICALLY THE SAME, IT MUST HAVE THE SAME PROPERTIES
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Regarding claim 53, the combination of Streckert, Norbert, Yu, and Gillespie et al. teach the integrated energy storage device according to claim 36. Further, Streckert et al. teach wherein the device includes one or more ventilation units for promoting air flow within and/or surrounding the device (Col. 5, lines 32-37).
Regarding claim 54, the combination of Streckert, Norbert, Yu, and Gillespie et al. teach the integrated energy storage device according to claim 36. Further, Streckert et al. teach wherein components of the device are electrically and/or fluidly coupled to each other within the enclosure (Figs. 1-3 disclose the electrolyzer, element 71, being connected to the hydride container, element 27, through a fluid conduit, element 69. Further, the fuel cells, element 33, are electrically connected to the hydride container through the hinge, element 17a.).
Regarding claim 55, the combination of Streckert, Norbert, Yu, and Gillespie et al. teach the integrated energy storage device according to claim 36. Further, Streckert et al. teach wherein the device is a plug and play type energy storage and supply device (Fig. 15 shows an electrical plug.).
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Streckert et al. (US 6,447,945 B1), Norbert et al. (DE 20 2005 011017 U1), Yu et al. (J. Univ. Sci. Technol. Beijing, 11, (2004), 263-267), and Gillespie et al. (WO 2020/163910 A1) as applied to claim 36 above, and further in view of Kai et al. (US 2021/0320287 A1).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Streckert, Norbert, Yu, and Gillespie et al. teach the integrated energy storage device according to claim 36. However, they do not teach wherein the electrolyser comprises a plurality of electrolytic cells, which are connected in series in a bipolar design.
Kai et al. teach an electrolyzer (Fig. 3, element 1) is a bipolar ion exchange membrane type electrolyzer(Paragraph 0064-0065), and the electrolyzer (Fig. 3, element 1) includes a plurality of electrolytic cells (Fig. 3, element 3) connected in series (Paragraphs 0064-0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Streckert, Norbert, Yu, and Gillespie with Kai in order to prevent corrosion inside the cells.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 April 29th, 2026