Detailed Action
Claims 1, 4, 10-11, 13, 15-16, 18-19, 21-22, 24-28, 30-31, 34-35, 37-40, and 49-52 are currently pending.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1, 4, 10-11, 13, 15-16, 18-19, 21-22, 24-28, 30-31, 34-35, 37-38 and 51-52, drawn to compounds of Formula I) and the elected species, Compound 80
, in the reply filed on 3/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15, 19, 24-26, 30-31, 34, 39-40, and 49-51 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Groups II-III or unelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Thus, Claims 1, 4, 10-11, 13, 16, 18, 21-22, 27-28, 35, 37-38 and 52 are being examined on the merits herein.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made final.
The elected species was found to be free of the art. The scope of search and examination was expanded to compounds of Formula I wherein R1 is not joined with an adjacent R1 to form a fused ring with the core bicycle.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Variables p and ring A, at least, are not defined in either Claim 27 in which they appear or in Claim 1, upon which 27 depends. All such variables must be explicitly defined. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the undefined variables of Claim 27 are interpreted to have the respective definitions described in Claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 11, 16, 21-22, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seitz (Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry Letters 18 (2008) 527–531).
Several compounds of Seitz in Table 1 of Page 529 are anticipatory with respect to the examined Formula I. For example, Compound 7b:
applies to the following definitions of examined Formula I: X and Y are O; A1, A2, A3, and A4 are CH; R2 is C1alkyl substituted with Z1, wherein Z1 is C(O)OR11, wherein R11 is H; R3, R4, R6, R7, R9 and R10 are H; and R5 is C1alkyl substituted with Z1, wherein Z1 is aryl substituted with Z1a, wherein Z1a is N(R13)2, wherein one R13 is hydrogen and the other is heteroaryl.
Regarding Claim 35, the limitation applies to R1 groups; however, the A variables are not restricted to CR1 rather than CH. Therefore, the above compound does still anticipate Claim 35 despite no R1 group being present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 10-11, 13, 16, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seitz (Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry Letters 18 (2008) 527–531).
Several integrin antagonist compounds of Seitz in Table 1 of Page 529 are anticipatory with respect to the examined Formula I. For example, Compound 7b:
applies to the following definitions of examined Formula I: X and Y are O; A1, A2, A3, and A4 are CH; R2 is C1alkyl substituted with Z1, wherein Z1 is C(O)OR11, wherein R11 is H; R3, R4, R6, R7, R9 and R10 are H; and R5 is C1alkyl substituted with Z1, wherein Z1 is aryl substituted with Z1a, wherein Z1a is N(R13)2, wherein one R13 is hydrogen and the other is heteroaryl.
Regarding Claim 35, the limitation applies to R1 groups; however, the A variables are not restricted to CR1 rather than CH. Therefore, the above compound does still anticipate Claim 35 despite no R1 group being present.
With respect to Claim 10, no R1 group is present on Compound 7b; however, R1 may be as simple as C1alkyl. While Seitz does not teach the addition of a methyl group, compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09. Therefore, one of skill in the art seeking to form homologs of the Seitz compounds for the same purpose before the effective filing date of the examined invention would find it obvious, in view of the known and predictable variation described in MPEP, to form a methyl homolog which renders obvious Claim 10.
With respect to Claim 13, R5 is not taught to be a ring. However, removal of the intervening methylene bonded to the aryl and amide of Compound 7b would yield an examined R5 group as follows:
, wherein R5 is aryl substituted with Z1, wherein Z1 is N(R11)2, wherein one R11 is hydrogen and the other is heteroaryl. Compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09. Therefore, one of skill in the art seeking to form homologs of the Seitz compounds for the same purpose before the effective filing date of the examined invention would find it obvious, in view of the known and predictable variation described in MPEP, to form a methylene homolog which renders obvious Claim 13.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seitz as applied to Claims 1, 4, 10-11, 13, 16, and 21-22 in further view of Ansel (Ansel’s Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms and Drug Delivery Systems. 10th. Wolters Kluwer Health. 2013. Page 102).
The teachings of Seitz are set forth above and incorporated by reference herein.
Ansel teaches “[d]rug substances are seldom administered alone; rather they are given as part of a formulation in combination with one or more nonmedicinal agents that serve varied and specialized pharmaceutical functions.” Liquid carriers can be used to “solubilize, suspend, thicken, dilute, emulsify, stabilize” compounds in solution for delivery.
One of skill in the art seeking to administer the therapeutic taught in Seitz would, in view of Ansel’s teaching that drugs are administered as a formulation, find it obvious to formulate the therapeutic compounds with a carrier in a composition for optimal drug delivery before the effective filing date of the instant application.
Claims 1, 4, 10-11, 16, 21-22, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koga (US20100113391, published 2010).
Koga teaches Compound 3 as a P2Y12 inhibitor (Abstract; Page 68, Table 49):
,
in which the following definitions of examined Formula I apply: A1 and A4 are CH; A2 and A3 are CR1 wherein each R1 is halo and N(R11)2, wherein each R11 is H and C6cycloalkyl; R2 is C5 cycloalkyl, R3, R6, R7, R9, and R10 are hydrogen; X and Y are O; R5 is C2 alkyl. Koga teaches compounds of the invention can be formulated as pharmaceutical compositions with carriers (Page 93, Claim 12).
Koga fails to teach the same compound wherein the ester linkage is an amide. Koga teaches amide as an acceptable alternative embodiment, however, at the same position in Formula I:
, wherein one of the Koga R11s is H. The modification is obvious and expected to form an acceptable PYR12 inhibitor because Koga teaches the lead compound as well as guidance for modifying said compound before the effective filing date.
Claims 1, 4, 10-11, 13, 16, 18, 21-22, 27, 35, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conn (WO2008151184).
Conn teaches mGluR5 modulators (Abstract), including the following compound on Page 193:
, in which the following definitions of examined formula II apply: R1 is C2alkynyl substituted with Z1, wherein Z1 is aryl, and p is 1; R2, R3, R6, R7 and R4 are H; Ring A is C3cycloalkyl.
Alternatively, the definitions of examined formula VII apply as follows: R1 is C2alkynyl substituted with Z1, wherein Z1 is aryl, and p is 1; R2 and R3 are H; Ring A is C3cycloalkyl.
Both formulae are encompassed by examined Formula I.
Conn does not teach alternative R2 groups. However, compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09. Therefore, one of skill in the art seeking to form homologs of the Conn compounds for the same purpose before the effective filing date of the examined invention would find it obvious, in view of the known and predictable variation described in MPEP, to form a methyl homolog yielding a mGluR5 modulator.
The compounds of Conn are also taught to be included in pharmaceutical compositions comprising carriers (Para 18, 21, and 61).
Double Patenting
PROVISIONAL:
Claims 1, 4, 10-11, 13, 16, 18, 21-22, 27-28, 35, 37-38 and 52 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18852324 (hereinafter referred to as Tenvie).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a NLRP3 inhibitors which are homologs and compositions thereof. Instant Claims 1, 4, 10-11, 13, 16, 18, 21-22, 27-28, 35, 38 are anticipated by the cited compounds of Tenvie.
Tenvie teaches methods of use which require the instant compounds.
Regarding Claim 37, Tenvie teaches Compound 42:
which differs from examined Compound 42:
in that a methyl is absent. However, compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09. Therefore, one of skill in the art seeking to form homologs of the Tenvie compound for the same purpose before the effective filing date of the examined invention would find it obvious, in view of the known and predictable variation described in MPEP, to form a methyl homolog and expect it to form an NLRP3 inhibitor.
Regarding Claim 52, Tenvie teaches Compound 27:
which differs from the following examined compound:
(Page 63) in that a second fluoride is attached to the cyclopropyl. However, Claim 8 of Tenvie teaches that Z1 (the fluoride position) may be once or twice substituted on the same core. Therefore, one of skill in the art seeking to form an NLRP3 inhibitor homolog would find it obvious to modify Compound 27 by removing a Z1 group, fluoride.
Since both applications teach NLRP3 inhibitor homologs of the same core, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Tenvie.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627