DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I, claims 1-4, in the reply filed on January 20, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 5-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 20, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meyer (US 2011/0272646).
Considering Claim 1: Meyer teaches a dispersion of an inorganic IR absorber, a dispersant and a solvent such as toluene (¶0058). The original specification of the instant application identifies toluene as mutually soluble for methyl methacrylate monomer and polymethyl methacrylate (¶0032). Meyer teaches the dispersant as being an acrylate (¶0062), which would be capable of intermolecular interaction with polymethyl methacrylate through hydrogen bonding of the carboxylic ester groups.
Considering Claim 3: Meyer teaches the IR absorber as being Cs0.33WO3 (¶0040) having a particle size of 5 to 100 nm (¶0055).
Considering Claim 4: Meyer teaches the dispersant as being an acrylate, which reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of an ester.
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN 107640786).
Considering Claims 1 and 4: Zhang teaches a tungsten oxide/IR absorber dispersion comprising cesium tungsten oxide, a dispersant and an organic solvent (Abstract), where the dispersant is preferably a polyoxyethylene copolymer, cetyl sodium sulfate, or polymethyl sodium acrylate (pg. 3) and the solvent is preferably toluene, ethanol, xylene, ethyl acetate, isopropanol or methyl isobutyl ketone (pg. 3). The original specification of the original specification teaches the dispersants of Zhang as being capable of generating intermolecular forces with polymethyl methacrylate, and teaches the solvents of Zhang as being mutually soluble with methyl methacrylate monomer and polymethyl methacrylate (¶0031-32).
Considering Claim 2: Zhang teaches an embodiment comprising 50% of the cesium tungsten oxide particles, 5% of the dispersing agent, and 45% of the solvent (Embodiment 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 107640786) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Meyer (US 2011/0272646).
Considering Claim 3: Zhang teaches the composition of claim 1 as shown above.
Zhang teaches the particles as being cesium tungsten oxide nanoparticles, but is silent towards the particle size of the particles. However, Meyer teaches the IR absorber as being Cs0.33WO3 (¶0040) having a particle size of 5 to 100 nm (¶0055). Zhang and Meyer are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely infrared absorbing dispersions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the particle size of Meyer for the particles of Zhang, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Meyer suggests, to provide particles that are transparent in the visible spectrum while having absorption in the IR range (¶0055).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767