DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “agitation means”, “mechanical interaction means” in claim 1, “cyclone means” in claim 10, 11.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3,9-13, 19, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3 , the phrase "more preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 9 recites “the surrounding reactor wall”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the surrounding reactor wall” in previous claim limitations. Claims 10-13 and 19 depend on claim 9 and hence are also rejected.
Claim 10 recites “the cyclone means”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the cyclone means” in previous claim limitations. Examiner notes claim 9 recites “a cyclone”.
Regarding claim 23 , the phrase "more preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Japanese reference(7-155523).
Japanese reference in figure 1 teaches a fine bubbles generation method for converting gas into fine bubbles in liquid, where the method comprises the following steps: in a first step, bringing the gas(gas inlet 2) into contact with the liquid(liquid sprayers 4) under agitation(noting axial swirling elements 5 providing agitation) causing the liquid to take up gas in dissolved form and as first step bubbles(examiner noting the mechanical force provided by swirling elements provides for shearing of bubbles formed through gas and liquid contact; noting para 0004 stating “To achieve the desired effect, fine droplets are dispersed in the gas, and a swirling motion is imparted to the airflow by the blade swirling effect, just like in an axial flow cyclone. At this time, the generation of strong turbulence and relative velocity promotes gas absorption or fine particle collection, and the liquid sprayed onto the wall disperses again like a spray nozzle, generating a liquid film or fine droplets, which swirl and are sprayed directly onto the large surface area of the packing material made up of linear objects, where they are divided and washed again”), and resulting in a first step gas-laden liquid; and in a second step, subjecting the first step gas-laden liquid to at least one of i) pressure drops and ii) mechanical impacts(noting packed bed 11, wherein packed bed provides a random , winding movement through the packed bed, providing pressure drops and mechanical impacts on the gas-laden liquid) , creating cavitation bubbles and breaking up the cavitation bubbles and first step bubbles into smaller size second step fine bubbles resulting in a second step fine bubble-laden liquid(examiner noting movement through the packed bed and impact on structures within the packed bed causing shearing of first step bubbles into smaller size second step fine bubbles).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese reference(7-155523).
Japanese reference teaches all of the limitations of claim 23 but is silent as to where the second step fine bubbles preferably have a diameter less than 50 micrometers. Examiner notes that Japanese reference teaches a combined gas-liquid contacting process including agitation and downstream mechanical impacting, wherein formation of a specific diameter fine bubble is within the skill of someone of ordinary skill in the art, wherein modification of different parameters such as gas velocity, swirl angle, and amount of mechanical impact provide for a certain fine bubble diameter. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, through routine experimentation and modification of known parameters, to arrive at a bubble diameter less than 50 micrometers in order to provide for an optimized fine bubble diameter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1,2 , 4-8, 14-18, 20, 21 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 1 recites “A fine bubbles generation system for converting gas into fine bubbles in liquid, where the system comprises:
- a reactor vessel comprising gas input means, liquid input means, and liquid output means;
- agitation means arranged for agitating gas received through the gas input means and liquid received through the liquid input means, causing the liquid to take up gas in dissolved form and as first step bubbles, resulting in a first step gas-laden liquid; and
- mechanical interaction means arranged for mechanical interaction with the first step gas-laden liquid creating cavitation bubbles and breaking up the cavitation bubbles and first step bubbles into smaller size second step bubbles resulting in a second step fine bubble-laden liquid, where the mechanical interaction means comprise impacting surfaces comprising nanocellulose in the form of cellulose nanofibers (CNF) and/or cellulose nanocrystals (CNC),
where the agitation means and the mechanical interaction means are arranged in the reactor vessel between the gas input means and the liquid output means, the agitation means closest to the gas input means.”.
Japanese reference(7-155523)in figure 1 teaches a fine bubbles generation system for converting gas into fine bubbles in liquid, where the system comprises: a reactor vessel comprising gas input means(2), liquid input means(spray nozzles 4), and liquid output means(noting liquid sump in figure 1); agitation means(swirling elements 5) arranged for agitating gas received through the gas input means and liquid received through the liquid input means, causing the liquid to take up gas in dissolved form and as first step bubbles, resulting in a first step gas-laden liquid; and mechanical interaction means(packed bed 11) arranged for mechanical interaction with the first step gas-laden liquid creating cavitation bubbles and breaking up the cavitation bubbles and first step bubbles into smaller size second step bubbles resulting in a second step fine bubble-laden liquid, where the agitation means and the mechanical interaction means are arranged in the reactor vessel between the gas input means and the liquid output means, the agitation means closest to the gas input means.
However Japanese reference does not teach or suggest where the mechanical interaction means comprise impacting surfaces comprising nanocellulose in the form of cellulose nanofibers (CNF) and/or cellulose nanocrystals (CNC). Claims 2, 4-8, 14-18,20,21 depend on claim 1 and hence are also allowed.
/ROBERT A HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
November 3, 2025