DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 13, 15 and 25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (US 20150001201 A1) in view of Pai et al. (US 20220078890), Pizzi et al. (US 20200163161) and Wittkowski et al. (US 11136056).
Regarding claim 1, Adler et al. discloses “a heater module” (10) comprising “a thick-film heating element” (12, 14, 16, 18 and 32), the heating element comprising:
“a heating conductor” (32 includes 34. [0106], i.e., The heater 32 is a plurality of heating elements 34);
“a temperature sensor” (26); and
“a substrate” (16) supporting “the heating conductor” (34) and “the temperature sensor” (26);
Adler et al. is silent regarding
Pai et al. teaches “the heater module” (fig.1-4) comprises “a resistive conductor” (20) “extending between opposite ends” (20 has opposite ends) and wherein “the resistive conductor” (20) is connected to “the heating element” (30. Fig.2 shows 20 is connected to 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Adler et al.’s heater element device to include Adler et al.’s heating film, to provide electrode circuit pattern with resistance layer for evenly heat up to rapidly defog and locally adjust heating degree (abstract) as taught by Adler.
The combination of Adler and Pai et al. is silent regarding the connection between resistive conductor comprising object A is mounted on the heating element comprising object B.
Pizzi et al. teaches “object A is mounted on object B” ([0102], i.e., each electrode layer 13 and 14 is a corresponding connection element 13c and 14c made of electrically conductive material, which may, for example, be obtained by shaping part of the corresponding electrode, or else be welded or glued via an electrically conductive adhesive on the face of the corresponding electrode layer opposite to the heating layer 15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Adler et al.’s with Pizzi et al., to use Pizzi et al.’s connection method such as glue or welding to form secure connection between modified Adler et al.’s resistive conductor and heating element.
Adler et al. is silent regarding wherein the heater module comprises a resistive conductor extending between opposite ends having at least one trimming cut formed by a trimming process for extending a conductive path defined between the ends of the resistive conductor.
Wittkowski et al. teaches “heating conductor having at least one trimming cut formed by a trimming process for extending a conductive path defined between the opposite ends of the resistive conductor” (Abstract, i.e., A planar carrier for mounting on a rim of a steering wheel without wrinkles, the planar carrier including a portion of planar flexible foil of roughly rectangular shape having two longitudinal sides and two lateral sides, wherein the length B of the lateral sides is 0.96 to 1.00 times the perimeter of the rim, and wherein N cut-outs per unit length are provided on each of the longitudinal sides. The cut-outs of one side are located in a staggered fashion relative to opposing cut-out portions on the opposite side. The optimum shape and size of the cut-outs may be determined as described. Examiner noted that the trimming cut forms a zigzag pattern or see annotated fig.5 shows the pattern can be zigzag-like or multiple V-shaped or multiple W shaped like heating conductor. Examiner noted that annotated fig.5 trimming the removed region or cutting region forms the zigzag-like or multiple V-shaped or multiple W shaped increases a conductive path (hence, without the cutting regions, there is a straight-line conductive path). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Adler et al. with Wittkowski et al., by replacing Adler et al.’s heating element according to Wittkowski et al.’s heating element, to provide optimum shape based on design application (col.3 at lines 8-15) as taught by Wittkowski et al. One skilled in the art would have found it obvious to substitute Adler et al. with Wittkowski et al. are both recognized by the art for the same purpose of heating. MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding claim 3, modified Adler et al. discloses “the heating conductor” (Pai, [0025], i.e., electrode layer 30 has an electrode circuit pattern EL) is electrically coupled to “the resistive conductor” (Pai, 20. [0025], i.e., The electrode circuit pattern EL is electrically connected to the resistance layer 20).
Regarding claim 13, modified Adler et al. discloses “the heating conductor comprises the resistive conductor” (Adler et al., 32 includes 34. [0106], i.e., The heater 32 is a plurality of heating elements 34).
Regarding claim 15, modified Adler et al. discloses “the heating conductor comprises a conductive trace” (Adler et al., 32 includes 34. [0106], i.e., The heater 32 is a plurality of heating elements 34).
Regarding claim 25, modified Adler et al. discloses “the at least one trimming cut is linear” (Wittkowski et al., fig.5 shows at least a portion of trimming cut is linear).
Regarding claim 26, modified Adler et al. discloses “the at least one trimming cut obstructs the conductive path between the ends of the resistive conductor” (Wittkowski et al., fig.5 shows the trimming cut so that conductive path is not a straight conductive path that obstruct the conductive path between ends of the resistive conductor).
Regarding claim 27, modified Adler et al. discloses “the at least one trimming cut comprises at least one kerf” (Wittkowski et al., fig.5 shows multiple cut off regions or at least one kerf).
Regarding claim 28, modified Adler et al. discloses “the at least one kerf comprises a series of discrete kerfs” (Wittkowski et al., fig.5 shows a series of discrete kerfs or cut off regions).
Regarding claim 29, modified Adler et al. discloses “the at least one kerf is spaced longitudinally from the ends of the resistive conductor and includes a portion extending transverse to a length of the resistive conductor” (Wittkowski et al., fig.5 shows the at least one kerf is spaced longitudinally from the ends of the resistive conductor and includes a portion extending transverse to a length of the resistive conductor ).
Regarding claim 30, modified Adler et al. discloses “the at least one kerf includes a second portion extending from the first portion and parallel to the length of the resistive conductor to form an L-cut” (Wittkowski et al., annotated fig.5 shows a substantially L shape cut having a second portion extending from the first portion and parallel to the length of the resistive conductor to form an L-cut).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (US 20150001201 A1) in view of Pai et al. (US 20220078890), Pizzi et al. (US 20200163161) and Wittkowski et al. (US 11136056) as applied in claims 1, 3, 13, 15 and 25-30 above, and further in view of Juvani (US 2014/0291309).
Regarding claim 2, modified Adler et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for the temperature sensor comprises a sensing conductor that is electrically coupled to the resistive conductor.
Juvani teaches “the temperature sensor comprises a sensing conductor” (fig.1 shows a thermostat arrangement 106 having sensing conductor) that is electrically coupled to the resistive conductor” (108). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Adler et al. with Juvani, by adding Juvani’s temperature sensor electrically coupled with Adler et al.’s resistive conductor, to shuts off the supply current to heating element when temperature exceed specific threshold value (para.0039) as taught by Juvani.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (US 20150001201 A1) in view of Pai et al. (US 20220078890), Pizzi et al. (US 20200163161) and Wittkowski et al. (US 11136056) as applied in claims 1, 3, 13, 15 and 25-30 above, and further in view of NESA et al. (US 2016/0231228).
Regarding claim 4, modified Adler et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for the resistive conductor is mounted within a recess in a surface of the heating element.
NESA et al. teaches “the resistive conductor” (130) is mounted within “a recess in a surface of the heating element” (recess of 13. [0044] The heating element 13 is connected to conductive wires 130 and fig.1, shows resistive conductor 130 in a recess in a surface of the heating element 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Adler et al. with NESA et al., by modifying Adler et al.’s heating device configuration according to NESA et al.’s configuration, to allow resistive conductor securely position in the heating element without moving around and ensure uninterrupted and safe operations during heating.
Regarding claim 5, modified Adler et al. discloses “the recess is formed into the substrate of the heating element” (the recess of heating element 13 for accommodate resistive conductor 130).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (US 20150001201 A1) in view of Pai et al. (US 20220078890), Pizzi et al. (US 20200163161) and Wittkowski et al. (US 11136056) as applied in claims 1, 3, 13, 15 and 25-30 above, and further in view of Parker (US 20110297665).
Regarding claim 6, modified Adler et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for the resistive conductor is mounted to a discrete resistor module that is configured to connect to “the heating element.
Parker teaches “the resistive conductor” (upper 404) is mounted to “a discrete resistor module” (406 and 410 collectively forms a discrete resistor module) that is configured to connect to “the heating element” (lower 404). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Adler et al. with Parker, by modifying Adler et al.’s heating device configuration according to Parker’s heating device configuration, to provide desired heater configuration based on design specification.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (US 20150001201 A1) in view of Pai et al. (US 20220078890), Pizzi et al. (US 20200163161) and Wittkowski et al. (US 11136056) as applied in claims 1, 3, 13, 15 and 25-30 above, and further in view of Kushihashi et al. (US 20070131674).
Regarding claim 7, modified Adler et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for the resistor module comprises an opening configured to receive a portion of the heating element.
Kushihashi et al. teaches “the resistor module comprises an opening” (34 has an opening 35) configured to receive “a portion of the heating element” (the terminal portion 14 of heating element 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Adler et al. with Kushihashi et al., by modifying Adler et al.’s resistor module to have an opening according to Kushihashi et al.’s terminal connection, to provide rapid and tool free assembly and maintenance.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (US 20150001201 A1) in view of Pai et al. (US 20220078890), Pizzi et al. (US 20200163161) and Wittkowski et al. (US 11136056) as applied in claims 1, 3, 13, 15 and 25-30 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20190141789).
Regarding claim 8, modified Adler et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for vias configured to couple the resistive conductor electrically to the temperature sensor or the heating conductor.
Wang et al. teaches “vias” (refers to the holes too allow 54 and 52 coupled to each other. See fig.10 shows vias or through holes and fig.8 shows 52 and 54) configured to couple “the resistive conductor” (54) electrically to the temperature sensor or “the heating conductor” (52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Adler et al. with Wang et al., by replacing Adler et al.’s connection with Wang et al.’s via connection, to provide a tiny, conductive electrical link for space saving.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (US 20150001201 A1) in view of Pai et al. (US 20220078890), Pizzi et al. (US 20200163161) and Wittkowski et al. (US 11136056) as applied in claims 1, 3, 13, 15 and 25-30 above, and further in view of Aoike (US 20200403088).
Regarding claim 9, modified Adler et al. discloses the resistive conductor (Pai et al., 20).
Aoike teaches “the resistive conductor” (multiple 13 collectively forms the resistive conductor) is mounted by “soldered joints” (solder layers 14 which forms soldered joints). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Adler et al. with Aoike, by adding Aoike’s soldered joints to Adler et al.’s conductor, to facilitate connection between conductor and other components.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (US 20150001201 A1) in view of Pai et al. (US 20220078890), Pizzi et al. (US 20200163161) and Wittkowski et al. (US 11136056) as applied in claims 1, 3, 13, 15 and 25-30 above, and further in view of Leung et al. (US 20120119872).
Regarding claim 10, modified Adler et al. discloses “the resistive conductor” (Wang et al., metal lines 54 can be acted as resistor).
However, Wang et al. is silent regarding resistive conductor comprises a trimmable resistor.
Leung et al. teaches “resistive conductor comprises a trimmable resistor” ([0124], i.e., non-active regions 638, 642 of the heat-trimmable resistor). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Adler et al. with Leung et al., by modifying Wang et al.’s conductor according to Adler et al.’s resistor, to fine-tune and calibrate resistance in an electronic circuit.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (US 20150001201 A1) in view of Pai et al. (US 20220078890), Pizzi et al. (US 20200163161) and Wittkowski et al. (US 11136056) as applied in claims 1, 3, 13, 15 and 25-30 above, and further in view of Kim (US 20150173127)
Regarding claim 14, modified Adler et al. discloses the substrate of the heating element comprises a material.
Modified Adler et al. is silent regarding the material is a ceramic material.
Kim teaches the substrate includes “a ceramic material” (abstract, i.e., a heating wire on a ceramic substrate in a ceramic heater). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to replacing Adler et al.’s substrate with Kim’s ceramic substrate, to provide high temperature stability and thermal insulation.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (US 20150001201 A1) in view of Pai et al. (US 20220078890), Pizzi et al. (US 20200163161) and Wittkowski et al. (US 11136056) as applied in claims 1, 3, 13, 15 and 25-30 above, and further in view of Salahieh et al. (US 20100204560).
Regarding claim 16, modified Adler et al. discloses temperature sensor.
However, modified Adler et al. is silent regarding temperature sensor comprises a conductive trace.
Salahieh et al. teaches “temperature sensor comprises a conductive trace” ([0093], i.e., The conductive traces for the temperature sensors 90 can also be used to simultaneously power a mapping electrode (not shown)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Adler et al.’s temperature sensor with Salahieh et al.’s temperature sensor with conductive trace, to provide seamless surface conformity, ultra thin form factors and direct thermal coupling to complex or flexible geometries. One skilled in the art would have found it obvious to substitute Adler et al.’s temperature sensor with Salahieh et al.’s temperature sensor are both recognized by the art for the same purpose of sensing temperature. MPEP 2144.06.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “35 USC 102 … amended claim 1 … Wang teaches … 35 USC 103 …” on pages 7-8 of remark.
In response, the amendment to claim 1 changed the scope of invention and overcame prior rejections. However, examiner has introduced additional references in current rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIMMY CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761