DETAILED ACTION
Previous Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, filed February 27, 2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Status
Claims 1-14, 17, 19, and 21-23 are cancelled.
Claims 15-16, 18, 20-29 are newly added and are pending.
Claims 25-29 are withdrawn.
Claims 15-16, 18, 20, and 24 are examined on the merits in this prosecution.
CLAIM REJECTIONS
Obviousness Rejections
1) Claims 15-18, 20-21, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leung (US 2015/0335074 A1; of record), in view of Gaiha (“Association Between Youth Smoking, Electronic Cigarette Use and COVID-19,” Journal of Adolescent Health 67 (2020) 519-523), Uhlmann (WO 2012/162557 A1; of record), and Mantlo (“In vitro efficacy of a copper iodine complex PPE disinfectant for SARS-CoV-2 inactivation,” F1000Research 2020, 9: 674).
Leung teaches a handheld electronic vaporizing device, comprising a body defining a cavity; a mouthpiece connected to said body; an electroconductive textile heating element; an elastically deformable reservoir; a power element; a power connect element; a capacitive touch sensor element; and a light element (pg 3, claim 1). Leung teaches the mouthpiece comprises an inner shell of hard material such as, for example, metal or plastic, and an outer shell of soft pliable material such as, for example, foam, silicone or rubber, and the mouthpiece may include an anti-microbial agent coating to inhibit bacterial growth (pg 1, [0013]).
For claim 21, the device taught by Leung is a handheld vaporizing device 10 shown in Fig. 1 (below). The handheld vaporizing device 10 comprises a mouth piece 200 and a main body 100. Main body 100 defines an interior cavity 110. A heating element 240, a reservoir 250, a power unit 260 comprising control circuitry 270 and power source 290, and a power connect element 280 are sequentially provided inside cavity 110 (pg 1, [0012]).
The claimed device is disclosed as an aerosol generating device 2, illustrated in Figure 1A (shown below), wherein the device 2 comprises an exterior housing 3 that holds interior components used for generation of an aerosol. The interior components include an aerosol generating substrate disposed within a heating chamber. The substrate is heated by a nearby heater, powered by a battery, to generate an aerosol for inhalation by a user (specification, pg 9).
As such, the device taught by Leung appears to comprise each of the elements of the claimed device, and each perform the same function.
For claim 23, Leung teaches the mouthpiece may comprise the antimicrobial ([0013]), and the instant specification stated the cartridge comprises a mouthpiece (pg 11: 10-12). As such, the cartridge component is taught by Leung as comprising antimicrobial particles.
For claim 24, Leung teaches the outer shell of the device comprises a soft pliable material such as silicone or rubber (pg 1, [0013]), both materials comprising a polymer.
Leung teaches an antimicrobial coating for the mouthpiece but does not teach a whole exterior of the device that comprises antimicrobial monovalent copper compound particles throughout the exterior.
Gaiha, Uhlmann, and Mantlo teaches the missing element of Leung.
Gaiha teaches youth using e-cigarettes are at greater risk of COVID-19 and e-cigarette use is associated with getting infected with COVID-19. Gaiha teaches COVID-19 spreads through repeated touching of one’s hands to the mouth and face, which is common among e-cigarette users, and sharing devices is also a common practice among youth e-cigarette users (pg 520, “Discussion”).
Uhlmann teaches a composition having antimicrobial activity comprising particles comprising copper iodide, copper bromide, or copper chloride (Abstract).
Uhlmann teaches the copper (I) particles are safe and effective for dental coatings, fillings, crowns, bridges, and implants; baby bottles; medical implants; and toothbrushes (pgs 30-31, Table 1).
For claim 16, Uhlmann teaches the average size of the particles ranges from about 4 nm to about 1000 nm (Abstract), overlapping the claimed range. Because the claimed range overlaps with the range disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
For claim 18, Uhlmann teaches the coating comprising the monovalent copper compounds is applied by spraying or dipping the device (pg 38, first paragraph), meeting the claimed limitation of arrangement of the particles throughout the entire exterior of the device.
Mantlo teaches a copper iodide complex is effective as a hard surface disinfectant against SARS-CoV-2 (COVID-19) (Abstract).
For claim 20, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected success in coating the exterior of the aerosol generating device of Leung with a coating of a monovalent copper compound such as copper iodide, and utilize a higher concentration of CuI particles on the mouthpiece, since Guiha teaches sharing e-cigarettes is common among youth users and Leung teaches it is especially important to provide an anti-microbial coating to the mouthpiece. An ordinarily skilled practitioner would expect the mouthpiece to harbor a higher concentration of bacteria than other parts of the device and therefore a higher concentration of antimicrobial would be required to alleviate the increased bacterial load.
The skilled artisan would have expected success in substituting the monovalent copper iodide particles for the Microban® antimicrobial taught by Leung, over the entire device, since Uhlmann teaches a coating comprising copper iodide nanoparticles is safe and effective for oral use, Gaiha teaches users of e-cigarettes are at greater risk of contracting COVID-19 since the disease is spread through repeated touching of one’s hands to the mouth and face, common among e-cigarette users, and one of ordinary skill would expect that COVID-19 can be passed from user to user by sharing the e-cigarette device both through oral contact with the mouthpiece as well as the handling of the device and hand-to-hand exchange of the device between individuals, and Mantlo teaches copper iodide is effective as a surface coating on medical devices to reduce the incidence of COVID-19 infections.
Examiner’s Reply to Attorney Arguments Dated 2/27/2026
1. Rejection of claims 15-18, 21, and 23-24 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Leung and Uhlmann
The applicant argues that the combination does not teach or suggest the newly added limitation “a whole exterior of the component comprises antimicrobial particles.”
The Examiner acknowledges the arguments presented, but does not consider them persuasive. In view of applicant’s amendment to claim 15, the Examiner has recast the rejection with the additional of Guiha and Mantlo. As discussed above, these references when added to the prior art of Leung and Uhlmann teach the instant invention as currently claimed.
2. Rejection of claims 19 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Leung, Uhlmann and Yokota
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claims 19 and 20 have been considered but are moot because claim 19 has been canceled and claim 20 is rejected in view of the combination of Leung and Uhlmann and the newly added references of Guiha and Mantlo.
3. Rejection of claim 22 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Leung, Uhlmann, and Terry
This rejection is moot in view of the cancellation of claim 22.
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL P COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612