DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 9-24 are examined.
Claim 25 is cancelled.
Claims 1-8 are withdrawn with traverse.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims overcome the previous claim objection of claim 16, the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections, and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections. Therefore, the objection and rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
“they” in claim 10, line 3 should recite “the plurality of rotationally drivable shaping shafts” or “the shaping shafts” for clarity
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pepper (US 4929167) in view of Li (CN 204471816 U, an English machine translation is provided with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 9, Pepper discloses a device 10 (c. 3, L 14-20 – apparatus 10) for producing a coiled tubing from a thermoplastic plastics material (c. 3, L 14-20 – 10 produces a plastic tube forming a helix), comprising
an extruder (c. 3, L 21-23, 32-36 – means for extruding a tube 12 includes an extruder 20) with an injection head having an annular nozzle gap (c. 3, L 32-39 – 20 includes means for adjusting concentricity of bore of tube; Fig. 5 depicts an annular nozzle gap) forming an outlet having a defined direction (FIG. 1-2 depicts an outlet having a defined direction), by way of which a tubular extrudate can be delivered in a state capable of being shaped plastically (c. 3, L 52-57 – 12 still molten), and
Pepper FIG. 1-2
a shaping device for further shaping of the tubular extrudate (c. 3, L 52-57 – forming means including sleeve 22), which is capable of being shaped plastically, to form the coiled tubing with a profile cross-section of geometrically defined size (c.3, L 14-20 – 12 having an inner radius of curvature),
wherein the shaping device is driven and so arranged with respect to the injection head of the extruder that it is capable of drawing the tubular extrudate (c. 2, L 17-19; claim 5 – the tube 12 is curved before it hardens), in the state capable of being shaped plastically (c. 3, L 52-57 – 12 still molten when it enters 22), directly from the outlet of the annular nozzle gap in the defined direction (c. 3, L 52-57 – 22 located immediately adjacent to 20, FIG. 1 depicts 12 from 20 directly entering 22).
The limitation “by the method according to claim 1” is recited in the preamble. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "'extraneous' limitations from the specification." If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP § 2111.02 (II).
As the body of the claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention and the limitation “by the method according to claim 1” is not recited within the body of the claim, the limitation recites purpose or intended use of the invention.
Pepper does not disclose wherein the injection head of the extruder has a supporting air bore which opens at an end surface of the injection head radially within the annular nozzle gap with an internal pressure provided solely by the supporting air bore within the tubular extrudate creating net outwardly directed forces at the tubular extrudate to support the tubular extrudate to have the profile cross-section abutting against the shaping device.
Analogous art Li discloses a biaxial orientation stretching pipe heat including a flow divider cone, a mandrel, a flow divider sleeve, a die, and a vacuum sizing sleeve (¶ [0008]). The flow divider sleeve and the die are connected to form a cavity and the flow divider cone and mandrel are connected and fixed on the flow divider cone support, and pass through the central axis of the cavity formed by the flow divider sleeve and the die (¶ [0008]). The air plug expansion plug is made of elastic material (¶ [0021]). As depicted in FIG. 1, the plug is extruded in the horizontal defined direction, in a similar manner as Pepper.
Li further discloses the injection head of the extruder has a supporting air bore (¶ [0008, 0021] – air inlet nozzle 3 on flow divider cone support 4) which opens at an end surface of the injection head radially within the annular nozzle gap (¶ [0008, 0021] – air plug expansion plug is connected to the mandrel and has an air inlet, the air inlet hole is at their central axis) with an internal pressure provided solely by the supporting air bore within the tubular extrudate creating net outwardly directed forces at the tubular extrudate (¶ [0008] – one end communicates with an air inlet nozzle on the flow divider cone support; ¶ [0015] – compressed air is introduced through the air inlet to expand the air plug, which in turn causes the tube blank to expand laterally) to support the tubular extrudate to have the profile cross-section abutting against the shaping device (¶ [0021] – vacuum sizing sleeve keep the tube diameter consistent, as the air plug expansion plug 15 abuts to vacuum sizing sleeve 16, the plug would abut to the shaping device as disclosed in Pepper).
Pepper and Li disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to forming plastic tubes through extrusion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the die and mandrel comprising an air inlet nozzle at their central axis in Li to the means for adjusting concentricity of bore of tube in Pepper to produce a stretching tube head that is simple in structure, low in manufacturing cost, and stable in stretching orientation (¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 24, modified Pepper discloses the device according to claim 9. Modified Pepper discloses a cooling device 22 for delivery of a cooling fluid (c. 4, L 3-5 – 22 includes cooling water passages 38), by which the extrudate conveyed by the shaping device can be actively cooled, is provided in the region of the shaping device (c. 4, L 3-5 – for cooling 12).
Claim(s) 10-14 and 16-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pepper (US 4929167) in view of Li (CN 204471816 U), as applied to claim 9, in further view of Holmgren (US 3454695).
Regarding claim 10, modified Pepper discloses the device according to claim 9, modified Pepper disclose wherein the shaping device comprises a plurality of rotationally drivable shaping shafts (c. 4, L 6-16 – forming means includes a plurality of rollers 40; c. 5, L 1-12 – means for rotating 40) which are so arranged at a shaft mount secure against rotation (Fig. 1 depicts 40 on a mount) … the shaping shafts are drivable in opposite direction … so as to convey the tubular extrudate (c. 4, L 6-16 – 40 include a first series 42 and second series 44, 40 for pulling 12 though sleeve 22; therefore the pairs of 42 and 44 they would drive in opposite directions to pull and convey 12), which is capable of being shaped plastically (c. 3, L 52-57 – 12 still molten when it enters 22).
Pepper discloses rollers 40 includes a first series 42 engages radially outward portion 16 of the tube 12 and a second series 44 engages the radially inward portion 18 of the tube 12 (c. 4, L 6-16).
Pepper Fig. 1
Modified Pepper does not disclose that the shaping shafts form an inner ring of shaping shafts and an outer ring of shaping shafts, wherein the shaping shafts of the inner ring are drivable in opposite direction to the shaping shafts of the outer ring so as to convey the tubular extrudate, which is capable of being shaped plastically, between the inner ring and the outer ring.
Holmgren discloses a extruder 16 that provides tube 10 drawn from cooling apparatus 17 by haul off apparatus 18 and to heating apparatus 19 (c. 3, L 28-50).
Holmgren wherein the shaping device (c. 2, L 67-69 – apparatus for continuously forming coiled plastic hose) comprises a plurality of rotationally drivable shaping shafts (c. 3, L 51-74 – plurality of guide rollers 20 arranged to define a helical path 21; each 20 comprises shank portion 24) which are so arranged at a shaft mount secure against rotation (c 3, L 51-74 – each 20 includes outboard shank portion 37 journalled in support plate 38) that they form an inner ring of shaping shafts (Fig. 4 depicts an inner ring of shank portions 24) and an outer ring of shaping shafts (Fig. 4 depicts an outer ring of shank portions 24), and wherein the shaping shafts of the inner ring are drivable in opposite direction to the shaping shafts of the outer ring (c. 3, L 51-74 – driving roller from an electric motor 26; therefore 20 they would drive in opposite directions to drive 10) so as to convey the tubular extrudate (c. 3, L 51-74 – 10 fed to 20), which is capable of being shaped plastically (c. 3, L 51-74 – 10 at annealing temperature), between the inner ring and the outer ring (Fig. 4 depicts 10 between inner ring and outer ring formed by 20). The coiled configuration may be effected by suitably guiding the tube into a helical path corresponding to the desired coiled configuration whereby the deformable plastic will assume the desired helical configuration and permit subsequent cooling thereof to set the tube in the desired configuration (c. 3, L 43-50). The method eliminates the disadvantage of relatively complicated manufacture and difficulty of completely eliminating the stresses in the plastic in the helical formation of the hose (c. 1, L 51-58).
Holmgren Fig. 4
Pepper and Holmgren disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the rollers forming an inner and outer ring in Holmgren to the first series and second series of rollers in modified Pepper to allow deformable plastic to assume the desired helical configuration and permit subsequent cooling thereof to set the tube in the desired configuration (c. 3, L 43-50) and eliminate the disadvantage of relatively complicated manufacture and difficulty of completely eliminating the stresses in the plastic in the helical formation of the hose (c. 1, L 51-58).
Regarding claim 11, modified Pepper discloses the device according to claim 10. Modified Pepper discloses 40 has groove 46 (Pepper c 4, L 17-19).
Modified Pepper does not disclose wherein each shaping shaft has a plurality of shape-imparting radial grooves with a geometrically defined groove cross-section, the grooves being arranged in succession at a slight spacing from one another as seen along a center axis of the shaping shaft.
Holmgren discloses disclose wherein each shaping shaft has a plurality of shape-imparting radial grooves with a geometrically defined groove cross-section (c. 3, L 51-74 – each roller comprises a guide portion defined by a plurality of segmentally helical grooves 23), the grooves being arranged in succession at a slight spacing from one another as seen along a center axis of the shaping shaft (Fig. 2 depicts the grooves of 23 are arranged in succession at a slight spacing from one another as seen along a center axis of 24).
Holmgren Fig. 2
Pepper and Holmgren disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the grooves on the rollers in Holmgren to the rollers in modified Pepper to allow deformable plastic to assume the desired helical configuration and permit subsequent cooling thereof to set the tube in the desired configuration (c. 3, L 43-50) and eliminate the disadvantage of relatively complicated manufacture and difficulty of completely eliminating the stresses in the plastic in the helical formation of the hose (c. 1, L 51-58).
Regarding claim 12, modified Pepper discloses the device according to claim 11. Modified Pepper disclose the shape-imparting radial grooves of the shaping shafts have a substantially semicircular groove cross-section (Holmgren depicts the grooves of 23 are substantially semicircular groove cross-section).
Regarding claim 13, modified Pepper discloses the device according to claim 10. Modified Pepper does not disclose wherein the shaping shafts project to different extent from the shaft mount in correspondence with the pitch of the coiled tubing to be produced and/or are tilted by the center axes of the shaping shafts with respect to a center axis of the shaft mount so as to form by their shape-imparting radial grooves a substantially helical path for the tubular extrudate which is capable of being shaped plastically.
Holmgren discloses wherein the shaping shafts project to different extent from the shaft mount in correspondence with pitch of the coiled tubing to be produced (Fig. 5 depicts 20 that project different extent in correspondence to pitch of the coiled tubing) as to form by their shape-imparting radial grooves a substantially helical path (c. 3, L 51-74 – 20 arranged to define a helical path 21) for the tubular extrudate which is capable of being shaped plastically (c. 3, L 43-50 - suitably guiding the tube into a helical path whereby the deformable plastic will assume the desired helical configuration).
Holmgren Fig. 5
Pepper and Holmgren disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the rollers projected at different extents in Holmgren to the rollers in modified Pepper to allow deformable plastic to assume the desired helical configuration and permit subsequent cooling thereof to set the tube in the desired configuration (c. 3, L 43-50) and eliminate the disadvantage of relatively complicated manufacture and difficulty of completely eliminating the stresses in the plastic in the helical formation of the hose (c. 1, L 51-58).
Regarding claim 14, modified Pepper discloses the device according to claim 10. Modified Pepper discloses at least one shaping shaft of the outer ring is of multi-part construction with a shaft stub (Holmgren c. 3, L 50-74 – each 20 further includes an outboard shank portion 37) which is rotatably mounted in the shaft mount (Holmgren c. 3, L 50-74 – 37 journalled in support plate 38) and a shaft segment (Holmgren c. 3, L 50-74 – guide portion 23) which has shape-imparting radial grooves of the shaping shaft (Holmgren c. 3, L 50-74 – 23 defined by a plurality of segmentally helical grooves).
Modified Pepper does not disclose a shaft segment, which can be detachably mounted on the shaft stub. However, Holmgren further discloses the invention is to be understood that it is capable of many modifications, and changes therefore, in the construction and arrangement may be made without departing from the spirit and scope of the invention (Holmgren c. 4, L 71-75). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to have the guide portion and shank portions of the roller in Holmgren to be detachable so that a different guide portion with differently sized grooves can be used and attached to the shank portions to reduce cost in form multiple rollers with differently sized grooves.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use multi-part construction for the roller as it has been held that when desirable to obtain access to an area, it would be obvious to make a component separable from another for such a purpose. See MPEP 2144.04(V)(C).
Regarding claim 16, modified Pepper discloses the device according to claim 14. Modified Pepper discloses wherein the shaft segment and the shaft stub of the shaping shaft, which is of multiple construction, of the outer ring are provided with structures which are of complementary configuration Holmgren c. 3, L 50-74 – 24 journalled in suitable sleeve bearings 34, 35 carried in plates 32, 33) and which can be brought into interlocking mutual engagement for transmission of torque (34, 35 would be interlocked for transmission of torque to 24).
Regarding claim 17, modified Pepper discloses the device according to claim 16. Modified Pepper discloses wherein the complementary structures at the shaft segment and the shaft stub are formed by pins at one part (Holmgren Fig. 5 depicts 34 comprising of a pin) and outwardly open recesses at the outer part (Holmgren Fig. 5 depicts 34 comprising of a recess), which pins and recesses interengage in a mounted state of the shaping shaft, which is of multi-part construction, of the outer ring (Fig. 5 depicts 34 in mounted state, as 34 is formed by “pin” and “recess” they are interengaged).
Holmgren Fig. 5
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use multi-part construction for the roller as it has been held that when desirable to obtain access to an area, it would be obvious to make a component separable from another for such a purpose. See MPEP 2144.04(V)(C).
Regarding claim 18, modified Pepper discloses the device according to claim 10.
Pepper discloses rotating means for 42 and 44 includes variable speed motors 56, 58 (c. 5, L. 1-12).
Pepper does not disclose the shaping shafts of the outer ring and the shaping shafts of the inner ring are drivable by a common drive device.
Modified Pepper discloses the shaping shafts of the outer ring and the shaping shafts of the inner ring are drivable by a common drive device 29 (Holmgren c. 3, L 51-74 – 20 driven by gear 25 from motor 26 through a transmission 27; output shaft 28 of 27 may be provided with a main drive gear 29 arranged to have driving association with the respective gears 25). As depicted in Fig. 3, 29 is in driving association with 20 of the outer ring and inner ring.
Pepper and Holmgren disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the rollers driven by a main drive gear driven by a motor in Holmgren to the rollers and motors in modified Pepper to allow deformable plastic to assume the desired helical configuration and permit subsequent cooling thereof to set the tube in the desired configuration (c. 3, L 43-50) and eliminate the disadvantage of relatively complicated manufacture and difficulty of completely eliminating the stresses in the plastic in the helical formation of the hose (c. 1, L 51-58).
Regarding claim 19, modified Pepper discloses the device according to claim 18. Modified Pepper discloses the drive device has a motor (Holmgren c. 3, L 51-74 –motor 26) which is in driving connection with an input shaft of a radial transfer transmission (Holmgren c. 3, L 51-74 – 20 driven by gear 25 from motor 26 through a transmission 27), which is in correspondence with a number of shaping shafts of the shaping device has output shafts which in turn are each in driving connection with a respective shaping shaft of the shaping device (Holmgren c. 3, L 51-74 - output shaft 28 of 27 may be provided with a main drive gear 29 arranged to have driving association with the respective gears 25).
Regarding claim 20, modified Pepper discloses the device according to claim 19. Modified Pepper discloses the output shafts of the radial transfer transmission are in driving connection with the shaping shafts of the shaping device by way of telescopic universal-joint shafts (Holmgren c. 3, L 51-74 – O-ring 36; FIg. 5 depict 26 between 24 and 25.
Regarding claim 21, modified Pepper discloses the device according to claim 19. Modified Pepper discloses wherein the radial transfer transmission of the drive device comprises two transmission stages 60, 62, namely a transmission stage 60 for drive of the shaping shafts of the inner ring 44 and a transmission stage 62 for drive of the shaping shafts of the outer ring 42 (Pepper c. 4, L 6-16 - first series 42 engages radially outward portion 16 of the tube 12 and a second series 44 engages the radially inward portion 18 of the tube 12; c. 5, L 1-12 - variable speed motor 56, 58, 56 connected to 44 by belt 60 and 58 connected to 42 by belts 62), and wherein the translation ratios of the transmission stages are selected in such a way that different circumferential speeds arise at the shaping shafts of the inner ring and the shaping shafts of the outer ring so as to convey the extrudate through the shaping device substantially free of distortion (c. 5, L 1-12 – means for rotating 40 rotates 42 of 40 at a first rotational speed and rotates 44 at a second rotational speed). Just as the speed of a portion of 12 varies in proportion to its radial distance from the center of the helix, the speed of a portion of a roller 40 varies in proportion to its radial distance from the center of the roller (Pepper c. 4, L 27-49)
Regarding claim 22, modified Pepper discloses the device according to claim 9. Modified Pepper does not disclose a coiled tubing take-off is provided downstream of the shaping device in the material flow, comprising two take-off rollers, which extend substantially parallel to one another and which are adapted for rotationally supporting the coiled tubing after leaving the shaping device.
Holmgren discloses disclose a coiled tubing take-off (c. 4, L 29-47 – a set of support rollers 47 defining the support 15) is provided downstream of the shaping device in the material flow (c. 4, L 29-47 – tube 10 to split away from the guide rollers 20 onto 15), comprising two take-off rollers (Fig. 1 depicts 15 as two roller 47), which extend substantially parallel to one another (Fig. 1 depicts 47 as substantially parallel) and which are adapted for rotationally supporting the coiled tubing after leaving the shaping device (c. 4, L 29-47 – to support the now helically coiled tube in the helical configuration). This allows the tube to cool further and complete the setting thereof to define the completed formed coiled hose H (c. 4, L 29-47).
Pepper and Holmgren disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the set of support rollers in Holmgren to the apparatus in modified Pepper to support the now helically coiled tube in the helical configuration and allow the tube to cool further and complete the setting thereof to define the completed formed coiled hose H (c. 4, L 29-47).
Regarding claim 23, modified Pepper discloses the device according to claim 22. Modified Pepper does not disclose the coiled tubing take-off comprises a rotary drive (Holmgren c. 4, L 29-47 – 47 rotatably mounted) by which the take-off rollers are rotationally drivable in the same direction counter to a rotational direction of the coiled tubing delivered by the shaping device (Holmgren c. 4, L 29-47 – to facilitate the movement of the coiled tube thereon as it is fed from the forming zone; would rotate in the same direction counter to the rotational direction of the coiled tube to facilitate its movement).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pepper (US 4929167) in view of Li (CN 204471816 U), as applied to claim 9, and Holmgren (US 3454695), as applied to claim 10 and 14, in further view of Langelloti (US 2022/0324157 A1).
Regarding claim 15, modified Pepper discloses the device according to claim 14. Modified Pepper does not disclose wherein the shaping shaft, which is of multi-part construction, of the outer ring has a magnetic coupling for detachably retaining the shaft segment at the shaft stub.
Langelloti discloses a device for producing a helical coil (¶ [0017]). Langelloti further discloses the shaping shaft, which is of multi-part construction, of the outer ring has a magnetic coupling (¶ [0028] – magnetic coupling) for detachably retaining the shaft segment at the shaft stub (¶ [0028] – rotatably mounted first and second bodies coupled by magnetic coupling). The two rotation bodies are prevented, in a simple manner, from drifting apart (¶ [0028]).
Pepper and Langelloti disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the magnetic coupling in Langelloti to the guide portion and shank portion in modified Pepper to provided contactless coupling and prevented, in a simple manner, from drifting apart (¶ [0028]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 against Uemura have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's remaining arguments filed February 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Pepper’s invention discloses extrudate is cooled indirectly or passively via the sleeve whereby support air from the inside is neither provided nor possible.
Pepper discloses the tube 12 is curved before it hardens (c. 2, L 17-19; claim 5) and 12 still molten when it enters 22 (c. 3, L 52-57). Therefore, the extrudate has shaped as it enters 22 and is capable of being shaped plastically.
In response to applicant's argument that support air from the inside is neither provided nor possible, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 4093412 discloses extruding thermoplastic tube where the tube is stretched in the direction transverse to direction of extrusion by air under pressure introduced to within the tube though pipe
US 6287102 discloses a pressure supply such as compressed air to ensure even low pressure obtaining in the cavity
US 5951943 discloses an apparatus for continuously forming rigs of thermoplastic tubular casings, where tubular casing can be filled with gas or air
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN B WOO/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754