DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24-39 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 ends with a semi-colon, and not a period, so the extent of the limitations required by the claim is not defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24-28, 31, 33, 37, and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MOMBOURQUETTE et al. (US 2020/0189295).
Regarding claim 24, MOMBOURQUETTE teaches an apparatus for pre-treatment of synthetic fabric comprising a printing pre-treatment location where the fabric can be treated, and a non-contact heat source that can heat the pre-treated area (paras. 23 and 32). MOMBOURQUETTE does not describe a material with outward protruding fibers, but a recitation of a material worked upon does not limit the apparatus (MPEP 2144.04), so the apparatus is anticipated.
Regarding claims 25-26, MOMBOURQUETTE teaches a burning natural gas heat source (para. 9).
Regarding claim 27, MOMBOURQUETTE teaches a heated air heat source (para. 9).
Regarding claims 28, MOMBOURQUETTE teaches a forced air heat guns that can direct the air (para. 32), which is the same as a nozzle.
Regarding claim 31, MOMBOURQUETTE teaches an air heater and air blower (para. 32).
Regarding claim 33, MOMBOURQUETTE teaches an infra-red heat source (para. 9).
Regarding claim 37, MOMBOURQUETTE teaches a spray source for the pretreatment capable of preforming the functions claimed (para. 25).
Regarding claim 39, MOMBOURQUETTE teaches a platen feeder for feeding fabric from the pre-treatment location to a printing location (para. 35).
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HO (US 2004/0158942).
Regarding claim 40, HO teaches an apparatus comprising a pre-treatment location and a heat source that can heat to at least 250 degrees Celsius, capable of performing the function claimed (paras. 2 and 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOMBOURQUETTE as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of HO (US 2004/0158942).
Regarding claims 29 and 30, MOMBOURQUETTE does not describe that the heat source is capable of heating above 250 degrees Celsius. HO teaches another method of pre-treating a fabric material via applying treatment material and heating, where the fabric is heated to 180-280 degrees Celsius (HO; para. 19), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a heat source sufficient to reach the disclosed temperature.
Claim(s) 32 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOMBOURQUETTE as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of COLWELL (US 7,699,896).
Regarding claim 32, MOMBOURQUETTE teaches radiation (IR) heating, but does not teach a laser heat source. COLWELL teaches another method of treating fabric comprising applying pre-treatment and heating, wherein the heat of the pre-treatment process is applied via laser (COLWELL; col. 3, lines 4-16), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a laser heat source of COLWELL as the radiation heat source of MOMBOURQUETTE because the two are functionally equivalent and laser heat application is common in the art.
Regarding claim 38, MOMBOURQUETTE does not teach a second spray source for spraying post-heat treatment. COLWELL teaches another method of treating fabric comprising applying pre-treatment and heating, wherein the apparatus comprises a post-treatment of applying additional material, where one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would utilize a second spray source after the heat source to impart additional resistance to the printing location (col. 3, lines 4-25).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach a spray source that can spray the pre-treatment area after heating.
Applicant argues that MOMBOURQUETTE does not teach heating at 250 degrees Celsius, but the relevant claim was cancelled, and the rejection of new claim 40 does not utilize the teaching of MOMBOURQUETTE.
Applicant argues that the laser of MOMBOURQUETTE is not utilized as a heat source. MOMBOURQUETTE was not utilized as teaching a laser heat source.
Applicant argues that claim 37 requires spraying then heating, but the claim is directed to either way.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22 and 23 allowed.
Claims 24-26 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest an apparatus as claimed comprising a phased plate heat press comprising edges having an acute angle or a spray source that can spray the pre-treatment area with a liquid after the heat application.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745