DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendments of claims, filed 05/23/2023, has been fully considered.
Status of Claims
Claim 1-19 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) document(s) submitted on 05/23/2023 and 08/20/2024 are compliant with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS document(s) has/have been fully considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 11-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 11 line 1 recites “the extraction strip according toclaims 12-13.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the left end of the second passage …”. However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for which end applicant is referring to as the left end. Claim 1 lines 8-10 merely define “one end of the second passage … another end of the second passage”. It is unclear which end applicant is referring to as “the left end”. Claim 7 is also rejected by its dependency from claim 6. A similar rejection is also made over claims 14-16 with respect to “the left end”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogawa et al. (US 2007/0202011 – hereinafter “Nogawa”), in view of Gwynn et al. (US 2013/0132006 – hereinafter “Gwynn”), and further in view of Zou et al. (US 2020/0011886 – hereinafter “Zou”).
Regarding claim 1, Nogawa disclose an automatic loading system for a strip (Nogawa disclose an automatic analyzer that automatically loads a strip 2; fig. 1, [0023, 0028]), comprising:
a strip configured to hold a plurality of vessels (Nogawa; fig. 1, #2, ]0023]),
a first passage (Nogawa; figs. 2, #24, [0030]),
a second passage which is parallel and adjacent to the first passage (Nogawa; fig. 2, #26, [0030]),
a first pushing device configured to push the strip to move in the first passage (Nogawa; fig. 2, #42, [0033]),
a second pushing device configured to push the strip to move in the second passage (Nogawa; fig. 2, #44, [0033]), and
a transfer device configured to transfer the strip from the first passage to the second passage (Nogawa; fig. 2, #25, [0033]),
wherein one end of the first passage is a loading inlet for the strip (Nogawa teach upper end of the first passage 24 where strip 2 is stopped by stopper 45 and loaded by pushing mechanism 40; fig. 2, [0030, 0033]),
one end of the second passage is a grabbing position for the strip (Nogawa teach upper end of the second passage 26 where strip 2 is extracted by take-up mechanism 28; fig. 2, [0030]), and
the transfer device is arranged at another end of the first passage and another end of the second passage (Nogawa teach transfer device 25 arranged at the other end of the first and second passages; fig. 2, [0033]); and
both the first pushing device and the second pushing device are configured to move left and right (Nogawa teach the first pushing device 42 and second pushing device 44 are reciprocal pushing mechanism; figs. 1-5, [0033]. An observer standing on the left side of the automatic loading system and facing towards the first passage 24 and the second passage 26 would observe the pushing devices as being configured to move left and right; fig. 1).
Nogawa does not teach the strip is an extraction strip configured to hold a plurality of reagents vessels.
However, Gwynn teach the analogous art of an automatic loading system (Gwynn; fig. 1(b), [0183, 0185]), wherein the automatic loading system is for an extraction strip configured to hold a plurality of reagents (Gwynn; figs. 1(b) & 4(a)-1, #200, #204, #208, #209, [0187, 0275]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the strip configured to hold a plurality of vessel of Nogawa with the extraction strip configured to hold a plurality of reagents, as taught by Gwynn, because Gwynn teach the extraction strip configured to hold a plurality of reagents provides the necessary materials to perform various analyses (Gwynn; [0275]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since Nogawa and Gwynn both teach transport and loading of strips for use in analysis systems.
Modified Nogawa does not teach both the first pushing device and the second pushing device are configured to move up and down.
However, Zou teach the analogous art of an automatic loading system for a strip (Zou; fig. 1, [0036]) comprising a first passage (Zou; fig. 1, #45, [0036]), a second passage (Zou; fig. 2, #46, [0036]), and a first and second pushing device configured to push the strip to move in the passages (Zou; figs. 1 & 7-10, #48, #49, [0037]), wherein both the first pushing device and the second pushing device are configured to move left and right and to move up and down (Zou; figs. 7-10, [0048-0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first pushing device and second pushing device configured to move left and right of modified Nogawa with the first pushing device and the second pushing configured to move left and right and to move up and down, as taught by Zou, because Zou teach the first pushing device and second pushing device configured to move left and right and to move up and down allows the pushing device to move the sample forward while simultaneously preparing for pushing of the next sample upon returning to its initial position (Zou; [0054]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Nogawa and Zou both teach loading system for conveying strips between parallel passages.
Regarding claim 2, modified Nogawa teach the automatic loading system for the extraction strip according to claim 1 above, further comprising a frame (Nogawa teach the loading system as an independent unit interposed between an analyzing unit 14 and a rack accommodating section 23, thus comprising a frame; figs. 1 & 2, [0031); and the frame is arranged to surround an outer periphery of the first passage and an outer periphery of the second passage (Nogawa teach the first passage 24 and second passage 26 are transport paths with a separation barrier and side walls which confine the strip within the transport path; figs. 2-5. Accordingly, the strip is surrounded by a frame around the first passage and the second passage).
Modified Nogawa does not teach wherein a length of the first passage is the same as a length of the second passage.
However, Zou teach the analogous art of an automatic loading system for a strip (Zou; fig. 1, [0036]) comprising a first passage (Zou; fig. 1, #45, [0036]) and a second passage (Zou; fig. 2, #46, [0036]), wherein a length of the first passage is the same as a length of the second passage (Zou; fig. 1, #45, #46, [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first passage and the second passage of modified Nogawa to have the same length, as taught by Zou, because Zou teach the first passage and the second passage having the same length allows the sample feed track 42 and advancing track 43 to run perpendicular with both the first and second passages. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Nogawa and Zou both teach loading system for conveying strips between parallel passages.
Regarding claim 3, modified Nogawa teach the automatic loading system for the extraction strip according to claim 2 above, wherein the transfer device is arranged on a right side of the frame and is configured to move forward and backward along the right side of the frame (Nogawa teach the transfer device 25 on a side of the frame; fig. 2, #25, [0033]). Further, an observer standing on the left side of the automatic loading system and facing towards the first passage 24 and the second passage 26 would observe the transfer device as being configured to move forward and backwards along the right side of the frame; figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 4, modified Nogawa teach the automatic loading system for the extraction strip according to claim 1 above, wherein the first passage and the second passage each are provided with a sliding groove for the extraction strip to slide transversely (Nogawa teach the first passage 24 and second passage 26 are transport paths with a separation barrier and side walls which confine the strip within the transport path; figs. 2-5. Accordingly, the strip is transported through a sliding groove of the first and second passages).
Regarding claim 5, modified Nogawa teach the automatic loading system for the extraction strip according to claim 1 above, wherein a right end of the first passage is provided with a separation position (Nogawa; fig. 2, #48, [0033]), a first sensor configured to detect whether the extraction strip reaches the separation position (Nogawa; figs. 2-5, #72, [0033]),; and a left end of the second passage is provided with a second sensor configured to detect whether the extraction strip reaches the grabbing position (Nogawa; figs. 2-5, #77, [0032, 0039]).
Nogawa does not explicitly teach a first back pushing device configured to push back the extraction strip on a right end of the first passage or a second back pushing device configured to push back the extraction strip.
However, Nogawa does teach a first back pushing device configured to push back the strip on a left end of the first passage (Nogawa; fig. 5, #40, [0042-0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first passage and the second passage of modified Nogawa such that the right end of the first passage is provided with a first back pushing device configured to push back the extraction strip and the left end of the second passage is provided with a second pushing device configured to push back the extraction strip, because modifying the first back pushing device to be on the right end of the first passage is merely a rearrangement of parts which is as an obvious matter of design choice that would provide the additional benefit of outputting a strip to a transport line at the right end of the first passage (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C)), and modifying the back pushing device to be on the left end of the second passage is merely a duplication of parts that would reduce the operational travel distance of the second pushing device 44, thus increasing processing efficiency of the automatic loading system (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B)). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since it is merely a matter of design choice based on the configuration of transport lines connected to the automatic loading system.
Regarding claim 11, modified Nogawa teach the automatic loading system for the extraction strip according to claim 2 above, wherein a right end of the first passage is provided with a separation position (Nogawa; fig. 2, #48, [0033]), a first sensor configured to detect whether the extraction strip reaches the separation position (Nogawa; figs. 2-5, #72, [0033]); and a left end of the second passage is provided with a second sensor configured to detect whether the extraction strip reaches the grabbing position (Nogawa; figs. 2-5, #77, [0032, 0039]).
Nogawa does not explicitly teach a first back pushing device configured to push back the extraction strip on a right end of the first passage or a second back pushing device configured to push back the extraction strip.
However, Nogawa does teach a first back pushing device configured to push back the strip on an end of the first passage (Nogawa; fig. 5, #40, [0042-0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first passage and the second passage of modified Nogawa such that the right end of the first passage is provided with a first back pushing device configured to push back the extraction strip and the left end of the second passage is provided with a second pushing device configured to push back the extraction strip, because modifying the first back pushing device to be on the right end of the first passage is merely a rearrangement of parts which is as an obvious matter of design choice that would provide the additional benefit of outputting a strip to a transport line at the right end of the first passage (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C)), and modifying the back pushing device to be on the left end of the second passage is merely a duplication of parts that would reduce the operational travel distance of the second pushing device 44, thus increasing processing efficiency of the automatic loading system (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B)). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since it is merely a matter of design choice based on the configuration of transport lines connected to the automatic loading system.
Regarding claim 12, modified Nogawa teach the automatic loading system for the extraction strip according to claim 3 above, wherein a right end of the first passage is provided with a separation position (Nogawa; fig. 2, #48, [0033]), a first sensor configured to detect whether the extraction strip reaches the separation position (Nogawa; figs. 2-5, #72, [0033]); and a left end of the second passage is provided with a second sensor configured to detect whether the extraction strip reaches the grabbing position (Nogawa; figs. 2-5, #77, [0032, 0039]).
Nogawa does not explicitly teach a first back pushing device configured to push back the extraction strip on a right end of the first passage or a second back pushing device configured to push back the extraction strip.
However, Nogawa does teach a first back pushing device configured to push back the strip on an end of the first passage (Nogawa; fig. 5, #40, [0042-0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first passage and the second passage of modified Nogawa such that the right end of the first passage is provided with a first back pushing device configured to push back the extraction strip and the left end of the second passage is provided with a second pushing device configured to push back the extraction strip, because modifying the first back pushing device to be on the right end of the first passage is merely a rearrangement of parts which is as an obvious matter of design choice that would provide the additional benefit of outputting a strip to a transport line at the right end of the first passage (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C)), and modifying the back pushing device to be on the left end of the second passage is merely a duplication of parts that would reduce the operational travel distance of the second pushing device 44, thus increasing processing efficiency of the automatic loading system (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B)). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since it is merely a matter of design choice based on the configuration of transport lines connected to the automatic loading system.
Regarding claim 13, modified Nogawa teach the automatic loading system for the extraction strip according to claim 4 above, wherein a right end of the first passage is provided with a separation position (Nogawa; fig. 2, #48, [0033]), a first sensor configured to detect whether the extraction strip reaches the separation position (Nogawa; figs. 2-5, #72, [0033]); and a left end of the second passage is provided with a second sensor configured to detect whether the extraction strip reaches the grabbing position (Nogawa; figs. 2-5, #77, [0032, 0039]).
Nogawa does not explicitly teach a first back pushing device configured to push back the extraction strip on a right end of the first passage or a second back pushing device configured to push back the extraction strip.
However, Nogawa does teach a first back pushing device configured to push back the strip on an end of the first passage (Nogawa; fig. 5, #40, [0042-0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first passage and the second passage of modified Nogawa such that the right end of the first passage is provided with a first back pushing device configured to push back the extraction strip and the left end of the second passage is provided with a second pushing device configured to push back the extraction strip, because modifying the first back pushing device to be on the right end of the first passage is merely a rearrangement of parts which is as an obvious matter of design choice that would provide the additional benefit of outputting a strip to a transport line at the right end of the first passage (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C)), and modifying the back pushing device to be on the left end of the second passage is merely a duplication of parts that would reduce the operational travel distance of the second pushing device 44, thus increasing processing efficiency of the automatic loading system (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B)). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since it is merely a matter of design choice based on the configuration of transport lines connected to the automatic loading system.
Claims 6-7 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogawa, in view of Gwynn, in view of Zou, and further in view of Wang et al. (Translation of CN 105334232A – hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Nogawa teach the automatic loading system for the extraction strip according to claim 1 above.
Modified Nogawa does not teach wherein the left end of the second passage is provided with a jacking device configured to move up and down to separate the extraction strip.
However, Wang teach the analogous art of an automatic loading system (Wang; figs. 1 & 4, #10, [46]) comprising a passage provided with a jacking device configured to move up and down to separate an article (Wang; figs. 1 & 5-6, #213/217, [50, 60-61]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the grabbing position for the extraction strip of modified Nogawa to comprise a jacking device configured to move up and down to separate an article, as taught by Wang, because Wang teach the jacking device configured to move up and down allows the article to be lifted to an output section 30 having a different elevation from the passage (Wang; figs. 1-2 & 7, [54, 60-61]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Nogawa teach the automatic loading system for the extraction strip according to claim 6 above, wherein the jacking device comprises a pushing plate configured to extract the extraction strip (The modification of the grabbing position for the extraction strip of modified Nogawa to comprise a jacking device configured to move up and down to separate an article, as taught by Wang, has previously been discussed in claim 6 above. Nogawa further teach a claw pushing plate 28 configured to extract the strip; figs. 25, [0030]), and a first lifting device configured to drive the pushing plate to move up and down, wherein the pushing plate is horizontally arranged, and the first lifting device is a rack-and-pinion mechanism (The modification of the grabbing position for the extraction strip of modified Nogawa to comprise a jacking device configured to move up and down to separate an article, as taught by Wang, has previously been discussed in claim 6 above. Wang teach a rack 217 and pinion 213 as a first lifting device to drive up and down; fig. 5, [50, 60-61]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Nogawa teach the automatic loading system for the extraction strip according to claim 2 above.
Modified Nogawa does not teach wherein the left end of the second passage is provided with a jacking device configured to move up and down to separate the extraction strip.
However, Wang teach the analogous art of an automatic loading system (Wang; figs. 1 & 4, #10, [46]) comprising a passage provided with a jacking device configured to move up and down to separate an article (Wang; figs. 1 & 5-6, #213/217, [50, 60-61]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the grabbing position for the extraction strip of modified Nogawa to comprise a jacking device configured to move up and down to separate an article, as taught by Wang, because Wang teach the jacking device configured to move up and down allows the article to be lifted to an output section 30 having a different elevation from the passage (Wang; figs. 1-2 & 7, [54, 60-61]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Nogawa teach the automatic loading system for the extraction strip according to claim 3 above.
Modified Nogawa does not teach wherein the left end of the second passage is provided with a jacking device configured to move up and down to separate the extraction strip.
However, Wang teach the analogous art of an automatic loading system (Wang; figs. 1 & 4, #10, [46]) comprising a passage provided with a jacking device configured to move up and down to separate an article (Wang; figs. 1 & 5-6, #213/217, [50, 60-61]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the grabbing position for the extraction strip of modified Nogawa to comprise a jacking device configured to move up and down to separate an article, as taught by Wang, because Wang teach the jacking device configured to move up and down allows the article to be lifted to an output section 30 having a different elevation from the passage (Wang; figs. 1-2 & 7, [54, 60-61]).
Regarding claim 16, Nogawa teach the automatic loading system for the extraction strip according to claim 4 above.
Modified Nogawa does not teach wherein the left end of the second passage is provided with a jacking device configured to move up and down to separate the extraction strip.
However, Wang teach the analogous art of an automatic loading system (Wang; figs. 1 & 4, #10, [46]) comprising a passage provided with a jacking device configured to move up and down to separate an article (Wang; figs. 1 & 5-6, #213/217, [50, 60-61]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the grabbing position for the extraction strip of modified Nogawa to comprise a jacking device configured to move up and down to separate an article, as taught by Wang, because Wang teach the jacking device configured to move up and down allows the article to be lifted to an output section 30 having a different elevation from the passage (Wang; figs. 1-2 & 7, [54, 60-61]).
Claims 8 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogawa, in view of Gwynn, in view of Zou, and further in view of Koike (US 2006/0216199 – hereinafter “Koike”).
Regarding claim 8, modified Nogawa teach the automatic loading system for the extraction strip according to claim 1 above, wherein the first pushing device and the second pushing device each comprise a pushing member configured to move up and down to push the extraction strip to move (The modification of the first pushing device 42 and second pushing device 44 configured to move left and right of modified Nogawa with the first pushing device and the second pushing configured to move left and right and to move up and down, as taught by Zou, has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Zou further teach each pushing device 48/49 comprise a pushing member 9; fig. 8, [0048]), and a transverse movement assembly configured to drive the pushing member to move transversely (Nogawa disclose the pushing member 42 is configured to traverse the first passage and pushing member 44 is configured to traverse the second passage 44; figs. 2-5, [0033, 0035]), wherein the pushing member is slidably arranged on the transverse movement assembly (Nogawa disclose the pushing member 42 is configured to traverse the first passage and pushing member 44 is configured to traverse the second passage 44; figs. 2-5, [0033, 0035]).
Modified Nogawa does not explicitly teach the transverse movement assembly is a synchronous belt mechanism.
However, Koike teach the analogous art of a pushing device (Koike; figs. 4-5, #22, [0062-0063]) comprising a transverse movement assembly configured to drive a pushing member to move transversely (Koike; figs. 7-9, #22a, #237a, #237b, [0063]), wherein the pushing member is slidably arranged on the transverse movement assembly, and the transverse movement assembly is a synchronous belt mechanism (Koike; figs. 7-9, #225, [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first pushing device comprising the transverse movement assembly of modified Nogawa with the pushing device comprising the transverse movement assembly as a synchronous belt mechanism, as taught by Koike, because Koike teach the synchronous belt mechanism allows the pushing member to transverse a strip in a forward or backward direction (Koike; figs. 7-9, [0065]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Nogawa and Koike both teach automatic loading systems that push strips in a passage.
Regarding claim 17, modified Nogawa teach the automatic loading system for the extraction strip according to claim 2 above, wherein the first pushing device and the second pushing device each comprise a pushing member configured to move up and down to push the extraction strip to move (The modification of the first pushing device 42 and second pushing device 44 configured to move left and right of modified Nogawa with the first pushing device and the second pushing configured to move left and right and to move up and down, as taught by Zou, has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Zou further teach each pushing device 48/49 comprise a pushing member 9; fig. 8, [0048]), and a transverse movement assembly configured to drive the pushing member to move transversely (Nogawa disclose the pushing member 42 is configured to traverse the first passage and pushing member 44 is configured to traverse the second passage 44; figs. 2-5, [0033, 0035]), wherein the pushing member is slidably arranged on the transverse movement assembly (Nogawa disclose the pushing member 42 is configured to traverse the first passage and pushing member 44 is configured to traverse the second passage 44; figs. 2-5, [0033, 0035]).
Modified Nogawa does not explicitly teach the transverse movement assembly is a synchronous belt mechanism.
However, Koike teach the analogous art of a pushing device (Koike; figs. 4-5, #22, [0062-0063]) comprising a transverse movement assembly configured to drive a pushing member to move transversely (Koike; figs. 7-9, #22a, #237a, #237b, [0063]), wherein the pushing member is slidably arranged on the transverse movement assembly, and the transverse movement assembly is a synchronous belt mechanism (Koike; figs. 7-9, #225, [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first pushing device comprising the transverse movement assembly of modified Nogawa with the pushing device comprising the transverse movement assembly as a synchronous belt mechanism, as taught by Koike, because Koike teach the synchronous belt mechanism allows the pushing member to transverse a strip in a forward or backward direction (Koike; figs. 7-9, [0065]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Nogawa and Koike both teach automatic loading systems that push strips in a passage.
Regarding claim 18, modified Nogawa teach the automatic loading system for the extraction strip according to claim 3 above, wherein the first pushing device and the second pushing device each comprise a pushing member configured to move up and down to push the extraction strip to move (The modification of the first pushing device 42 and second pushing device 44 configured to move left and right of modified Nogawa with the first pushing device and the second pushing configured to move left and right and to move up and down, as taught by Zou, has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Zou further teach each pushing device 48/49 comprise a pushing member 9; fig. 8, [0048]), and a transverse movement assembly configured to drive the pushing member to move transversely (Nogawa disclose the pushing member 42 is configured to traverse the first passage and pushing member 44 is configured to traverse the second passage 44; figs. 2-5, [0033, 0035]), wherein the pushing member is slidably arranged on the transverse movement assembly (Nogawa disclose the pushing member 42 is configured to traverse the first passage and pushing member 44 is configured to traverse the second passage 44; figs. 2-5, [0033, 0035]).
Modified Nogawa does not explicitly teach the transverse movement assembly is a synchronous belt mechanism.
However, Koike teach the analogous art of a pushing device (Koike; figs. 4-5, #22, [0062-0063]) comprising a transverse movement assembly configured to drive a pushing member to move transversely (Koike; figs. 7-9, #22a, #237a, #237b, [0063]), wherein the pushing member is slidably arranged on the transverse movement assembly, and the transverse movement assembly is a synchronous belt mechanism (Koike; figs. 7-9, #225, [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first pushing device comprising the transverse movement assembly of modified Nogawa with the pushing device comprising the transverse movement assembly as a synchronous belt mechanism, as taught by Koike, because Koike teach the synchronous belt mechanism allows the pushing member to transverse a strip in a forward or backward direction (Koike; figs. 7-9, [0065]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Nogawa and Koike both teach automatic loading systems that push strips in a passage.
Regarding claim 19, modified Nogawa teach the automatic loading system for the extraction strip according to claim 4 above, wherein the first pushing device and the second pushing device each comprise a pushing member configured to move up and down to push the extraction strip to move (The modification of the first pushing device 42 and second pushing device 44 configured to move left and right of modified Nogawa with the first pushing device and the second pushing configured to move left and right and to move up and down, as taught by Zou, has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Zou further teach each pushing device 48/49 comprise a pushing member 9; fig. 8, [0048]), and a transverse movement assembly configured to drive the pushing member to move transversely (Nogawa disclose the pushing member 42 is configured to traverse the first passage and pushing member 44 is configured to traverse the second passage 44; figs. 2-5, [0033, 0035]), wherein the pushing member is slidably arranged on the transverse movement assembly (Nogawa disclose the pushing member 42 is configured to traverse the first passage and pushing member 44 is configured to traverse the second passage 44; figs. 2-5, [0033, 0035]).
Modified Nogawa does not explicitly teach the transverse movement assembly is a synchronous belt mechanism.
However, Koike teach the analogous art of a pushing device (Koike; figs. 4-5, #22, [0062-0063]) comprising a transverse movement assembly configured to drive a pushing member to move transversely (Koike; figs. 7-9, #22a, #237a, #237b, [0063]), wherein the pushing member is slidably arranged on the transverse movement assembly, and the transverse movement assembly is a synchronous belt mechanism (Koike; figs. 7-9, #225, [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first pushing device comprising the transverse movement assembly of modified Nogawa with the pushing device comprising the transverse movement assembly as a synchronous belt mechanism, as taught by Koike, because Koike teach the synchronous belt mechanism allows the pushing member to transverse a strip in a forward or backward direction (Koike; figs. 7-9, [0065]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Nogawa and Koike both teach automatic loading systems that push strips in a passage.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogawa, in view of Gwynn, in view of Zou, in view of Koike, and further in view of Wang.
Regarding claim 9, modified Nogawa teach the automatic loading system for the extraction strip according to claim 8 above, wherein the pushing member comprises a left pusher, a right pusher configured to be used in cooperation with the left pusher (The modification of the first pushing device 42 and second pushing device 44 configured to move left and right of modified Nogawa with the first pushing device and the second pushing configured to move left and right and to move up and down, as taught by Zou, has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Zou further teach each pushing device 48/49 comprise a pushing member 9 with a left pusher and a right pusher 9.2; fig. 10, [0055], wherein the left pusher and the right pusher are vertically arranged (Zou; fig. 10, #9.2, [0055]).
Modified Nogawa does not teach a second lifting device configured to drive the left pusher and the right pusher to synchronously move up or down.
However, Koike teach the analogous art of a pushing device (Koike; figs. 4-5, #22, [0062-0063]) comprising a transverse movement assembly configured to drive a pushing member to move transversely (Koike; figs. 7-9, #22a, #237a, #237b, [0063]), wherein the pushing member is slidably arranged on the transverse movement assembly, and the transverse movement assembly is a synchronous belt mechanism (Koike; figs. 7-9, #225, [0063]), wherein the pushing device comprise a second lifting device configured to drive the left pusher and the right pusher to synchronously move up or down (Koike teach a cylinder 233 and rod 233a that drive the left pusher member 237a and the right pusher member 237b to synchronously move up or down; figs. 8 & 10, [0066-0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first and second pushing device of modified Nogawa with a second lifting device configured to drive the left pusher and the right pusher to synchronously move up and down, as taught by Koike, because Koike teach the second lifting device extends perpendicular to the strip for engagement so that the strip can be transversely pushed by the pusher members (Koike; figs. 8 & 10, [0066-0067]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Nogawa and Koike both teach automatic loading systems that push strips in a passage.
Modified Nogawa does not teach the second lifting device is a rack-and-pinion mechanism.
Wang teach the analogous art of an automatic loading system (Wang; figs. 1 & 4, #10, [46]) comprising a lifting device configured as a rack-and-pinion mechanism (Wang; figs. 1 & 5-6, #213/217, [50, 60-61]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second lifting device of modified Nogawa to comprise a rack-and-pinion mechanism, as taught by Wang, because Wang teach the lifting device configured as a rack-and-pinion mechanism is merely one of several alternative ways to raise or lower an article in order to allow the article to be elevated to a different height (Wang; figs. 1-2 & 7, [54, 60-61]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Nogawa teach the automatic loading system for the extraction strip according to claim 9 above, wherein an avoidance hole for the left pusher and the right pusher, which have been lowered, to pass is defined in the extraction strip (The modification of the strip configured to hold a plurality of vessel of Nogawa with the extraction strip configured to hold a plurality of reagents, as taught by Gwynn, has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Gwynn further disclose a keying feature of the extraction strip that allows the assay cartridge to rest on a rail in the cartridge loading unit in alignment with a pusher (Gwynn; fig. 4(a)-1, #224, [0046, 0318]). Alternatively, and/or additionally, the modification of the first and second pushing device of modified Nogawa with a second lifting device configured to drive the left pusher and the right pusher to synchronously move up and down, as taught by Koike, would allow the left pusher and the right pusher to pass the extraction strip when lowered (Koike; fig. 8, [0066-0067]).
Other References Cited
The prior art of made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure include:
Toyoda et al. (US 2006/0193754) disclose an automatic loading device with a transverse movement assembly and pushing member.
Pedrazzini (US 2010/0303590) disclose an automatic loading device comprising a transfer device arranged on a right end of a first passage.
SHE et al. (US 2017/0030938) disclose a jacking device configured to move up and down.
Citations to art
In the above citations to documents in the art, an effort has been made to specifically cite representative passages, however rejections are in reference to the entirety of each document relied upon. Other passages, not specifically cited, may apply as well.
Conclusion
E-mail communication Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
/C.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/BENJAMIN R WHATLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798