DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 11-13, and 16 are pending. Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 11-13, and 16 are rejected herein. This is a Non-Final Rejection after the Request for Continued Examination dated 01 Dec 2025 to enter the amendment and arguments submitted 30 Oct 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9, 11-13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKADA et al (US 2023/0123403) in view of JEFFRESS et al. (US 2022/0018691), STEGEMAN et al. (US 2020/0363043), and SANCHEZ MIRALLES et al. (US 2023/0223727).
Regarding claim 1: NAKADA discloses: A dynamically configurable (FIG. 1, FIG. 6) air quality detection system (temperature, humidity, pressure, and odor is sensed in para. 29), comprising: an enclosure (17 in FIG. 6) comprising a communication module (11 in FIG. 3) and a removable portion (61-65 in FIG. 6) to receive one or more air quality sensors (para. 29, 125), wherein the enclosure includes at least one of an electrical outlet enclosure (FIG. 6; para. 28) or a switch enclosure (FIG. 1; para. 28); an integrated circuit board configured to be mounted to or within the enclosure (the hardware that holds 11-16; para. 130), the integrated circuit board comprising a connector in communication with the communication module (It is inherent that the hardware is connected together to function with various hardware configurations discussed in para. 130.); a first air quality sensor of the one or more air quality sensors-mounted on the integrated circuit board (temperature, humidity, pressure, and odor is sensed in para. 29); a microcontroller in communication with the first air quality sensor (para. 130).
While NAKADA discloses a removable sensor module (61-65 in FIG. 6), each with its own housing (FIG. 6), that covers a socket (attachment portion 171), JEFFRESS explicitly teaches a sensor socket (338 in FIG. 23) that has a removable cover (para. 180) in their wall-mounted or ceiling-mounted sensor device (para. 115-116).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the removable cover/panel of JEFFRESS to cover the socket/attachment portion (171 in FIG. 6 of NAKADA) of NAKADA, to protect the socket from the elements when a sensor is not connected (para. 180 of JEFFRESS).
Although NAKADA discusses different hardware configurations in para. 130 such as using a single or multiple integrated circuits. They do not explicitly state that the circuit board has an expansion socket.
STEGEMAN however does teach an expansion port for additional sensors (para. 121) on their control system 207 (FIG. 4) that includes memory, processor, etc. STEGEMAN’s invention also has several air quality sensors (para. 36) and has multiple nodes connected to a network (FIG. 4).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the expansion sockets/ports of STEGEMAN in the device of NAKADA to allow for many different configurations that can be customized to the end-users needs (para. 144 of STEGEMAN).
Although FIG. 6 seems to show lights on the outside on the casings of 61-65, NAKADA does not explicitly disclose an array of lights to indicate a status of the sensor.
SANCHEZ MIRALLES however does explicitly disclose multiple light emitting elements (7 in FIG. 1) on their electrical outlet (abstract) that has a sensor built into it (abstract).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the indicator lights of SANCHEZ MIRALLES on the outside of the invention of NAKADA so that some operational information can be ascertained at a glance.
Regarding claim 3: NAKADA discloses: the communication module (11 in FIG. 3) is configured to transmit sensor status information or sensor data to a building management system (through public network 41 to High-Order system 3).
Regarding claim 4: NAKADA discloses: the communication module is configured to transmit sensor status information or sensor data to a cloud-computing system (para. 19, 46).
Regarding claim 5: NAKADA discloses: a user interface of a mobile device (51 in FIG. 2; para. 18) associated with a user, wherein the user interface is configured to receive sensor status information or sensor data from the cloud-computing system (para. 18).
Regarding claim 9: NAKADA discloses: A dynamically configurable (FIG. 1, 6) air quality detection system (temperature, humidity, pressure, and odor is sensed in para. 29), comprising: an enclosure comprising a communication module (11 in FIG. 3) and a removable portion (61-65 in FIG. 6) to receive one or more air quality sensors (para. 29, 125), wherein the enclosure includes at least one of an electrical outlet enclosure (FIG. 6; para. 28) or a switch enclosure (FIG. 1; para. 28); an integrated circuit board configured to be mounted to or within the enclosure, the integrated circuit board comprising a connector in communication with the communication module (It is inherent that the hardware is connected together to function with various hardware configurations discussed in para. 130.); an onboard humidity sensor (para. 29), an onboard temperature sensor (para. 29), mounted on or within the integrated circuit board (para. 29; 130); a microcontroller in communication with the onboard humidity sensor, the onboard temperature sensor (para. 130).
While NAKADA discloses a removable sensor module (61-65 in FIG. 6), each with its own housing (FIG. 6), that covers a socket (attachment portion 171), JEFFRESS explicitly teaches a sensor socket (338 in FIG. 23) that has a removable cover (para. 180) in their wall-mounted or ceiling-mounted sensor device (para. 115-116).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the removable cover/panel of JEFFRESS to cover the socket/attachment portion (171 in FIG. 6 of NAKADA), to protect the sockets from the elements when a sensor is not connected (para. 180 of JEFFRESS).
Although NAKADA discusses different hardware configurations in para. 130 such as using a single or multiple integrated circuits. They do not explicitly state that the circuit board has an expansion socket.
STEGEMAN however does teach an expansion port for additional sensors (para. 121) on their control system 207 (FIG. 4) that includes memory, processor, etc. STEGEMAN’s invention also has several air quality sensors (para. 36) and has multiple nodes connected to a network (FIG. 4). STEGEMAN also teaches a carbon dioxide sensor (para. 36).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the expansion sockets/ports of STEGEMAN in the device of NAKADA to allow for many different configurations that can be customized to the end-users needs (para. 144 of STEGEMAN).
Although FIG. 6 seems to show lights on the outside on the casings of 61-65, NAKADA does not explicitly disclose an array of lights to indicate a status of the sensor.
Although FIG. 6 seems to show lights on the outside on the casings of 61-65, NAKADA does not explicitly disclose an array of lights to indicate a status of the sensor.
SANCHEZ MIRALLES however does explicitly disclose multiple light emitting elements (7 in FIG. 1) on their electrical outlet (abstract) that has a sensor built into it (abstract).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the indicator lights of SANCHEZ MIRALLES on the outside of the invention of NAKADA so that some operational information can be ascertained at a glance.
Regarding claim 11: NAKADA discloses: the communication module (11 in FIG. 3) is configured to transmit sensor status information or sensor data to a building management system (through public network 41 to High-Order system 3).
Regarding claim 12: NAKADA discloses: the communication module is configured to transmit sensor status information or sensor data to a cloud-computing system (para. 19, 46).
Regarding claim 13: NAKADA discloses: a user interface of a mobile device (51 in FIG. 2; para. 18) associated with a user, wherein the user interface is configured to receive sensor status information or sensor data from the cloud-computing system (para. 18).
Regarding claim 16: NAKADA discloses: A dynamically configurable (FIG. 1, FIG. 6) air quality detection system (temperature, humidity, pressure, and odor is sensed in para. 29), comprising: an enclosure (17 in FIG. 6) comprising a communication module (11 in FIG. 3) and a removable portion (61-65 in FIG. 6) to receive one or more air quality sensors (para. 29, 125), wherein the enclosure includes at least one of an electrical outlet enclosure (FIG. 6; para. 28) or a switch enclosure (FIG. 1 para. 28); an integrated circuit board configured to be mounted to or within the enclosure (the hardware that holds 11-16; para. 130), the integrated circuit board in communication with the communication module (It is inherent that the hardware is connected together to function with various hardware configurations discussed in para. 130.); a first air quality sensor of the one or more air quality sensors mounted on the integrated circuit board (temperature, humidity, pressure, and odor is sensed in para. 29); a microcontroller in communication with the first air quality sensor and the second air quality sensor (para. 130).
While NAKADA discloses a removable sensor module (61-65 in FIG. 6), each with its own housing (FIG. 6), that covers a socket (attachment portion 171), JEFFRESS explicitly teaches a sensor socket (338 in FIG. 23) that has a removable cover (para. 180) in their wall-mounted or ceiling-mounted sensor device (para. 115-116).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the removable cover/panel of JEFFRESS to cover the socket/attachment portion (171 in FIG. 6 of NAKADA), to protect the sockets from the elements when a sensor is not connected (para. 180 of JEFFRESS).
Although NAKADA discusses different hardware configurations in para. 130 such as using a single or multiple integrated circuits. They do not explicitly state that the circuit board has an expansion socket.
STEGEMAN however does teach an expansion port for additional sensors (para. 121) on their control system 207 (FIG. 4) that includes memory, processor, etc. STEGEMAN’s invention also has several air quality sensors (para. 36) and has multiple nodes connected to a network (FIG. 4). STEGEMAN also teaches a carbon dioxide sensor (para. 36).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the expansion sockets/ports of STEGEMAN in the device of NAKADA to allow for many different configurations that can be customized to the end-users needs (para. 144 of STEGEMAN).
Although FIG. 6 seems to show lights on the outside on the casings of 61-65, NAKADA does not explicitly disclose an array of lights to indicate a status of the sensor.
Although FIG. 6 seems to show lights on the outside on the casings of 61-65, NAKADA does not explicitly disclose an array of lights to indicate a status of the sensor.
SANCHEZ MIRALLES however does explicitly disclose multiple light emitting elements (7 in FIG. 1) on their electrical outlet (abstract) that has a sensor built into it (abstract).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the indicator lights of SANCHEZ MIRALLES on the outside of the invention of NAKADA so that some operational information can be ascertained at a glance.
Response to Amendment/Argument
The Applicant has argued that the prior art used in the final rejection does not teach “a removable panel” or “the one or more air quality sensors are mounted on a front side of the enclosure along with the array of light emitting elements.” This argument is moot as new grounds of rejection are presented herein as necessitated by amendment.
Please note that it appears that “removable portion” in claim 1 was replaced with “removable panel” in order to distinguish over NAKADA. FIG. 6 of NAKADA shows several different sensor modules (61-65) that are removable and replaceable. FIG. 6 shows that each of these modules has its own housing. The front cover of each of those sensor units could be considered a panel, and therefore the entire device (electrical equipment 1) is “an enclosure comprising…a removable panel.” However, in the rejection above, JEFFRESS was relied upon to teach this limitation to show a more explicit teaching of a removable panel/cover with explicit motivation as to why one skilled in the art would use a removable panel.
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL J KOLB/Examiner, Art Unit 2896