Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachino et al. US20210018624 in view of Ueno et al. US20200132817.
Regarding independent claim 1, Tachino discloses, in Figures 1-4,
An optical rangefinder (Tachino; Fig. 1-4; optical distance measuring apparatus 10) comprising:
a light emitting element configured to emit pulsed measurement light (Tachino; light source 20 comprises laser diode device 21; [0029] “pulsed laser light”);
a plurality of photon-counting light receiving elements configured to detect reflected light from an object for the measurement light (Tachino; light receiver array 30 comprises light receivers 31; [0030]);
an adder circuit configured to add a voltage pulse output from each of the light receiving elements (Tachino; sum calculator 40);
a time-of-flight measurement circuit configured to calculate, as a time of flight, time from an emission time point of the measurement light to a time point when a sum of the adder circuit reaches a predetermined addition threshold (Tachino; Fig. 3; [0038] “time of flight (TOF)”);
a histogram generation circuit configured to generate a histogram showing a frequency distribution of the times of flight, as calculated by the time-of-flight measurement circuit for repeated emission of the measurement light at predetermined periods, over respective regions on a time axis divided into a plurality of regions at predetermined time intervals (Tachino; Fig. 3; histogram generator 50);
the times of flight for the object from the times of flight that are distributed over the regions where the frequency reaches a predetermined histogram threshold based on the histogram (Tachino; Fig. 3; [0038] “time of flight (TOF)”; histogram generator 50); and
a distance calculation circuit configured to calculate a distance to the object based on (Tachino; distance calculator 70), wherein
the distance calculation circuit includes an error correction circuit configured to calculate an error correction value based on a frequency-error characteristic and correct the distance or the representative value of the times of flight with the error correction value, the frequency-error characteristic being determined by an error, the error being obtained from the frequency, as obtained by the histogram generation circuit with intensity of the reflected light varied in advance (Tachino; Fig. 4 shows incident light variation between low, medium, and high intensities), and difference between an actual distance and the distance or between an actual time of flight and the representative value of the times of flight (Tachino; distance calculator 70; [0045] the second pulse width PW2 is analogous to the claimed frequency-error characteristic, and the distance calculation includes a step of subtracting the PW2 value as part of providing a corrected distance calculation).
Tachino does not disclose a representative value calculation circuit configured to calculate a representative value of the times of flight for the object; a distance calculation circuit configured to calculate a distance to the object based on the representative value of the times of flight calculated by the representative value calculation circuit.
Ueno teaches a representative value calculation circuit configured to calculate a representative value of the times of flight for the object (Ueno; Fig. 16; [0111-0118] “peak detector 45 divides the accumulated number by the number of accumulations, i.e., three in this case, and determines a position of a peak from the response number or the degree of saturation based on the divided accumulated state of variation, identifying the temporary timing as described above.”); a distance calculation circuit configured to calculate a distance to the object based on the representative value of the times of flight calculated by the representative value calculation circuit (Ueno; [0113] calculator 50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the rangefinder as taught by Tachino to include a representative value calculation circuit as taught by Ueno for the purpose of allowing “for smoothening the response numbers for an improved noise immunity” (Ueno; [0118] “allows for smoothening the response numbers for an improved noise immunity”)
Regarding claim 2, Modified Tachino teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The optical rangefinder according to claim 1.
Modified Tachino does not teach wherein the frequency-error characteristic is specified based on an intensity-frequency characteristic and an intensity-error characteristic for the measurement light repeatedly emitted at predetermined periods in advance, the intensity-frequency characteristic exhibiting correlation between an index of the intensity of the reflected light and the frequency obtained by the histogram generation circuit, the intensity-error characteristic exhibiting correlation between the index of the intensity of the reflected light and the error.
Ueno teaches wherein the frequency-error characteristic is specified based on an intensity-frequency characteristic (Ueno; [0106] “the degree of saturation”) and an intensity-error characteristic (Ueno; [0107] “A relationship between the degree of saturation of SPADs 4 and the correction time as shown in a graph in FIG. 15”) for the measurement light repeatedly emitted at predetermined periods in advance (Ueno; [0105] “The amount-of-light corrector 57 according to the fifth embodiment determines the correction time ΔT1 in accordance with the degree of saturation of the SPADs 4 as shown in FIG. 15.”), the intensity-frequency characteristic exhibiting correlation between an index of the intensity of the reflected light and the frequency obtained by the histogram generation circuit (Ueno; [0107] “to allow the correction time to decrease with an increase in the degree of saturation.”), the intensity-error characteristic exhibiting correlation between the index of the intensity of the reflected light and the error (Ueno; Fig. 15; [0021] “graph showing an example of a map used for correction based on a degree of saturation”; [0103-0110]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the frequency-error characteristic as taught by Modified Tachino to also be based on an intensity-frequency characteristic and an intensity-error characteristic as taught by Ueno for the purpose of allowing for “applying a single correction time in accordance with the total number of the SPAD even if a system allows the number of SPADs in pixels to be dramatically changed or a system includes a mixture of pixels different in the number of pixels” (Ueno; [0110] “allows for applying a single correction time in accordance with the total number of the SPAD even if a system allows the number of SPADs in pixels to be dramatically changed or a system includes a mixture of pixels different in the number of pixels”).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Tachino teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The optical rangefinder according to claim 2, wherein the frequency-error characteristic exhibits a monotonically decreasing characteristic in which the error decreases with an increase in the frequency (Ueno; Fig. 15; [0021] “graph showing an example of a map used for correction based on a degree of saturation”; [0103-0110]).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Tachino teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The optical rangefinder according to claim 1.
Modified Tachino does not teach wherein the error correction circuit is configured to calculate the error correction value based on a duration-error characteristic and correct the distance or the representative value of the times of flight with the error correction value after the frequency of the frequency-error characteristic is saturated, the duration being a period of time in which the sum of the adder circuit is equal to or greater than the addition threshold with the intensity of the reflected light varied in advance.
Ueno teaches wherein the error correction circuit is configured to calculate the error correction value based on a duration-error characteristic (Ueno; [0092] “the response duration of the SPADs 4”) and correct the distance or the representative value of the times of flight with the error correction value after the frequency of the frequency-error characteristic is saturated, the duration being a period of time in which the sum of the adder circuit is equal to or greater than the addition threshold with the intensity of the reflected light varied in advance (Ueno; Fig. 12-13; [0091-0097]; [0094] “where the correction time increases with an increase in the response duration”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the error correction circuit as taught by Modified Tachino to also be based on a duration-error characteristic as taught by Ueno for the purpose of providing improved correction accuracy for detection timing (Ueno; [0097] “allows for improving correction accuracy. Consequently, it is possible to more accurately estimate the detection timing.”)
Regarding claim 5, Modified Tachino teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The optical rangefinder according to claim 4, wherein the duration-error characteristic is a characteristic specified based on the intensity-error characteristic and an intensity-duration characteristic for the measurement light repeatedly emitted at predetermined periods in advance, the intensity-error characteristic exhibiting correlation between the index of the intensity of the reflected light and the error, the intensity-duration characteristic exhibiting correlation between the index of the intensity of the reflected light and the duration in which the sum of the adder circuit is equal to or greater than the addition threshold (Ueno; Fig. 12-13; [0091-0097]; [0094] “where the correction time increases with an increase in the response duration”).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Tachino teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The optical rangefinder according to claim 5, wherein the duration is a sum of the durations obtained by the histogram generation circuit for the regions where the predetermined histogram threshold is reached (Ueno; Fig. 12-13; [0091-0097]; [0094] “where the correction time increases with an increase in the response duration”) divided by a sum of respective frequencies for the regions (Ueno; Fig. 16; [0111-0118] “peak detector 45 divides the accumulated number by the number of accumulations, i.e., three in this case, and determines a position of a peak from the response number or the degree of saturation based on the divided accumulated state of variation, identifying the temporary timing as described above.”).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Tachino teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The optical rangefinder according to claim 4, wherein the duration-error characteristic exhibits a monotonically increasing characteristic in which the error increases with an increase in the duration (Ueno; Fig. 12-13; [0091-0097]; [0094] “where the correction time increases with an increase in the response duration”).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Tachino teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The optical rangefinder according to claim 1, wherein the representative value calculation circuit is configured to calculate, as the representative value of the times of flight for the object, a value that is a total sum of the times of flight distributed over the regions where the frequency reaches the histogram threshold based on the histogram divided by a sum of respective frequencies for the regions (Ueno; Fig. 16; [0111-0118] “peak detector 45 divides the accumulated number by the number of accumulations, i.e., three in this case, and determines a position of a peak from the response number or the degree of saturation based on the divided accumulated state of variation, identifying the temporary timing as described above.”).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Tachino teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The optical rangefinder according to claim 1, wherein the representative value calculation circuit is configured to calculate, as the representative value of the times of flight for the object, a value that is a total sum of times of flight distributed over regions where the frequency reaches the histogram threshold and a region adjacent thereto based on the histogram divided by a sum of respective frequencies for corresponding regions (Ueno; Fig. 16; [0111-0118] “peak detector 45 divides the accumulated number by the number of accumulations, i.e., three in this case, and determines a position of a peak from the response number or the degree of saturation based on the divided accumulated state of variation, identifying the temporary timing as described above.”).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Tachino teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The optical rangefinder according to claim 1, wherein the representative value calculation circuit is configured to calculate, as the representative value of the times of flight for the object, a value that is a total sum of the times of flight distributed over a plurality of adjacent regions divided by a sum of respective frequencies for corresponding regions, the plurality of adjacent regions being regions where a total sum of the frequencies distributed over the plurality of adjacent regions reaches the histogram threshold based on the histogram (Ueno; Fig. 16; [0111-0118] “peak detector 45 divides the accumulated number by the number of accumulations, i.e., three in this case, and determines a position of a peak from the response number or the degree of saturation based on the divided accumulated state of variation, identifying the temporary timing as described above.”).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Tachino teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and
The optical rangefinder according to claim 1, wherein the time-of-flight measurement circuit (Tachino; Fig. 3; [0038] “time of flight (TOF)”; histogram generator 50) is configured to calculate, as the time of flight, a time of flight from the emission time point of the measurement light to each of time points when an output value of the adder circuit (Tachino; sum calculator 40) reaches a first addition threshold (Tachino; Fig. 3; “frequency threshold”) and reaches a second addition threshold (Tachino; Fig. 3; the maximum value that indicates the peak value and corresponds to the time value “tpk”) higher than the first addition threshold, (Tachino; Fig. 3; [0038] “time of flight (TOF)”; histogram generator 50)
the histogram generation circuit is configured to generate a histogram showing a frequency distribution of the times of flight, as calculated by the time-of-flight measurement circuit for repeated emission of the measurement light at predetermined periods, over respective regions on a time axis divided into a plurality of regions at predetermined time intervals (Tachino; Fig. 3; histogram generator 50),
the representative value calculation circuit is configured to calculate, as the representative value of the times of flight for the object, a total sum of the times of flight corresponding to the first addition threshold (Tachino; Fig. 3 shows both the first and the second addition thresholds), among the times of flight distributed over the regions where the frequency reaches the histogram threshold based on the histogram based on the first addition threshold, divided by the frequency corresponding to the first addition threshold (Ueno; Fig. 16; [0111-0118] “peak detector 45 divides the accumulated number by the number of accumulations, i.e., three in this case, and determines a position of a peak from the response number or the degree of saturation based on the divided accumulated state of variation, identifying the temporary timing as described above.”), and
the error correction circuit is configured to calculate the error correction value based on a frequency-error characteristic and correct the distance or the representative value of the times of flight with the error correction value, the frequency-error characteristic being determined by an error, the error being obtained from the frequency, as obtained in the histogram based on the first addition threshold and the second addition threshold (Tachino; Fig. 3 shows both the first and the second addition thresholds), and difference between an actual distance and the distance (Tachino; distance calculator 70; [0045] the second pulse width PW2 is analogous to the claimed frequency-error characteristic, and the distance calculation includes a step of subtracting the PW2 value as part of providing a corrected distance calculation).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Tachino teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The optical rangefinder according to claim 1, further comprising an optical deflection device configured to deflect the measurement light emitted from the light emitting element in a predetermined direction and/or an optical scanning device configured to scan with the measurement light in a predetermined direction (Tachino; [0024] the device that causes the light source “to irradiate a target object with at least one light pulse”; [0029] “The light source 20 serves as an apparatus that irradiates a target object OB with light for measurement of the distance to the target object OB relative to the apparatus 10.”).
Regarding independent claim 13, Modified Tachino teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to independent claim 1, and
An optical rangefinding method (Tachino; Fig. 1-4; optical distance measuring apparatus 10) comprising:
a reflected light detection step of detecting, using a plurality of photon-counting light receiving elements, reflected light from an object for pulsed measurement light emitted from a light emitting element (Tachino; light source 20 comprises laser diode device 21; [0029] “pulsed laser light”) (Tachino; light receiver array 30 comprises light receivers 31; [0030]);
a time of flight measurement step of calculating, as a time of flight, time between an emission time point of the measurement light and a time point when a sum of voltage pulses output from each of the light receiving elements reaches a predetermined addition threshold (Tachino; Fig. 3; [0038] “time of flight (TOF)”);
a histogram generation step of generating a histogram showing a frequency distribution of the times of flight, as calculated in the time of flight calculation step for repeated emission of measurement light at predetermined periods, over respective regions on a time axis divided into a plurality of regions at predetermined time intervals (Tachino; Fig. 3; histogram generator 50);
a representative value calculation step of calculating a representative value of the times of flight for the object from the times of flight that are distributed over the regions where the frequency reaches a predetermined histogram threshold based on the histogram (Ueno; Fig. 16; [0111-0118] “peak detector 45 divides the accumulated number by the number of accumulations, i.e., three in this case, and determines a position of a peak from the response number or the degree of saturation based on the divided accumulated state of variation, identifying the temporary timing as described above.”);
and a distance calculation step of calculating a distance to the object based on the representative value of the times of flight calculated in the representative value calculation step, wherein the distance calculation step includes an error correction step of calculating an error correction value based on a frequency-error characteristic and correcting the distance or the representative value of the times of flight with the error correction value, the frequency- error characteristic being determined by an error, the error being obtained from the frequency, as obtained in the histogram generation step with intensity of the reflected light varied in advance (Tachino; Fig. 4 shows incident light variation between low, medium, and high intensities), and difference between an actual distance and the distance or difference between an actual time of flight and the representative value of the times of flight (Ueno; [0113] calculator 50).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Tachino teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hirleman US4251733 teaches intensity contours.
Tanabe US20140024020 teaches digesting light intensity data.
Soga et al. US20140103196 teaches, in Figure 3, a monotonic increase relationship.
Krupka US20140368613 teaches using lookup tables for depth map correction.
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 2/12/26